Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Chimney & Masonry

Founded 1989 • With Angi since August 2005

4.7

(282) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask
COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Locally owned and operated in Portland, Oregon, we at American Chimney believe we’re the best chimney services company in the Greater Portland-Metro Area. But you don’t have to take our word for it, check out our online customer reviews. We employ certified technicians that know the structure and nuances of chimney systems backwards and forwards in order to give our neighbors the best service possible. Because every one of our sweeps goes through the strenuous process of becoming a CSIA (Chimney Safety Institute of America) Certified Chimney Sweep, you can be sure you’re getting the most knowledgeable highly trained technicians available! 7 employees. Uses subs for engineering projects. Cost is determined by the job. Possible travel charges outside Portland metro area ....

Other local Pros in your area

Euro Masonry LLC

Euro Masonry LLC is a company backed by 10+ years experience. We offer competitive rates and have very excellent references with very satisfied customers. Free estimates. Our work is always high quality, clean, and done in a timely manner. Additional contact name - Kiana Karlovic. Award winning. Additional phone number - (503) 333-0133.  

Home Inspections PDX

Home Inspections PDX provides trusted home inspections, roof inspections, sewer scopes, and radon testing. Pre-sale and post-sell inspections available on request. This is an owner operated business, and when you have a question you will always speak directly with me. I offer online scheduling, consults, reporting, and payment.  

Oregon Chimney Repair & Cleaning Inc

Locally owned & operated since 1979, Oregon Chimney's competent and knowledgable Masons & Sweeps can handle any chimney repair job and chimney cleaning. We also do a variety of other services including chimney caps, linings , waterproofing, flashing, dampers, Real Estate inspections and firebox repairs. Our team at Oregon Chimney is dedicated to giving you the best service at an affordable price. We provide free estimates and our work is guaranteed. We are licensed bonded and insured our CCB number 51967/152506. Call us today for your free estimate. 503-231-2588. We look forward to working with you. Additional DBA - Oregon Chimney Repair & Cleaning, Inc.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by Oregon Chimney Repair & Cleaning Inc on Angi

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/16/2021

Shawn was fabulous! He was very knowledgeable, honest, prompt, pleasant, quick, gave us very detailed information about our current fireplace and chimney and answered all of our questions regarding upgrading our insert. Also showed us pictures. Additionally, Jenny in the office was very nice, informative and helpful as well. Would highly recommend this company if you're in need of chimney, fireplace work.

Description of Work
Chimney Inspection and advice on options

Category custom cabinets,chimney sweep

5.0

04/06/2021

We were told by 2 different gas fireplace companies that there was something blocking the vent. Dennis came out and checked it out. There was no blockage but there was a issue with the fireplace. He fixed it in no time. He was so professional and really worked through the issue to find the problem that I have paid other companies over $800 not to find the problem. I would call him again in a second if it were to go out again. Excellent company and excellent employee!

Description of Work
Gas fireplace did not work.

Category custom cabinets,fireplaces

3.0

10/08/2020

The company would not give me an estimate on the cost of work unless I purchased a $200 inspection. I explained that I already know what the problem is, and the person I spoke with did not care.

Description of Work
Chimney Brick Replacement

Category masonry,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry that you feel that the person that you spoke with did not care, but the reality is that we have found most of the time there are additional issues with chimneys and fireplaces that must be addressed to put them into safe working order. It's because we do care that we recommend an inspection be done, and not just address obvious deficiencies or something recommended by another firm. Our technicians are certified by the Chimney Safety Institute of America and are trained to inspect to the National Fire Protection Association standards and International Residential Codes. It takes time to conduct a proper inspection and to communicate our findings to homeowners and to provide the appropriate solutions, and for this service we must charge a fee. We will often apply the fee to the work when a proposal is accepted. Our clients usually understand this and have found value in the service we provide as you can see by the many reviews they have left on Angie's List and other online review sites.
5.0

02/28/2020

The whole experience/job exceeded my expectations! I requested a out of the box solution for Swifts in my chimney. The solution, a shared chimney. The whole team at American Chimney listened,created a plan and delivered .

Description of Work
Gas insert, chimney repair and Swift habitat

Category masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces,gas logs

5.0

02/25/2020

Very smoothly! He also changed our furnace filters for me because I didn't know how! Dennis Childers did a fantastic job. He even improved the look of our fake fireplace!!

Description of Work
Clean our gas fireplace and fix the switch

Category chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

01/26/2020

Scheduling complicated house repairs in stages is always going to be time-consuming and expensive. But everyone at American Chimney was very friendly and helpful, and the professional craftsmen that worked on and inside our home were courteous, clean, as fast as could reasonably be expected, and obviously proud of their careful, artistic work. We're confident that our new chimney and fireplace were properly constructed, and the log set was installed correctly. Plus, it's even more beautiful and fun to use that we expected. Thanks AC!

Description of Work
Chimney and firebox masonry, gas line extension, gas log installation

Category masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces,gas logs

5.0

01/20/2020

After the scaffolding was erected, the top ten courses of brick were torn down and rebuilt, with proper flashing, A chimney liner was installed and the smoke chamber built up and parged. A chimney cap was installed, and some tuck pointing done. The guys were careful with the scaffolding and cleanup, and answered all our questions. The work was done promptly. The office could have communicated better, but there was no real problem. And the fireplace is now safe and works fine!

Description of Work
I knew our 116-year-old fireplace chimney needed work, but I didn't know exactly what it needed. Shawn came out and did an inspection first, taking pictures and video 35 feet up. He found loose bricks, missing mortar, gaps in the flashing, and no chimney liner.

Category home inspection,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

01/09/2020

This company is a dream team. The office contact women are a delight to work with and very personable. The guys explained every step and the "why" of it complete with photos and a written explanation. They provided a reminder call before the appointment. They also repaired the chimney at my son's home. Excellent company.

Description of Work
Chimney rebuilt. Two fireboxes repaired.

Category masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

12/20/2019

Outstanding service provided by Jesus and the company team. He fully explained everything in detail. His before and after photos showed the thorough job he did. We've hired American Chimney three times before, for an inspection, a repair and installation of a cap. We highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with our company. We are glad that you were happy with the service and we appreciate your choosing American Chimney!
5.0

12/17/2019

Excellent. Jesus did a great job - and showed me pictures of before and after. He went out of his way to get the job done and coordinate with our schedules.

Description of Work
Clean chimney

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

It's always great to hear that our technicians provide a high level of customer service. Thank you so much for choosing us and for taking the time to share about your experience. We truly appreciate it!

    Services Offered

    Chimney sweeps, Chimney sweeping, Chimney cleaning, chimney inspection, chimney repair & restoration, chimney caps & dampers, chimney liner system installation, dryer vent cleaning, wood & gas stove sales & installation, fireplace repair, fireplace installation, Gas log installation, Gas fireplaces, Gas appliances service, Wood burning fireplace, Wood burning stoves, Outdoor fireplaces, Fireplace waterproofing

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal, Financing Available, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes