Founded 1935 • With Angi since July 2010
Service Provider ResponseMr. [Member Name Removed], As you know we also replied to you on Google, Facebook and all the other Media where you posted reviews of us. Like you said above, we DID take an unexpected extra day to load you out of your residence due to a late start the day before, but like you also said yourself above, we discounted your bill for the inconvenience and apologized profusely. You accepted the refund. You refused to pay all along, offering multiple excuses and eventually indicating that you would not pay under any circumstance, your excuse being our late arrival and an "anticipated" damage claim. So yes, we did require a cashier's check from you like any sensible business would. You are also aware that your shipment sustained zero damage with us even though you pre-emptively set up a claim with our insurance company. For all these reasons and more, and just the fact that your move went objectively quite well, we did not understand your "F" rating of our work until we looked up all your many negative reviews on other misc. businesses and see that this is a pattern of how you do business. Next time that you need a mover, please do not call us. You created a very hostile work environment for our employees everyday that we worked for you for no reason except to haggle over your bill, which is very clear in hindsight.
Service Provider ResponseThank you member for your business in the first place and your time giving us a review. We will definitely pass this along to your driver Ivan and the rest of our employees involved with your move. Thanks!
Service Provider ResponseMember, thanks very much for your review and rating. We appreciate your flexibility and keeping an open mind while we ran late arriving to get started, but it sounds like our excellent mover employees at both origin and destination did the high quality work we aim for and expect. If there is anything else we can do for you, just let us know and thank you again for your business with ProRelo Bekins.
Service Provider ResponseThanks for your business and feedback. We have taken the time to review the move that we did for you and it leaves us confused when we consider what you arranged mutually with us vs. what you are describing in this complaint. You set this move up over the phone with one of our estimators. When we set up a job with a customer over the phone, all we can do is give an estimate of approximate costs based solely upon a customer's description of what they want moved. The reason this matters is because you told our estimator on the phone estimate that all you wanted moved was the contents of the home. During the phone quote you never mentioned these extra stops you describe above at a self storage unit and a "full" large shed. That is why we don't understand your complaint; you never never hired us at the time of the estimate to even move the self storage and shed contents. Yet, you would hold us accountable for not getting these two siginificant add-ons done. Also, our records indicate that you told us "to not come any earlier than 10am". That is not the same as a 10am appointment. We usually start between 8-9 so we actually honored your request for a later start by pulling the employees that did your job off of another job that had started at our normal time. But here again, in the complaint above, this later start time is incorrectly portrayed as an inconvenience caused by us. We do not agree with your portrayal of this job we did for you nor the bad ratings you gave us.
Service Provider ResponseMrs. [Member Name Removed], we have been in regular contact with you ever since your claim was reported. Your claim has been at times handled by Max, Alicia, and Brad. Our employees, especially Alicia, have had many conversations with you about this claim, which consisted of the dirty slip covers, a damaged armoire, a damaged desk leg, carved sheep with a broken ear, damaged parasol, broken glass painting cover, and lastly, a broken light bulb. That is a total of eight damaged items from your shipment that totaled well over 210 tagged and inventoried pieces- a combination of boxes, furniture and miscellaneous. Well before your move with us, our estimator spent over an hour in your home with you calculating the costs and conversing with you about the different options and services available. Amongst those offerings is full coverage valuation to protect your goods in the event of any damage or loss. The full coverage valuation we (and every major mover) offer even has different deductible options to fit any customer's budget. We even left you with one of our standard valuation pamphlets detailing the different coverage options. After much discussion with our estimator and consideration on your part, you chose to forgo this coverage in favor of the minimum, free coverage (that is again offered by EVERY major mover) limited to sixty cents per pound, per article. You signed the quote for this move with the options you chose, the move was done, and at the end of it, there was unfortunately a claim. We understand how aggravating claims are, and we've apologized but that is also why we offer valuation options in the first place, so that every customer can make an informed decision. HOWEVER, in good faith, you should recall that we STILL had all of your claim repaired at our expense by Western Furniture Repair on 5/18/17. You omit this very relevant fact in your complaint above (?). In fact, the only part of your claim we rejected was the $3000 you wanted for sofa slip covers. The rest of your claim we actually resolved as if you had purchased valuation coverage in the first place, which again, you knowingly did not in order to save money on your move. The objective of this Angie's List complaint is to get $3000 for sofa slip covers because the rest of your claim we already fixed on 5/18/17.
Service Provider ResponseFirstly, thanks for your business with us so far and your trust. It seems that this complaint centers around three main issues: Our late arrival for packing day here in NM, some slow replies by one of our office employees (everyone else you've interacted with it seems has been fine), and lastly, our ANTICIPATED (not firm) late arrival in OH that was communicated to you by Bekins corporate. As you have heard from others so far, this truly is the busiest month of the year not just for us, but the entire professional moving industry and unfortunately, the volume spike combined with other factors inherent to our business year round (road delays, truck breakdowns, summer heat/weather etc) can cause unanticipated delays on some shipments. These "curveballs" we deal with on any one shipment naturally can have a "domino effect" on others. This is compounded further this time of year when customer plans change suddenly, (such as in this case) where your original scheduling and quote called for origin storage not a move directly to OH. We apologize for any slow communications but are glad to hear that you agree our staff is responsive and friendly. We strive for that while getting our customers quick answers. Thank you for your patience so far while we have dealt with your change in plans from storage to an interstate move. The good news too is that we had another shipment headed to the Midwest area cancel, so this opened up some room on a truck we are expecting to deliver out to you in OH no later than about the end of next week (barring anything unforeseen). That, we hope you agree, is a major improvement in your transit time. Again, thank you for your business and patience.
Service Provider ResponseThanks for your review and letting us handle your local move, but we completely disagree with your characterization of the work we did and your justification for giving us a poor review. Before we even did the move, we did a phone quote for you rather than an in-home quote. We offer both options, but on our website you (not us) selected a phone quote. We don't give guaranteed prices for phone quotes (for obvious reasons), we only quote our hourly rate. The hourly rate we quoted you is the same that you paid ($93.75 per hour plus sales tax). Also on phone quotes, we make it clear to every customer that the final price paid is determined by the hours we are onsite at your request. In other words, on hourly local moves, the customer determines and controls how much we move and how long we stay. If the moving time your budget allowed for was limited, then we reasonably assume that you would prioritize or limit the work that you wanted done. On phone quotes like yours, our estimator does his best to give only a "ballpark"/rough estimate of hours it will take. But this rough estimate is based on our educated guess derived from the customer's description of the job (or omissions) so we obviously have no way of really knowing what you had our crew do on moving day vs. what you described to us on the phone when booking our service prior to the move. When we spoke with you on the phone after the move however, AND on this review, you clearly said that our crew was professional and did a great job. You are clearly NOT saying that our crew's work was slow or unprofessional. Therefore, it is only logical for us to conclude that the time they spent there and that you paid us for was justified and correct with regard to the amount of work you chose to have us do and that you derived a good value from our work in exchange for what you paid. We have no way of knowing now, in retrospect, how the actual workload would compare to your description of your job to our estimator when he gave you a "ballpark" estimate. So, to rate our services poorly based solely upon the accuracy of our phone estimate is really not fair to us at all. Additionally, we took the time to interview our employees that worked on your job and found that there were some very unusual needs at your job that you did not disclose to us (or anticipate either) on the phone quote you requested; 1.) due to your doorframe's narrow dimensions, we had to remove and then re-install your refrigerator door to get it moved. 2.) again due to your residence doorframe dimensions, we also had to remove and then re-install your front door so there was room to get your belongings out and not cause damage due to the narrow opening. 3.) at your request, our crew disconnected and re-connected your refrigerator icemaker. 4.) at your request, our crew disconnected and re-connected your washer and dryer. 5.) also, after you booked your move with us on the phone, you later emailed to advise us that the destination address was two-story. Going up and down stairs will add time to any move. So, when you say that our movers were professional and hard-working (which is what we expect and try to deliver to every customer) and you were in control of what we did or didn't move for you (even to the extent of having us hook up applicances in your new home), and we never at any time represented our estimate as a guarantee, we fail to see how we deserve a poor rating. Regardless, we appreciate your business and wish you best of luck in your new home.
Service Provider Responsethanks member for the review, we appreciate your feedback.
Service Provider ResponseDear member, we are sorry that the damage claim on your move from about a year and a half ago was not resolved to your satisfaction. Movers (not just Bekins) do not typically cover mechanical failure on items such as this TV as there is no conclusive way of knowing the item's functionality (or extent of) prior to the move or whether the timing of the mechanical failure is simply coincidental to the move timing. Claims are processed by Bekins corporate office in Indiana, not our local New Mexico office. We understand your disappointment in the claims decision they made based upon the circumstances and feedback from the third party claim inspector. If there is anything our local office can do to help, please let us know.
Service Provider Responsethanks member for taking the time to review us. we appreciate it.
Service Provider ResponseThank you member for your business, time, and detailed feedback. Glad [Member Information Removed] hear that your move overall went very well plus your constructive feedback regarding box contents. If you need anything else, please let us know.
Service Provider ResponseThanks member for providing this feedback. We appreciate your business with us.
Service Provider ResponseThanks [Member Name Removed] for your review and continued business with us. If you have any items of particular concern, feel free to either call or email us. thanks, Brad
Service Provider ResponseHi member and thanks for your business and time writing this review.
Ask for details
ProRelo Interstate-Agent for Bekins Van Lines Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.
ProRelo Interstate-Agent for Bekins Van Lines Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Yes, ProRelo Interstate-Agent for Bekins Van Lines Inc offers free project estimates.
No, ProRelo Interstate-Agent for Bekins Van Lines Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
Yes, ProRelo Interstate-Agent for Bekins Van Lines Inc offers a 5% senior discount.
Yes, ProRelo Interstate-Agent for Bekins Van Lines Inc offers warranties.
ProRelo Interstate-Agent for Bekins Van Lines Inc offers the following services: Moving, Storage, Moving Supplies, Piano Moving