Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Flat Fee Moving & Trucking

Founded 2012 • With Angi since September 2012

4.4

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

440 Market St

Elmwood Park, NJ 07407

Description

Flat Fee Moving & Trucking is family owned and operated. We are Movers with Integrity. Flat Fee Moving is following a concept of consistency of actions, values, methods, measures, principles, expectations, and outcomes. On-time service, be it local trucking services or Long Distance moving, home

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Maureen C.
1.0
09/20/2017
They came to my apartment in Phoenix and I told them that I don't want to move. Afterwards, they charge my credit card $100 at first and another $490 without any of my consent. They charge me but they don't move me or provide any service.
Description of Work
They supposed to move me from Phoenix NJ to Nutley NJ.
Category
moving companies
ardys R.
5.0
02/27/2017
It was an easy move and the guys were great to work with. I plan to use them for another move.
Description of Work
Cleaned out a storage unit and moved it to my house.
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for using our services. Please feel free to refer us to your friends and family! Your satisfaction is our best reward! Flat Fee Moving team
Daniel M.
1.0
02/03/2016
unknown
Description of Work
When I called I explained very clearly what needed to be done and confirmed the price. It was $400 for 3 guys for 4 hours. They showed up with two guys and said they will only be there for three hours but not to worry because they will get it done. After they loaded everything of mine into the truck they told me that it will take extra hours and they are charging me for it and then they added in a bunch of other fees like bringing the boxes up the steps etc. In the end it cost more than double what they said and they made me sign and pay while they had my stuff in the truck otherwise they wouldn't unload it. They also made me sign something saying I would not dispute it while they had my stuff in the truck.
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

update - Customer never responded to our proposal of monetary reimbursement. We don't know if the experience was so bad why he will not reach out to us. We have reach out to the customer to address of the issues. some of the issues aren't exactly how the customer described. We offer a monetary settlement and waiting for customer to sign a form back. we will need to update the outcome as we are still waiting on the consumer response
George I.
4.0
01/12/2016
Overall, the experience was stress-free, except for the disagreement in the end with the office personnel and the driver. To begin with, I got a very good price point for labor at 99$ per hour and travel time of 100$. On the day of moving, 3 men arrived on time. I was very anxious about the lack of parking around the apartment building, but they did not complain one bit. (I was unaware that I could get a parking permit from the city municipality for this purpose.) Plus, it was raining that morning. 2 of the guys did a professional and swift job in wrapping all the furniture with blankets and moving everything including boxes and suitcases to their truck. Initially, the office personnel mentioned on the phone that she wouldn't charge for the flight of stairs at the destination, which was my new home. She said they only charge for flight of stairs in apartments without elevators. I even signed the new contract mentioning this point on the day of moving. The contract was initially signed for a job estimate of 6 hours. The packing and moving was all going well and it finished in less than 4 hours. So when it came to the final payment, I actually had to pay lesser than the estimate, but the driver, who handed me the final invoice, and the office personnel made a RIDICULOUS claim, that they have a 5 hour minimum charge! I was happy with the service up and until that point, but the driver and the office personnel ruined what could have been an A rated service. Despite this, I tipped the driver 60$, to be shared between him and the 2 packers/movers, just because they did a very good job. So to sum up, PROS: Great price-point, fast service. CONS: Lack of professionalism and transparency in the contract. I might hire this company again if required in the future, only because of their competitive price points, but would be extra cautious of the contract and any hidden charges.
Description of Work
Helped in moving from my apartment in West New York to my home in Fair Lawn. 4 large boxes, 7 suitcases, queen bed/mattress, mirror, floor fan, tv, tv stand, book ladder, chaise lounge, futon, 2 ottomans, coffee table, 2 side tables, 2 night stands, 2 cabinets, dining set(4), body form.
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Good morning dear Mr. [Member Name Removed]: We are happy that the move went well and would like to apologize about the misunderstanding about the minimum charge. Most if not all companies have a minimum charge for each move. Maybe that was not informed to you at the time of booking verbally but it was definitely in your contract. Other than that nothing else was charge so im not sure about the hidden fees you're mentioning. Again I'm sorry for the occurrence and would like to offer you a $50 discount for any future move. Best Regards and good luck in your new home. Lizzie
doug S.
5.0
01/08/2016
unknown
Description of Work
They worked hard and were friendly
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed] Thank you for your review. we always try to work hard and make our customers happy. Moving can be very stressful so we are pleased to know how satisfied and easy your move was. Please feel free to share your experience and our contact information with friends, family and coworkers. Good luck and have an excellent 2016
Gbemisola A.
4.0
01/01/2016
unknown
Description of Work
When i first called the company there was no delay and we agreed on both price and date. | |I however had too many changes on the agreed time. They gave me the run and I had to cancel the deal. I got another company and within an hour or two, I concluded all the needed arrangements. The new company i got provided their insurance certificate at once to my property manager. It was a huge difference. | |The company however called back to apologize about the huddles created. More coordination is needed. | |I am rating a B grade only based on customer service. I ended up using another company on Angies List for my moving.
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Dear Mrs. [Member Name Removed] We are sorry for the confusion on setting up the move with us. We are glad your move went well with another provider. we wish you good luck in your new home
Elizabeth C.
5.0
12/28/2015
Promptly responded and adjusted to all sorts of unforeseen circumstances during my move. Added an additional stop at a low fee. Assembled furniture professionally. Freddie was my service agent. I was regularly in contact with him. He reacted very rapidly. Was very detailed. He wanted to assure costs would be fixed. Even after services were performed. He was just as quick in his responses. I asked for costs adjustments because there was a deposit and it was quickly refunded. He also sent my receipt electronically for taxes purposes. When it turned out my storage place wasn't open, he adjusted the moving over a two day period instead of one day. He was excellent.
Description of Work
Moved my things from storage with an additional stop, drop off, pick up and finally deliver to New York City.
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed] thank you so much for your review. it was our pleasure to help you with your move. Please keep us in mind and recommend us to your friends and family for any future moving need Good luck
Margaret H.
5.0
12/03/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Moved a bed, dresser, clothing, large mirror, TV, and boxes from NYC to Bergen County, NJ. It went very well, they were on time and very professional.
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

dear Mrs. [Member Name Removed] thank you so much for your review and good luck with everything
Inez J.
3.0
11/22/2015
The guys were nice but I thought the overall moving process was very slow. I've been through a lot of moves and given that the majority of my stuff was packed and ready to go, they were slow both loading and unloading the truck which added many additional hours and $400 to the overall cross town move. They ruined my mattress because instead of picking it up they drug it along the sidewalk causing a 'fabric burn" so deep that you can now see the coils (this mattress is pristine white for perspective). It was a warm day, they were very hot and I'm sure were getting tired but I was disappointed to say the least as one of my greatest loves is my king size beautiful white mattress. I guess in the end, if I was going to pay for $1000, I would have gone for a more full service company vs this one. I felt like they were relatively budget and would be great for a move if you don' t have a lot of furniture or items you care much about but I don't feel they took the kind of care I would have liked to see for the price I paid. On the other hand, I found very few items broken so I give them kudos for that however I did have a really cool war man iron "statue" that they did not deliver and I only realized was missing after a couple weeks. I'm very sad to be missing that as it's one of my favorite pieces. Overall, I give them a C given I paid so much more than I was expecting so while their staff is very nice and they did an B job with the delivery, it drops to a C when I consider a doubled price vs what I was expecting, the damage done to my mattress. and the missing item.
Description of Work
Moved belongings from Hoboken to Jersey City (2.5 mi)
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member name removed]: We are sorry you feel this way about your moving experience with us. We take all customers feedback very seriously. The reason that the move took 3 more hours was due to the fact that you had a lot of more items that was mention to us, it was noted on your contract on the move date and was explained to you that the fact that there is more items it will take more time to move and it will be charged too . You purchased the 4 hours of labor special offer and if you were purchasing the 6 hour offer that would have been better . The initial price was for 31 pieces, we ended up moving 83 pieces (including double amount of boxes). Our customers always say that our crew is very fast and polite and they don't even stop to eat. Once you reached out to us a month after your move about the damages to your mattress we did sent you our claim procedure to file and we never heard back from you. Furthermore, we never knew about you missing a statue, that was never brought into our attention before this review. Please do fill up the claim form so we can address your issue. Let us know if you want us to resend the claim form. Again we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the service but as you know in every business there are accidents that may happen and our company learned from the mistakes and we always strive to better our service to exceed our clients expectations We do appreciate your business and feedback and we will be better.
VICTOR O.
5.0
11/18/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Moved art materials from one studio destination to another destination 15 miles away. Excellent service from point of booking with Lisa to the movers Mr.ID,Henry,and Edgar. The movers were professional and accommodating from start to finish. They exceeded my expectations. The special price coupon helped to keep cost affordable.
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr.[Member Name Removed]: thank you so much for your feedback. Please feel free to recommend us to family and friends for any relocation need. Happy thanksgiving
Daragh P.
5.0
10/06/2015
unknown
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed] thnak you so much for your review. Good luck in your new home and please do not hesitate to refer us to your family and friends or if you are moving again. We offer a refferal fee please have them call us. Best of luck and thank you
Leila J.
5.0
09/21/2015
My move was originally supposed to take place on a Sunday afternoon, but due to numerous unforeseen circumstances, including a traffic problem, the move had to be rescheduled to Monday morning. On Sunday the office and the movers kept in touch with me to inform me of the estimated arrival time. When it was finally clear that the move would not take place on Sunday - - unless I wanted to do it in the dark - - the movers were apologetic and worked to get me rescheduled for the next morning. On Monday morning, the movers arrived as scheduled and efficiently wrapped my furniture and move my boxes out of the house. They were courteous and took care not to damage my belongings or the house. They drove straight to the delivery location where they efficiently moved all of my belongings and set up the furniture wherever I wanted it placed. They also repositioned numerous pieces of furniture and moved boxes around to various rooms after I changed my mind as to placement of the furniture and the location of the boxes. I was quite grateful that they put together my canopy bed which had been in storage for years and I wasn't sure if I had all of the pieces. All of the movers were courteous, professional and efficient. I would recommend Flat Rate to anyone looking for movers.
Description of Work
moved about seven pieces of furniture and numerous boxes from a one-family house to another one-family house
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Dear Removed mbr info: Thank you so much for your kind words. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience about not being able to move you on Sunday. The truck broke down and we had no other option than postpone your move. We instructed the guys that if for some reason you will need any packing supplies or it will exceed the time a lot for your move not to charge for anything as a courtesy. We wish you good luck in your new home and please feel free to refer our services to family and friends Regards, Lizzie ,
Martin A.
5.0
08/18/2015
I've used them 3x in the last year. I guess that means I've been happy with them and would recommend them! I didn't know anyone who knew movers when I was looking last fall (and didn't think of Angie's List either). I needed to move my fiance/now wife's furniture from a temporary storage to our new apt. They did that easy job - everything was packed already and it was in the same town - quickly and professionally. As a result I used them to move from my own apartment into our shared apartment. I had a lot more furniture and it wasn't wrapped or anything. They took care of everything including multiple glass front cabinets without a hitch. They were timely and courteous. They took care of my stuff. So when we bought a house we didn't shop around, we just went with them again. We knew we'd get great service. We ended up getting the same crew (plus 1 as the combined move was bigger) and they were great as always. They are very quick. They made sure they put enough people on the job. So much so that they came in under the estimate and so it cost $250 less. Basically they charge you a minimum 3 hours I think it is and then for incidentals like tape and cardboard to cover glass cabinets etc. They wrap EVERYTHING like it's a mummy or something. They don't lose screws or washers. We have a LOT of Ikea furniture which is nice looking but not the sturdiest. There's no damage to any of it. I will say this - we never fully priced stuff out, but if you have movers you trust and like your stuff, why would you shop around? A good experience 2x last fall meant we just defaulted to calling them again. Also we only used them for furniture/appliances. Not for boxes of stuff. We removed all drawers from chests and cabinets. All removable shelves too. We didn't want to pay for their time doing that stuff. So I don't know how they are with some of those things, although when we had oversights like with our TV stand they did a great job. The important thing with these guys, or I guess any movers, is to be thorough in the inventory you give them when they do the estimate. I missed a few small items that could go in a car but nothing major. As such they made sure they properly staffed the move. We also made sure they had easy access to where we wanted the furniture to go. This makes it easier on everyone. I feel like lay-people generally mistrust movers as a profession. I didn't ask these guys to box china or glasses or anything. I asked them to move furniture and without damaging it. They were great.
Description of Work
Moved furniture from my 3 BR apt to new house.
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Dear thank you so much for your review. it was our pleasure to help you and will do it again if needed. You can refer family and friends and will be happy to assist them. Best Regards and good luck in your new home.
Maria G.
5.0
08/05/2015
unknown
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Dear {Member name removed} Thank you so much for your review. Please do not hesitate to refer us to family and friends. We will reward you with a $25 referral fee with their reservation. regards amd good luck,
Sheila H.
2.0
08/26/2013
More things were broken in this trip than I have ever experienced. They must have stored my things in a very hot place because the plastic handle of my brita pitcher had melted into another shape. some photos in frames were glued to the glass. I mean you wouldn't be able to take the picture out without tearing it. When they came to pick things up, there were some costs I did not plan on. It wasn't that the cost was so much--they should give this upfront. In the future I would pay more and know my things were taken care of. The lady I talked to initially was nice.
Description of Work
Moved household goods from from New York to Florida.
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed]: We apologize for your past experience. The goods were store in a claim and controlled unit I'm not quite sure what the damages occurred. You can file a claim trough our claim department with pictures and a letter to be eligible for a settlement amount base on our liability coverage. The additional fee paid was for additional items you shipped and some packing materials for goods around $100 more than the original price. Please feel free to reach out to us, trough our claim department to be able to compensate you for what have happen. Thank you for your time
Maureen B.
5.0
12/04/2012
Overall it was an excellent experience. We were very impressed. They have to be one of the best!
Description of Work
Salesman came to home and gave us a detailed estimate. When they arrived the day of the move, they started to work immediately. They worked very fast and were very careful with everything they packed and loaded on the truck and unloaded off the truck. They were very thorogh and neat. They were also very pleasant, polite and very respectful. I would recommend this moving company to anyone and I certainly would use them again myself.
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Dear Customer: thankyou so much for the nice feedback. Hope you will your dad enjoy the new place and you guys have a great 2013.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Certified Relocation Solutions, LLC

    From residential to commercial and everything in between, CertifyMyMove is ready to assist you in your transition. We have the committed staff and experience needed to take you where you need to go. CertifyMyMove is a division of Certified Relocation Services LLC. We are a fully licensed and insured NJ based moving company. We are in full compliance with all NJ Consumer Affairs (NJ-CA), as well as Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (DOT) rules and regulations.  

    Angi Certified

    Teddy Moving and Storage Inc

    Teddy Moving Team is established by Industry veterans who have combined 10+ years of moving experience, wanting to change the 'status quo', by putting clients' satisfaction on a pedestal. Owners believe that promised value to clients by companies in the moving industry does not correspond with the service provided and the lack of transparency in the industry was something that had to be changed - which is why Teddy Moving Team is looking forward to providing all of our clients with a 5 star moving experience!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Flex Moving, Inc.

    The friendship that began ten years ago back home in Europe has grown into partnership here in the United States. We spent six years working in the largest NYC moving companies gaining experience in all aspects of moving industry before making Flex moving as well-known company. We wanted to form a moving company that kept its word. A company dedicated to making a difference in the lives of its clients, team members and community. A moving company who offers service that puts a smile on the faces of our customers. Our services include local, intrastate, long distance, international, residential and commercial moves as well storage service and warehousing. Whether you are moving your apartment or house or your businesses in NYC area or out of state Flex Moving is there as your only and best choice for a long-term period. As a trusted moving company our moving service ensure every aspect of your move to be coherent and stress free. Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Delivery Service
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    $15
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    Long Distance Moves, Local And Long Distance Trucking, Packing, Unpacking, Loading, Unloading, Delivery Services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Flat Fee Moving & Trucking

    How is Flat Fee Moving & Trucking overall rated?

    Flat Fee Moving & Trucking is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Flat Fee Moving & Trucking open?

    Flat Fee Moving & Trucking is open:

    Sunday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Flat Fee Moving & Trucking provide

    Flat Fee Moving & Trucking accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Flat Fee Moving & Trucking offer free estimates?

    Ask Flat Fee Moving & Trucking for details on free project estimates.

    Does Flat Fee Moving & Trucking offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Flat Fee Moving & Trucking offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Flat Fee Moving & Trucking offer a senior discount?

    No, Flat Fee Moving & Trucking does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Flat Fee Moving & Trucking offer emergency services?

    Yes, Flat Fee Moving & Trucking offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Flat Fee Moving & Trucking?

    No, Flat Fee Moving & Trucking does not offer warranties.

    What services does Flat Fee Moving & Trucking offer?

    Flat Fee Moving & Trucking offers the following services: Long Distance Moves, Local And Long Distance Trucking, Packing, Unpacking, Loading, Unloading, Delivery Services