Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Paul's Handyman

Founded 1997 • With Angi since November 2008

4.7

(74) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7916 Tierney's Woods Rd

Minneapolis, MN 55438

Description

Drywall, taping, tiling, siding, interior & exterior painting, windows, hardwood flooring, showers, tubs, cabinets, counter tops & doors, electrical work, retaining walls, decks, patios & play houses, total remodeling & additions....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/07/2015


Patricia S.

The shower remodel was a very bad job. Paul should not be doing this kind of work. We had used Paul's services as a handyman for about 5 years and were always pleased with his work. It was for small repairs, etc. We considered Paul a friend and were always on a friendly basis with him. He told us he had moved into doing some remodeling work and when we were ready to remodel, we asked for a bid. He was the lowest. I asked for references and did check them out and came away with the impression he would do a reasonably good job. I knew that he would probably make more mistakes than a more experienced remodeler but what happened went way beyond inexperience. Paul is not able to do plumbing. He is also not able to tile a shower floor which requires putting in a slope so it can drain properly. He also does not know how to grout so that water can't get through on the wall tiles. Paul was in our house from late December into March and made a tremendous mess which he did not clean up at all. Besides the labor cost that was wasted, Paul used up loads of tile. We ordered the amount he initially estimated - which I knew to be about 20% more than the dimensions called for but which I understood to be necessary to account for breakage and wasn't a problem for us. But then he kept ordering more and more tile. One time he ordered new tile three times in the same week. We still trusted him and thought he was using too much but it was because of his inexperience. All in all a lot of tile was purchased but only 17 full tiles (12x24) and 55 partial tiles were used in the shower. All that was left over was 3 full pieces of the wall tile. This was very expensive tile and all in all, for the shower labor work we paid him about $5,000 and the materials cost was over $2,500. Except for the few tiles left over, it has all been wasted.

Description of Work
Paul and a helper retiled my front entryway, remodeled a half bath - and these two jobs went reasonably well except that he did not set up a barrier for the removal of the tile in the front entryway. This caused a very thick layer of dust on absolutely everythng in the house. It required hiring professional cleaners, rug cleaners, window washers,etc. The real problem, though, was that we had him do a remodel of a full bath. Paul's work turned out so bad that we had to have it fixed. The entire work he did has now been torn out so it can be rebuilt from scratch. Each one of the four remodelers we had come in for a bid said that, because the floor of the shower would not drain, and it did not appear that a rubber membrane was used under the shower floor, the entire shower would have to be re-done. The remodeler we chose has found that there was aleady leakage under the floor (we used the shower occassionally even thought the water would pool on the floor) and behind the walls. If we had not had to have it torn out, we wouldn't have known that there was water damage happening in the joists under the floor and behind the walls.

Category handyman service

5.0

03/18/2014


Joseph M.

Paul did good work. I had water damage in my basement during the summer of 2013. After cleaning everything up, I contacted Paul about repairs and improvements to the basement. Paul replaced a lot of drywall, replaced the ceiling and installed recessed lights, installed baseboard, trim, casing, and performed other smaller repairs. Paul provided a lot of insights on how best to tackle the project to have the best combination of a repaired, improved, livable space but at an affordable cost to my family.

Description of Work
Paul repaired my basement after it suffered water damage.

Category handyman service, water damage restoration

5.0

03/16/2014


Joseph M.

Paul did an excellent job. We met several weeks ahead of the project beginning to talk through everything. Paul provided an estimate of costs and time to complete the job. Once the project began, everything went very well. Paul explained any challenges he ran into and removed the gazebo which freed up a large part of my yard. I was very happy with his work.

Description of Work
I hired Paul to remove a gazebo that was in poor condition at the home I had recently purchased.

Category handyman service, lighting, plumbing

3.0

02/20/2014


Laura P.

I got an estimate for fence work and my last call to them was to confirm that I would like to work with them and they never called me back. I had gotten three estimates for fence work to be done and they were the best deal, and I liked what we talked about. I was hoping to develop a relationship with a handyman because I had some other things that needed to be done and I let them know that when I called them. But they just never got back to me. I got a good estimate from them and they came out right away, they just didn't call me back. He was prompt, called back right away. We set up a time and he came with the gentleman who was going to do the work if we went with him. I was honest with him and told him that I wanted the best deal possible. He was willing to work with me and come up with some other ideas. The other estimates were two or three hundred dollars more than him, and I likes that he was creative in order to give me a better price. I also liked the idea that he was an all around handyman because I have some work in a bathroom and other work that I would like for his company to do, but it just didn't work out. He gets a "C" because no one ever called me back. To be honest if they didn't want my business they should have told me they didn't want it. When I called Paul he said let's go ahead but when I called the workman who was supposed to do the job he never called me back. I was able to get hold of Paul but just not the workman or subcontractor who was supposed to do the job.

Description of Work
We used Paul's Handyman to get an estimate for fence work. I have a wood fence that is sectioned off. We looked at replacing three of the poles and possibly re-using some of the in-between sectioned wood.In order to save me some money he was going to move the pole area by about two feet so that he wouldn't have to dig up the concrete. Basically get my fence standing up straight again.

Category fencing, gutter repair, handyman service, driveway gates

2.0

02/17/2014


Michael L.

Paul was one of the few handymen we contacted who returned our call, and he came out to look at the work we wanted done, but then never responded with a bid or message that he wasn't interested in the job - just became a black hole. Not a ringing endorsement of one's professionalism!

Description of Work
We were looking for a bid on several interior and exterior projects around our home to prepare it for sale: sheetrock repair and painting; deck repair and replacement of an outdoor spigot.

Category handyman service

1.0

08/26/2013


Greg M.

Never called back with estimate.

Description of Work
Was very attentive in reviewing project scope and details. Provided good ideas and feedback.

Category handyman service

1.0

07/07/2013


Jonathan S.

I had contacted Paul to get an estimate for a railing, baluster and newel post installation for an entryway stairway. He had called back the very next day, and we set up a meeting time. He arrived on time, and had inspected the entryway stairs. While there, he requested that I take pictures of the stairway and surrounding area and send them to his email for further review and assessment. At the end of our visit, he stated that he could begin work in 1 month, and quoted a price that was quite reasonable. Though 1 month initially sounded a bit long to wait, I was satisfied just knowing that the job would eventually get done. I had emailed him the photos that very day, and simply waited for a few weeks, thinking he would get back to me at some point. I had called him 3 times in the next 3 weeks with follow-up general questions about which supplies to buy and when to have them ready for him. I have worked with contractors before, and know they are often busy and don't always return phone calls right away. However, after the estimate and initial meeting, Paul did not respond to the email, nor did he respond to my 3 subsequent phone calls. It has been over a month now, and I am assuming he either forgot about the job, or thought it wasn't important enough for him to return my calls. What a waste of a month's time. I have since obtained another provider.

Description of Work
Inquired about installing a railing, balusters and newel post for an existing entryway stairway.

Category handyman service

5.0

07/05/2013


Michael Z.

He was the only person of many that I contacted that came same day - even though that meant a very long work day for him. He stuck with what was a frustrating project/job until he got it done. We were very happy with him and will be calling him again in the future.

Description of Work
altered cabinet and counter space to fit oversized fridge.

Category countertops, handyman service, woodworking

5.0

06/29/2013


John S.

Paul did an excellent job, he was thorough and did the job with excellence. I was impressed and already have him booked to do some additional projects in the coming month. His pricing is competitive and his work is thorough.

Description of Work
Fixed a soffit that had some water damage from a plumbing leak we had fixed earlier in the year.

Category handyman service

1.0

06/18/2013


Connie B.

We contacted Paul to set up a time for him to come out to give us an estimate on installing a bathroom fan. He didn't show up at the scheduled time. We called and left him a voicemail, but we never heard anything back from him.

Description of Work
Nothing.

Category handyman service

5.0

05/12/2013


Joseph M.

Paul did an excellent job. He was very helpful. He provided an accurate quote and also helped in selecting materials. I would definitely contact him again about other handyman jobs around our home.

Description of Work
Paul completely rebuilt two patio decks outside our town home.

Category handyman service

5.0

01/09/2013


JOHN M.

Paul did a great job and charged a great price. I would recommend him to anyone

Description of Work
Carpentry,painting and drywall

Category contractors, drywall, handyman service, interior painters

5.0

12/26/2012


Edward B.

He was prompt, worked on a timely basis, finished the job on a Sunday. Left no mess.

Description of Work
Paul covered up woodpecker holes and primed and painted.

Category handyman service

5.0

12/09/2012


Mary K.

Paul did an excellent job of repairing this large fence. It was leaning and "wavy" when he started, and by the time he was finished it stood tall and straight and beautiful. He worked fast but was very thorough. I was extremely pleased with the work he did. I have already contracted with him to do additional work for me in the spring on windows and eaves.

Description of Work
Replaced rotting boards and inner cross beams on a double-wall fence. (I'm not sure how to describe the fence. There are fence boards attached to either side of the inner cross-beam.)

Category fencing, handyman service, driveway gates

1.0

09/19/2012


Kelly H.

The above speaks for my experience.

Description of Work
I called Friday 9/14 left a detailed message that I wanted 2 interior doors hung. No response, left another message on Monday 9/17/12. Never received a call back. I have several small and large jobs to have done, but apparently he is not interested in this one. I will not cal Paul's in the future. I called Service Master, and have 2 companies coming to give me bids this week. I joined Angies list to start getting my projects done, and so far not happy. I called another Angies list person and was told (2 days later) that they were busy on a project and would not be able to even come out for a week or two to bid. No thanks. Hope my next try will have better results.

Category handyman service, woodworking

5.0

08/20/2012


Christopher A.

I had a leak coming from my upstairs shower and had Bonfe's come out and take a look. They gave me a ridiculously high quote of $1,000 that involved cutting through a wall and replacing some valves, but did not involve repairing the wall. I called Paul to get a second opinion and to see if he could repair the wall when he was done (which he said he could). He came out and within 15 minutes pointed out that no valves needed to be replaced and the wall didn't need to be cut through. All that needed to be done was to add some silicone around the faucet handles in the shower. He didn't even charge me to come out and take a look! He saved me $1,000 and lots of time!

Description of Work
Asked for a second opinion on a quote that I received that seemed very high and did not include all the work I needed done.

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

08/06/2012


Bill C.

aI contacted this vendor, as he had good reviews on Angie's List. He was able to schedule the appointment and potential work in just a few days. He inspected all caulking areas and only found a few problems. In some areas, what looked like gaps was clear silicone. Paul explained that paint does not stick to silicone and that the seal was just fine. He advised that we will need to recaulk over the silicone if we want paint to stick. He did find a few problem areas and repaired them. The work was clean and neat. Caulking is an art, and he did a nice job.

Description of Work
Inspection of caulking around windows and doors. Recaulk, if necessary.

Category handyman service

5.0

07/13/2012


Nicole V.

I was re-doing my full bath and wanted my shower doors removed. I called Paul on a Wednesday morning and left a message on his voice mail. He called me back later that day and I told him what I wanted done. He said he could come and remove them the next morning. I was amazed! He came the next morning, removed the doors, cleaned up his mess, and my project was done sooner than I thought it would be.

Description of Work
Paul removed shower doors for me.

Category bathtub refinishing, handyman service, home remodeling, doors

1.0

07/06/2012


Christina S.

I called and left a message. The company called me back the next day (so I know they had my correct phone number) and scheduled an appointment for the next week to come out and give me an estimate for the handyman projects I have. Nobody showed up and the company did not call to explain what happened. I was very disappointed since they had a good Angie's LIst rating.

Description of Work
I was hoping to have them do a few handyman projects -- minor repairs.

Category handyman service

4.0

04/25/2012


sara T.

Paul was great through the quote process. He came over on a weekend morning to take a look at the job and provided a labor quote on the spot. We agreed that we would purchase the fan, which we showed him during that visit. We showed him the full, easy access to the location in the attic he'd have to go to swap out an existing canned light for the fan. We requested that the fan be vented out the side of the house or the roof, whichever seemed easier. A few days after his visit, I emailed him with dates that would work for installation (based on when we received the fan itself) to see if he could come out earlier than we discussed. I was surprised to receive a reply to call him as soon as possible. I thought that he was going to say that he couldn't do the job anymore. I called and left him a voicemail that reiterated my email. When he called me back, he seemed to have no recollection of who I was even after I gave him tons of details about the job. He even said that he didn't remember being at my house a few days earlier. Although this worried me a little, I had a timeline and liked his price, so we scheduled a date. Again to my surprise, the job only took about 2 hours, versus the 4 that he originally quoted, but the price remained the same. I planned on sending him a check for that until we looked closer and realized that he didn't vent the fan to the exterior of the house, but just left the ducting resting on the soffit. Not only did this not meet our agreed-upon expectation, it created a huge draft in to the house. Paul was on vacation after the job was done, so we didn't connect about why he hadn't received my payment until he returned. We discussed the expectations and he returned to finish the job. I adjusted the payment for the additional parts he had to purchase and am pleased with the final result. I don't know why things ended up a little wonky for this, perhaps because there was an unidentified miscommunication and/or because neither of us wrote anything down? Because he was so nice and cooperative with the revisit, I would consider calling Paul for a quote if I needed a handyman again.

Description of Work
Paul and his team (another guy named Paul) installed an exhaust fan in our second story guest bathroom, which took under 4 hours for $250 (+parts).

Category handyman service

5.0

04/12/2012


Jen R.

Paul (and his helper, Paul!) moved a heating vent for us from the wall to the floor to prepare for a patio door installation on that wall. The estimate was reasonable (about what our door contractor said it should be to move the vent) and they called the day before to confirm the appointment and were finished sooner than expected. All in all, exactly what we needed done and would not hesitate to call them in the future for other jobs.

Description of Work
Moved a heating vent from wall to floor.

Category handyman service

5.0

03/23/2012


Bob F.

Very professional and has a great attention to detail. As with many projects he ran into a minor snag with the installation. He explained the different options to resolve the issue. He made a 2nd trip to finish the job and only added $15 to his original quote for the additional harware he needed to buy. We love the finished product and would recomend Paul to anyone.

Description of Work
Paul removed and replaced a bathroom sink for us.

Category handyman service

5.0

02/15/2012


Sally W.

Paul got everything done on time and charged reasonable price. He even saved on material ( provided receipt ) since he managed to get better discount then originaly expected. He was prompt, responsive and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend him or ask him to quote additional work.

Description of Work
Install over 200ft of baseboard in the basement

Category handyman service, woodworking

4.0

12/29/2011


Greta W.

I've used him a handful of times and I like him. I haven’t paid yet because it was over 2 days; so he is going to give me an invoice. I think it is $30 or $35 an hour. After it is all said and done, he will have 4 hours into this project. He is good with Christmas lights but it’s just that he couldn’t come quickly; so he couldn’t get to the top of the tree. I have huge pine trees. I didn’t want him to hurt himself, so he did the best he could based in what he had. He couldn’t go any further so therefore I never really used my lights on the pine trees. One had it all the way to the top, those were fine but I wanted him to add and extend the ones to the other trees because they are twin trees. He couldn’t get all the way to the top; so that looks tacky, when you have one tree that’s decorated completely to the top and the other is two thirds full. I still paid for it and he knocked off probably $ 10 from the trees. The price was good. I think he is honest and has integrity. I can count on him to do what he says he is going to do.

Description of Work
I use Paul's Handyman & Construction Service and in fact, he left here today. He worked on the Ping-Pong table.

Category handyman service

5.0

12/09/2011


Steve L.

We entertained an estimate but did not use his services for reasons not related to him. Highly professional and accommodating. We would and will consider him for future projects.

Description of Work
We entertained an estimate but did not use his services for reasons not related to him. Highly professional and accommodating. We would and will consider him for future projects.

Category flooring contractor, handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Minneapolis & Suburban Sewer & Water Inc

    Additional contact name - Mark Koyhtya. Super Service Award Winner for 2015.  

    Michael kerns Painting

    Been self employed painter since 1999. Interior/exterior painting. Walls,ceilings, woodwork. wallpaper removal. Drywall repair.  

    Liberty Painting & Maintenance

    4 employees. No subs. Cost determined by the job. No travel charges.  

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    Yes
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Drywall, taping, tiling, siding, interior & exterior painting, windows, hardwood flooring, showers, tubs, cabinets, counter tops & doors, electrical work, retaining walls, decks, patios & play houses, total remodeling & additions.

    Services Not Offered

    anything to do with carpeting.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Paul's Handyman

    How is Paul's Handyman overall rated?

    Paul's Handyman is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Paul's Handyman open?

    Paul's Handyman is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Paul's Handyman provide

    Paul's Handyman accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Paul's Handyman offer free estimates?

    Yes, Paul's Handyman offers free project estimates.

    Does Paul's Handyman offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Paul's Handyman does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Paul's Handyman offer a senior discount?

    No, Paul's Handyman does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Paul's Handyman offer emergency services?

    Yes, Paul's Handyman offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Paul's Handyman?

    No, Paul's Handyman does not offer warranties.

    What services does Paul's Handyman offer?

    Paul's Handyman offers the following services: Drywall, taping, tiling, siding, interior & exterior painting, windows, hardwood flooring, showers, tubs, cabinets, counter tops & doors, electrical work, retaining walls, decks, patios & play houses, total remodeling & additions.

    Are there any services Paul's Handyman does not offer?

    anything to do with carpeting.