Dolphin Plumbing Inc.

About

Founded 1996 • With Angi since July 2014

You are in safe waters with us! High quality plumbing and heating repairs and installations, Knowledgeable and friendly service, Reasonable rates. Available 24/7 for emergencies. Our service will make you flip!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Berfore: Outdated Kitchen

+14 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(83) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

76

4

1

3

2

2

0

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

plumbers (78)water heaters (16)drain cleaning (15)HVAC Companies (10)well & water pump repair (7)home remodeling (6)sewer cleaning (3)water softeners (3)gas leak repair (2)septic tank service (1)
Showing 1-25 of 83 reviews
5.0

04/29/2021


Matthew C.

John, Was on time, explained what needed to be done, Adjusted pitch of piping and added a shut off valve to to prevent any issue in the future. Quick and clean.

Description of Work
Replace Outside garden faucet

Category plumbing

Cost $415

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2021

Service Provider Response

Ty neighbor! Glad you are happy with John's work, hard not to be... John takes tremendous pride in his trade and is extremely knowledgeable and experienced. We appreciate you noticing! Call us if you need us- Be well, Jill
5.0

12/04/2020


Susan L.

Very well. Tub/shower single control valve thermostatic cartridge & gasket were replaced in good time. Nice job -- good as new.

Description of Work
Leak of tub/shower faucet

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Ty for posting. Glad you are happy, John does not disappoint! Call us if you need us! All best, Jill
5.0

10/30/2020


Laura A.

Super skilled plumber with tons of integrity. I know when I call Dolphin the job will be done correctly. No cutting corners. Has been able to fix shoddy work done by previous plumbers and has advised us on numerous commercial & residential issues. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Installation of water purifier, removal of sink, repair leak and more

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Ty so much neighbor! Appreciate your comments - they are all true! I know you know that you are in safe waters with us! Over and out- Jill
5.0

10/30/2020


Jeremy R.

Each service that needed to be performed were addressed immediately and will not need fixing again, for the foreseeable future.

Description of Work
There were many points that needed addressing

Category plumbing, water softeners, wells, drain cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks neighbor! That's how we roll- fix it permanently. John is very thorough, no short cuts. Ty for appreciating him. Call us if you need us!
5.0

10/28/2020


Molly F.

Absolutely Fantastic. They did a great job on the installation and left the area clean and spotless.

Description of Work
New Hot Water Heater

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/28/2020

Service Provider Response

Ty so much [Member Name Removed], Always a pleasure to work with you! Next time, we'll bring lunch! Call us if you need us- All best, Jill
1.0

10/13/2020


matthew G.

I called Dolphin for an estimate on a maintenance service for my Navien hot water tankless system. The tech that came out was very prompt and courteous and answered most of my questions. The problem arose when I received the estimate for the work to be done. All I received was a price. I sent an e=mail requesting an itemized list of what would be done including prices for labor and parts. I received a response from the owner who refused to itemize their estimate saying, "this is not how we do business". And she stated they would have nothing further to do with me. That was it, no explanation or reason for not providing me with an itemized estimate. What professional company refuses to give an itemized estimate? Needless to say, thank goodness I did not agree to have these people work in my house. Worst customer service I have ever received.

Description of Work
Service estimate for Navien hot water heater

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Work Completed On 10/13/2020

Service Provider Response

ACTUALLY, this was NOT maintenance. Here's how it really went down in 2019; pls see below for our email exchange cut & pasted in its entirety after John came over and gave you a free estimate and spoke to you for an hour about other issues in your home. As indicated below, this was a job working behind an incorrect install performed by someone else; not our favorite situation as we always run into more problems once we uncover someone else's sub-par work. That's what we felt the job was worth in this circumstance, it wasn't a parts & labor kind of gig. Btw the initial consult is not just about you deciding if you want to hire us; it's also about us deciding if we want to work for you. Some jobs like this aren't worth getting into... the customer is already p***** off that they paid for a bad job and now has to pay more to get the right job that they should've had the 1st time around- not a great opener especially if the customer starts questioning our cost. We didn't do the bad job; we are the ones fixing it. And John is OCD, meticulous and does everything to code. No bad deal there. Pls read below to refresh your memory: Jill Ziccardi Tue, Oct 1, 2019, 5:01 PM to member email Hi Member - Thank you for your patience. Here's the deal: -Re-plumb exhaust and intake -Supply/install acid neutralizer -Clean up condensate line = $1200 + tax Lmk if you want to move forward- All best, Jill member Tue, Oct 1, 2019, 6:05 PM to me Thank you. I was not expecting such a high estimate. Could you please send me an itemized estimate including labor and parts. Thank you. Member Jill Ziccardi Wed, Oct 2, 2019, 9:25 AM to member Hi Member, My apologies but we don't have time to break down your job like that and it's not how we evaluate the cost of the job; we have a flat rate pricing system that includes all of our allocated costs as John is not just a guy in a truck - we are incorporated. I'm sorry you feel this is a high price but we feel this is a very fair price to un-do and re-do as it is not easy for him to make it right but he would- and once he touches it, then he's married to it and we have had lost our shirt in the past working behind folks that don't do the right thing. 70% of our field work is fixing the wrong doing by others and your unit is definitely not properly installed, missing the acid neutralizer and not plumbed to code. In addition, John already spent an hour with you, speaking with you about other issues in your home and priced up this job. And he is a certified Navian installer, licensed and has expertise that is valuable. Nevertheless, you are entitled to your opinion- no hard feelings at all, but it doesn't seem like we are a match for business so we are going to respectfully decline. We wish you well- many thanks for reaching out to us. Kind regards, Jill
5.0

09/17/2019


Trina R.

I contacted Jill because my plumbing came loose and my kitchen was flooded. She was very understanding and they showed up and fix my pipes temporarily. We made appointment to repair the pipes they were on time, professional clean and the price is reasonable will be hiring again.

Description of Work
A prior contractor messed up my plumbing in my Kitchen had to moved for the second time

Category plumbing, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/29/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], thanks for posting. Glad John was able to correct your plumbing and that you have been welcomed into the Dolphin family! We are happy to count you as another happy customer and it is a pleasure working with you! Call us if you need us- All best, Jill
3.0

07/17/2019


Rollin H.

I was informed that no new customers are being accepted at this time (July 2019) as they are at capacity. This post is an FYI as I cannot comment on the services provided since was not able to schedule any work.

Description of Work
Requested service to remove filtration tanks plus some potential plumbing line repair.

Category plumbing

Work Completed On 07/17/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello- I'm sorry for the delayed response and that we were not able to serve you; but as the business owner, I'd like to offer a full explanation of why this is the case since it seems that you felt disappointed enough to post this non-review. 1. Perhaps you are unaware, but there is a huge shortage in the trades, ask any plumber, carpenter, mason, electrician, mechanic, etc. I know, bc we have been trying to hire a 2nd plumber for almost 4 years, been thru 7 or 8 of them but can't find one that takes pride in their work, has craftsmanship, knows code and performs quality work. And btw, 70% of our work is correcting bad work done by other contractors that obviously were not professionally trained - not acceptable to us. 2. The main reason we are in such demand is that our master plumber takes tremendous pride in what he does, is honest, knows code and performs high quality work that is done right the right the first time. If you must know, he is managing a customer base of about 800 and growing- ONE PLUMBER. 3. In addition, you should know that our customer base swells in the summer bc we have city customers that have vacation homes in the Hudson Valley so if we get too jammed up, we have to stop taking customers or people won't get the quality service that we are invested in. 4. In your case, we did stop taking customers for a couple of weeks at the height of our season but Shokan is out of Dolphin's service area, which is smaller that Angie's list territories, so either way, I'm afraid we are not a match for business. We can't serve everyone that wants our service. It is not humanly possible. So- I'd like to ask you, for a company in this predicament, what would've been an ethical response to your inquiry? I was trying to be transparent... as it is one of many of Dolphin's business values but your post seems to indicate that you were not satisfied with my response. Pls advise. Many thanks, Jill
1.0

07/05/2019


Rob M.

By the way, this happened two years ago in 2017, and I’m still angry about it, so decided to write a review.

Description of Work
I used Angie’s list messages to ask a question, and Jill the disgustingly rude receptionist, had to respond passive-aggressively with capital letters and letting me know that they are a “master plumber”. It was all so unnecessary, as I only was asking about cementing two pvc pipes together... something I ended up doing myself (and I’m no master plumber). She also said it would be $85 to come out and check. I nicely said that I believe I had about an hour of work for them. This is when she wrote back in caps that WE determine the time not me. Wow. Is this how they teach loser receptionists to acquire more business? Complete jerks. The worst. Never will get a dime from me.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hello Angie's list customers, Pls scroll down to 7/10/2017 to see this woman's complaint as I posted the extent of my email exchange with her 2 years ago and haven't thought about her since.... Sincerely, Dolphin Plumbing Business Owner
5.0

06/03/2019


Lori H.

We contacted a few plumbers, this company responded right away and in a professional manner. They worked with us around other contractors it was like choreographing a play trying to get all the contractors here at the right time. We took out an old tub and tile and put a new one in but we did not renovate the whole bathroom so it was tricky. The bathroom is very small as well. The tub needed to have a platform placed under it he did what was necessary. John changed toilets around for me and some faucets so he was good about using the stuff I had. The job came out great, no leaks. We had one problem with the tub not holding water but John came back right away and adjusted and it's fine. I would highly recommend him,Jill and his son.

Description of Work
We needed new tub, toilets switched around and faucets.

Category plumbing, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2019

Images

Review for Dolphin Plumbing Inc. - PO Box 753, Highland, NY - 37907374

+1 More

Service Provider Response

OMG! I swear I responded to this - my apologies for the delay. It was a pleasure working with you and your husband and I hope we helped move your future ahead! All the best to you both- All best, Jill
5.0

03/23/2019


Todd D.

Jill was extremely pleasant over the phone and very urgent. She was able to get Jon (the master plumber) to contact me within the hour, and to my home within 3 hours. Jon was professional, pleasant and proficient. Very good and clean work. HIGHLY recommend this company. If I ever need another plumber, Dolphin plumbing is my go to company. The price was high, but expected on a weekend and for priority, emergency service. Thanks for the great service Dolphin!

Description of Work
Emergency repair for broken water pipe.

Category plumbing

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thanks for reaching out to us- Glad we were able to fit you in on a frozen pipe day! Always a hustle on those days but also glad you had a pick up that handles your driveway, lol. Call us if you need us; now you know from experience, that you are in safe waters with us! All best, Jill
5.0

11/17/2018


glenn N.

They arrived on time and proceeded to fix the kitchen sink drain leak then proceeded to find the reason for a slow drain and fixed the problem.Very satisfied indwell hire again.

Description of Work
kitchen sink drain leak plus slow drain

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], John enjoyed meeting you and your wife- glad we can add you to the list of happy customers! Thank you for your patience waiting for an appointment; you caught us at a high volume moment- the beginning of heating season! Call us if you need us- Happy holidays. Kind Regards, Jill
5.0

11/08/2018


Frank D.

Did not work. Line was to obstructed. Hired excavation company to repair.

Description of Work
Clog in underground drainage line,

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2018

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Many thanks for the review but I must say that it is a bit puzzling. My understanding from John is that while attempting to snake your grey water line, he kept pulling out roots so stopped and had a conversation with you that went something like this... "Not sure if you want me to keep going bc I am pulling out A LOT roots and you tell me the line is old and we don't know the condition of the line, don't want to spend your money for you as this could become costly and you may want to consider changing out the line..." After the conversation, you agreed that it would be better to change out the line so told John you'd call your excavator. He was there for an hour and a half, cut into a line for access to your drain line, made several attempts to snake the line with an expensive piece of equipment and charged you $285 - 10% 1st time Angie's list = $256.50 + tax. Sounds like you not only got a deal but Dolphin saved you money by explaining the situation so we WOULDN'T cost you a lot of money. Only mentioning this because of the C grade with the price, very confusing. I'm honestly not trying to be difficult but we believe the price to be very reasonable and our conduct to be very honorable.... not sure what you were expecting the cost to be, but if that is a primary issue for you, you could've asked as we have set costs for snaking. All best, Jill
5.0

09/08/2018


kathleen B.

I couldn't be more pleased with my experience with Dolphin plumbing--I was impressed when they didn't send a salesperson to my door for the free estimate. I was impressed with the reasonable estimate. I got actual answers to my questions. I was also impressed with Jill's responsiveness with questions and making appts. John and his team came to do the work in a timely fashion and there was no delay-they have an excellent work ethic. I turned my heat on for the first time today and it warmed up fast---and QUIET! I am thrilled to have found an honest, responsive, talented, hardworking plumber who is local! This is an "old world" style company that understands good customer service.-I would recommend them to anyone!! I can't say enough nice things about them!

Description of Work
new boiler installed, new water pump, new well tank, replace spigot/pipe, drain hot h2o tank, snake pipe

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, wells

Cost $7,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]! Many thanks for your glowing review- we do really care about doing right by folks... and communication is our thing! So glad you are happy with your new unit! We are glad to count you as a new happy customer! Kind Regards, Jill
5.0

05/15/2018


linda C.

This Company Dolphin Inc. is just amazing. He was there in less than an hour. Friendly, professional. Even the office staff. I had never used this company before a friend gave me his number. H took care of my problem like I was a customer he had taken care for years!

Description of Work
work on my oil tank

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review and you mention a very cherished character trait of John's- as he will take care of you! That's why you are in safe waters with us! All the best with the sale of your house- Kind Regards, J&J
5.0

04/23/2018


jacqueline S.

EXCELLENT showed up on time... very professional .. very clean addressed all my concerns takes pride in his work somewhat of a lost art nowadays .... if you need a plumber you can trust them to do an excellent job

Description of Work
new plumbing installed new toilets fix all existing plumbing new sinks brought everything up to code

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2017

Service Provider Response

Hey [Member Name Removed]! John is looking forward to seeing you next week. Many thanks for mentioning the "lost art", as craftsmanship is one of John's flagship work habits... and he doesn't make up his own rules- he follows the code.... you'd be surprised at how many technicians don't. We appreciate straight talk! Kind Regards, Jill
5.0

11/15/2017


eric C.

Dolphin Plumbling was excellent. They diagnosed the problem quickly and correctly. Their pricing was the most competitive and they did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Water pressure reducer removed

Category plumbing

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed]! Can't believe I missed this review- I always respond! My apologies for the ridiculous delay! So glad you are happy with John's work - hard not to be - he's really good at diagnosing and his craftsmanship is over the top. Many thanks for the shout-out! All best, Jill
5.0

11/07/2017


Irwin G.

John and his son, John, did an excellent job. He didn't try to sell me something that I didn't need. All work was estimated in advance and they even provided an 'official' estimate electronically before any work was done. The only issue I had is at the time of the estimate, I was told work could be scheduled the following week but they got booked up and it couldn't be completed until the week after.

Description of Work
I needed a new toilet and the main drain line cleaned out due to roots in the pipe.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2017

Service Provider Response

Hello Neighbor, Many thanks for your review; glad you were happy with John & Jonathan's work. My apologies about the timeline- I do remember your job was scheduled on a Monday- so at the very beginning of the following week. However, I appreciate you pointing this out to me, as perhaps I shouldn't be so loose and optimistic... because when we receive an emergency call (ie: no water, no heat or water that won't shut off, etc...), we are there within the hour... but it re-jumbles the schedule for the rest of the week... I believe your job was subject to this- The truth is that we really need another plumber so we can get a 2nd truck on the road. We have been looking for almost 2 years and have been thru 6-7 candidates but can't find a technician that meets our standards. The only good things about this for the customer is that: 1. Dolphin's brand is quality, and a company value that will never be compromised. 2. If you are the customer with the emergency, we'll be there within the hour! Many thanks for your business; we look forward to serving you again. Kind Regards, Jill
1.0

09/23/2017


Naomi H.

When I finally reached someone was told my issues were not emergent and I should use someone else.

Description of Work
Pipes all pouring water whenever turned on. Was told I would receive a call back w/in 1 hour and someone out asap

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

My apologies for the delayed response- as I mentioned on the phone, we are overwhelmed and not taking customers in your area- until I can find a plumber up to our standards to put a 2nd truck on the road- just like I stated on the phone. I never told you to use someone else- yes, you asked me for a referral which I did not have. If I had someone to refer you to, I'd hire him. In addition, by now I'm sure you realized that I did indeed leave you a message 13 minutes after you called our service- sometimes messages don't don't come thru right away- depends on your server. I lived in the city for over 20 years- the reception up here is not the same. You called our service on Sat, 9/23 at 8:24am. I was sleeping but my husband (the plumber) woke me to call you back, which I did at 8:37am. That's what we do- that's the plumbing business. I'm sorry that you had to call back, thinking that we did not call, but it is simply untrue. Furthermore, the issue that you described to my service is not what is written above. When the message was patched thru, it stated (and I quote) "fixtures need to be tightned, when in use it is leaking". What is written above does indeed sound like an emergency, but "leaky fixtures only when they are in use" does not qualify as an after hours emergency- no way. Over and out- Jill (business owner)
1.0

07/11/2017


Rob M.

Never could get past the rude receptionist Jill to even start. Not really the way to treat potential customers. Wouldn't even give a rough estimate without $85 charge to come out.

Description of Work
Simple pvc work

Category plumbing

Work Completed On 07/11/2017

5.0

06/20/2017


L M N.

Absolutely fantastic cannot say enough good about Dolphin Plumbing the work is impeccable and the cleanup was excellent would use them again in a heartbeat

Description of Work
The plumbing for a work sink in the laundry room and installation of a filter and UV light for our well water

Category plumbing, water softeners, wells, drain cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2017

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Many thanks for the shining review. We are so happy to have you as a new customer and it's fun chatting about art! Many thanks again, we appreciate your confidence in us- let us know if you have any other mysteries to solve! All best, J&J
5.0

05/16/2017


Trevor M.

Amazing service! Dolphin is the best - can't recommend highly enough.

Description of Work
Toilet and sink repair; sink installation

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes