Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Able Appliance Repair

Founded 2003 • With Angi since January 2004

4.8

(817) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7915 N. Oak Traffic Way

Kansas City, MO 64118

Description

Multiple locations serving all of the Kansas City Metropolitan area with an office at 5404 West 102nd St, Overland Park, KS. Family owned & operated. Additional phone number (816) 453-8650. 10125 N. Brooklyn Ct Kansas City, Mo 64155 Additional DBA - Affordable Appliance Service. Award winning....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/23/2021


Frieda R.

No long wait time to get an appointment and professional and efficient service! The technician knew right away where the problem was - he removed a lot of built-up ice and replaced the heater element in our freezer in less than half an hour. We will definitely call them again if we have an appliance problem!

Description of Work
Freezer repair

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/10/2021


Henry M.

Called Able to work on our Samsung electric dryer. John was prompt and efficient in getting the repair completed. He took the time to explain what was wrong and make the repair quickly. John also showed the concern for our overall safety and took additional time to vacuum the inside of the dryer to help limit fire potential. Will most definitely be using this company in the future for those pesky appliance issues.

Description of Work
Dryer needed to be repaired

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review on John! He really is a wonderful technician and we are very happy to hear that he took good care of you. We do appreciate your business and look forward to working with you in the near future. - Katie
1.0

01/11/2021


Tim P.

Not well. I asked the technician to pack up his tools and leave.

Description of Work
Clothes dryer repair

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

I'm so sorry about any issues you may have had with our company. Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to correct the issue. We do have you scheduled and will get it corrected for you. - Katie
5.0

07/20/2020


Susan B.

John, the serviceman, arrived on time and was very professional and courteous. He quickly diagnosed the problem with our 3 year old LG refrigerator and provided us with valuable information regarding the necessary repairs, cost, and provided a timetable for completing the repairs. We reached out to LG to see if they would honor the warranty and cover the cost if he completed the repairs. LG would not coordinate. John was very personable and answered all of our questions. I would recommend him as a service tech and Able Appliance Repair without hesitation.

Description of Work
Refrigerator stopped working.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review on John! He is a wonderful technician and we are delighted to have him as part of our team. We do appreciate your business and look forward to working with you in the near future. - Katie
1.0

06/12/2020


Martha C.

6/3/20: Called Able Appliance. Without coming out to evaluate, James Neal decided it needed a new heating element. He said he would order from St. Louis - overnight - and it should be here by Thursday 6/4 or Friday 6/5. I assumed I would hear from him by Friday 6/5, and he would come out to install. I didn't hear, so I called Friday 6/5, and he gave me a vague answer. I asked that he let me know as soon as he could, and he said he would. As of 6/12, I still have not heard from him. In the meantime, I got another company to come out 6/11, within a day of my call. The problem was not the heating element, but a different issue. They brought the part the next day, and fixed it.

Description of Work
Dishwasher repair

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

I'm so sorry for any issues that you may have had with our company. Unfortunately, we can not control the parts suppliers. We have had a lot of issues with the parts and getting them on time. We are trying to work out of one office with everything that's going on and hopefully we can get more organized so that we can communicate a lot better with all of our customers and getting them done as quickly as possible. All of our customers are very important to us and we again apologize about any issues you may have had with our company. - Katie
3.0

06/03/2020


Mathew A.

Added Freon, may be about 30 min job which included diagnostics and billed $415 +tax. Outrageously crazy charge for the work.

Description of Work
My freezer was not cooling .

Category appliance refinishing

Service Provider Response

We do try to stay competitive with other companies. Unfortunately, with the rising prices to running an company we have had to make changes to our pricing. We do value all of our customers and try to give them the best value that we can give them. Thank you, Katie
1.0

10/28/2019


Kathy C.

I had to take off two days of work trying to accommodate their schedule. They never showed up when they said they would. Misdiagnosed the problem. Came with the WRONG part THREE times. They would not provide an itemized statement of the repair work which left our refrigerator with no digital temperature and a fan that was so loud you couldn't even hear in our kitchen. We said we weren't paying until the owner called us. The repairman threatened to tear open our fridge and refused to leave until we paid him. We told him to leave our home or we would call the police. We stopped payment on our check to get the owner to call us and all they wanted to do was blame the parts supplier when their repairman admitted to us he ordered the wrong part. This company is NOT reputable. I would categorize them in the scam category. We had to call another repair company to fix the problems.

Description of Work
Repair a refrigerator

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry for your experience [Member Name Removed] but we do appreciate you giving us the opportunity to correct the situation. Thanks! Vicki
1.0

10/02/2019


Steve T.

This company hires private contractors who show up in their personal vehicle and street clothes. They will diagnose the problem then do some checking on parts prices then give you a grand total on what it will cost to fix it, not itemized so you do not know how much is parts and how much is labor. In our case it was $753 to repair a refrigerator with two parts, I agreed to the repair and then found out the parts were only $350 and replacing them both a 20 minute job. The diagnosis time took maybe 20 minutes as well, so $400 for labor for a total of 40 minutes of work plus two trips out is a ridiculous amount of money.

Description of Work
Refrigerator Repair

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

I am sorry about any issues you may have experienced with our company. Please, call 913-648-8438 and ask for Katie or Vicki. Thank you! - Katie
3.0

09/16/2019


Dave B.

Technicians were ok but their scheduling is a joke. I sat home the entire day and they finally showed up at 5:30 PM. There are too many other good choices to put up with that.

Description of Work
Repaired both a washer and a fridge.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I do apologize about any scheduling issues that you may have had. We do try to do our best to get the customers done in a timely manner. Sometimes the technician does get caught up on the call prior to heading your way. We do not have a cut-off time that we quit working for the day, so that we can get our customers taken care of even later in the day if needed. We do appreciate your business and your feed-back and will work a lot harder on our scheduling office. Thank you! - Katie
5.0

05/20/2019


Dan P.

It went very well. No issues after the repair.

Description of Work
Ice maker repair

Category small appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you in the near future. - Vicki

    Other local Pros in your area

    Andy's Pipe Dream

    Andy's Pipe Dream is a family owned and operated plumbing, heating and cooling business located in Lenexa, Kansas, and serving the entire Kansas City metro area. Started in 2003, by Andy Alexander, we strive to give our customers something they have never seen. Polite customer care with a focus on helping people. Every business is designed to make a profit, but we choose to do it in an honest and caring way. Backed by over 28+ years of experience in all aspects of plumbing, heating and cooling. Andy is an expert at solving your plumbing needs. So the next time you need a help please call and ask for Andy.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    R Mech Heating Cooling & Plumbing

    We started the Tankless Water Heating push in Kansas City. We have been the number one Rinnai tankless water heater installer in Kansas City for the last ten years. We have done this through training, lowest installation pricing, never charging additional money if not warranted. We focus on the repair of plumbing fixtures and equipment, including water softening and filtration systems. Lastly, the Hydronic Furnace was pioneered by us in the Kansas City market, installing more than any company in the United States!! Thank You for finding us and we hope to serve you well. Award winning.  

    Offers by R Mech Heating Cooling & Plumbing on Angi
    Total Comfort

    We sell different. We service different. Experience the Total Comfort difference, since 1956. If you’re in need of heating and cooling services, Total Comfort is a skilled, award-winning HVAC company that can solve all your needs! From AC repair to furnace replacement, HVAC maintenance, and more, we are here to provide you with trustworthy, quality, affordable HVAC services. Since 1956, we’ve been doing whatever it takes to ensure each of our customers are 100% satisfied with their heating and cooling service. As a locally owned, customer-focused company, providing honest, quality work to our neighbors is our #1 goal. Every job we do is performed with respect and courtesy, leaving you satisfied in a more comfortable home! For unparalleled HVAC services, experience the Total Comfort difference now! For top-quality products and service from technicians with the latest industry knowledge, contact us today.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential appliances, heating & cooling, washers, dryers, dishwashers, refrigerators, ranges, freezers & garbage disposals.

    Services Not Offered

    Sales, Parts, and Commercial Appliances

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Able Appliance Repair

    How is Able Appliance Repair overall rated?

    Able Appliance Repair is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Able Appliance Repair open?

    Able Appliance Repair is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Able Appliance Repair provide

    Able Appliance Repair accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Able Appliance Repair offer free estimates?

    No, Able Appliance Repair does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Able Appliance Repair offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Able Appliance Repair does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Able Appliance Repair offer a senior discount?

    No, Able Appliance Repair does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Able Appliance Repair offer emergency services?

    Yes, Able Appliance Repair offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Able Appliance Repair?

    No, Able Appliance Repair does not offer warranties.

    What services does Able Appliance Repair offer?

    Able Appliance Repair offers the following services: Residential appliances, heating & cooling, washers, dryers, dishwashers, refrigerators, ranges, freezers & garbage disposals.

    Are there any services Able Appliance Repair does not offer?

    Sales, Parts, and Commercial Appliances