Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ROBERT'S CLEANOUTS

Founded 2011 • With Angi since September 2012

We primarily work with homeowners and real estate agents when you first List a property For Sale or Rent. We can help you: 1. Empty your property (House, Apartment, Condo). Remove all furniture, debris, clothing, anything you want gone. 2. Quick and reasonably priced Painting of your Rental property, or House for Sale. One tenant moves out, need to give the property a freshening paint job, make minor wall repairs, etc. Or you are putting your property on the market for sale, and want to freshen it up with a new paint job, paint walls a neutral off-white color and make minor wall repairs. Reliable, fair pricing. 3. We do what you need done so your house or apartment looks great, is appealing and ready to Show on the Real Estate Market. 4. If you are not selling, and just need some work done, we can Help! We usually request a deposit of 50% prior to starting the work, and balance due upon completion.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(14) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
Kathleen S.
1.0
08/08/2015
My correspondence with Robert early on went well. He tried to accommodate my needs such as a dumpster for unwanted items. He told me that he knew someone with a truck that could take care of this. I said yes for an extra $350. Robert came to my house to assess the attic and basement. He took pix and then sent me a proposal. Here it is: Basement -- 2 Workers for 4 Hours = 8 Hours Total = $350 + $25 Supplies = $375 (Cash). Anticipated time for Basement w/2 workers = 4-5 Hours. Time over 4 hours is $75 per hour. We will Black bag items indicated in basement, and bring them upstairs and put in garage or outside by curb (you'll let us know). There is No Heavy furniture to bring up. Egress from Basement is across hall from basement stairs into garage. Plus Attic -- Adding 3rd Worker, $135 for 4 hours. $375 + $135 = $510 (Cash). Anticipated Time for Basement plus Attic w/3 workers = 4-5 Hours. Time over 4 Hours is $125 per hour for 3 workers. I accepted his proposal using 3 men. Prior to 6/16, I corresponded with Robert via email and told him I wanted to add televisions, filing cabinet and dishwasher to clean out. I was concerned about all the garbage and requested his opinion in getting a dumpster. He replied that he had a friend who could take care of the removal, but would also call my township about such removal. He did. I opted to use Robert's suggested friend who had a a truck to remove the junk. lOn clean out day, a Uhaul truck, 3 men, and Robert showed up. I thought the truck was going to be a dumpster truck. Robert said the men would get rid of the garbage and donate the rest. Robert accused me of adding more items than originally agreed upon. He took pix and we emailed; I thought I was clear. Upon arrival which was late, I reviewed with Robert again what to take out of the basement and attic. I found that Robert didn't listen well. I told him to leave my Hope Chest and Children's Toy Chest. Both were ready to be taken, and I told Robert to put them back. When things were cleared, I checked my Hope chest. Robert had dumped the contents and did not tell me. I was so upset. It contained my grandmother's gifts to me and 34 years of memories. Upon asking Robert , his cold-hearted response was, "Well, it's gone now." I asked him how he would compensate for the mistake; he said, "How do I know what was in there?" I found his response to be insensitive. Robert underestimated the contents of this job. The truck was too small to hold everything that needed to be taken, so the men left for over an hour to get rid of the first load and then returned to load the rest. I had to pay for this extra hour while two men were gone. Robert and another gentleman did continue to work. If the right size truck was rented the job would not have taken an extra hour. In addition, the estimate included a fee for supplies. Robert brought one box of large black bags. I had to provide the men with more bags and masking tape. When I was asked for the tape, I said ask Robert because I paid for the supplies. Robert said that he had no tape, but he thought he had string in his car. He did not have string or tape. In the end, I had to keep reminding Robert, to take the dishwasher, filing cabinet, and TVs out of the basement. He told me that I didn't tell him that I wanted those taken. I told him that I had the email which clearly states that I wanted those items taken. In the end, these items were not taken because there was no room left in the truck.. They were put in my garage. I heard Robert tell one of the men that they could be put out the next week for my township to take. When I checked the attic, there were still items in there that were not take by the end of the job. Robert said that I didn't tell him to take those items. Again, I clearing told him on our first meeting and on the morning of the junk removal upon his arrival. Robert didn't listen or write anything down to note what I wanted. I WAS SO AGGRAVATED THAT DAY; THIS WAS TRULY THE WORST EXPERIENCE I HAVE HAD WITH AN ANGIE'S LIST MEMBER PROVIDER. I just wanted Robert gone. I paid him $900 which included the extra hour with no mention from Robert about compensating for those items he threw away from my Hope Chest. He frankly didn't care. Robert did offer to come back the next week to put the TVs, filing cabinet and dishwasher out for my township to take. I told Robert, "Don't come back." At that point, I just wanted him out and never wanted him back in my home. I had my son and son-in-law put the items out on the curb the next week. Beware if you have a large job.
Description of Work
Cleanout of basement and attic.
Category
hauling services, house cleaning, dumpster service

Service Provider Response

As you see by my many other positive ratings, all i can say is this job went off the rails almost immediately. I felt bad it did not go well and the client was not happy. I do try very hard to do my best and give good service. This went bad right away. I did communicate multiple times with client about her cleanout. Eventually we set up a day for me to come out and give a binding estimate. My estimates are binding, if I am off I eat it, however, I am generally very good at estimating and usually very accurate. I walked through the house with Client and gave her a quote based on amount of debris that needed to be removed (cubic yards in a dumpster) and the costs of labor to remove and load the dumpster/truck. I've given a number of estimates and am almost always right on target (it's my job to be accurate in estimating). If I am off in estimating it is by a small amount. In this instance I gave an estimate of 10 cubic yards and approximately 4-5 hours with 3 workers for the basement and attic at $510. I also enlisted a company to bring a 10 cubic yard truck which they would take to the landfill for $350. Client did not have a dumpster company, I used these guys. They gave me a good price as anyway knows $350 for a ten cubic yarder is a very good price. So total of Labor and Truck was $510 + $350 = $860 As stated, I am good at estimating and if I am off, it is only minimally. The job went off the rails quickly. Facts: 1. We filled to absolutely packed capacity the 10 cubic yard truck twice and took it to the dump discarding a total of 20 cubic yards. Twice the estimate. I never make that kind of mistake in estimating cubic yards. 2. We ended up having a 4th guy that came and worked even though my estimate was for 3 guys. My original estimate was 3 guys at 4 hours (5 max) = 12-15 hours. It turned out to be 4 guys at 5+ hours = 20+ hours. This is 5+ hours (or even 8+) off my original estimate, 33% to 66% of total. I don't miss estimates by that much. 3. When we left we brought all the remaining garbage up from the basement and neatly stacked it in the garage which was attached to the driveway. We had no more room in the 10 cubic yard truck as it was filled to the max. I estimate there was another 5 cubic yards we did not transport to the dump, but left in the garage. I estimated 10 cubic yards and 12-15 total labor hours. There was 25 cubic yards and 20+ hours of labor. My explanation for this is very simple: Between the day I came and gave the estimate and the day I came to remove the debris, the client added a lot more garbage to the piles. It was clear almost immediately to me that what I saw the day I came to give the estimate and what I was being asked to remove that day were vastly different amounts of debris. I did not charge the client for the second 10 cubic yard truck dump which would have been an additional $350. I did not charge the client the extra $125/hour for the time over 4 Hours forgetting the 4th guy (I did not charge her for him at all). Prior to our visit to cleanout, I emphasize to all clients to please a) remove from the area, any items that they do not want to be discarded (accidentally or intentionally), b) if they can not physically remove an item for the area, then I ask them to clearly flag with a post-it or attach a piece of paper that states the item "stays", and/or c) if the client is still unsure of what is to be removed, then the client should stay around the work area to clearly identify any item(s) that should stay. The client did none of those things with the piece in question. It was stacked in the back with other similar pieces of furniture that were removed. It was not removed from the area, not marked with a "stay" post-it, and the client was not there as we were removing items . We had nothing to indicate that piece should stay while the others are discarded. All items in the pile were being discarded. If there was a miscommunication, I feel bad, but client was not particularly careful in protecting this furniture piece. In fact, I did feel very badly about the situation and we went and opened up the back of the truck and we were digging around for a while in a fully packed truck to try and find the linens, but short of throwing 10 cubic yards of debris out of the truck onto the driveway, we could not find the items. I felt bad, I apologized, but the situation was so poor between myself and the client, it was best at that point to just finish what we could and leave. I was taking a lose, but just wanted to close this chapter and move on. Again, I did not charge the client for a second $350 ten cubic yard dump charge. I did not charge her for the extra $125+ (and 4th guy) she owed for labor. We brought up from the basement and neatly stacked all items in the garage which would be easy enough for her family to load into another dumpster. We tried to do the best we could, but the situation was bad and best to just end it and start another day elsewhere. Thank you, Robert Klein
Jorge J.
4.0
04/28/2015
The cleanout went well. I even left them alone with the door my house unlocked and told them to lock up once they were done and they did as I asked.
Description of Work
They cleaned out garbage from my basement and my backyard.
Category
house cleaning
Erica K.
5.0
12/26/2014
Robert and his helper were fast, courteous, efficient and flexible...Really great service.
Description of Work
Cleaned out my basement, broom cleaned
Category
house cleaning
laurie L.
5.0
11/10/2014
I thought the two guys did a great job cleaning out a basement with 50 years of stuff. they were professional and careful with the things that we kept while removing the things we wanted to be thrown away. I would definitely recommend them.
Description of Work
Cleaned out basement
Category
house cleaning
Vivian L.
5.0
05/29/2014
My experience working with Robert was fantastic. He came over and gave me a fair quote. We scheduled a time and he even called my town to see if they would take the metal scrapes. I wasn't able to be home the day he worked on the shelf but when I came home, the shed was neatly placed in my yard for the town to pick up and the backyard was spotless. I would recommend Robert to any of my friends and if the opportunity arises, I will hire him again.
Description of Work
Dismantled metal shed in backyard.
Category
handyman service
Dan G.
5.0
05/15/2014
It went very well They did a great job and the inspection went without a hitch.
Description of Work
After moving furniture and personal items due to a house sale, Robert's Cleanouts came and cleaned out the house for inspection by the new owners. In addition to cleaning Robert's also removed unwanted item in the house and HSS them disposed properly.
Category
house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you. All the best in your new place at the Shore. Robert
MARGARET F.
5.0
09/11/2013
Both of the workers were extremely nice. They could not have been nicer. I would recommend them to anyone. However, we almost didn't go with the company because of the woman we spoke with on the phone. We believe she was trying to price gouge us and she was very rude. I think that her boss should make her take a course on manners.
Description of Work
They came and hauled away and abundance things no longer needed in the household.
Category
hauling services

Service Provider Response

Hi, I think you put this under the wrong name, I am not in Virginia, I did not do this job. Thank you,
Yong K.
5.0
07/08/2013
Robert was responsive to phone calls and emails, was on time and professional and, most importantly, did a good and thorough job. We have no complaints and recommend his services highly.
Description of Work
Robert and his team removed old furniture, garbage and junk from our home and then cleaned it spotlessly, making it ready for the next tenant.
Category
hauling services, house cleaning
Yong K.
5.0
07/08/2013
Robert was responsive to phone calls and emails, was on time and professional and, most importantly, did a good and thorough job. We have no complaints and recommend his services highly.
Description of Work
Robert and his team removed old furniture, garbage and junk from our home and then cleaned it spotlessly, making it ready for the next tenant.
Category
hauling services, house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much. Good luck on your new home. We are available if you or someone you know need ever needs our services again. Thank you,
Lillian G.
5.0
06/19/2013
The job as noted above consisted of moving many large and heavy pieces out of the basement, sorting between garbage and metal and then staging to get ready for the driver to haul it away. In addition, several pieces of furniture had to be moved downstairs as per my request and that was also accomplished. I also hired Robert for the housecleaning due to the fact that he knew the house well. While not excellent, as there were some areas that I had to reclean, it was a vast improvement vs. what it had looked like before.
Description of Work
Robert's was hired to do exactly the title of the business, which is a house clean out. The house was my Mom's, who had resided in the house for 50 years. The basement was packed with old furniture, wood, my father's work bench, heavy cabinets, etc.,. In addition, I had asked Robert ahead of time if he could have his guys move some of the upstairs furniture to the basement as the upstairs will be occupied by a close relative with their own furniture. The job was done very thoroughly , there were just a few items I had to follow up on. The crew was very pleasant and worked very hard to accomplish the job despite the 90+ degree weather.
Category
hauling services, house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the review. All the best to your daughter in her new home. If you or someone you know ever needs help, even as basic as cleaning out a garage, basement, or attic and helping you get organized, do not hesitate to call. Thank you.
Marina P.
5.0
04/30/2013
Job went very smooth. Robert was on time and price was very fair. He was very prompt in response.
Description of Work
Robert cleaned out contents of home in preparation for sale. Emptied garage, furniture, clothing, kitchen and household items, leaving house empty and broom swept clean for real estate closing. Was prompt in responses and very punctual. Price was very reasonable.
Category
garbage collection, handyman service, hauling services, house cleaning, home & garage organization, dumpster service, interior painters, floor cleaning
KASSY F.
5.0
09/16/2012
From beginning to end, the above project went well. There were no unforseen problems. I am also confident, if issues arose, Robert would have resolved them quickly and efficiently. I highly recommend him for any of the services he provides. He not only conducts his service in a professional manner but makes every effort to work with you so the project is completed to your satisfaction. I highly recommend him. You are in and quot;good handsand quot;.
Description of Work
Robert's Cleanouts was recommended to us by our Realtor. After we did the initial cleaning, after the Estate and Private Sales, we still had much left over. At this point, it was essential that all the remaining contents be removed and the house be sparkling clean. Prospective clients had to see the space in the "best possible light". So we called on Robert's Cleanouts! Robert and his staff disposed of the remaining furniture, lamps, rugs, knick knacks, box spring and mattresses in the appropriate manner. Then they proceeded to clean the premises - 3 floors in a 53 year old house. Every "nook and crany" was swept and cleaned - lots of elbow grease used here! In addition, we needed two ceilings scrapped and painted. Robert completed this project as well. When I did a walk through, I was so plesed to see the interior in such good condition. We were now ready for our Open House.
Category
garbage collection, hauling services, house cleaning, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hi Member, Thank you very much for the kind words. Glad was able to help. Good luck selling the house. And if you or someone you know, ever needs help with anything else, please do not hesitate to call or email. :) We do: Cleanouts (all furniture, clothing, debris, any items -- removed), cleanups, remove wall-to-wall carpet, paint, minor repairs, organize and help empty Attics, Garages, Basements). Regards, ROBERT KLEIN ROBERT'S CLEANOUTS 201-233-0994
Marina P.
5.0
09/16/2012
Robert Klein, the owner, was very responsive to calls and emails and set up the schedule for the work very quickly. All necessary insurance and permits for the condo building were gotten by Robert without any problems and work started immediately. The walls were badly damaged, as were the floors, but the painting and patching were done and the condo looked great. Floors were cleaned and all garbage was disposed of, leaving an immaculate apartment ready for the new tenant.
Description of Work
Painting of a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo to ready for tenant move-in. Cleanout of condo with extensive patching of walls due to water damage and extensive cleaning of floors due to water damage. Cleanout of the condo, counters and bathrooms cleaned. Appliances wiped down and cleaned.
Category
drywall, house cleaning, interior painters, floor cleaning
Marina P.
5.0
09/16/2012
Robert Klein, the owner was very responsive by email and phone and set up the work immediately. He and his crew were very efficient and did a fabulous job. His prices were very reasonable and he was very accommodating with his time schedule. Job was done in record time and tenants were able to move in quickly. Being a realtor, I have many houses that need to be emptied and cleaned out for new buyers and tenants. I will definitely be using this Company again.
Description of Work
Total clean out of a house that was to be rented. Clean out involved the interior of the house, the garage and the shed and also included some yard clean out. The house was left in tip top condition, ready for move in. All furniture and tools were removed by dumpster and nothing was left behind. Floors were swept and counters wiped down.
Category
house cleaning, dumpster service, interior painters, floor cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you. If you ever have anything else you need help with, please give us a call.

Phone

Address

1570 Center Avenue 8

Fort Lee, NJ 07024

Other Information

Services offered

We do Cleanouts (remove all items from your house, leaving it empty, wiped down and broom-swept clean. Ready for Real Estate Showings, Closings or a New Tenant). We also do Painting, Remove Wall-to-Wall Carpets, Minor Repairs, Cleaning, Minor Demolition/Debris Removal (old sheds, detached garages, etc.). We also Organize and Clean Basements, Garages, Attics. We can do the work you need to help spruce up your property, make it clean and pretty for Real Estate showings or a new occupant.

Services not offered

Very few, we will try and accommodate our Clients to the best of our abilities. If we specifically do not have the expertise to do a job, we have many contacts and professional relationships, we almost certainly will be able to find the right, qualified professional for you. We specifically do not do major plumbing or electrical work.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

ROBERT'S CLEANOUTS is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

ROBERT'S CLEANOUTS is open:

Sunday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

ROBERT'S CLEANOUTS accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, ROBERT'S CLEANOUTS offers free project estimates.

No, ROBERT'S CLEANOUTS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, ROBERT'S CLEANOUTS does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, ROBERT'S CLEANOUTS offers emergency services.

No, ROBERT'S CLEANOUTS does not offer warranties.

ROBERT'S CLEANOUTS offers the following services: We do Cleanouts (remove all items from your house, leaving it empty, wiped down and broom-swept clean. Ready for Real Estate Showings, Closings or a New Tenant). We also do Painting, Remove Wall-to-Wall Carpets, Minor Repairs, Cleaning, Minor Demolition/Debris Removal (old sheds, detached garages, etc.). We also Organize and Clean Basements, Garages, Attics. We can do the work you need to help spruce up your property, make it clean and pretty for Real Estate showings or a new occupant.

Very few, we will try and accommodate our Clients to the best of our abilities. If we specifically do not have the expertise to do a job, we have many contacts and professional relationships, we almost certainly will be able to find the right, qualified professional for you. We specifically do not do major plumbing or electrical work.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Angry Wife Junk & Transport

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Angry Wife Junk & Transport

Our junk and transport company provides reliable and affordable services to help clients get rid of unwanted items and transport goods to their desired destination. Our team of professionals is equipped with the necessary tools and equipment to efficiently remove all types of junk, including furniture, appliances, electronics, and construction debris. We also offer transportation services for clients who need to move their belongings from one location to another. Our fleet of trucks is well-maintained and can accommodate items of all sizes. Additionally, we are committed to protecting the environment by disposing of junk in an eco-friendly manner. Our goal is to provide exceptional customer service and exceed our clients' expectations.  

Alex Painting Contracting has become New Jersey's most trusted painting service. For the past decade, homeowners from Bloomfield and Caldwell to Westfield and Morristown to Verona and Glen Ridge, NJ, have relied on Montclair Painting for exceptional interior and exterior house painting and carpentry services. Montclair's house painters also offer a range of complementary services to provide a complete solution to satisfy all home transformation needs. Montclair Painting uses only the highest quality products and raw materials to guarantee outstanding results. Family owned and operated, Montclair offers the best warranty for exterior painting in New Jersey. With extensive expertise, quality craftsmanship, and reliable service, you will learn why homeowners love Montclair Painting Service.  

Precision Painting Plus is a well-established painting company serving the New Jersey area. The Precision Difference upholds ourselves to the highest standards to deliver premium quality, honest pricing, and on-time project completion work for every customer. We only work with skilled, trained professionals that use premium paint for their project. We deliver honest pricing with no vague or hidden fees. With on-time scheduling and daily communication, we reassure customers a worry-free experience. You can count on us to deliver the best project experience for you.