Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Great Valley Lockshop Inc

Founded 1973 • With Angi since November 2011

4.9

(60) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

16 Church Rd

Malvern, PA 19355

Description

Proud winner of the 2016 Super Service Award! Local lockshop providing commercial locksmith and home security services to Philadelphia and the surrounding communities since 1973. Our services include electronic access control and security lock installation, custom master key design, 24 hour locksmith services, lock rekeying, business security lock repair and installation, deadbolt installation, changing locks, emergency lockout rescue, and safe installation....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/07/2019


joani N.

No problems at all. Timely service without any hassles.

Description of Work
removed broken key from the lock; re-keyed the lock to specification.

Category locksmith

5.0

08/10/2019


Paul S.

I told them I wanted to change locks and needed 8 keys. They showed up on time, changed the locks, and gave me 8 keys. Perfect.

Description of Work
Change locks on my new home

Category locksmith

1.0

11/30/2018


BETH A.

I sent a request through Angie's List, called twice, and sent an email with photos. After 2 days I am giving up on expecting a response from this company.

Description of Work
Repairing locks

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Hi there, thank you for reaching out to us and for your feedback. We do apologize for the miscommunication, as there was an issue within Angie's List that prevented us from receiving messages. The issue has now been resolved, and we did try to contact you regarding your request, but have not heard back yet. Once again we apologize for this, and hope to serve you in the future. Thank you again for your review.
5.0

01/10/2018


Jane M.

The service representative was very professional and did not try to sell us a higher price lock than was necessary for our needs.

Description of Work
We had several locks changed on our doors.

Category locksmith,doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing us! We're so pleased to read that you had a great experience. Thank you for choosing Great Valley Lockshop!
5.0

09/23/2017


Sandra M.

They came here very quickly, we had a dead bolt that was broken. They were quick and very reasonable. I was happy with the work that they did and they were very reasonable. Yes, I would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Repaired a broken dead bolt.

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review us on Angie's List! We strive to provide quick, efficient service at a reasonable cost, and are so glad that we hit our mark during your experience! We are so pleased to read that you would hire us again in the future. Thank you again for the A Rating!
5.0

08/31/2017


Vickey G.

We used their services at our rental property. It was really reasonable too.

Description of Work
Locksmith.

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Hi there, thank you for the A Rating! It was a pleasure to service your rental properly and are so glad that you are happy with our work, as well as our reasonable price. Thank you again for the review and for choosing Great Valley Lockshop!
5.0

08/21/2017


Andrew W.

Service was performed quickly and without difficulty. Company has long-term employees who are experienced, professional and customer-oriented.

Description of Work
Needed broken key removed from key lock.

Category locksmith

5.0

05/17/2017


Sherrill F.

All went perfectly. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
We had an interior door with a broken key. The locksmith arrived on time and made us several extra keys.

Category locksmith

5.0

05/03/2017


Ed W.

Very well. I called at 9 am and was able to get an appointment for 4 PM. Gene actually showed up at 3 PM and had the knob fixed (it didn't need a replacement as I feared) in about 20 minutes. Took less time and cost less money than I thought it would. What's not to like?

Description of Work
The door knob to my front door was damaged and would not open, even in the unlocked position.

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Angie's List! We are so glad to read that you were able to receive fast, efficient and affordable service from us. That is exactly what we strive for every day. We will be sure to share your feedback with Gene, and the rest of our staff. Thank you again for choosing Great Valley Lockshop!
5.0

04/12/2017


Kevin D.

Great! Locksmith was on time and very professional.

Description of Work
Changed locks on new house

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], thank you for the kind words! We are grateful for your review, and appreciate the time you took out of your day to let us know how we are doing. Let us know if there is anything else you need!
5.0

10/21/2016


Rosie G.

Great Valley Lockshop Inc's service went well. I don't recall being unhappy with the price. Everything worked out fine.

Description of Work
Great Valley Lockshop Inc changed locks for me.

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to read that your service went well and we were able to change your locks. Your feedback is truly appreciated. Keep in touch!
5.0

06/26/2016


Brett D.

Great experience. Helpful advice, quick, print, and high quality service.

Description of Work
Changed exterior locks on our house.

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the A Rating! We are glad to have been able to change the exterior locks on your home, and that we provided high quality, efficient, and affordable service to you. Enjoy the locks and keep in touch. Thank you for choosing Great Valley Lockshop!
1.0

08/13/2015


Kerry M.

I called this company after looking at their website and seeing a positive review posted on Angie's list. They couldn't book an appointment for almost a week --which I was willing to wait based on the positive reviews. On the day of the appointment, I called them up earlier in the day -- as we were scheduled for a time of noon-to-4pm -- asking them if they could give me a better sense of when/where I was in their afternoon line-up. They reassured me that the person would call me in advance. I waited all afternoon and got a call at 3:55 from the technician saying that "he was on his way." I said that I was surprised by the late call and he said "Hey Lady, this was an afternoon call!" When I asked him if he just said "Hey Lady" -- and he finally said yes -- I told him that he was fired. That I wouldn't allow anyone in my house who has such disregard for my time and disrespect for me. I called and let the office know what happened -- and they could've cared less. This company should be avoided at all cost -- unless you have plenty of time to waste!

Description of Work
This provider was supposed to fix or replace a door knob for an exterior door.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member name removed], My name is Chris Strauss and I am the owner of Great Valley Lockshop. All feedback, good and bad, helps us improve as a business so I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review and apologize for the recent experience you had with us. As a business owner, I take great pride in providing an honest, friendly and professional service for our customers. Unfortunately, we do make mistakes as you have seen. I am truly sorry for the poor customer service you received and want you to know that I am personally working on resolving this issue with the employee. It is my experience and belief that mistakes can be an opportunity to learn and grow. If possible, I would like to speak with you so I can personally apologize, learn more about your experience and try to make things right. If you are willing to speak with me, please send me an email with the best way to reach you and I will do so. My email address is cstrauss@gvlock.com. My sincerest apologies [Member name removed]. Chris Strauss Owner Great Valley Lockshop cstrauss@gvlock.com
5.0

04/28/2015


Carly K.

The repair person arrived prepared to do a quick fix on the existing lock mechanism, but discovered he had to return to the shop to get supplies. When he returned he ran into difficulty as my door set up didn't work with his locks. He had to replace the entire set of locks, and again he had to return to the shop for the supplies. Although it was a long service visit, and inconvenient that he didn't have all of the necessary equipment, he was polite, honest, and willing to do the job right (even though I think his shift was over!). He did not charge me for the entire time, which was respectable and fair.

Description of Work
replaced front door locks

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Hi Carly, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our business. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our locksmith service. We do apologize for any inconvenience that occured during the job, but are glad to have provided you with a fair-priced, correct, and honest job! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. - Great Valley Lockshop
5.0

11/06/2014


Lydia S.

We received a rapid response from the first phone call. When they came for the repair work I was running late and missed them. The technician returned later that day for no additional charge. He made two further trips in order to complete the work as we own an old home with very old locks that were technically challenging. Thank you for the work.

Description of Work
We required several new locks and old locks to be rekeyed.

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are happy that we were able to accomodate you in a timely manner and get those locks changed!
5.0

10/31/2014


Sally S.

I called them because we had a file cabinet that was locked and the keys were lost. They were able to make replacement keys. I went to pick them up an hour or so later. They worked perfectly. Great service!

Description of Work
Made replacement keys

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We truly appreciate your feedback and are glad that everything is working perfectly for your filing cabinet!
5.0

08/19/2014


Gerald N.

They are good. They respected the warranty, and made the change. Their price is fair.

Description of Work
They changed out a door knob, and lock in one of the doors in my house.

Category locksmith

5.0

08/19/2014


Deepak D.

They were pretty good. I didn't really have to stand over the guy because I had a couple of other things going on. He knew what he needed to do. He came in and did everything on his own. He was pretty professional. He didn't overcharge me. He asked if I was going to get the keys made myself or he could make them for me. He was not trying to sell but yet trying to help. He tried to make sure that he was looking out for the customer. I had other people tell me $80-$90 but he spoke to me over the phone and he was pretty prompt. I told him to please give me half and hour before he came over. He gave me half an hour and he called me. He worked with me on that part because it was a rental property and I needed to get there.

Description of Work
They rekeyed my house.

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our business. At Great Valley Lockshop, we value customer satisfaction and always look out for your best interest. We are very happy that we could help you. Keep in touch! - Great Valley Lockshop
5.0

08/19/2014


Diana B.

It was good. There were no problems. They did what was supposed to be done and they left a bill and that was it.

Description of Work
They changed locks a couple of times and they also did a lockout.

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our business! We truly appreciate your feedback! - Great Valley Lockshop
1.0

08/18/2014


BILLIE G.

Generally, I had good experiences, but ones when I was locked out of my house at two in the morning and I called them, they were supposed to send an emergency locksmith and they never did. I had the impression that the person answering the phone was really trying. I guess she was a dispatcher and she was trying to get somebody to come out and help me, but nobody ever did. The dispatcher was professional, but again nobody ever showed up. So, there is a limit to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
I called Great Valley Lockshop Inc.

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our business. We apologize for the late response. While we are happy that you have had good experiences in the past with us, we do apologize for not being there for you in this emergency situation. We have been working to improve our emergency call center services and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, but do appreciate your feedback very much. - Great Valley Lockshop
5.0

08/11/2014


John N.

It went very well, I took a key to be copied and it was taken care of right away while I waited.

Description of Work
Cut a key.

Category locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our business! We truly appreciate your feedback!
5.0

08/11/2014


David H.

professional options as to what to get. Saved me money by suggesting I buy the locks myself from a local store rather than from them.

Description of Work
new front door locks

Category locksmith,doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our business. We value customer satisfaction and always look out for your best interest. We are very happy that we could help you. Keep in touch! - Great Valley Lockshop
5.0

07/19/2012


Kathleen G.

They came in, got right to the point, did their services, and left. They did a good job, they were quick and professional.

Description of Work
They performed locksmith services for me.

Category locksmith

5.0

05/08/2012


Mike T.

I called on a Monday and spoke with the owner Chris. He was very helpful and polite, without hard sell pressure. He arranged for a service call for the very next day. His tech, Gene, called prior to his arrival and came as promised. Gene was very pleasant and spoke with me about what I wanted to do. He was understanding and patient answering questions. He set about his work quickly and even whistled as he completed his tasks. He was very thoughtful asking me if I wanted to keep the old equipment. He was very polite with my two young children and didn't mind my two golden retrievers. I watched while Gene worked and he was very careful to do a good job. He was gentle with my home and was very aware to keep things clean. When the job was done he made sure I was happy. He presented me with the bill which was well within expectations and gave me options on how I wanted to pay. Great company to work with.

Description of Work
After recently moving into a new home, we wanted to replace locks and have them keyed the same. We replaced 3 dead bolts and one main door knob lock.

Category locksmith

5.0

11/30/2011


Bruce K.

I have used them in the past for much larger jobs. There is always service when you walk in and they are pretty knowledgeable. They are pretty helpful. I would be going back to them.

Description of Work
I used the service of Great Valley Lockshop Inc a year ago to work on some keys.

Category locksmith

    Other local Pros in your area

    Dayton Lock Company LLC

    Sales, installation, and service of decorative and security hardware, including locks and safes. Retail store and showroom. Locksmith service to your home or business. 6 employees. Fully insured.  

    WILSONS HARDWARE and LOCKSMITHS

    Wilsons Hardware and Locksmiths provide prompt, professional lock service in store or at your residence or commercial location. Licensed and insured serving Lansdale, North Wales, Montgomeryville, Ambler, Doylestown, Souderton, Montgomery and Bucks County. PA Contractors License #PA005762. In operation since 1984, Wilson's is a full service TrueValue hardware store and Lansdale's premiere lock shop. Fabrication and repair of screen windows are done on premises. Free Parking in rear of store. www.wilsonshardware.com  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by WILSONS HARDWARE and LOCKSMITHS on Angi
    Windows Plus

    Windows Plus is a complete start to finish exterior contractor that specializes in the replacement of windows, doors, siding and roofing, as well as construction of decking and porch enclosures. We begin our process by listening to what you, our client wants to accomplish, whether it be more energy efficient windows, a new cedar or architectural roof, or a more inviting Entry Door. We back our products and workmanship with some of the strongest warranties in our business, most of them lifetime warranties. We have been in business for 39 years and are fully insured, licensed, and have a great reputation for superior workmanship. As we say at Windows Plus, “Your Home Is Our Business!”  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential & Commercial Locksmiths - Lock Installation, Sales, & Repair, Master Keys, Entry Access Systems, Doors, Frames, Safes & Vaults, & Re-Key Services – Commercial Buildings, Residential Homes, & Automobiles.

    Services Not Offered

    New Car Keys.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Great Valley Lockshop Inc

    How is Great Valley Lockshop Inc overall rated?

    Great Valley Lockshop Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Great Valley Lockshop Inc open?

    Great Valley Lockshop Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Great Valley Lockshop Inc provide

    Great Valley Lockshop Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Great Valley Lockshop Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Great Valley Lockshop Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Great Valley Lockshop Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Great Valley Lockshop Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Great Valley Lockshop Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Great Valley Lockshop Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Great Valley Lockshop Inc?

    No, Great Valley Lockshop Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Great Valley Lockshop Inc offer?

    Great Valley Lockshop Inc offers the following services: Residential & Commercial Locksmiths - Lock Installation, Sales, & Repair, Master Keys, Entry Access Systems, Doors, Frames, Safes & Vaults, & Re-Key Services – Commercial Buildings, Residential Homes, & Automobiles.

    Are there any services Great Valley Lockshop Inc does not offer?

    New Car Keys.