Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Carolina Construction Services

Founded 1997 • With Angi since November 2011

4.5

(52) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6254 Blue Bonnet Ln

Winston Salem, NC 27103

Description

We are driven by quality and customer satisfaction. We are a smaller company so a customer’s complete satisfaction is very important to us. We rely heavily on customer referrals.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
melissa N.
4.0
07/06/2017
David and his group do very good work. Nice quality and attention to detail. There has been a lack of communication regarding timing and completion of projects. I would hire again without hesitation- just need to be more flexible.as these guys are juggling several projects.
Description of Work
Remodeled two bathrooms, replaced lighting, built laundry area and replaced flooring.
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed]thank you it was a pleasure working for you!! I'm glad we were able to squeeze you in at the last minute. Thank again for the opportunity to work on your project!!
Snow B.
5.0
06/02/2017
Excellent! Every person we had dealings with were kind, honest, great attention to our needs. David was extremely helpful with giving us options and suggestions for the things we needed done. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Description of Work
Refinishing counter tops, door replacement, ceiling tile repair and replacement and several other touch-ups and repairs.
Category
handyman service, remodeling, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you. You guys are great. Hope house sales very quickly for you.
Dustin S.
5.0
12/21/2016
David was very personable, professional, and had great customer service considering my job is unpredictable. I called him for a quote and he started the next week even considering Christmas is right around the corner. He said it would be a two day job and they had it done in one day.
Description of Work
Replaced flooring and subfloor along with beams in bathroom that was rotting. Installed new vanity with faucet. Installed new vinyl flooring.
Category
handyman service
K.J. G.
5.0
11/16/2016
Service went well, happy with the work done.
Description of Work
Built exterior staircase.
Category
handyman service
Danette P.
5.0
03/23/2016
It went great, Carolina construction worked with me for almost a year (or more) to remodel a large portion of my home and made it very custom. It is absolutely beautiful and I am looking forward to working with him again soon. Easy to talk to and go over ideas, helpful and responsive service!
Description of Work
David with Carolina Construction did almost a complete remodel of the upstairs in my split level home. He removed a wall to open my kitchen and living room, installed laminate flooring throughout the house and tile in 2 bathrooms. David also removed 3 half walls in my stair well and added beautiful banister rails and custom wood steps He also installed slate tile in the entryway. We replaced the front and garage door, interior doors, removed popcorn ceilings and painted the ceilings. David also repaired broken kitchen cabinets, installed crown molding, molding on kitchen cabinets and painted them black, installed granite and new sink and light fixtures. Carolina Construction also painted the master bedroom, and installed crown molding. We also replaced both toilets, removed old fireplace tile and updated electrical issues. I am bringing Carolina Construction back this year to do other projects for me!
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors
Janell I.
2.0
01/08/2016
To date, I have heard nothing from this provider. He still isn't interested enough to look at what was done. Still no name and number of the plumber who I'm guessing didn't get paid for the full job I paid for. Where did that money go? I have the invoice and cancelled checks to show they were paid in full and I have a room that shows that the work paid for is a mess. Please do look at the review percentages, especially for 1 year out. At this point, I have moved on with a reputable contractor I found thru the old fashioned word of mouth method and no longer care to hear from them. Although a partial refund would be appropriate. I would also like to add that Angies List did nothing to help. Apparently, their quality guarantee is only for the more expensive memberships. 3rd mistake, didn't read the fine print.
Description of Work
In September I hired Carolina Construction Services to demo the walls of my small bathroom, put up new drywall and plumbing for the shower, sink and toilet. I had already removed the vanity, sink, toilet and wall tile. | |My first mistake, this is not a licensed contractor, as I thought. When David and his crew first came in they were very friendly and seemed knowledgeable. | |Problems began when I pointed out areas in the drywall that I thought needed attention. Uneven corners and unsanded areas. Then they got testy. At one point, David explained that if I wanted new looking walls I should build a new house. | |Toward the end of the project David asked for final payment and since I thought they were about done, I paid him. That was my second mistake. From that point on, it was difficult to get David to answer my emails or texts. When he finally did answer me, he explained that since I had 'that tone' he pulled the crew and would not be back. I tried for almost 2 weeks to get David to come and look at what I thought were problems and he wouldn't even do that. He has not even seen the work that he is defending over my questions. I am left with uneven walls,1/4" drywall powder and nails all over the floor, 2 doors and a window with no casing and, since the tile can't go in, no toilet, sink or shower can be installed. I have emailed David twice in the past 2 weeks to ask for the plumbers name and phone number to arrange finishing and have been completely ignored. This is plumbing work I have already paid David for. | |I brought in a licensed contractor to tell me what they need to do so I can finish the project and was told," those people didn't know what they were doing". This contractor showed me not only the areas I thought were problems but a few others that will involve shimming to bring the walls flush with the woodwork. (Something I was led to believe was not possible because I have an older house) | |This crew did help with some leaking flashing around a vent pipe on the roof until we could get a roofer to fix it and also some door jambs that were sticking. They are probably fine with handyman work but I would be careful about construction.
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

There are many false claims made by this person. To shine some light on why my company is no longer working on this project. I am the 3rd or 4th contractor that has worked at this site in less than 1 year. I don't think the job was complete nor had she paid me in full when I decided to cut all ties. I will never allow anyone to talk to me or my crew in the manner she feels is appropriate! I would advise anyone reading this to please look at the 40+ reviews and pictures of our work to see the big picture. Thank you
Diane G.
2.0
07/24/2015
We asked for an appointment for an estimate on a home we were going to possibly flip - a $25K-30K job. David met us the very next day, walked through the property and gave us some really great ideas. He told us to take a day and think about the lay out, then call him with what we decided and he would provide a free written estimate. I called later that day and left a message. After not hearing back, I called him again on Friday morning and he stated that he started the estimate and would get it to us later that afternoon. We never heard from him again. He never called with the estimate. he never called to say he would not be able to do the job. He never called to say something came up. I was impressed with his professionalism initially but then completely disappointed in his lack of follow through. Because of this, we will never contact him again regarding any of the properties that we own.
Description of Work
We asked for an appointment for an estimate on a home we were going to possibly flip - a $25K-30K job. David met us the very next day, walked through the property and gave us some really great ideas. We asked him for a written estimate. We never heard from him again.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Lack of communication. I spent hours estimating this job in multiple ways as asked by customer and emailed them to the customer. After reading this review its apparent that I was given the wrong email address. It must have been a active address since I didn't get kicked back to me or possibly ended up in the spam folder. A simple phone call could have clarified the situation. I believe I was on site with in 1 hr of receiving the first phone call.
Donyetta D.
2.0
06/07/2015
THE WORK WAS NEVER STARTED OR COMPLETED! The back and forth went on for several months thus the work was never done! He made several promises of contacting me to schedule the work but I never received a call. I sent the information to the resolution department of Angie's List but didn't get a response. I decided to do this review because I don't know how to get my money back for paying for services we never received. This is the FINAL correspondence between me and the provider below. Miss *Name Removed for privacy* I apologize for not being able to get to this job in a timely manner that you were expecting. We are so far behind right now. I do understand you needing to contact someone else to get this paint job completed. You will need to contact angie's list to initiate a refund. There is nothing I can do on my end to get that process started. Again I apologize let me know if I can do anything for you in the future. Thank you Sent from my iPhone On May 31, 2015, at 11:17 AM, *name removed for prirvacy> wrote: I waited for the call but it never came, the work was never scheduled. This had been going back and forth for a couple of months, I'm done. Please refund my money, the painting had to be completed this week. I can no longer wait, the painting has been scheduled with another company. I understand you're schedule is busy and harbor no I'll feelings. If you can refund the $200.00 that was paid via Angie's List asap, I will appreciate it. Thanks .
Description of Work
He came in a timely manner to see the work that needed to be done. We are remodeling the house and he offered to give a estimate on the paint job for downstairs. After receiving the estimate, I immediately notified the provider the cost was outside of my price point. I told him that I wanted ONLY the service I paid for which was the 8 hours of painting. Other then the estimate, the paining job was never done.
Category
remodeling, interior painters
jimita R.
5.0
04/13/2015
It turned out great. I think they did a great job, but they should have been more responsive. They gave me two guys for four hours. I would use them again.
Description of Work
Carolina Construction Services painted the hallway and the trim. It was a big deal purchase.
Category
interior painters
LINDA M K.
5.0
02/22/2015
Went well. Personable and easy to work with. Good job
Description of Work
Paint den, kitchen, foyer
Category
interior painters
Tarun B.
5.0
01/12/2015
They were very courteous and efficient. I had a number of small jobs and they finished everything in 4 hours. They were reasonable on price and the quality of work was excellent. I would say they are the best of the best.
Description of Work
Carolina Construction sent two painters.
Category
interior painters
Norman D.
5.0
01/05/2015
,I regret I don't know the owner name since I'm old and dumb, but he is the most professional tradesman I've ever had the PLEASURE of working with. He came to my home and asked me what I wanted painted. Once I explained it to him he said that the $199.00 deal was for 2 painters instead of one because 2 would be more efficient and I'd get more for my money. I wanted a bedroom small bath and laundry room painted. Now don't everyone get all excited because all rooms were empty and cleaned, so don't expect the impossible and try to take advantage of this gentleman. The workers were also professional and didn't waste time. IF YOU NEED PAINTING DONE CALL THIS COMPANY. I gave them the highest rating and would have gone higher if possible. Call this company today!
Description of Work
Painted areas I asked.
Category
handyman service, interior painters
Barbara C.
5.0
12/30/2014
I purchased an Angie's Deal for 8hrs of painting suspecting that the job of painting paneling and trim in a den would be more than that. When David came to price the job, he suggested that he price by the job and then deduct the $199 I already paid on Angies Deal. I agreed, but later realized that I didn't get a 'deal' for the first 8 hours. The painter was the most professional painter I have ever encountered and he does a neat and careful job. The den looks perfect, thanks to painter Chris! David came back on the last day of the job to make sure that we were satisfied, which was a nice touch.
Description of Work
Painted paneling in den and all window, doors, and base trim.
Category
handyman service, woodworking

Service Provider Response

I'm glad you are happy with the job we did. I think it turned out great. I actually gave the Angielist Big Deal price for the entire job. You saved a significant amount from this deal. Thank you for your business and the great review. I look forward to working with again in the future.
Jennie G.
5.0
08/27/2014
They called me right back after I initially called them. The two painters were wonderful and polite. They were very neat and clean. They were really efficient and did a great job painting. They painted four bathrooms including the ceilings and the woodwork. They painted a hallway with the ceiling and woodwork. I also had them paint the exterior shutters. Finally, they power washed, stained and refinished my deck. There were a few instances where the owner could have communicated more to me about appointment times. I will definitely use them again for painting services.
Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for $399 for 2 interior painters for a day.
Category
pressure washing, house painters, interior painters
Vanessa C.
2.0
08/08/2014
For the most part it went well. I wish I had not paid them in full before they left. The worker promised to come back, however, he did not. They left paint spots in the bathtub, did not replace the exhaust fan in the bathroom, and did not put the carbon monoxide detector back up in the bedroom. They were very unorganized. They also refinished an antique fireplace but it shows pink through the two coats of paint. About two weeks ago, I sent him a letter detailing all of these facts and I have not heard any response. Also the were the carpet and bathroom ceramic flooring meet there is not a smooth transition between the two.
Description of Work
They painted four rooms, put in chair rail and crown molding in the hallways, and installed ceramic flooring in the bathroom.
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] did not pay the remaining balance of her bill. I will not continue to do business with a customer that refuses to pay for the work they have received. Because of her physical condition we were required to handle the moving of all of her personal items and furniture. I was originally told she had someone to do this for her. At the time we returned the items to their original rooms we were asked to reorganize what was originally a complete wreck. As it turns out we did this for free as she refused to pay us for the extra time. [Member name removed] added multiple items during the job but didn't expect to pay extra for them in the end. I worked with this customer and made multiple trips to salvage and discount sales centers to help her get material at a cheaper price. This cost me time and money. Cheaper material requires more work from us to bring it up to our quality standards. This job did not run very smoothly at all. There was a lot of indecision and changes to materials and/or if she wanted trim in specific rooms. Also on which colors and how she wanted her shadow boxing painted. We agreed to the colors before we started the job but they were changed twice during the job.There is nothing from the original contract or anything that we were paid to do that was not completed. There are several items that [member name removed] asked us to do during the job that we did not do. We discussed that those items would need to be scheduled at a later date. We did not discuss a price or time for those items to be started at all. We as a company are not perfect by any means. Sometimes customers seem to expect or think that we can add or complete extra items for free. We are a small company that prides ourselves on doing things the right way for a fair price. I truly am sorry [member name removed] is not happy with the job we did for her. This is truly a situation of the customer getting the Cadillac and paying for the Pinto!!!
Melissa W.
5.0
08/06/2014
I wish I could give this company an A+++. First of all, after leaving a voicemail, I received a call back within the hour. Secondly, I called a week before Christmas and was desperate to get the work done before my in-laws came into town. Despite being very busy, and calling at the last minute, they graciously squeezed me into their schedule. Their work-crew was one of the most polite and professional I've ever used. They did an outstanding job, were extremely thorough & detailed, fixed all the damage on the walls (I have 4 small children so there was quite a bit), and left my house cleaner when they left than when they arrived. After the work was completed, they took the time to walk the rooms with me to make sure I was satisfied. My biggest issue with service providers is typically waiting excessive periods of time for a return phone call, then waiting long periods of time before having the service completed. I had neither issue with Carolina Construction. My call was returned immediately, the work completed within a week, & I was very satisfied with the quality of their work . I would definitely recommend this provider & plan on using them again in the near future.
Description of Work
Full day of painting / wall repair.
Category
drywall, handyman service, interior painters
Christina G.
5.0
06/30/2014
It looked awseome. Put my place up for sale 1 week later and got an offer within 2 days!!
Description of Work
I had 2 painters for 8 hours. They painted a large foyer/hallway with high ceilings. This included ceiling, molding, and dry wall repair.
Category
handyman service
Danielle H.
4.0
06/24/2014
It was fine. The owner was a very nice guy. I like him a lot. One of the painters didn't show so the job ended up taking over a week instead of 2 days. We just decided to finish it ourselves. They were friendly enough and they wanted to do a good job. The weather had been raining and it was damp so the paint took a little bit longer. It wasn't their fault that their employee didn't show. I would probably use them for something else in the future. The pricing was good.
Description of Work
They painted bookshelves.
Category
interior painters
Andre D.
3.0
06/03/2014
The cost was too expensive.
Description of Work
Just a quote
Category
handyman service
KIMBERLY D.
5.0
06/03/2014
Did a great job, and were in and out fast. Were on time, did a great job, including cutting in the paint, cleaned up, and were gone. Very friendly and professional.
Description of Work
Painted my two story family room.
Category
handyman service
Jeffrey B.
5.0
05/12/2014
I could not have asked for a better service or group of people to do work in my home. I worked from home that day and the painters were there on time, were quick, prompt, courteous and professional. The job they did was phenomenal as well. The walls look great. I had a real mess, and it looks great. Not only did they finish what I needed, but they got my kitchen and other areas of the house as well, with time to spare at the end. I couldn't be happier with them and highly recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
Paint interior walls in my home, including fixing a few cracks in order to make the paint and walls look smoother.
Category
handyman service, interior painters
Amanda L.
5.0
05/07/2014
My husband and I were SUPER impressed by the work that David and his partner completed for us. They were incredibly professional - they showed up every morning exactly when they said they would, which was helpful for my husband and I because we both work full time. We hired them to sand, prime and paint poorly texture-painted walls in a house that we recently moved into. It wasn't a fun project but they accomplished it flawlessly. They were very clean and incredibly efficient. In two days they were able to do absolutley everything we asked. The price was unmatched too! The difference the paint job made in our home is incredible. We will absolutely hire David again as we have future painting projects.
Description of Work
David and his partner came to our new house and painted our foyer, stariwell and upstairs hallway as well as our ceiling trim and stariwell window trim.
Category
handyman service
Bill G.
1.0
05/05/2014
I was home on the day David's crew came to our home to paint the bedroom and hallway. It was such a disappointment that before lunch the painters made a straight line on the center edge of the trim on the door. It was totally obvious that they never planned to start the hallway no matter what time they finished the bedroom. I was shocked and disappointed at how little they'd done in 2 hrs 40 minutes before they left for lunch. As far as hundreds of pin holes in my son's room, that was a complete LIE. As a mother, I would NEVER allow that and did not allow it. I am writing because I was upstairs in the master bedroom to calm our pets while David and my husband talked in the upstairs hallway. While Bill explained his disappointment, I was shocked that David raised his voice to my husband. $400 is a lot to pay for one small bedroom to be painted and I am disgusted for paying it. We were also told that David could get the paint cheaper but he charged us more than retail for it. Extremely unprofessional.
Description of Work
Painted 4 walls, 2 windows and trim--no doors or ceilings--were supposed to paint hallway trim
Category
handyman service, interior painters
Steve & Jane B.
5.0
05/01/2014
They came in a week and a half before they started. They let us know what they anticipated. They suggested that we put in order what we wanted done following the bathroom. They got everything done that I asked them to do. The two gentlemen were extremely professional and friendly. They came out right on time. They were quick but they were very thorough. They did a nice job and I would highly recommend them. They didn't charge me further than the price of the deal.
Description of Work
I purchased a "Big Deal" coupon with Carolina Construction Services. They painted the bathroom, baseboards, trim and seven doors.
Category
interior painters
Sandra N.
5.0
04/27/2014
I had 2 bedrooms and a bathroom painted. Did a great job. Got them through one of the big deals. More expensive because I wanted more done. They were on time and went right to work. Would definitely hire again and definitely recommend them.
Description of Work
Paint
Category
handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Golden Brush Remodeling

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Certified

    The Patch Boys of Winston Salem

    Full service drywall and plaster repair and installation company servicing Winston-Salem and High Point along with surrounding areas.  

    Angi Certified

    Diaz Painting

    Interior and exterior painting pressure washing popcorn ceiling removal and put popcorn ceiling clean gutters fix damage walls and ceiling Thanks  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    79522
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Paint inside & out. Custom decks & screen porches. Tile & regrouts. Flooring of all kinds. Cabinets & countertops. Repair sheetrock. Remove popcorn & textured ceilings. Trim work. Install new doors. New & replacement windows installation. Roofing repair. Siding. Remodel bathrooms & kitchens. Sidewalks. Retaining walls. Pergola. Gazebo. Install & stain fencing. Pressure washing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Carolina Construction Services

    How is Carolina Construction Services overall rated?

    Carolina Construction Services is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Carolina Construction Services open?

    Carolina Construction Services is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Carolina Construction Services provide

    Carolina Construction Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Carolina Construction Services offer free estimates?

    Yes, Carolina Construction Services offers free project estimates.

    Does Carolina Construction Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Carolina Construction Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Carolina Construction Services?

    Yes, Carolina Construction Services offers warranties.

    What services does Carolina Construction Services offer?

    Carolina Construction Services offers the following services: Paint inside & out. Custom decks & screen porches. Tile & regrouts. Flooring of all kinds. Cabinets & countertops. Repair sheetrock. Remove popcorn & textured ceilings. Trim work. Install new doors. New & replacement windows installation. Roofing repair. Siding. Remodel bathrooms & kitchens. Sidewalks. Retaining walls. Pergola. Gazebo. Install & stain fencing. Pressure washing.

    Are there any services Carolina Construction Services does not offer?

    Ask for details.