Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC

Founded 1995 • With Angi since October 2001

5.0

(45) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1608 HAGUE AVE

Saint Paul, MN 55104

Description

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Joseph H.
5.0
05/24/2017
Installation was done cleanly and professionally.
Description of Work
Installation of radon mitigation system
Category
radon testing
GREGORY L.
5.0
06/22/2015
Another contractor said I may have clay under my basement floor and that the above mentioned type of system would not work. Mr. Frank from EES did more testing and analysis and said he could make it work. In fact, he only had to install one suction point in the floor and none in the walls to make it work. Apparently the first company that checked my basement did not drill their test holes in the right spots. Before mitigation the radon level in the basement was 7.2 pCi/L and after the job was done it was 1.3. He guaranteed a level below 3.0.
Description of Work
Installed a radon mitigation system, the type that reduces the air pressure under the basement floor with a fan system. A pipe was installed in the floor and exits through the foundation wall and continues up on the outside of the house through the eaves and terminated above the roof.
Category
radon testing
Xiangkai D.
5.0
05/04/2015
It was very easy to set up appointment. He showed up on time. Our vent is about 30 feet above the ground. They normally don't have the ladder to reach that high. But they went above and beyond. They found a longer enough ladder and got the job done! He was very efficient and professional. Two thumbs up and highly recommended!!!
Description of Work
Cleaned dryer's vent.
Category
radon testing, dryer vent cleaning
Xiangkai D.
5.0
02/11/2015
EES is very responsive and easy to set up appointment. The technician came on time. After thorough checking and evaluation, he gave us detailed information about what needed to be done. After our approval, he carried on the job and finished it the same day. We are very satisfied with their work!
Description of Work
The ventilation pipe is already installed by builder. EES installed radon fan and other accessories for the house.
Category
radon testing
Melissa E.
5.0
03/01/2014
Great experience. Robert visited the house, evaluated all potential sources of radon, and provided an estimate for the installation of the mitigation system. He was very thorough and explained the whole process. A week later, his stepson Sy installed the mitigation system. Just like Robert, Sy was very professional and friendly. Last but not least, the mitigation system works great. Before the installation, the radon level was 7.9 pCi/L, after installing the mitigation system, levels dropped to 1.2 pCi/L.
Description of Work
Installation of Radon Mitigation System
Category
radon testing
Daniel B.
5.0
08/21/2013
Service was done in a day and all seems to be done well. Need to do a follow up test to verify. He did show me at a couple cracks in the concrete how the fan was doing its job as a puff of powder was pulled into the crack. He and his coworker, stepson, seemed very knowledgable about radon as well.
Description of Work
I left messages for three places all with A's on Angie's list. Robert "Worth" was the only one to return my call and came at a convenient time for an estimate and some radon education. Hard to give an A for price of $1550 but he did seem to be in line with pricing that I saw on other reviews. Likable guy too...
Category
radon testing
Wei S.
5.0
11/12/2012
Robert is great. The foundation size of the house is big. Robert gave us a quote and a warranty of 2 pci. We are glad we decided to go with him. The radon level has dropped from 4.3 pci to 0.3 pci 3 days after the installation of the system (the readings are from the same detector so I know the radon level is indeed significantly reduced). I would strongly recommend him to people who are looking for radon reduction service.
Description of Work
radon reduction
Category
radon testing
Linda F.
4.0
03/18/2012
Robert was easy to get in touch with, and agreed to come by to stub a pipe into my draintile with very little notice. He then came back to install the rest of the radon mitigation system, also spent over half hour discussing various aspects of home ventilation on the phone with me. He did a clean, neat, professional job, although did leave me a number of small followup tasks to do. Overall, a good experience.
Description of Work
Installed radon mitigation system
Category
radon testing
MANOJ N.
5.0
11/24/2009
He was very punctual and it took him less than half a day to set everything up. He was very efficient and he cleaned up after himself. He left some instructions on how to use the system and he gave me some verbal instructions as well. It seems to be working fine. Overall we were pretty satisfied with his work.
Description of Work
Energy & Environmental Services Inc installed a radon detection system.
Category
radon testing
Amy Grack N.
5.0
09/23/2009
They are professional, responsive and punctual. Their pricing is reasonable and the quality of their work is good.
Description of Work
They are currently doing radon mitigation in my house.
Category
radon testing
DANIEL H.
5.0
07/30/2009
Everything went extremely well with this project. Worth is highly experienced, and he does very clean and professional work. He is great about answering questions along the way. My wife and I are very particular about contractors being careful in our home not to bump into things like walls and doors, and Worth was very respectful of our wishes. He showed up on time, finished on time, and did not rush anything. It was about a 6-hour job from start to finish. At the end of the day, he provided a 2-day radon test kit so that I could verify the effectiveness of his work. Prior to his work, I had run 2 long-term radon tests of 1 year each. In the first year, I got a rating of nearly 5.0. In the second year, I got a rating of nearly 6.0. With the radon mitigation system installed, the rating has dropped to "less than 0.5." I am very satisfied with the system. While it was a little extra trouble to hire an electrician to install the switch and a painter to paint the pipe outside of our home, I understand why he does not handle these details. I would recommend Worth to anybody looking for a radon mitigation contractor.
Description of Work
Worth installed a radon mitigation system that taps into our drain tile system. He did so by installing a 4.25" white PVC pipe that enters our sump hole through the sump hole lid. He then sealed the sump hole lid to allow for better suction. This pipe was routed outside of our home near the A/C unit, electric meter, and other utility connections. Just outside the home, an in-line fan was installed to create a vacuum that constantly sucks air out of our drain tile system. By intercepting the air before it gets into our home and blowing it out the side of our home, the amount of radon that is allowed to enter the home is minimized. After the in-line fan, another 20 feet of pipe was installed up the side of my home in order to comply with EPA requirements, due to windows we have on that side of our home. At the end of the pipe, a "critter guard" was installed to prevent birds from entering the pipe. There are two details that Worth does not handle himself: painting the pipe to match the exterior of our home and installing the electrical switch inside the home to turn the system on and off. I had to find other contractors to handle those details.
Category
radon testing
Megan G.
5.0
04/13/2009
It was a fabulous experience. Mr Frank always had time to explain what he was doing, why, and how. He even pretended the PVC pipe was a digeridoo (?) for my toddlers. He not only did top quality work, he was a pleasure to have around. Even with the long hours.
Description of Work
Purchased a new house with elevated levels of radon. Mr Frank came in, explained process, system, options, and gave us a quote. We sat on the estimate a YEAR. He honored estimate and came promptly. He installed system and we're thrilled.
Category
radon testing
DAVID M.
5.0
02/27/2009
They deserves all A's. I think that they did a fantastic job. They gave me a quote and the end price was just that. Despite the extra work that he had to do to get all of the work done. He handled a subcontractor for me and did the work at a minimal charge.
Description of Work
I have used Energy & Environmental Services to come out and do some radon mitigation.
Category
radon testing
Megan G.
5.0
02/25/2009
Robert Worth Frank met with me after the radon inspection in the home my husband and I were purchasing came back at 6.8 pCi/l. He was great in explaining the hows and whys radon mitigation works. We were very shocked and nervous until we met with Mr. Frank. He took the time to answer all my questions when I first called him and he was incredibly detailed in his explanations when we were at the property. His estimate came in at $1250. We asked the sellers to fix the radon and they agreed and ended up using this company. We couldn't have been happier with their choice. The mitigation system looks great, and our follow up radon inspection came back at 0.5 pCi/l. What a success!
Description of Work
Radon mitigation in a 1958 home.
Category
radon testing
DAVID M.
5.0
12/31/2008
Mr. Frank and his construction subcontractor came in on a Monday and before the end of the day, the entire system was installed. He charged me exactly the bid he stated beforehand.
Description of Work
A radon mitigation system was installed after a series of tests indicated radon was a problem in our basement.
Category
radon testing
MARSHA M.
5.0
11/22/2008
A radon test showed levels of almost 5 in my basement family room. Worth's estimate was the middle one, and based on reviews on Angie's list, I picked him. His contract warranted radon levels under 2. He installed a one suction point system that vented from the floor of my laundry room through a closet on the first floor into the unfinished attic (where the fan was located) and out the roof. The work was done professionally and efficiently, and the house was left in good order when he was finished. Worth explained that if the one point system did not sufficiently lower radon levels, he would come back and expand it. Unfortunately, my house was the problem house Worth said he runs into every few years. A retest showed that while the radon level had gone down, it still was over 4. Worth provided an electric radon detection meter, and had me check each of the rooms downstairs separately to help him diagnose where the problem was. He then installed a second suction point in the laundry room in the block foundation, connecting to the original pipe, and caulked holes he found along the top of the foundation (where it was exposed and he could get to it) in the unfinished laundry and furnace rooms. Another round of re-tests showed levels were still too high in some of the rooms, and he came back and installed two more suction points in the furnace room, one in the floor and one in the block foundation, and ran a pipe above the finished plaster board ceiling in the family room to connect to the original pipe in the laundry room. The work was done carefully, and with no damage to any finished surface. With this final work, the radon levels dropped to 1.5. Since the contract warranted a level below 2, all the additional work was included in the original price. I am sure worth lost money on this job, but he stood behind his contract. I would unqualifiedly recommend Energy and Environmental Services.
Description of Work
Install a radon mitigation system in my 1923 1 1/2 story bungalow.
Category
radon testing
LOIS B.
5.0
10/26/2008
Worth is a fantastic guy for this experience. He spent the entire day installing the system and explained the details to me. He is very conscientious and detail-oriented. And this system works to make my home safer!
Description of Work
Installed a radon mitigation system.
Category
radon testing
Karen B.
5.0
10/08/2008
It was excellent! They had a kind of middle-of-the-road price. The person seemed like he knew what he was doing. He proposed a better solution how to locate it opposed to other people. He picked up a problem in our house that others did not pick up on. He came in promptly and got it done in one day. It seems to be working great. There are no problems. The radon level went down, which is good.
Description of Work
They evaluated how to install a radon system in our home, gave us a bid, installed it and got it running.
Category
radon testing
ALEXIS B.
5.0
10/07/2008
I called Mr. Frank and he was very nice and extremely knowledgeable. He came out and did an estimate for us and was able to get us onto his schedule in a relatively short timeframe. We have not tested the radon level since (because we have had our windows open), but he left us a test, which we will take in so that we will have a same day reading (at a lab in Eagan). I assume it is under 2, and if it is not, then he will be able to come out and see if everything is working okay.
Description of Work
We had a slightly elevated level of radon in our home and I had tested it twice (in the finished basement), so I thought it was important to get radon abatement to lower the levels. (It was between 2 and 4, which is low, but recommended levels are under 2).
Category
radon testing
EILEEN R.
5.0
06/26/2008
Mr. Frank is a craftsman in his field. He is courteous and professional. I was treated as an equal partner in defining the problem and finding a solution. Mr. Frank also does energy assessments, and mentioned I might want to think about the attic insulation and venting. He did a thorough attic assessment for free, provided the estimate, along with literature about home energy conservation and insulation, and answered my questions regarding environmental impact of types of insulation used.
Description of Work
Radon level in home was high (11). Checked Angie's List to see if anyone specialized in this area. Called Mr. Frank, who returned call same day: he set up a time when he would do a free estimate, and arrived within that time-frame. Explained as he was going through home what he would do and why. Estimate included literature about the rationale and purpose of radon gas reduction. Piping ran up from basement through main floor closet into attic, attached to venting fan, and vented out through roof. The fan was a little too noisy for my liking, so VM him re same, and asked about the possibility of passive venting without fan, or a quieter one. Mr. Frank called back within a couple of hours, said he had a smaller fan to try, and came the next day to change it out. The new fan is comfortable. The test kit included with the work revealed a radon level of 0.5 within 72 hours.
Category
radon testing
CARRIE B.
5.0
05/11/2008
Overall, it went well. Worth is a great contractor to deal with honest, professional and knows what he is doing. I called and he came out to give an estimate within a day or two. He fully answered all of my questions. We were able to schedule the service right away. I was comfortable with him working at my house while I was at work. We haven't retested our basement yet for radon. Our original radon level was 4.6. Worth expects our basement's level to be under or around 2 now with the system in place. He agreed to come back out to to do more work if it is above 3, which seems reasonable and is an amendment to the usual guarantee of "under 4".
Description of Work
A radon mitigation system was installed in our finished basement. This included drilling into the foundation and installing a pipe with a fan that sucks the radon gas out from under the foundation, pulling it outside and venting above the roof.
Category
radon testing
RALPH S.
5.0
05/04/2008
Mr. Frank was prompt, thorough and professional. Very courteous and patient; he explained everything as he did the work. The system was installed in our lower level with great care as to how it would look. We are currently testing for our "new" radon levels but fully expect the test to be satisfactory. We are also pleasantly surprised at how subtle and unobtrusive the system looks. Overall, a very satisfactory experience.
Description of Work
Install a radon mitigation system in our home to reduce elevated radon levels.
Category
radon testing
SUSAN R.
5.0
03/10/2008
Mr. Frank came to the house on the scheduled time and looked around evaluating the best site for radon mitigation. He would get me an estimate in a few days, which he did. We scheduled the work and he again arrived on the scheduled time. By the end of the day the system was installed. He left the house as clean as when he started. He was very informative on what he was doing and why. We completed another radon test a week after the work was performed and passed.
Description of Work
Mr. Frank gave us an estimate for installing a radon mitigation system in our ranch house with finished basement. He also installed the system in the basement and garage a few weeks later. He provided a radon test kit after installation was completed.
Category
radon testing
Mary A.
5.0
02/18/2008
It went very well overall. I have no complaints. I didn't linger, watching him do his work, as I was still sick and didn't want to bother him. He explained what he'd done up to a certain point throughout the installation so I'd know what was going on. When he was finished, he walked me through the installation and showed me what I needed to know.
Description of Work
I contacted Mr. Frank about mitigating the radon from my home and he came out to see my house. We scheduled a time for the mitigation and I ended up sick! I called to reschedule and Mr. Frank was very courteous about rescheduling. He came out to my house a week later and installed the radon mitigation system. It took him approximately 7 hours to do.
Category
radon testing
OLIVER C.
5.0
11/14/2007
He was punctual, polite, efficient, clean, and explained everything as he worked and when he was done.
Description of Work
Mr Worth reduced a basement radon level of greater than 10 to less than 1 in less than 8 hours.
Category
radon testing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Radiant Radon LLC

    Radiant Radon, LLC is a full service radon testing and mitigation service. We are dedicated to providing our clients with exceptional service. Here at Radiant Radon we treat every homes as if it were are own. We understand the importance of having a safe home for you and your family. Radon is the 2nd most leading cause of lung cancer behind cigarette smoking. Over 21,000 people die each year from Radon related Lung Cancer in the United States. Radon is an odorless, tasteless, and colorless gas formed by the natural radioactive breakdown of uranium in soil, rock, and water. Radon is all around us. The radon outdoors is diluted by fresh air, but radon can penetrate any type of building and become trapped resulting in occupant exposure to high radon levels. We use state of the art equipment to ensure the most accurate test is completed within 48hrs to 72hrs we can assess your radon concentration.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Standard Water Control Systems Inc

    Angie's List Certified. Since 1977 we have been waterproofing basements. Our water control and wet basement repair services have given homeowners greater peace of mind. We have worked on more than 40,000 homes and businesses and installed more than 2 million feet of drain tile. Our award winning and experienced team -- 50 employees, many with 20+ years of experience -- know how to get the job done right. May contact through email, mike@standardwater.com or 800-978-7867.  

    Angi Certified

    A1 Radon Services LLC

    A1 Radon Services, LLC is nationally certified with National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP) and listed with the Minnesota Department of Health. Located in Eden Prairie, MN, we are fully committed to solving elevated radon problems throughout the Twin Cities metro and surrounding areas. We specialize in difficult to mitigate as well as standard radon mitigation systems for your living and working environment. We are fully confident you will not find a more efficient, committed and effective radon mitigation company to solve your radon problems at a fair cost.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    RADON MITIGATION SYSTEM INSTALLATION, MOISTURE MITIGATION SYSTEM INSTALLATION IN HOUSES WITH DRAIN-TILE OR SUMP BASKETS, PANASONIC LOW NOISE BATHROOM FANS FOR REPLACEMENT OF EXISTING FAN OR NEW INSTALLATION, SPECIFICATION & ESTIMATE FOR INSULATION SERVICES THROUGH A SUBCONTRACTOR, BLOWER-DOOR & INFRA-RED CAMERA HOUSE INSPECTIONS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC

    How is ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC overall rated?

    ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC provide

    ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC offers free project estimates.

    Does ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC offer a senior discount?

    No, ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC?

    No, ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC offer?

    ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES INC offers the following services: RADON MITIGATION SYSTEM INSTALLATION, MOISTURE MITIGATION SYSTEM INSTALLATION IN HOUSES WITH DRAIN-TILE OR SUMP BASKETS, PANASONIC LOW NOISE BATHROOM FANS FOR REPLACEMENT OF EXISTING FAN OR NEW INSTALLATION, SPECIFICATION & ESTIMATE FOR INSULATION SERVICES THROUGH A SUBCONTRACTOR, BLOWER-DOOR & INFRA-RED CAMERA HOUSE INSPECTIONS.