Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Big Blue Bug Solutions

Founded 1935 • With Angi since June 2006

Big Blue Bug Solutions at your service! Formerly known as New England Pest Control, we've been protecting New England homes and businesses with the most comprehensive pest control services in the region for over 75 years! Serving Rhode Island, Southern Massachusetts, Southern Maine and Eastern Connecticut, our headquarters in Providence has been made famous by our distinctive landmark, the Big Blue Bug. Nibbles Woodaway aka "The Big Blue Bug" is a 58 foot long, 9 foot tall, 40,000 lb termite on top of our building.The Big Blue Bug has been featured in movies including Dumb & Dumber, appeared on the Oprah Winfrey Show - along with other TV appearances, and even represents Rhode Island at the Denver Airport.Our services include bed bug control, termite control, tick and mosquito control, rodent control, stinging insect control, and much more! Stop by our office today to identify a pest or visit our website for more information.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(84) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 84 reviews
Mary M.
5.0
07/06/2020
The service went very well, they did a very good job.
Description of Work
Termite Treatment service
Category
pest control
Edward W.
1.0
05/05/2020
did not respond to my inqiriry through angieslist. so i would never consider them or would recommend.
Description of Work
pest removal
Category
animal removal

Service Provider Response

We sincerely apologize to Mr. [Member Name Removed] for not responding to his inquiry. It was not intentional. We didn't receive a notification that we had a message. The current pandemic has had a taxing toll on networks and we have been experiencing issues with emails, texts and phone calls not going through. There is no benefit to ignoring a potential customer, so we hope that if the situation arises, Mr. [Member Name Removed] will give us another chance to show him the great service we know we can provide.
Kathy M.
5.0
11/06/2017
Very prompt and professional evaluation of building. Explained everything in detail and scheduled the first treatment very quickly. So far going well!
Description of Work
Had a mice problem in an old building that was converted to offices.
Category
pest control
Claudia J.
5.0
07/17/2017
I ask about the chemicals for the sprays, and he answers all my questions. It doesn't take long to spray maybe fifteen minutes.
Description of Work
They helped me get rid of mice and spray.
Category
pest control
Claudia J.
5.0
07/17/2017
There's a man named Jeff that is good. I only ask for him. Sometimes they come to spray and others for mice. They do come on demand if needed.
Description of Work
They come every couple of months on a yearly contract.
Category
pest control
Celeste D.
5.0
10/04/2016
They saved me with the bees' nest! They were in my bedroom and Big Blue Bug came that day.
Description of Work
They removed a bees nest last year and sprayed for termites. This year they did a follow up for the termites
Category
pest control
Nick M.
5.0
07/23/2015
We are in the process of selling a home and during the inspection, insect issues were identified. Chris from Big Blue Bug came out within 3 business days of my initial call and provided his analysis. He was extremely knowledgeable and gave me a great tutorial on the insects in question. He provided the cost and solution and was very, very fair. I will be having him return to my new property to engage in preventative services as well! Great experience overall.
Description of Work
Investigated for insect issues and provided analysis and treatment options.
Category
pest control
Jane K.
5.0
05/13/2015
I called to schedule them to come in and do a follow up.
Description of Work
I use Blue Bug. They came in and replaced some of the traps. I had a problem with mice.
Category
pest control
George W L.
4.0
01/26/2015
The work was good. The workers are very nice. They are usually very prompt. I would tell a friend that they do a great work.
Description of Work
They came out to spray for insects.
Category
pest control
Victoria H.
3.0
11/18/2014
I think he was a little rude and their prices were high.
Description of Work
Inspected the place for pest treatment.
Category
pest control

Service Provider Response

We are greatly sorry that you felt our inspector was a little rude. It is always our intention to treat all of our customers with the utmost respect. There may have been a misunderstanding or a miscommunication that caused this feeling. We do think it is important to note that this "customer" did not actually hire us to do any pest control work. This "customer's" review is based soley on a free inspection. As for our price being high, we feel our prices are fair and reasonable for the work that we do and what is covered by our services. Not all services are the same, a lower (or higher) price from another company is rarely for the same exact service. There are a variety of types of service we offer (as well as what other companies offer), and depending on what the scope of the work is going to be, the pests that will be covered by the plan and the warranty given, there can be a wide variety of prices. When comparing prices, it is imprtant to remember to compare all the features of a service when choosing which service to go with. If there are anymore questions or concerns, we will be happy to discuss them further.
M C.
5.0
06/02/2014
The technician explained every step of the process in detail. He was very professional and friendly. Once the service was performed, the ants were gone and have not returned
Description of Work
Due to a recent construction product in our home, we had carpenter ants
Category
pest control
charles C.
5.0
04/01/2014
They did a great job. He is coming back for a follow up check up.
Description of Work
I used Big Blue Bug Solutions for pest control.exterminating services.
Category
pest control
Denise W.
5.0
10/17/2013
Our tech does a great job. She is on time and take the time to talk to us about what we can do to prevent problems. Extremely professional and responsive to homeowner requests and questions.
Description of Work
Cost is for homeowners policy for pest control services for the year.
Category
pest control
Dee R.
5.0
08/24/2013
Wore shoe covers in house to prevent tracking up floors. Prompt, courteous and thorough. Found no termites but took time to explain cost and provisions of contract should I need it in future. There was no charge for his visit. I shall definitely use his company should I need it in the future.
Description of Work
Inspection for termites of house and/or garage.
Category
pest control, home inspection
Madeleine B.
5.0
07/20/2013
The technicians came on time and were very professional. There have been several dead rats in the yard since they came and no more evidence of live rats.
Description of Work
Put bate traps in the yard for rats. Even though there was no evidence of rats inside they put poison in the basement as a preventative measure.
Category
pest control
Theresa H. D.
5.0
06/18/2013
They come when they say they would. They are very dependable. They have pet safe traps as I don't trust any chemicals as I have cats which are very more important to me than anything else. They set the traps in the places where the cats can't reach. They help me taking down hornets too.
Description of Work
We use Big Blue Bug Solutions since 1980. The last time they came out, they were here to fix the ant problems. They do a regular inspection and check everything. I have the annual contract with them.
Category
pest control
Debra T.
5.0
06/18/2013
They've been very good at taking care of the problem. They always come right on time and although I can't remember the exact price I am pleased with it and I never thought it was outrageous.
Description of Work
I initially had them for an infestation of yellow jackets and now they come three times a year for preventative treatments.
Category
pest control
Christina P.
5.0
04/10/2013
The company explained what they would do however I was upset that they did not offer the same information my friend did.
Description of Work
The company is very informative and helpful on their radio show. I asked them to come to my home for a mouse problem I was having. They explained they could set out bait trap and the mice would take the bait back to their nests. I didn't have them do this the day they came out. I later spoke to a friend who said once the mice are poisoned by the bait the company uses that the mice could die within the walls or in a place I would not be able to reach them which would cause an odor problem in my home. After hearing this I choose not to use the company, I am sure they would have told me the same thing had I asked but I was concerned about the odor.
Category
pest control

Service Provider Response

Ms. [member name removed], We appreciate your feedback and can understand your concerns. I appologize that the inspector did not discuss the possibilty of an odor and what can be done to try to prevent that. Having an odor from a mice treatment is not very common. There are certain factors that contribute to the possibility of an odor. Depending on the details of your home and where the problem was, it might be the case that you were very unlikely to have an odor issue. As you decided not to hire us to do the work for you, I hope you were successful trying to take care of the problem yourself. Sincerely, Scott Goldman Director of Operations Big Blue Bug Solutions
Pamela R.
5.0
03/11/2013
The experience with BBS has been effective. They are making seasonal visits to our home. They are honest and professional and quite knowledgeable.
Description of Work
We hired Big Blue Bug Solutions to help with pest control for our home. Although the cost was higher than what we have paid in the past, the results were superb and included seasonal visits. This year was the first in many years that we have been completely without evidence of mice or ants. That is saying quite a lot for our rural location where mice are quite prevalent. The technicians are prompt and very professional. We will only use BBS from now on. As we have learned before, what seems a high price at first, is really economical when you see the results.
Category
pest control
Gayle S.
5.0
01/26/2013
We easily made an appointment with them and someone came to the house the next day. The problem was readily resolved.
Description of Work
Big Blue Bug dealt with an abundance of earwigs and spiders in our house.
Category
pest control
Anthony R.
5.0
12/17/2012
Very easy to coordinate an appointment and they were right on time. The estimate was accurate and the person who perfromed it was very professional. The best art was the inspector did not try to sell any additional services once he was there.
Description of Work
Did a pest inspection required for a homeinspection as part of a financing requirement.
Category
pest control
richard R.
5.0
07/19/2012
They did good and their price was good as well.
Description of Work
I used Big Blue Bug Solutions for taking care of rats.
Category
pest control
sam L.
5.0
07/18/2012
The guy who works there is a straightshooter and is very helpful in selecting the right products.
Description of Work
I get pest control supplies from them.
Category
pest control
Ruth S.
5.0
07/07/2012
They are very good. I have used them for two years.
Description of Work
This is an annual charge for quarterly treatments. They inspect and spray as needed.
Category
pest control
lauren A.
5.0
06/21/2012
They come annually. They inspect the house for pest. I have a mouse problem. They sent someone out to set traps on the basement level, the main floors, and the attic. They will check them quarterly. They are very prompt, and professional. They did not try to oversell their services. They did not focus on things I did not ask them to.
Description of Work
Big Blue Bug Solutions is my pest control company.
Category
pest control

Phone

Address

161 O'Connell St

Providence, RI 02905

Other Information

Services offered

Residential and commercial termite, pest control, bugs & animal removal.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Big Blue Bug Solutions is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Big Blue Bug Solutions is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Big Blue Bug Solutions accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Big Blue Bug Solutions offers free project estimates.

No, Big Blue Bug Solutions does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Big Blue Bug Solutions does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Big Blue Bug Solutions offers emergency services.

Yes, Big Blue Bug Solutions offers warranties.

Big Blue Bug Solutions offers the following services: Residential and commercial termite, pest control, bugs & animal removal.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

We are a professional complete home and commercial property inspection company. Obtaining an extensive background with 20+ years in residential / commercial construction designing & building. Licensed and certified in all services in which we provide.  

Patriot Property Inspections - Auger Enterprises

5.0

(25)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Patriot Property Inspections - Auger Enterprises

I'm Mike Auger, Certified Master Inspector (CMI). I provide home inspection services throughout Rhode Island. My home inspection reports are very detailed and easy to read, with many pictures. They are electronically published to you the day of the inspection to allow plenty of time to react to the findings for your real estate transaction. All clients are clients for life, in that they can always call me for technical assistance or referrals to qualified professional services they need.  

S and M Pest Services

5.0

(11)

Angi Certified

S and M Pest Services

Give us a call today for your pest control needs! We've been certified to provide COVID-19/Virus Disinfectant Practices for our current and new customers.