Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Painting By Jerry Wind

4.9

(223) Verified Reviews

Founded 1980 • With Angi since December 2003

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

2119 Juno Ave

Saint Paul, MN 55116

http://www.paintingbyjerrywind.com

Description

At Painting by Jerry Wind, you’ll find that we are true craftsmen who really take pride in our work. We have the proper tools, equipment and training. As a result, you’ll be hiring pros that really understand and respect your house. Who treat your house like a home. We make the intrusion on your home as minimal as possible. We’ll even let out the dog or feed the cat. Painting by Jerry Wind was awarded the first ever, quarterly Safety at Work Award in December 2007 by The Builders Group, a workers compensation program with over one thousand companies as members. Before any work starts, the Field Manager reviews your job with you and our foreman. So, you’re assured that what is on the bid gets done. We no longer hang wallpaper or refinish floors or do carpentry of any kind. Our additional phone number is 651-699-6140. Please give us a call....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(223) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

205

4

11

3

3

2

2

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

interior painting (158)house painting (86)plastering (44)drywall (32)wallpaper removal (26)pressure washing (15)water damage restoration (11)deck cleaning (6)woodworking (17)decks & porches (14)cabinet refacing (12)door installation (10)
Showing 1-25 of 223 reviews
5.0

04/02/2022


Patrick S.

Really impressed with the end results of our spare bedroom . After removing the majority of our wallpaper I enlisted the help of Painting by Jerry to help repair our old plaster walls and paint. I really appreciated the attention to detail that Henry and the team displayed. The room looks amazing now.

Description of Work
Remove wallpaper, Repair plaster walls, and Paint

Category plastering,wallpaper removal,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2022

5.0

03/01/2022


Kathy T.

It was a big job that was completed on time with professionalism and the highest level of quality! The following rooms were painted: living room, dining room, sun room, two offices, two bedrooms, and two bathrooms.

Description of Work
Interior painting of newly purchased townhome

Category plastering,wallpaper removal,interior painters

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2022

Service Provider Response

It was great to work for you! Enjoy your new home.
5.0

02/12/2022


Martha B.

Painting by Jerry Wind did an absolutely fantastic job on an upstairs bedroom in our 1915 bungalow. We recently purchased the place, and the previous owners did a great job restoring and refreshing the place, but there was one room that still need some attention. The bedroom in question had walls and ceiling covered with stress cracks that had never been properly repaired - just kind of textured and painted over. Hugo, our foreman and principal worker on the job was just great to work with. He took a very creative approach to the job, constantly assessing the condition of the surfaces, identifying problems, and coming up with effective solutions. Then he brought in another plasterer named Juan for the skim coating - 2 coats. Together they got those walls and ceiling looking incredibly smooth, even before the sanding. And after sanding, priming and painting, it’s no exaggeration to say that the end result approaches perfection. They also did a small repair in the stairwell - a really large stress crack, poorly repaired previously, and right at eye level. Hugo (with help from Juan) cut out all the damage, patched and smoothed, then texture matched and repainted. The repair blends in beautifully with the surrounding wall. All of the work is really of the highest quality of art and craft. It was also just a real pleasure to have Hugo working in our home. He’s a true gentleman, super-responsible and responsive. He kept us looped in throughout the process, and would frequently check in to see if we had any questions or concerns. Juan was great, too. And Dan, our initial contact, estimator, and final inspector. was really sharp, too. Very straightforward in how he communicated with us. Hands down the mellowest contractor experience we’ve had in more than 30 years of home ownership.

Description of Work
Extensive plaster repair, skim coating and painting

Category plastering,interior painters

Cost $4,245

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/11/2022

5.0

12/21/2021


George K.

Excellent results; communication with the foreman every day. As many as four painters in the house; all courteous and neat.

Description of Work
Painting basement walls, enclosed porch, wallpaper repair, ceilings (3) repainted

Category decks,masonry,wallpaper,water damage restoration,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you again. We appreciate your focus and the great care that you have on taking care of your home. I think we are a great fit in working for you. It was a great privilege and we are looking forward to doing your exterior this spring.
5.0

10/08/2021


Mary L.

Very impressed with the painting team on job done extremely well, promptness, cleanliness and communication. The team discussed progress with us every afternoon. They set up a spray booth in our garage and cleaned up everything when done. They also recommended a paint change for better results. We were extremely happy with their professionalism in their work and process. Attached picture is our 94 year old Mantle restored with Lady slippers showing.

Description of Work
Spray Painted 35 Balusters and 5 additional items

Category contractors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2021

Images

Review for Painting By Jerry Wind - 2119 Juno Ave, Saint Paul, MN - 39501778

Service Provider Response

This was a fun job for us. We had just a few things to focus on but needing to do them very well. We like being picky when it is such a great result. We know that a lot of others seem to gloss over anything that paint might hide. Thanks for believing in us and our process. You wanted these items done as flawlessly as possible. We were on the same page. It was enjoyable getting to know you as my daughter's neighbors as well. Thanks so much.
5.0

09/29/2021


Michael S.

They were true professionals. Prompt, quiet, excellent results. jerry himself comes for an inspection once the work is done.

Description of Work
Stripping wallpaper and painting bathroom, hallway and bedroom

Category contractors,wallpaper removal,interior painters

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/29/2021

Service Provider Response

It was so great to work for you both again. It had been several years but as you know, about 50% of our work comes from previous customers like yourselves. You are very much appreciated by all of us.
5.0

09/19/2021


Lisa H.

To start with, A+ for communication from the initial inquiry through completion. Jerry and crew were always on time, did the work with excellent attention to detail and cleaned up well. I initially hired them to do plaster repairs throughout the house (vintage plaster, not drywall). They were also able to fit in painting a room in which they were doing major plaster repairs. Really pleased with the results and overall experience.

Description of Work
Real plaster repair

Category plastering,interior painters

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed]: Thanks for the opportunity to serve you. After the repair and painting were done, we enjoyed the results right along with you. I suppose that is the key, isn't it. Jerry Thanks again.
5.0

07/03/2021


MaryJo O.

Very well. In fact, they exceeded my expectations. We had put off these repairs for a while and I couldn't be happier with all facets of this experience. From set up to repair to painting to clean up, Dan and Jerry were polite, knowledgeable, professional, hard working and dedicated. I can't say enough good things about them. Dan helped us move furniture and helped put it back plus did outstanding work and his clean up skills are second to none. If you want the best, this is the company and these are the people.

Description of Work
Plaster repair and painting

Category contractors,drywall,plastering,interior painters

Cost $3,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2021

Service Provider Response

Thanks again for the opportunity to work for you. We enjoyed our conversation and interaction and I think it made Dan's week. Of course, we also enjoyed making things look great. We appreciate your comments.
5.0

06/08/2021


Paula C.

Painting by Jerry Wind is in a category all to themselves for painting! They are exceptional in every way. We are a repeat customer (second house they've worked on for us) and they have now painted the entire exterior of our current home (June 2021) and 90% of the interior (June 2018 and June 2021.) From the first contact, they are responsive and in close contact with you. When Jerry tells you he will call you "a week from today to give you a precise start time for your job", he means it. You don't need to chase them down. They communicate with you throughout the project and there are no surprises. They sincerely want you to be a happy customer. The onsite crews at our home have been led by foreman Marlon Reynosa. He is truly outstanding! It is apparent that he loves what he does and the crews were all on-time (every single day of the 3-week project), skilled, respectful, clean, courteous, pleasant, and professional. Their attention to detail is unmatched! They needed to hand paint several large sections of our house due to an abundance of windows, exterior stonework, and landscaping. To a person, they were focused on getting the job done with attentiveness and high quality. One of their crew members, Juan, was focused on the interior study which required stripping wallpaper, repairing the drywall as needed, patching, and painting. The study has a built-in desk and cabinetry, so there were some tricky spots to get to. Juan was patient and diligent. As he concluded the third coat of paint (highly saturated color), he edged (vacuumed) along the base molding to be sure any dust or debris was removed. The study was spotless when he left and ready to go. Marlon worked hard to get us the right color match for the exterior, which we had struggled with in trying to do some previous touch-ups ourselves. At the conclusion of the job, they removed old and incorrect paint cans, labeled the new paint cans, and stored them for us. There is no question you pay a premium for their services, but in our opinion, anyone offering a lower bid will also do a lower quality job. It may not be a bad job, but it won't be to this level of quality. (That has been our experience with other painters.) You get what you pay for with Painting by Jerry Wind and, in our opinion, they are well worth it! We will likely hire them again when we remodel our main bedroom suite so they can finish the 10% of our interior they haven't yet touched! What a wonderful company with great people!

Description of Work
Exterior of home, interior wallpaper stripping, interior painting

Category wallpaper removal,pressure washing,house painters,interior painters

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2021

Images

Review for Painting By Jerry Wind - 2119 Juno Ave, Saint Paul, MN - 39361861

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. It's great to be appreciated and it is also great to have a customer that really understands what it takes to do excellent work. Paint covers over a lot of damage quite easily and good prep takes time. You and us are a great team. Thanks to both of you. Jerry
5.0

04/22/2021


William M.

Everything about the service was incredibly friendly, attentive, responsive, and professional. The work they did was impeccable. They don't just patch up flaws -- they strip off layers (to the boards if needed), dig out cracks, and replaster. They also resurfaced the entire ceiling to remove crumbling textured plaster and make it smooth and clean. We had two painters with us for almost three weeks. They were lovely guys, and the work was done exactly on the promised schedule. This kind of project is definitely not cheap or fast, certainly compared to slapping up some drywall! But we view it as an investment in our old house, and the rooms look wonderful now that they are done. If you are able to pay the premium, I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Extensive interior plaster repair and painting in two rooms, stairway, corridor

Category plastering,wallpaper removal,interior painters

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/25/2021

Service Provider Response

It was so awesome to work for you and your family. You certainly treated us in a friendly hospitable manner as well. You provided an environment where I guys looked forward to coming to work. Thanks again.
5.0

03/07/2021


Peggy L.

Dan's work and communication were excellent. He was very considerate about social distancing, wearing a mask at all times, and wiping down surfaces with disinfectant wipes without me having to say anything. He completed all the above work perfectly and never left a mess for us to clean up at the end of the day. He spent extra time bleaching the walls to prevent the return of mold and mildew and used a paint that contained a preventative. He kept us informed of everything and listened to us about how we hoped the room would look. The result is beyond our expectations. Our bathroom was a dungeon. Now it is bright and airy. I will hire Painting By Jerry Wind the next time I can afford to fix a room.

Description of Work
Our main bathroom walls needed to be stripped of 30-year-old wallpaper, mold and mildew removed, cracks and gouges patched and new paint applied.

Category plastering,wallpaper removal,water damage restoration,interior painters

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2021

Service Provider Response

It was great to work for you, [Member Name Removed]! We love to renew rooms like that. Our hope is that it makes a big difference in your life at home.
5.0

02/11/2021


Chris B.

Very well. Everyone we interacted with from estimation of the job to the team that performed the work were professional. We are very pleased with the quality of the job and plan to have them back this year for additional work.

Description of Work
Exterior painting and refinishing of stained and varnished wood doors

Category contractors,house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2020

Service Provider Response

It was great to work for you. Making natural wood beautiful again is one of our favorite things to do.
5.0

11/12/2020


Kathy S.

Excellent. I cannot say enough good things about this painting project. Punctual and responsive to my needs absolutely. The guys who worked in our home could not have been more considerate and helpful to me during this process. Every inch of my personal property was covered with protective coverings and the end result was perfect. My walls look better now than when the house was built. We should have had Jerry’s crew here years ago. His prices are not low but the outcome is much better than you could even anticipate. The tools they use are far better than my Home Depot ones and therefore the paint on the walls looks flawless and soft. Without a doubt, I recommend Painting by Jerry.

Description of Work
Painting of living room and dining room with tall ceilings and many many nail popholes

Category decks,drywall,cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your hospitality and cooperation with us, [Member Name Removed]. We appreciated your involvement and desire for good work. When someone is so personally engaged and then they are elated with the result, it makes us feel even more satisfaction with our work. That is often our biggest reward. Much appreciated.
5.0

11/04/2020


Barb N.

They did a great job! Jerry constantly kept us in the loop about when things would be happening (dates were a ways out due to COVID). Hugo and Pete were very professional. They did a great job of covering up the floors and walls, etc. Finished work was excellent, the repair of the bathroom walls, the painting and the radiator all looked good. The ceiling repair in the living room was spectacular - much better than I could have hoped. Clean up was excellent also. Price was on the higher end, but would do it again since everything looked better than expected!

Description of Work
skim coated plaster bathroom wall, painted wall, ceiling, woodwork and radiator. Also repaired my attempt at filling cracks in plaster ceiling in living room.

Category plastering,wallpaper removal,interior painters,cabinet refacing

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2020

Service Provider Response

It'[Member Information Removed] very enjoyable for us to see things transformed. We also like our work being appreciated. Thank you so much for that. Thank you for the review.
5.0

09/22/2020


Chris B.

Excellent experience. We found the Painting by Jerry Wind team to be very professional. The quality of the work performed was very good. The team was personable and easy to work with. All of our special requests were accommodated leading to an excellent finish. In addition, they cleaned up everyday leaving the area clean and neat. Will hire them again soon as have interior work that needs to be done!

Description of Work
Exterior house painting, refinishing of stained and varnished entrance and garage doors

Category house painters,cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. It was indeed a pleasure working for you. Our crew appreciated your hospitality and loved their interaction with you. We would love working for you again too.
5.0

08/25/2020


Christopher R.

Everyone was on time, did everything they said they would do, finished well before the deadline I'd asked for, and the work looks great. Also, both of the gentlemen who did the actual painting were exceptionally respectful of the property--they had to work around a bunch of plants and shrubbery and managed to do so without damaging any of them. There were a few spots that required a little extra effort to get right--loose/rotting trim, caulking/patching, etc.--and they just took care of it. They weren't the cheapest option, but getting work done right, on time, and in a professional manner is worth a few bucks every time.

Description of Work
Exterior painting on front & back porch + substantial trim and sand/stain/varnish wainscot on porch ceiling.

Category decks,deck cleaning,woodworking,house painters

Cost $5,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed]: Thank you for your kind remarks. We work hard to earn them every time but we never get tired of hearing that our work has been pleasing to our customers. Thanks again for considering us. We certainly appreciate your business.
5.0

08/19/2020


Erin M.

Can't thank Jerry Wind's team enough for all the amazing work they did! We have always hated the color of the trim in our old Saint Paul home, because you could tell it was not originally like that and just didn't fit the old style of the house. We had DIY'ed some of it over the years and intended to finish it ourselves, but we have a baby on the way and finally raised the white flag. Jerry Wind was able to fit us in extremely fast since we needed it done before the baby gets here. They did an amazing job and were extremely courteous, professional, and covid-conscious. Everything looks beautiful now. I have been dreaming of dark woodwork ever since we bought this house, and it finally looks the way it's meant to look!

Description of Work
Interior woodwork refinished (stripped and stained) - old Saint Paul home

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2020

Images

Review for Painting By Jerry Wind - 2119 Juno Ave, Saint Paul, MN - 38812105

+2 More

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed]: It was such a privilege to support you and your new family in this way. Thank you for the opportunity.
5.0

07/24/2020


Bruce J.

Jerry and his team painted the exterior of our 100+ year old home. The workmanship was outstanding, with remarkable attention to detail. Marlon, the Project Manager, communicated clearly, addressed all our concerns and kept the work flowing smoothly. His team was pleasant, focused and respected our property. The work site was thoroughly cleaned each evening and lead paint and Covid precautions were followed. They worked hard to refinished our wood garage door, and the results are beautiful. Jerry's bid was not the least expensive we received, but the finished results fully justified the cost.

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category garage doors,house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2020

Service Provider Response

It was an honor to work on your beautiful home. We are proud of the job just like you are. Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to work for you after all these years as well.
5.0

06/12/2020


Charles M.

The experience was 1st class from A to Z. These old Victorian homes were built back in the days of real wood and craftsmanship. And to care for them properly requires that same level of craftsmanship & materials. Jerry & his crew delivered that in spades. Although not the cheapest, as we have been there and done that, they finished and left yesterday leaving us with one of the best price value relationships we can recall experiencing.

Description of Work
Exterior wood trim maintenance & painting on 110 year old Victorian home

Category decks,deck cleaning,pressure washing,house painters,doors

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2020

Service Provider Response

You have a top level of understanding of what it takes to be a market leader, from having the best employees who can make a career with one company to providing the craftsmanship only those kind of workers can provide. Being in business yourself gives you a great understanding of why we have a top tier company. Your understanding of what this takes has been a great support to me personally. You are a peer and a friend. Thank you.
5.0

06/07/2020


Peter H.

It went extremely well, from the careful inspection of the exterior in order to provide the estimate (last fall) to the timely completion of the job in the spring - at the time we were told we might expect the work to be done. We had been led to expect high quality work and that is what we got. Very careful, very professional, with attention to detail. The work crew was most respectful and responsive. Not cheap but well worth the cost.

Description of Work
Painting exterior trim

Category pressure washing,house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/02/2020

Service Provider Response

We appreciated working for you. Thank you for your hospitality while we were working on your home.
5.0

04/30/2020


Charles S.

Jerry's team did beautiful work. The house sparkled when they were done.

Description of Work
Interior painting, and refinishing of hardwood floors at my Mom's house to prepare it for sale

Category hardwood floor,wallpaper removal,interior painters

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/24/2020

Service Provider Response

We appreciated the opportunity to serve during a difficult time for your family.
5.0

03/11/2020


Mary M.

The guys arrived promptly each day. Suggested timetable was spot-on. Continuous updates were appreciated & assistance with choosing a paint color was very helpful. Minor glitches were resolved quickly. Wonderful daily & end-of-job cleanup! Thank you so much to Jerry for getting us started with our project, and to Adam, Pete, & Chris for a job well done!!

Description of Work
DR/LR ceiling repair, DR/LR/Hall painting, upstairs woodwork painting

Category plastering,interior painters

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2020