Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Interior and Exterior Painting

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Bates Painting Co

Founded 1979 • With Angi since March 2004

4.9

(161) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11525 Locust St

Kansas City, MO 64131

Description

Why hire an applicator when you can hire an artist? For the last 30 years our Company's mission has been to deliver the highest quality painting experience for home owners and businesses in the Kansas City area. The owners, Doug and Donna Bates, are dedicated to providing a finished product far superior to traditional painting companies. Using detailed preparation along with top of the line materials and application techniques, your home or business will stand out as a Work of Art rather than just another paint job. Call 816-283-1213 today for a free estimate ! https://www.batespainting.com/...

Projects

Overland Park Beauty project
Overland Park Beauty

interior painting

2019

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/11/2021


Marcy M.

Bates Painting did a fantastic job! They created two custom faux finish colors for our first floor and 1/2 bath. And the distressed country French finish on our kitchen cabinets is exquisite. They were respectful and courteous about cleaning up. They clearly take pride in their craft and the work shows it.

Description of Work
Interior walls painted. Kitchen cabinets redone

Category interior painters,cabinet refacing

1.0

01/21/2021


Rakesh K.

Representative came and gave me the approx price as $5000 for popcorn removal and smooth ceiling pained for my house (~2600 SQFT). Later on I get the email estimate for $8900, when I talked to representative who came... he was talking strange and kind of rude. I think, it's not trustworthy.

Description of Work
Need to be professional when talking

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

I punctually met with [Member Name Removed] and his estimate appointment went generally well despite being slightly confusing. We discussed some numbers in general while I was making notes from which to provide an accurate four option cost estimate -as requested. Obviously there was an unfortunate misunderstanding of both language and intent. I wish Mr. [Member Name Removed] the best on his remodel project. Doug Bates, President Bates Painting Company (since 1979)
5.0

09/16/2020


Becky H.

Doug, Joe, and their team did a fantastic job. They cleaned up after themselves, were extremely professional, worked efficiently and our house looks incredible! They patched walls from wallpaper damage and painted our kitchen and painted the beams and vaulted ceiling in our living room.

Description of Work
Kitchen and vaulted ceilings painted

Category interior painters

5.0

07/12/2020


Roberta G.

Great, loved that put all pictures & Furniture back

Description of Work
Painted living room ,dining room, master bedroom & Bath

Category interior painters,cabinet refacing

5.0

09/09/2019


Jerry M.

Bates Painting Co. was our choice for exterior painting of our home in 2010. We decided to have our home repainted again this year as we wanted to protect our siding from the weather. After reviewing other paint contractors on Angie’s List and Home Advisor as well as getting recommendations from family, we decided to call Bates Painting Co. again for another estimate. Doug Bates arrived promptly on the date and time scheduled. He listened to what we wanted done and then walked the property viewing all sides of our home. Doug excused himself and he went to his truck to work up the cost estimate. Doug returned with a price that was higher than the 2009 price which we expected and it fell into a range that we had estimated. However, he gave us a cost estimate for using Sherwin Williams paint that was applied in 2009 and another cost estimate for Benjamin Moore which Doug said he had switched to because of better performance over time and exposure. Doug also suggested we change the color of our garage door and the ceiling area above the front porch both of these items were in addition to the cost estimate of the entire house repaint. Based on our satisfaction of the 2009 Bates paint job we quickly decided to go with the quoted Benjamin Moore estimate as well as the additional work for the garage door and ceiling above the porch. We expected to be scheduled into the Bates Painting calendar for later in September or October 2019. Surprisingly, Doug called us the next day to say they were finishing an exterior job in Parkville and would move that crew to our house starting on Labor Day 02 Sept 2019. Doug returned to our house the next day to introduce us to the painter he would have working our entire project whose name was Bryon. The next morning, we got an early telephone call from Doug stating Bryon was able to start painting that morning which was 30 Aug 2019. Bryon arrived at 9:30 am and quickly got into power washing our home followed by caulking, taping, and began painting the body of our home. Over the four (4) day period, Bryon singlehandedly painted our entire home. Bryon is a pleasant man who treated our home like it was his own. He told us what he planned to do each day, stayed on task, and cleaned up the area daily. The cooler weather during Labor Day weekend was perfect for painting and eliminated our fear that paint was drying too fast because it was in the 90s. On Monday the fourth day, Bryon was done in the early evening. We are thrilled with the finished product on our home. We picked the right company, the right paint, and were blessed with the right professional painter for our project. We want to thank Doug Bates and Bryon. We are thrilled with our freshly painted home and are happy knowing it was done by an artist and not just a crew throwing paint on a home in one day.

Description of Work
Exterior Painting of Our Home

Category house painters

5.0

04/18/2019


Jerry B.

great, good guys,our windows were their canvas(says that on their card) I don't understand this question angie: Was money paid or were services performed?

Description of Work
scraped, caulked and painted my exterior windows including a very large with diamond shaped windows and had to remove and reinstall a heavy storm window which hasn't been off in 15yrs!

Category house painters

2.0

04/17/2019


Brian W.

My wife and I met with Doug Bates to discuss our project. We told Doug that we were considering purchasing new cabinet doors, but would rather refinish our existing stained kitchen cabinets to a like new appearance. Doug explained that he is an artist and felt more than qualified to accomplish the task with 40 years of experience. We indicated several areas of wear that caused concern. A primary area of emphasis was the rubbed worn semi-circles around the pull knobs. He replied that, “I will take care of those areas.” (He did not.) He proceeded to describe the process of using gel stain. We did question that selection, but he firmly replied that using a gel stain was the best way to achieve the appearance we desired and that the cabinets would look great. (It did not.) The entire process took a little over a week. Doug’s team consisted of three very nice men who worked diligently. The team accomplished most of the work without Doug present. In observing the work, we did question the uniformity of the finish. The worn areas around the knobs were still were apparent as well as other sections of concern. Doug proceeded to explained how difficult it is to achieve a completely uniform tone. He did state that he would personally finish all of the cabinet fronts. We opted at that time to trust Doug’s experience and assurance that the cabinets would look great and like new. During the last few days of completion, we were on vacation. Upon our return we discovered a multitude of blemishes. To begin, cabinets were installed upside down and others overlapped. Drawers were jammed into place and required prying them out. Such a lack of care was administered to this one easy task. It was immediately apparent that most surfaces were rough, with multiple dimples and bubbles in the outermost polyurethane finish. Most of the cabinet and drawer faces were much darker than before work began, diminishing the visible wood grain, which is the most desirable aspect of stained wood. The rubbed areas above the knob pulls were still noticeable and previous water damaged areas clearly visible. Panel edges received very little attention and are still unmistakably coarse. We also had the walls around the cabinets painted. In a couple of areas the painters tape had removed the paint and a thin layer of the wall. To repair, they did not fill the area, but applied a thin layer of paint, hoping we would not notice. When confronted with the numerous infractions, Doug initially stated that this result is really the best anyone can do with old cabinets. He later confessed that he could have fully sanded down the cabinets and drawers to completely refinish the cabinets, but that would have been more expensive. He admitted that he did not present this option because he did not “read us correctly”. He also responded, “If you stand back and look at the kitchen as a whole, it looks great”. (Agreed, but nobody uses a kitchen from 15 feet away.) In an email Doug stated, “I feel as though our company has delivered the product as contracted at or above industry standards with final touch up to be completed.” Bates Painting also only applied one coat of Minwax polyurethane. The instructions clearly state to apply 2-3 coats of polyurethane finish to all surfaces. Calling and emailing Minwax confirmed that the first coat seals and the second coat protects. One coat is not industry standard. When I first inquired with Doug about the single coat, he responded that the Old Masters gel stain used serves as the first coat of protectant. I proceeded to call Old Masters to confirm. They replied that gel stain absolutely does not protect and at least two coats of polyurethane should be used. I provided this information to Doug, who then said that because he only scuffed up the original varnish, only one coat of polyurethane was necessary. He did not agree a second coat was needed. I have attached some pictures that show only a handful of the poor work. One in particular identifies a blemish that instead of repairing properly, Bates Painting chose place a drop of polyurethane on top. This one spot is indicative of the entire job where shortcuts were taken at every step. I am now at a point where I have a kitchen that does not look professionally finished and have to completely refinish most of the surfaces myself. I lost money and time because I hired Bates Painting.

Description of Work
Stained Kitchen Cabinets Refinish

Category interior painters,cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

To Whom It May Concern, My Company, Bates Painting Company, has proudly provided the Kansas City area with honesty, integrity and A rated service since 1979. With regards to to Mr. [Member Name Removed]'s project, we believed we had clearly communicated and contracted the reasonably inexpensive process of refinishing badly damaged cabinets and woodwork and this is exactly what we did. What Mr. [Member Name Removed] WANTED but did not communicate, was the much more expensive process of varnish and stain stripping, a service we could have provided but at an appropriately higher price. The attached photographs are of no significant value as we were not allowed to finish the project. Our final invoice of $500 has not been collected as the final phase of this project was cancelled by the client in conjunction with his $2,000 demand. It appears to me Mr. [Member Name Removed] is using the online rating forums as a means by which to extort $2,000.00 from our Company. With complete integrity and reverence for our online presence, I recognize that our Proud A Rated Company has become a clear and unfortunate victim of online bullying! In this situation we wish there was an online forum by which contractors could warn other contractors about customers with whom they should avoid working. Mr. [Member Name Removed] would certainly find himself at the top of such a list. Sincerely, Doug Bates
5.0

11/21/2018


Katie H.

Doug was very easy to work with. The crew was professional, polite and accommodating. We were thrilled with the entire process and especially with the end result. We would highly recommend them, and will use them again for any of our painting needs.

Description of Work
Exterior Painting

Category house painters

5.0

11/14/2018


robert R.

It went very well. The house looks great. They did a very good job with re-painting and fixing wood rot. This was a big, complex job. Clean up was also good. Very easy to work with and they were very accommodating.

Description of Work
Needed entire house repainted

Category contractors,house painters

1.0

07/11/2018


Sean A.

No show, No call. Left message with answering service on 7-6-18. "Doug" retuned the call. Appointment made to review the job on 7-10-18 at 3:30 pm. No show, No call on the appointment.

Description of Work
Interior trim and doors painted.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We are so sorry that we missed our appointment, it very rarely happens and was not done intentionally. We feel compelled to say it saddens us, in this day and age of "instant" reviews, that we would receive an "F" from you so quickly. There are so many reasons that one might miss an appointment and it seems fewer and fewer are willing to stop and consider some of the reasons why an appointment might be missed before they post a bad review. Again we are sorry we missed our appointment and we are more than happy to reschedule.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Stack Painting

    With over 27 years of experience, we specialize in Interior and Exterior painting for residential and commercial. We can handle any level for exterior.  

    The Legacy 4Ever Green

    We specialize in pressure washing and soft washing services for exteriors of homes or businesses, sidewalks, driveways, decks, porches, patios, fences, truck trailers, parking lots, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    MRT Cleaning Services

    Window Cleaning Gutter cleaning Power washing Gutter guards installation Underground drains Staining Junk removal Handyman Services Decks & more...  

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Painting - Exterior. Painting - Interior. Pressure Washing. Deck Staining Wallpaper removal Commercial Residential

    Services Not Offered

    please inquire

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bates Painting Co

    How is Bates Painting Co overall rated?

    Bates Painting Co is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bates Painting Co open?

    Bates Painting Co is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Bates Painting Co provide

    Bates Painting Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Bates Painting Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bates Painting Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Bates Painting Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Bates Painting Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bates Painting Co offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Bates Painting Co offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Bates Painting Co?

    Yes, Bates Painting Co offers warranties.

    What services does Bates Painting Co offer?

    Bates Painting Co offers the following services: Painting - Exterior. Painting - Interior. Pressure Washing. Deck Staining Wallpaper removal Commercial Residential

    Are there any services Bates Painting Co does not offer?

    please inquire