Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ALERT DOOR & OPERATOR CO

Founded 1963 • With Angi since August 2000

ADDITIONAL PHONES - (330) 656-1500, (440) 461-8100.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(33) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 33 reviews
Dave C.
5.0
10/20/2020
It went great! Chris was on time on the day of the appointment and examined the door opener. He determined it needed to be replaced due to it's age and gave us a very good price. We agreed and he started to work on it immediately. The installation went very quick and afterwards he took a lot of time to explain the different operations. He even helped me program the transmitter in my car. He cleaned everything up and also took the old opener away. We've always had Alert Door work on our garage door problems. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Diagnose garage door opener problem
Category
garage doors
Trevor M.
5.0
12/26/2017
My garage door spring broke a couple days before Christmas. I figured I would wait to contact someone until after Christmas to avoid any potential extra charges. My brother used Alert for the same issue and said they did a great job, so I sent them an email on Christmas evening with a picture of the broken spring, expecting to get a call back the next morning. They emailed me back less than five minutes later on Christmas! I got a call the next morning (presumably when they opened) to set up a time for Chris to come out and fix things. He came within the time range they gave me, and I got a call about 15-20 minutes before he arrived. Chris was a really nice guy, extremely courteous and very efficient. And the garage door works wonderfully now! Nothing but good things to say about this experience. Thanks Chris and company!
Description of Work
Garage door spring needed to be replaced
Category
garage doors
KAREN L T.
5.0
01/26/2017
Service was good, quick and to the point. Courteous and punctual.
Description of Work
Replaced the garage door
Category
garage doors
JUDITH B.
5.0
06/24/2015
It turned out excellent. They did a good job. They had a hard time getting the door down and they worked hard at it.
Description of Work
Garage door replacement.
Category
garage doors
Andrea H.
5.0
03/24/2015
They are an excellent company and honest. I've used them for over 25yrs. There is always a smile on his face also.
Description of Work
We had them put up a new garage door in september and a new genie. Our garage door had a defect that we noticed so Dan came over to replace it for free.
Category
garage doors
Cindi L.
5.0
06/21/2014
They were fantastic. They did a great job and I highly recommend them. They are prompt, friendly, courteous, and clean. They know what they are doing and their cost was less than their competitor's price. They were great to deal with all the way.
Description of Work
I have been using Alert Door & Operator Co for years and my mom has been using them as well. The last time I used them for replacing a spring on my garage door.
Category
garage doors
LINDA T.
5.0
02/04/2014
Jim Welch came out to fix one garage door with broken springs which he did quickly and efficiently. He also repaired another single door that had a bent hinge.
Description of Work
Replaced both torsion springs and rollers on a double garage door.
Category
garage doors
KAREN S B.
5.0
11/12/2013
My garage door broke and I have snow blowers in my garage. I called this company and they were so nice, they had a guy out in two hours. I was so happy. They came out and check it again and fixed it. They changed springs and the locks for me and lubricated the door.
Description of Work
They fixed my garage door.
Category
garage doors
Murali P.
5.0
04/10/2013
We had got two estimates - the second one also from a top-rated provider on Angie's List. We decided to go with Alert Door primarily because we already had a positive experience with this company. Three years back they had repaired our old garage door (replaced broken spring etc.) and the door had been functioning without any issues since. Dan, who had done the repairs then, had also given an estimate for a new door at my request at that time, so I called him recently to ask if I could have an updated estimate. He came over and left a revised estimate which was actually close to the one from 3 years ago. The estimate from the other provider was not only higher, it seemed like the technician/sales person who came by was not too interested in getting my business. Dan and his colleague Chris came by on the scheduled day to do the install (they were a bit late in arriving, but finished the whole job in just 3 hours or so. They also took the time to explain every aspect of the new door system and, looking at the finished work, we were glad we had hired them to do the job - our door looks and operates great! More importantly, we know that if we have any problems, we can always count on them to address it.
Description of Work
Installed new garage door system, with door, operator, remotes, and keypad.
Category
garage doors
Brian D.
5.0
03/11/2013
covered above - it was probably a flawless experience from start to finish.
Description of Work
We called them because a spring was brokem. They were here by noon the same day. The service guy mentioned that the other spring was the same age and would probably need to be replaced soon. He noted there was a broken panel (which we knew) and all the wheels and track, etc., were badly worn, had we considered replacing the door? There was no sales pressure, but he measured and gave us a price including installation. There were options and he said take our time deciding. He replaced the spring at no charge so our door would operate. We took the option of special windows in the door. The door came soon and installation was immediate and efficient. The installer also took time to explain how to maintain the door and helped me program my car's remote to open the door. The whole process was fast, the door operates perfectly, and we are thrilled with it. Everything is tight and good.Overall it was a great experience.
Category
garage doors
Jo S.
5.0
12/21/2012
, The work went very nicely......I have nothing but good things to say about the two gentlemen, who took their time, and, worked hard for approximately 2 hours, or, so. I would recommend them to anyone needing this kind of service. I am really enjoying my new unit!
Description of Work
Alert Door and Operator Co. came highly recommended by neighbors who had used them before. They replaced an outdated system that continued to work, however, when the power went out, as, it does frequently in my area, I couldn't raise the without the opener, as, the door was too heavy! Two gentlemen came out on the date promised, and, installed a keyless entry system, with back Up battery, which allows me to raise the door by pressing a button, even when the power is out! They oiled and adjusted the overhead door, and, replaced the rollers, cleaned, and, hauled away all debris, but, not before giving me a lesson on how to use my new and much updated system! I hardly know my garage door is raising, it is so quiet!
Category
garage doors
Dave C.
5.0
11/21/2011
One of the springs had broken on our garage door so I called Alert Door. Chris came right out to our house and did the repairs in less than an hour. We were very satisfied with the service and professionalism of this company. I would highly recommed Alert Door for any repairs to a garage door.
Description of Work
Repaired two springs on our garage door.
Category
garage doors
Jeff J.
5.0
08/23/2011
Chris has come out to our house in years past on our very old doors for minor repairs but this was part of a bigger job contracted through Home Exteriors. Chris' professionalism shows every time he is at our house over the years and this was no exception. The heavy wooden doors were held together with every bolt possible! Chris was completely professional and had the new doors up in a day especially since they were oversized. His advice on the garage door opener and and additional keypad was great. Chris came back to adjust the doors after the garage siding was completed. I will always stick with Alert Door - I've had them for years and will always call them when we need help.
Description of Work
Removed two old wooden garage doors Replaced both doors with aluminum doors Replaced one of the garage door openers
Category
garage doors
Pat G.
5.0
08/01/2011
On 7/ll/2011 when I came home from work, my garage door would not open. It worked that morning. Thinking it was the batteries in the remote, I changed them. Nothing. I called Alert Door and left a message and they promptly called me at work the next morning and were extremely professional and stated they would call me when a technician was available and give me time to get from my work job to home. Their office called me back within 15 minutes and told me a tech was on his way. I left work and went home and Chris showed up a minute later. Good timing!! He was professional, explained the problem and how it was going to be resolved. Within a short amount of time I was on my way back to work, extremely satisified with a job well done! I cannot thank the staff at Alert Door enough for their professionalism and promptness. I will recommend them and should another issue arise with my garage door (however, we hope not!) I most definitely will call Alert Door again.
Description of Work
Garage door would not open. Sensor parts were replaced and door springs, etc. were oiled.
Category
garage doors
Mike M.
5.0
11/08/2010
They originally came out because my wall control unit was not working. They replaced it but found it wasn't compatible with my older system. Gave me the option of replacing the circuit board to make the wall unit compatible (approx. $200) or replacing the whole system. Due to the age of my system (10+ years) I decided to replace the whole thing. (The life expectancy of the plastic gear is approx. 10 years and to replace that would have been around $200.) Went from a 1/2 horse gear driven system to a 3/4 horse belt drive. The price included 2 remote controls and a keypad. I have used this company previously to replace my springs and I have been very satisfied with them. Professional and punctual both times. I would not hesitate to recommend them.
Description of Work
Replaced my garage door opening system.
Category
garage doors
david S.
5.0
08/25/2010
They worked hard and did an excellent job. They swept out the garage afterwards. They went above and beyond.
Description of Work
They installed two new garage doors.
Category
garage doors
Murali P.
5.0
01/10/2010
I had called them because our garage door wasn't working. Dan, who did the job, was very courteous and came on time as scheduled (on a Saturday, which worked out convenient for us). He quickly diagnosed the problem as a broken spring (on one side) and gave us an option to replace the spring, the cost of which can be credited towards a new door install later if we chose to do it within a certain time frame. However, he didn't push the new door on us, but simply explained the various options and also described all the good and bad of the existing door and mechanism. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience, and we will most likely call the same company if we decide to replace our door. We wish our experiences with all service contractors were like this!
Description of Work
Replaced a broken spring.
Category
garage doors
LINDA T.
5.0
04/16/2009
When our garage door opener stopped working, Alert Door Co. was able to send a repairman the next day. Chris quickly and correctly diagnosed the problem, replaced the part (which he had in stock), and checked out the rest of the system. Even though the opener is about 15 yrs old, he did not automatically try to sell us a new one. It is working fine.
Description of Work
The gear mechanism in our electric garage door opener was replaced.
Category
garage doors
PATRICIA AND ROBERT J.
5.0
09/05/2007
They did a really really good job. They were so thorough and gave me a lot of information. They even gave me an extra remote. We are very happy with them. They are excellent. They didn't take a lot of time very thorough.
Description of Work
They fixed our garage door motor.
Category
garage doors
ELLEN B.
5.0
07/14/2006
Alert Door returned my message the same day and came out for the repair the next day. Dan was polite, knowledgeable, and explained what was wrong. He said it would take him about 45 minutes to repair, and he was right on.
Description of Work
My garage door opener stopped working. Alert Door came out the day after I called them and repaired the opener. There was a broken spring that they replaced.
Category
garage doors
ELEANOR V.
5.0
03/03/2006
They did a good job and they came back several times to make sure it was working properly.
Description of Work
They replaced the mechanism for the garage door.
Category
garage doors
ROBERT C.
5.0
04/01/2004
THE COMPANY GOT SOMEONE OUT THE NEXT DAY. THEY CALL PRIOR TO ARRIVING AND HE WAS WITHIN THE ESTIMATED TIME PERIOD FOR ARRIVAL. THE WORK WAS DONE RAPIDLY AND COMPETENTLY AT THE MINIMUM SERVICE PRICE FOR LABOR PLUS THE CABLE PART. SOME COMPANIES CHARGE FOR LABOR ABOVE THE MINIMUM EVEN IF IT TAKES LESS THAN 1/2 HOUR.
Description of Work
DOOR WAS JAMMED DOWN. SERVICE PERSON REPLACED A BROKEN CABLE AND THIS FIXED THE PROBLEM.
Category
garage doors
MARY F.
5.0
04/07/2003
$65 IS THEIR SERVICE CHARGE AND PARTS ARE EXTRA.
Description of Work
REPAIRED GARAGE DOOR THAT WAS NOT STAYING OPENED. ADDED A 1/2 END WIND TO SPRING. WD40 ON SOME PARTS.
Category
garage doors
ANDREW G.
5.0
09/13/2002
EXCHANGED A BANGED UP TRANSMITTER WITH A SLIGHTLY USED TRANSMITTER FOR ONLY $3 AT THEIR OFFICE ON BETA DRIVE
Description of Work
CALLED ANOTHER ANGIES LIST REPRESENTATIVE AND RECEIVED A HIGHER QUOTE THAN ALERT. WORK DONE ON TWO DOUBLE DOOR GARAGES, RIGHT DOOR REPLACED SPRINGS $160 AND ROLLERS 4 @ $14EA, REPLACE ONE HINGE $3.50, BOTH DOORS LUBE; LABOR $15
Category
garage doors
LEIGH D.
5.0
08/21/2002
I CALLED THEM AT 8:30 AND MY DOOR WAS FIXED BY 11:23! THEY WERE EXTREMELY RESPONSIVE AND EVEN CALLED WHEN THEY WERE ON THEIR WAY. OUR TECH WAS A MAN NAMED CARY AND HE WAS VERY NICE. THEY WERE WONDERFUL TO WORK WITH!
Description of Work
FIXED A BUSTED SPRING
Category
garage doors

Other local Pros in your area

Rogers Overhead Door

We offer quality and affordable garage door services.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

5534 PEARL RD

Cleveland, OH 44129

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

ALERT DOOR & OPERATOR CO is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

ALERT DOOR & OPERATOR CO accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

Yes, ALERT DOOR & OPERATOR CO offers free project estimates.

No, ALERT DOOR & OPERATOR CO does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, ALERT DOOR & OPERATOR CO does not offer warranties.

ALERT DOOR & OPERATOR CO offers the following services: FIX, REPAIR, INSTALL DOOR AND OPENERS. (GENIE PROFESSIONAL, LIFT-MASTER) WINDOWS.