Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Duell Plumbing and Heating

Founded 1980 • With Angi since June 2012

Duell Plumbing and Heating has been family owned and operated since 1980. We specialize in the installation and repair of plumbing and heating systems in both residential and commercial applications. Our company is based on the belief that our customers’ needs are of the utmost importance which is why our technicians show up to your door on time, looking neat and clean. We respect your home as if it was our own. We provide flexibility and work with each customer in a collaborate effort to ensure at project completion, it is exactly how you envisioned it would be. As a result, a high percentage of our business is from repeat customers and referrals. We would welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service in the industry, so contact Duell Plumbing, Heating, & Cooling today to start building that relationship of becoming your family’s plumber!

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(54) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 54 reviews
Malinda N.
1.0
01/27/2022
Do not contact them if you have an emergency. We had a pipe burst below the main water shut off. Water was spraying inside of our house. The city required a plumber to come turn the water off at the valve outside of our house. We called the emergency line twice and didn't receive a call back.
Description of Work
Emergency - pipe burst
Category
plumbing
Tammi L.
1.0
10/30/2020
Less than 2 hours work including them leaving midway through.. They removed toilet found flange was bad, removed about 1 &1/2 x 1 & 1/2 ft tile. As they left to go get part estimate was $400. By then they knew what work was entailed. Replaced part (found old part in side lawn) replaced toilet. Went from 400 to 722 and change. Their reasoning was I don't know what overhead for plumbing costs. Found out $400 is high end for work they did. Don't recommend unless you get cost in writing.
Description of Work
New flange for toilet
Category
plumbing, gas leak repair
Kelly H.
1.0
11/25/2019
The install was $17,800. The boilers failed in two years. Duell walked away from the problem and I had Jack Hall heating come. They sent photos to Navien and they would not warranty because it was installed improperly. Venting, cascading plumbing, and boiler pump size was incorrect. I have had to completely replace what was done.
Description of Work
Install two Navien 150k BTU high efficiency boilers
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
Philip A.
5.0
01/26/2018
Called about 10 AM. We were a new customer so the initial phone call got us set up on their records. We were scheduled for a tech visit between noon and 2 PM same day which was remarkable as other vendors either couldn't handle it until next day (Saturday) or Monday. Tech showed up at noon on the dot, determined the unit was not repairable and installed a replacement within about 45 minutes. Credit card billing was electronic with receipt in my email within the hour. Tech was professional and courteous.
Description of Work
Repair or replace badly leaking two year old Delta kitchen faucet.
Category
plumbing
judy R.
4.0
08/05/2017
They came promptly and made a great repair. The only problem is that I can not get a receipt as they are paper free. The first thing they sent was a face book logo when I opened it. I have made 2 requests after for it and have not received it.
Description of Work
My shower was leaking
Category
plumbing
Susan P.
5.0
03/21/2017
They were very good, very positive. I would definitely use them again and I would refer them to someone else.
Description of Work
They installed my new boiler.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
Brian M.
2.0
12/09/2016
In 2015, Duell added a drain to the bathtub in our children's bathroom. We asked for the least expensive option, but the drain continued to clog and create problems. On Thursday, 12/1/16, I spoke with Tina who told me a service technician would be by that day. My mother-in-law stayed home ALL DAY LONG, but no one either called her or came to the home. On 12/4/16 I texted Tina, who responded with "I spoke to Rick and he will be stopping by early this upcoming week. As soon as I know exactly when I will let you know." Today is 12/10/16 - still no response! What's the deal???
Description of Work
several requests - NO response - to have drain in children's bathroom replaced!!!
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
jude C.
5.0
10/31/2016
They are excellent. They were very responsive and attentive to my emergency needs. The technician arrived within the hour. He was very neat and did very good work. I was very happy with them. I would use them again.
Description of Work
They did some emergency plumbing work for me.
Category
plumbing
jude C.
5.0
10/18/2016
Excellent work from the time I called needing some help to paying the bill. Everything went smoothly. I have used a few other plumbing and heating providers in the past and from now on Duell is #1. The responsive customer service and plumbing expertise is appreciated. Thank you PS: I didn't find them initially on Angie's list. Their name doesn't appear when I click on plumbing or heating or D under the alpha search. I was lucky to find them on another site (googled emergency plumbing). Please upgrade their status on Angie's list. I'm writing this review so others who use Angie's list know how good they are. You need to search for them under providers.
Description of Work
I was in a jam. A handyman couldn't finish a simple plumbing job and I was without water. I called Duell and they responded immediately. The technician was excellent. He quickly assessed the job and made the necessary repairs. A couple of pipes in a tight space needed to be connected , the water line to the fridge needed repair and the hot water heater needed to be turned back on.
Category
plumbing, water heater repair
Timothy L.
1.0
10/09/2016
This company used to be pleasant to deal with, but have gotten too big and have lost that family-owned charm that used to make them appealing. I hired them when I first bought my house for some work and dealt with Jared, who I believe is the owner's son, and could not have been happier with the professionalism and work. Since then, I have had multiple unpleasant experiences with getting estimates and other things from them. Most recently, today, I needed a repair done to a leaky bathtub faucet that I attempted to repair myself and could not. A Moen cartridge needs to be replaced, but I could not get the old one out and wanted to have an expert come out instead before I broke a pipe or something. The person I spoke with on the phone wanted to charge me $137 for a visit, which I can certainly respect given the fact that is a Sunday. Where I hit the wall, and this has happened the last five or six times I have called them, is that they refuse to provide even a rudimentary estimate over the phone. When I asked to speak to the plumber, I was told that they "don't do that". The obvious tact here is to get them into your house, and since you already are on the hook for $137 bucks just to open your front door, they will next charge you some ridiculous amount to do the repair, and most people will oblige since they are already in the hole. In this case, the cartridge costs 20 dollars tops at home depot, so I would have been willing to pay $200 to have it fixed. I expect I instead would have been charged $350 plus dollars. Not the company I enjoyed doing business with so much back in the day.
Description of Work
Repair to bathroom faucet.
Category
plumbing
Douglas W.
5.0
09/12/2016
Flawless. Very professional, well done work. Showed up when scheduled, did work professionally, let the job site as clean as when they came and verified all their work before departing. Can't ask for any more than that.
Description of Work
Added a gas line for outdoor grill and added water line for outdoor water spigot.
Category
plumbing
William A.
5.0
07/26/2016
Wonderful . Had a nice chat and learned a lot
Description of Work
Water heater installation
Category
plumbing, water heater repair
Larry M.
5.0
06/14/2016
This is a very professional and well-run business. Calls are returned promptly, workers are efficient, competent and respectful. Rick, Nate and Steve demonstrated their extensive knowledge and skill throughout the project. In particular, Steve was very helpful, answered all questions thoroughly and went out of his way to complete work in a timely fashion. I have no reservation recommending Duell Plumbing for small or extensive projects.
Description of Work
Replace all plumbing in the bathroom down to the main stack, install two vents with one going through the roof, replace and mud a ceiling and wall, test new installation, pass city inspection.
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
Larry E.
5.0
03/25/2016
All went perfectly. Kevin (with the correct replacement water heater)was here about 90 minutes after I called for the repair of a just discovered broken and leaking water heater in the basement. The telephone receptionist was a delight as was the plumber/ service technician. The job was completed neatly and professionally and within 3 hours of his arrival and I was totally satisfied with the work and the cleanup .I would be more than pleased to use their good services again.
Description of Work
Remove and replace a 50 gallon power vent gas water heater
Category
plumbing, water heater repair, water softeners
barbara M.
2.0
01/07/2016
On Dec16, 2015, I contacted Duell Plumbing and Heating. This company was referred to me by my local septic company. Initially, I was pleased they were able to come at such short notice to resolve a simple blockage on a toilet in the first floor bathroom. The high expense that was incurred included a $89 service call fee and a separate repair charge which ended up totaling approximately $182.00. I decided to go with this company on referral from my local septic company that had just finished a job earlier that day. When the company came out they did the work and I paid them the amount. I originally had asked the company if there was a senior discount and they replied that there was one. However, I was not given the discount at the time of the service. I then called and asked for the discount and a copy of the invoice of the work that was completed. They agreed to do so by return mail. When the information that I requested was not received over the next ten days I began recalling the company numerous times to only receive promises and no responses. As of Jan 7th, I have yet to receive and invoice or the senior discount I was promised. I was later told that I would only get half the senior discount I had anticipated. They also informed me that the senior discount only applies to the "repair" not the service call part of the invoice. I was disturbed when they informed me that this was typical across the "industry." I then took the initiative and began calling a dozen of plumbers that were listed in the phone book to get quotes on this service in my area. I later discovered that majority had no service charge to come to your home and that the estimate of the work that I had done would not have exceeded $125.00 in total. In addition, I would have received a 10-20% senior discount of the whole bill. In most cases, most companies offered free estimates which would have made my bill half of what I paid. BEWARE, CAREFULLY RESEARCH ANY SERVICES THAT YOU MAY REQUEST TO AVOID THESE UNFAIR SURCHARGES.
Description of Work
They came out fix a toilet.
Category
plumbing
MERLIN S.
5.0
12/23/2015
I recently bought a house in the Schenectady area. A couple of months later my son noticed that the first floor hall ceiling was wet and the paint was peeling. There is a bathroom on the floor above so it was apparently a leak of some kind. I don't live in the area myself and I didn't know any plumbers to call. That's when I started subscribing to Angie's List. I found the listing for Duell Plumbing and Heating and saw that their customers had given them high ratings. So I called and made an appointment. The plumber was scheduled to arrive sometime between 12:00 noon and 2:00 pm. He arrived promptly at noon. I pointed out the peeling paint on the hall ceiling and noted that a toilet was located directly overhead. At first the plumber was concerned that there was no way to confirm that the toilet was leaking without opening up the ceiling but then he felt a bit of water on the floor at the base of the toilet. He said it would take about an hour and cost approximately $300. The work actually took less than an hour. The plumber said there was very little wax left on the seal so it was not surprising that the toilet leaked. The plumber actually stayed a few minutes longer so that I could consult with him on an odor problem with the first floor lavatory and he proposed a solution short of installing a vent (I learned that houses built in the 1950s didn't always have vented plumbing lines). There has been no more dampness on the hall ceiling so I have to conclude that THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN FIXED! I have no way of judging the cost of service but I assume it was the prevailing fee for this area. I will definitely call Duell Plumbing and Heating the next time I need a plumber.
Description of Work
Replaced wax seal and remounted a leaking toilet
Category
plumbing
Kenneth K.
1.0
11/13/2015
It didn't. They never responded.
Description of Work
Nothing, never responded to my request for service.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I greatly apologize for your experience. In the future I will try to check angies list more frequently for service requests. It is always best to call our office so that our 24/7 human answering service may assist you. Thank you for your feedback.
Matt S.
5.0
07/21/2015
I had to shut off the main water valve in my home to replace a fixture with no branch valve. While in the process of shutting the valve the stem of the gate valve failed and my water was mostly off but not enough to stop the water. After panicking for a few hours and trying to address this myself I called Duell for the rescue (on a Saturday). Tyler showed up, and struggled with the curb box due to its age. We decided not to mess with the curb-box to prevent a catastrophic failure at the water main. He then froze the pipe before the valve, replaced the now broken valve and had water service returned in an hour or so. During the process he identified another fitting that was close to failure in the same area and recommended replacement to prevent further issues. He had to come back during the week to fix that due to part availability but overall my main water service is much more reliable than it was previously. Great service, very responsive, got the job done in a professional manner. Would definitely hire again. The price was steep, but it was ultimately my own fault for trusting a 80 year old gate valve on a Saturday.
Description of Work
Emergency replacement of Main shutoff valve
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry it took so long to respond, but thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate all feedback from our customers.
Alan F.
1.0
04/29/2015
They never answered the Email sent. What more can I say.
Description of Work
Nothing thats the point I sent the message to them and they never gave the courtesy of a reply. this is the same type of experience I had been having with many other plumbers calling on my own. So its no surprise. Hello my money is green!
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry I am just seeing this, and also sorry that no one responded to your email. If you don't mind telling me, I would like to know what email you sent a request to. Every review is a chance to learn and grow, so thank you for your honest review.
David M.
5.0
09/25/2014
I was very happy with the service Duell Plumbing provided. I called the office on Friday and the Tyler the technician was there on Monday at the time scheduled. He came in and assessed the conditions. He explained our current situation in detail and provided all our options. Once we decided to change the heater...Tyler proceeded with the work with very little interuption to our houshold. Upon completion, he cleaned up the entire area as he was never there. Duell's pricing was approx 20% less then the their competitor's price. Their competitor gave me options to lower my bill by signing up for a very expensive maintenance agreement in which I declined. This was my first experience with Duell and I felt very comfortable with them. I fully intend to call them again for any HVAC need in my house. I highly recommend Duell Plumbing for any heating or plumbing repairs.
Description of Work
Replaced my hot water heater with new
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair
Diane L.
5.0
09/10/2014
I had phoned another plumbing company on the day of service early in the morning - Boyce and Drake. They were unprofessionally not responsive (didn't hear from them until the next afternoon!) I then called Duell in the afternoon and explained that the bathtub/shower was so clogged it was unusable. They were able to schedule me in that day (although it was going to be after hours the small extra fee was worth it). The service person - Nathan - arrived about 6:45. Very nice, great service, very professional. Would definitely call them again for any plumbing or HVAC needs.
Description of Work
Unclogged bathtub
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you so much for the review! We take everything our customer's say to heart and we don't sleep at night until everyone is happy! We're very glad that you were satisfied with our services and quality of workmanship and also want you to know your feedback will be considered when reviewing our 2014 pricing. Please do not hesitate to contact us for anything additional you may need or for any additional comments or concerns and we look forward to working with you in the future! Nathan
Suzanne D.
5.0
09/08/2014
I called the company on a Sunday afternoon, after finding that our water heater had cracked at the bottom and was spewing water in our basement which was also seeping into our finished basement family room. Within an hour, they were at our door and took care of the water heater emptying it to make sure there would be no more water leaking, explained the options of replacement, and said he would return the next day to replace the appliance. The next day the office called to let me know Nathan would be here earlier than expected, he showed up and within 2 hours everything was replaced and in perfect working order. I couldn't be happier with the service from this company and the courteous, professional treatment I have received from everyone I have dealt with! Such a pleasure and will definitely recommend them to my friends and family. Thanks for everything!
Description of Work
Replaced Gas Water Heater
Category
plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

[Name removed], Thank you so much for the review! Our customer's satisfaction is out #1 priority and it's why we try to create a unique and very positive experience when dealing with emergency repairs or replacements - we know it can be a stressful time and we want you to be as comfortable as possible during it! Thanks again and we really look forward to working with you in the future. Don't hesitate to call us with any questions or additional feedback. Nathan
Chris B.
5.0
07/30/2014
The receptionist was very pleasant, took my information and scheduled a service call. Tyler was assigned to my problem, he was actually able to come earlier, receptionist called and asked if it would be ok if he came earlier. I was available so this was great. Tyler listened to our symptoms, asked great questions, recommended we start with the simplest option, check to see if water was getting to the hot water heater. We found it was clogged with a tremendous amount of hard chunks of sediment. From there decided to just tap into an existing second water heater. The problem water heater was almost 40 yrs old, not really worth fixing. Overall I was very happy with the service provided, Tyler was thorough, neat and friendly.
Description of Work
I had a problem with getting hot water from my old water heater to my shower and sinks. First I had a dribble of hot water then none. We tried replacing the element but that did not work, so called in a Professional. The receptionist was very pleasant, took my information and scheduled a service call. Tyler was actually able to come earlier, receptionist end called and asked if it would be ok if he came earlier. I was available so this was great. Tyler listened to our symptoms, asked great questions, recommended we start with the simplest option, check to see if water was getting to the hot water heater. We found it was clogged with sediment. From there decided to just tap into an existing second water heater. The problem water heater was almost 40 yrs old! Overall I was very happy with the service provided, Tyler was thorough, neat and friendly.
Category
plumbing, water heater repair, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! Seeing your kind words is very fulfilling - our #1 priority is our customer's happiness so we are so glad you had a good experience and look forward to doing business with you in the future. Take care and we hope you are having a great summer!
Lawrence C.
5.0
07/11/2014
It went perfectly. Work was professional.
Description of Work
Provided water line from basement to inside wall for refrigerator, replaced valves on washer/dryer and a shutoff valve to outside water source.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! Our customer's feedback helps us to keep motivated about maintaining our core mission - which is ultimately to make our customer's happy, whatever it takes! Thanks again and we look forward to doing business with you in the future.
Julie B.
5.0
07/09/2014
The service technician arrived on time and was very professional. He thoroughly cleaned and serviced the air conditioner in a neat and timely manner. My first contact with Duell was a blind call to have someone fix a leaky pipe in my basement. A person actually answered the phone and they came that day and fixed everything! I signed on for their annual maintenance plan for my heat and central air because I was impressed with their response. Both my experiences with them have been good and I have since talked to others in my area who have had good service as we'll. I would recommend them highly.
Description of Work
Cooling system service
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review! You happiness and satisfaction are everything to us, and we try to create that professional and efficient experience from the very beginning of the process. Your kind words are very appreciated and we look forward to doing business with you in the future!

Phone

Address

165 Freemans Bridge Road

Glenville, NY 12302

Other Information

Services offered

Residential & Commercial Installations & Repairs. All Fixtures, Faucets, Water Heaters, Boilers, Water Softeners, Sump Pumps, Back-Up Sump Pumps, Drain Cleaning.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Financing Available
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Duell Plumbing and Heating is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Duell Plumbing and Heating is open:

Sunday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Monday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Duell Plumbing and Heating accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, American Express, Discover

No, Duell Plumbing and Heating does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Duell Plumbing and Heating offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Duell Plumbing and Heating does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Duell Plumbing and Heating offers emergency services.

Yes, Duell Plumbing and Heating offers warranties.

Duell Plumbing and Heating offers the following services: Residential & Commercial Installations & Repairs. All Fixtures, Faucets, Water Heaters, Boilers, Water Softeners, Sump Pumps, Back-Up Sump Pumps, Drain Cleaning.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Rooter Man Plumbing & Drain

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Rooter Man Plumbing & Drain

Rooter-Man of the Capital District has won Angie's List Super Service Award the last eight of the last nine years (2019,2017,2016,2015,2014,2013,2012,2011). That can only happen when you take customer service and technical expertise very seriously, like we do. If you need a sewer line snaked, a new faucet installed, a new water heater and most any other plumbing job tackled give us a call. We would be honored to provide you with the same high level of service that we have built a reputation for displaying. For friendly and professional plumbing service you can trust, call us at Rooter Man Plumbing and Drain. Call us today at 518-925-5490 to make an appointment.  

Drain-Away Sewer and Drain Service

5.0

(82)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Drain-Away Sewer and Drain Service

Meet the Business Owner: In 1973 I helped out a friend to operate a Roto-Rooter in the greater Albany area. As the year progressed, I learned how much I enjoyed the challenge of diagnosing and solving customer's problems. I became a service technician for Roto-Rooter in 1974, then opened a Roto-Rooter franchise in Berkshire County, MA in 1979. In 1982 I then moved to Rensselaer County, NY to operate a 2nd franchise in the Troy and surrounding areas. In 1989 I took over the Roto-Rooter operation in Nashville, TN. But I realized how much I missed the Northeast, so I decided to move back in 1991 to NY and Drain-Away Sewer & Drain Service was opened. History: Established in 1991. With experience dating back to 1974, Richard J. Blanchard opened Drain-Away Sewer & Drain Service in 1991. Through dedication and hard work, the business has grown to service both residential & commercial customers. Drain-Away's highest priority is fast and quality service thanks to our expert technicians and courteous office staff. SPECIALTIES: We specialize in sewer and drain cleaning for both residential and commercial customers, as well as plumbing repairs, video inspecting, water jetting, excavating, internal commercial grease tanks and sewer line repairs. Contact us to discuss your plumbing and drain needs. Albany NY area; 438-9646 Troy NY area; 274-0065 Schenectady NY area; 355-9755 Amsterdam NY area; 843-0515  

Intensive Renovations

5.0

(6)

Angi Certified

Intensive Renovations

Established in 2019, Intensive Renovations has provided luxury renovations to both residential & commercial properties. Family owned and operated & fully insured.