Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC.

Founded 1996 • With Angi since October 2005

4.8

(48) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8305 SE Monterey Ave. Ste. 215

Happy Valley, OR 97086

Description

LICENSE CCB#112550~ Scott Farnes, Owner/President, Home Inspector OCHI#092~ Don Bain, Home Inspector OCHI#1707 & Sewer Scope Technician~ Josh Keyser, Home Inspector OCHI#1879 & Sewer Scope Technician~ Steve Bailey, Home Inspector OCHI#1813 & Sewer Scope Technician~ Greg Bailey, Sewer Scope & Tank

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Joan F.
5.0
08/18/2016
Josh Keyser, my home inspector arrived promptly, in fact he was already inspecting the exterior when I arrived. He answered all my questions and provided a detailed breakdown of all repairs necessary, including pictures and which repairs were most necessary. He was friendly, knowledgable and a pleasure to work with during the inspection, he promptly emailed me a full report that same day, and afterwards I've been able to call him to answer any follow up questions about my home. I'd definitely use Apex again and I'd be very happy to have Josh act as my inspector the next time!
Description of Work
Inspection of home, sewerscope and radon testing.
Category
home inspection
CHARLES M. S.
5.0
04/28/2016
Very thorough and really covered everything. They were right on time and didn't track in any dirt.
Description of Work
Home inspection.
Category
home inspection
Chris R.
5.0
12/30/2015
We were fortunate to have Chris Nelson from Apex to do our home inspection. He was very knowledgeable and thorough, and prepared a comprehensive report. He also spent time to educate us on preventative maintenance and some history behind the construction methods and materials used in our house. Highly recommend.
Description of Work
Whole house inspection.
Category
home inspection
Tauran I.
5.0
12/19/2015
see above. he was fast, attentive, and wrote up a nice description of the problems as we needed.
Description of Work
Camera scope of catch basin and 8" pipe. Looked for damages and leaks.
Category
home inspection
Sheila M.
5.0
12/04/2015
We had hired apex this last summer for house hunting. When the big rains came, we had some water come into the crawlspace of our new home. I trusted our previous inspector (Don from apex) so I called apex and they sent him out the next day. He spotted the leakage during his exam. Because of the long hot summer we had and then some torrential rain, the problem had become apparent. We really appreciated the speed of their service. Thanks apex and Don. Good job!
Description of Work
Inspected crawlspace.
Category
home inspection
Grace L.
5.0
11/05/2015
We have a rental house that we get inspected every 2 to 3 years, just to be able to stay ahead of any possible issues. We've used Apex for years and are always extremely pleased with their work. They're knowledge, professional, and full of great tips on how to keep the house well maintained. I'd highly recommend them!
Description of Work
Full home inspection.
Category
home inspection
Katherine I.
5.0
10/27/2015
Chris from Apex was very thorough and patient with us as we asked him a million questions. We followed him around for most of the inspection and he kept us informed on what exactly he was looking for, and gave a lot of helpful advice on what issues were pressing and what things were important but could wait to be attended to. He emailed us a great thorough report just a few hours after the inspection was completed. We were very happy with their services!
Description of Work
We are first time home buyers and had the home inspected as well as a sewer scope and radon test.
Category
home inspection, radon testing, real estate agents
Nancy M.
5.0
09/11/2015
Josh was punctual, courteous and very efficient . His pleasant personality made the inspection a good experience.
Description of Work
Sewer scope
Category
home inspection
Sheila M.
5.0
07/31/2015
don inspected another home for us.we had hired him two weeks before on a house that we ended up turning down.he did a great job and we bought the house.he is very thorough.and he is also good about explaining things to us.
Description of Work
inspected another home for us .
Category
home inspection
Erin M.
5.0
12/23/2014
Great! Bobbie caught major and minor repairs needed to the home, as well as offering suggestions as to what we should prioritize/what we could do ourselves/where a professional should step in. She explained photos and what she noticed thoroughly, as well as talked in a way I could understand. She was great on the reinspection as well. I consulted her on a few things after she made the inspection and feel so much better moving into my new home with the needed repairs complete by the seller! I'd highly recommend Apex!
Description of Work
Thorough home inspection & sewer scope, as well as a re-inspection post repair work.
Category
home inspection
Matthew L.
5.0
04/24/2014
We are buying a home directly from our friends, and hired Apex to come out and inspect the home. I met Chris from Apex at our friends' house before our scheduled time - great punctuality! We are first-time buyers, and he did a great job of explaining to me all of what he was inspecting and what he could and could not do. He went a bit over the stated time, but he was very thorough and produced a very nice report. Apex also included a Pest and Dry Rot Inspection report at no additional cost, which was fantastic. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a great home inspector.
Description of Work
Performed a home inspection.
Category
home inspection
Katherine B.
1.0
02/22/2014
I need a new roof within 6 months of moving in. They missed a ginormous hole in the basement and I had huge amounts of basement flooding on the day I moved in. Seal plate the home sits on is tipping outwards significantly. These things should have been evaluated in the inspection and I wouldn't have purchased the home. I would caution everyone against using this company.
Description of Work
Provided a shoddy home inspection that missed multiple structural flaws costing me thousands of dollars. The inspector didn't even look at the roof. I received "appears functional" on almost everything reviewed. I was told multiple times how great the shape of my home was in for how old it is.
Category
home inspection
Carla P.
4.0
01/06/2014
The man who came was punctual and very courteous. There were multiple places on the inspection that stated he was unable to inspect the area, so he couldn't provide us with a report about that area. After purchasing the house multiple things came up that I felt should have been noted in a through inspection. These things were not noted until several months after purchasing the house, thankfully nothing that would have been a deal breaker. It was my first home inspection, so maybe the things I felt he should have noted, weren't things he would usually check. I did appreciate all the photos they included in the report they emailed to me!
Description of Work
The provider performed a home inspection on a house I was in the process of purchasing.
Category
home inspection
Ginger B.
5.0
10/23/2013
Apex had inspected the home when we originally bought it. After having it rented out, before we moved in we wanted to make sure everything was still in working order. We were able to request that a modified inspection be done. The inspector was on time, very pleasant and helpful. She pointed out potential problems, and made suggestions as to what we might do to alleviate them.
Description of Work
Home inspection after tenants vacated.
Category
home inspection
Divyatej T.
5.0
09/04/2013
A pre-purchase home inspection was done on a older home with issues. Fortunately the issues were found during the inspection. I would never buy a new or used home without a home inspection.
Description of Work
Home inspection
Category
home inspection
Debra W.
5.0
06/17/2013
We had a home inspection for our first home as part of the buying process. The home inspector was punctual, friendly, explained what she was looking for as she inspected and pointed things out right away. She also sent us a detailed report with pictures pointing out the specific areas that needed repair, maintenance or monitoring. It was overall a great experience!
Description of Work
Home Inspection
Category
home inspection
HEIDI G.
5.0
05/20/2013
Dale was prompt, extremely thorough, a pleasure to interact with and highly professional (so much so that we thought he was the business owner). The seller couldn't believe how thorough Dale was and stated he wanted him to use his services in the purchase of his future home. The report was clear, concise and thorough; providing photos as well as corresponding descriptions of the items in question.
Description of Work
Home inspection included home and 2000 sq ft secondary building & radon test.
Category
home inspection, radon testing
Debbie S.
5.0
04/24/2013
It was great. They were really professional and all inclusive. Ross, the inspector, was very informative.
Description of Work
They did a home inspection.
Category
home inspection
Aaron K.
5.0
02/14/2013
They were very thorough. We appreciate the time they took on maintenance projects was greatly appreciated.
Description of Work
They took time to explain things that may need to be addressed on our new home purchase.
Category
home inspection
Sara U.
5.0
11/19/2012
Steve from Apex was recommended to me by my realtor, Marty Weil, and came to perform a home inspection on a home I was trying to purchase. Josh from Apex also came, to perform a sewer scope. Both arrived early and were very kind and personable. We had an unusual situation with the homeowners trying to refuse the home inspection and they were patient through the whole process. Steve waited an hour to start the home inspection and once he did he was very thorough and informative. He madesure to explain everything he was doing and what he was seeing, including giving us tips and information like the location of important shut-off valves and switches. Josh had to leave for another job while wewere waiting to see if the homeowner would let us do the inspection (which was agreed upon in our sales contract), but he came back to do the scope and was quick and helpful - he even gave me a CD with the video of the scope on it for my records. The listing agent was present at the inspection and he even commented on Steve's performance, stating that he was even more thorough than the inspectors he usually recommends! Even though the homeowners were very difficult, and downright rude, Steve and Josh were kind and professional the whole time. I ended up backing out of the house, but I will definitely hire Steve and Josh from Apex again when the next one comes along! Worth every penny! I even tried to tip Steve for his troubles, and he politely refused! Classy guys.
Description of Work
Steve performed a full home inspection on a 2003 home in Hillsboro. Josh came along as the sewer scope technician and performed a video scope of the sewer line.
Category
home inspection, real estate agents
Balaji N.
5.0
07/07/2012
Both guys were very knowledgeable, professional and punctual. But the inspection report had too "not able to get a clear view so not able to inspect" and many such disclaimers which made me feel a bit uncomfortable. But for that pretty good experience.
Description of Work
Got both the home inspection and the sewer inspection I had made an offer in the Bethany neighborhood for Portland (97229)
Category
home inspection
Richard W.
5.0
07/03/2012
So far I think they have done a good job. They didn't find anything and nothing has appeared to be a problem. The guy I worked with I found to be pretty personable. I don't remember any problems, so therefore it was good.
Description of Work
I used Apex Home Inspections for a home inspection when I bought my house.
Category
home inspection
Cheryle G.
5.0
07/03/2012
Scott was already at the house when I arrived just prior to the appointment time and was set up to start work. He explained the process to me, spoke with my Realtor and my contractor, answered my questions, listened to my concerns, and went to work. The full inspection took just under three hours, and he spent 1/2 hour with me after he was done, explaining his findings and pointing out where within the house each issue is. I can't say enough good things about Scott - his friendliness, his professionalism, his thoroughness, and his patience. I would definitely hire Apex again and have no hesitation about recommending them to friends and family.
Description of Work
Pre-purchase home inspection.
Category
home inspection
Vasilias & Stefanie S.
2.0
06/22/2012
They missed a lot of things in the inspection. I think that I caught more things than the guy did. I caught mold and dry rott that he missed completly. We have been in the home for seven months and we have had issues since then. We started out having an issue every single week for the first three months and then an issue every three weeks since we moved in. Our chandelier fell out of our ceiling as well as another light fixture. A recessed light completed coroded and would burn out bulbs within minutes of installing. We have also had a lot of pest control issues with ants and sprider. There have been water issues as well. The yard was constantly flooded and there was no drainage in the yard. We had to have a french drain installed in the back yard. Our hot water tank went out twice and the control panel had to be replaced. The bathtub went out and two of the toilets would constantly run.
Description of Work
We hire them for a home inspection.
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

The comments above are not true. The true facts: 1. The inspection fee was not $850. It was $360. 2. Just about every problem or issue that they stated was clearly documented by our inspector in the inspection report (which they received a copy of.) This includes mold issues, dry rot issues, electrical issues, pest issues and water drainage issues. 3. In regards to the the other issues (water heater, bathtub and toilets), at the time of the inspection eight months ago they were all fully functional. This is documented in the report, as well.
Frank B.
3.0
06/18/2012
Poor service. Poor return of telephone calls when issues were found. No acceptance of responsiblity by inspector
Description of Work
Issues were not caught during the inspection. Mold was noted on the floor of the laundry after inspction was completed and inspector did not find it. Electircal issues were encountered that inspector did not find. Issues with dryer vent and plumbing in the laundry were not noted by inspector. Inspector was confronted about this and did not attempt to provide any correction.
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

In response to our customer's comments: 1. The floor in the laundry area was not fully visible during the inspection (due to appliances and floor coverings at that area.) If there was mold on the floor, we weren't able to see it during the inspection because of that. 2. There were many electrical issues observed during the course of the inspection. These issues are clearly documented in the inspection report (which our customer has a copy of.) 3. There were no issues with the dryer venting and plumbing. Both of those items were fully functional. 4. We did return our customer's phone calls, and discussed these matters with him.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jason Merritt - HomeSmart Realty Group

    HomeSmart Realty Group - Merritt Home Team is a small team of hand-selected real estate professionals serving home buyers and sellers in Hillsboro, Oregon and surrounding area.  

    Angi Certified

    RIVERSIDE MORTGAGE GROUP (DAVID SEFTON - OWNER)

    Our mortgage loans have extremely competitive low interest rates & fees. My ultimate goal is to create lasting long term relationships with every client. I am the co-owner of Riverside Mortgage Group & personally handle all aspects of your loan application & processing. Licensing Information: www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org NMLS # 116689, NMLS # 113779. Servicing Portland & all of Oregon. Riverside Mortgage is a locally owned & operated mortgage lender since 2003.  

    Angi Certified

    Gryphon Custom Home Builders and Remodeling LLC

    We specialize in craftsman style new construction custom homes and spec homes here in the Portland area. We build houses all different shapes and sizes! We're locally owned and operated right here in the inner city of Portland area. Working with our team will make your build transparent from start to finish and can save you a ton of money in the end. Our customers love us, and you will too! Give us a call!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Title Companies
    Mortgage Companies
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    A FULL HOME INSPECTION INCLUDES A COMPREHENSIVE AND DETAILED EXAMINATION OF THE FOLLOWING SYSTEMS AND COMPONENTS: SITE, EXTERIOR, ROOF/ROOF DRAINAGE, ATTIC, ELECTRICAL, PLUMBING, HEATING/COOLING, INTERIOR, GARAGE, FOUNDATION/STRUCTURE, CRAWL SPACE/BASEMENT, PEST, & DRY ROT. We also, offer Radon Testing, Sewer Scope Inspections and Tank Scans.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC.

    How is APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. overall rated?

    APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. open?

    APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. provide

    APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. offer free estimates?

    Yes, APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. offers free project estimates.

    Does APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. offer a senior discount?

    No, APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC.?

    No, APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. does not offer warranties.

    What services does APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. offer?

    APEX HOME INSPECTIONS, INC. offers the following services: A FULL HOME INSPECTION INCLUDES A COMPREHENSIVE AND DETAILED EXAMINATION OF THE FOLLOWING SYSTEMS AND COMPONENTS: SITE, EXTERIOR, ROOF/ROOF DRAINAGE, ATTIC, ELECTRICAL, PLUMBING, HEATING/COOLING, INTERIOR, GARAGE, FOUNDATION/STRUCTURE, CRAWL SPACE/BASEMENT, PEST, & DRY ROT. We also, offer Radon Testing, Sewer Scope Inspections and Tank Scans.