Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota

Founded 1987 • With Angi since May 2012

4.5

(91) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5100 US Hwy 169 N

Minneapolis, MN 55428

Description

Garage Floor Coating of MN is the state’s premier service provider for concrete flooring and finishing services. Whether you’re looking to get the job done at a residential or commercial property, we’re here to help. We have plenty of concrete finishing options to choose from, along with the know-how to get the job done right. Just some of the reasons you can trust Garage Floor Coating of MN: Best Warranty in the business - Lifetime Guarantee against peeling. Use trained installers that are employees of GFC. We never subcontract our work. Over twenty years experience in the industry. Largest residential floor coating company in the Midwest. Best products in the business - manufactured by us - specifically formulated for MN. Over 40,000 satisfied customers Over 30 million sq ft coated to date....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/28/2021


Ann E.

Do not work with this business. Garage floor coated three years ago on a new three car garage. Since then, peeling, chipping, and other issues have arisen. Called to get these fixed per warranty (and some apparently not under warranty, which I was prepared to pay for) but after many months and at least 3 trips out to my home to "fix" the problems (wrong paint, "fix" peeling off, not curing, etc) they still can't remedy the problems. Garage floor looks like a complete hack and patch job. Good luck getting them to fix anything correctly or adhere to their "warranty". Stay away.

Description of Work
Garage Floor Coated

Category ceramic tile

1.0

03/29/2021


Troy S.

Crap work, crap service, won't honor warranty. Fraudulent company This company now wants ME to pay THEM at least $1,300 to fix their crappy work. This company couldn't do the job for the original price agreed to so I'm supposed to pay them more?? If you can't do it right the first time do you honestly (there is no honesty with this company) think I'm going to pay you more?

Description of Work
Stained basement concrete

Category concrete repair, epoxy flooring, stamped concrete

5.0

12/02/2020


Ralph P.

Absolutely excellent. Great project management, came when they said they would, performed work as described, finished on schedule, crew answered the few questions we had clearly and straight forward, cleaned up job site, floor epoxy coating job is excellent.

Description of Work
Coating of garage floor

Category epoxy flooring

2.0

10/16/2020


Robert P.

On 6/23 I emailed (as instructed by phone contact with office management) the Customer Service Manager, including photos of the crack to be repaired. I sent multiple emails thereafter, since no email response was received. Finally on 8/17 I received an email. The repair was not covered and to schedule the repair I should returned a signed $250 email contract for the repair. I returned the contract that day to get a repair date scheduled. On 9/1 the repair person arrived and completed the crack repair and 5 small spot flaws throughout the garage floor. He left without my inspection or payment (I was home) and the work was unacceptable and unfinished. I called the Customer Service Manager on 9/1 & 9/2 leaving my new phone # and my same email stating I had questions. The Customer Service Manager did not respond but he continued to send me the $250 bill immediately on 9/1, 9/2 and multiple times thereafter. Later he stated they didn’t have my new phone # to contact me. Upon my review of my email records sent, I had given the Customer Service Manager my new phone # via email on 8/17 and again on 8/30. Also I gave him my phone number and email on 9/1/& 9/2 via voice mail when I ask him to return my calls regarding the repair. The Customer Service Manager could have called or emailed me during this time period but chose not too. When the Customer Service Manager and the office staff realized they were not getting paid, he finally returned my call on my new phone # on 9/22 and rescheduled to complete the repair on 10/2. The crack repair was uneven, lumpy, indented and disappointing (see photo). I told the Customer Service Manager this on 10/2. I don’t expect the crack repair to be perfect but the garage crack repair should look level and professional. The 5 small spot surface garage floor flaw repairs were acceptable. I will not do business with this company in the future. Their current quality standards have changed and are minimal. Customer service was poor and timely communication unacceptable.

Description of Work
Garage floor crack epoxy repair and 5 small spot surface garage floor flaws. I thought my crack repair/flaws could possibly be covered under their warranty. Previously, Garage Floor Coatings of MN had done my entire garage floor 11/2012 and I was satisfied with the finished product.

Category epoxy flooring

2.0

07/31/2020


Tracy Z.

At first the floor looked good, then it started to peel and we are having problems getting them to respond to fixing the problem

Description of Work
Garage floor coating

Category flooring contractor, basement waterproofing

5.0

08/02/2019


Chris M.

Loved the quality and overall job. Would recommend and hire again

Description of Work
Epoxy floor in garage

Category epoxy flooring

1.0

11/13/2018


Tom D.

It was a mess from the beginning. First the quote was screwed up as they missed a spot in the garage requiring special treatment. Then during one of their first days on the job they managed to damage the garage door so that it would not close all the way. They called a garage company to come and fix it-- and then made us pay! They also put my wife on the spot to figure it out because I was out of town and unavailable at the time. The real problem though came in the spring when they tried to do the outdoor patio. The initial attempt had the patio looking cloudy where the sealant was too thick and the color started to wear off in less than a week where the sealant was too thin. I talked to them and they agreed to give it another try, but unfortunately they somehow managed to screw it up worse. The patio is stamped concrete with patterns in it, or at least it was. When they tried to remove the heavy sealant they literally sanded the patterns off the patio. It is now smooth in places. In fact, there is a half-circle where their sander really dug into the patio. I have been on the phone with these clowns so many times that eventually I gave up. The only way to truly fix it at this point is to remove the concrete patio and pour a new one. I know they aren't going to do that so I gave up talking to them. We have hired dozens of contractors off Angie's List and GFC of MN is one of the two worst ever. I will post a picture of the damaged patio if they respond to this and deny any of it.

Description of Work
Coated garage floor and outdoor patio

Category concrete repair, decks, garage doors, epoxy flooring, stamped concrete

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed], I am sorry you found your experience with our company unsatisfactory. We sincerely strive to resolve any and all issues as they arise. I spoke to your sales rep, project manager, crew leader as well as pulled all the notes from your file. In doing so, I found the following. There was indeed an additional item addressed at time of coating your garage floor. When originally bid, the rear corner which was missing a large portion of concrete was to be left uncoated - it was decided that we would coat up to the corner but not fill it in. Your rep indicated your main concern was to protect the existing floor and not so much about the missing concrete in the rear corner. After further review, it was suggested to you that you may prefer in the long run to have the corner addressed. You were given two options: one, leave the bid as it was and not address the corner; or two, fill in the corner and coat at an extra fee. It was decided you prefer to fill in the hole. Although there was further discussion about this, I do not believe this was an error in the bidding process. You were also given a free squeegee as a small token of our appreciation for your business and the extra hassle you felt you dealt with due to the issue regarding the hole in the rear corner. As for the garage door, there was an issue while we were coating your garage floor. Whenever there is an issue, we hire an outside source to come in and inspect any concerns. They are always instructed to bill us for any issues related to our negligence. However, there are times when they go out that the issue is related to lack of maintenance or age that has nothing to do with our install. In this case, the company inspecting your garage door stated the door was stuck due to lack of preventative maintenance and not negligence on our part. They spoke to your wife since you were out of town and explained to her the issues they were seeing. They left an estimate for you to consider. Had we created the failure or if it were determined by the outside source that we were responsible for the damage, we would have willingly accepted the fees to repair. In this case, the garage door company did not even provide us with an estimate/invoice to consider as they stated it was not a result of our coating process. In addition, while coating your garage, our crew did in fact hit a tree limb and caused it to break away. For this reason, the crew upgraded your system to our Platinum system at no cost to you to compensate for the broken limb. I believe this is a small gesture of our intent to remedy any damage we cause. As for your patio, we are surprised to learn that you are still unhappy with the outcome. Had we been notified, I am certain we would have attempted a resolution. What we do have recorded is that the original patio was stained and sealed. It looked beautiful when we left. I have finished photos that attest to this. However, sometime before the sealer was completely cured some water must have been introduced to create white spots throughout. Because there was no rain, we wonder if there may have been a sprinkler system that turned on. There is no way of knowing. However, we did return to make things right. Our crew came out and applied a stripper, they did not use any grinders as we cannot on a stamped concrete patio. They used a chemical stripper and a floor machine with a brush attachment, removed the damaged clear and restained and resealed the concrete patio. Your project manager spoke with the installer upon completion and was told it looked nice when he left. The project manager left a message with you to follow up and indicates she never received a return call. For this reason, she thought perhaps everything was now resolved and you were happy with the final product. I am sorry if that is not the case. Unfortunately, we cannot fix something if we do not know. Perhaps you did leave a message and it never reached your project manager. I am not certain. However, we would be more than happy to review your patio in the spring and see if there is anything more to be address. If you are interested in revisiting your stain project in the spring, please feel free to reach out to your project manager. She said you were always very pleasant to work with and would be happy to discuss any further concerns.
1.0

05/14/2018


Zach M.

I scheduled a consultation at my house via their online scheduling system for a Tuesday. The next day, I received a call from their sales staff indicating they could not honor that time and they re-scheduled for Saturday. The person did not show up for the consultation on Saturday.

Description of Work
Epoxy Garage Floor

Category epoxy flooring

1.0

04/11/2018


Rick W.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! We had them do three projects at our house in excess $10,000.00. One of the shop coatings is cracking and peeling and the driveway and sidewalks began to peel after two weeks. When they originally finished it was two different colors, it was all over my siding, the guys were no-show and no-call half the time and they left a mess. My remaining balance check to them of $2,300.00 didn't clear due to an oversight of ours but after all of our work coming apart we refused to pay it until all work was completed. They refuse to honor their warranty. They lie and will say anything. I agree with the other reviews on this company-stay away. You will end up suing them as we are

Description of Work
Driveway, Shop and Garage

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, flooring contractor, epoxy flooring, stamped concrete

Service Provider Response

Good Afternoon [Member Name Removed], I understand you would like to change your Angie's List rating but do not know how. Thank you for attempting to change your review. I appreciate your business and look forward to completing your driveway this spring. May you enjoy your garages, workshop and driveway for years to come. I hope that when all your projects are complete, you will be able to visit Angie's List again and update your review with you final viewpoint of our company. It is our pleasure to work for you. Sincerely, The GFC Team
4.0

11/17/2017


Bryan E.

The floor is beautiful, but is much more fragile than we imagined. We knew we couldn't power wash it, but the floor chips if we drop anything on it, including a small garden tool. I have repaired many chipped spots. The company came and looked at it, but said that that is the way the floor is. They offered to put another coat of sealant on at our cost (at least $600). The buyer just needs to be aware that this floor is easily damaged, and the warranty doesn't cover much.

Description of Work
We had our garage floor coated (epoxy and chips).

Category flooring contractor, epoxy flooring

4.0

10/16/2017


Ann K.

We did not hire due to pricing. Everything about the appointment process was first rate and professional. Estimator arrived on the date/time agreed upon, estimate was prepared and left with me and the videos and explanation outlining the process was all very professional. However, when compared with the other estimates they were much more expensive.

Description of Work
Basement floor sanding and staining

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

09/25/2017


Andrea W.

They by far exceeded our expectations. They were on time, professional, took time to answer questions.

Description of Work
Garage Floor

Category flooring contractor, epoxy flooring

5.0

09/18/2017


William H.

Done professionally and according to the promised time-line. The job was well done and we are pleased.

Description of Work
Coating of garage floor.

Category epoxy flooring

4.0

08/09/2017


Becky G.

I’m kind of neutral on the whole thing. I don’t have any complaints and I don’t have any kind of wow positive, so it’s just kind of neutral.

Description of Work
They did the garage floor.

Category epoxy flooring

1.0

08/01/2017


Robin B.

Very poorly!!! No call to even set up a time for an estimate.

Description of Work
I requested a call through Angie's list messaging. It's been over a week and no one returned the call.

Category epoxy flooring

Service Provider Response

Good Afternoon [Member Name Removed], I apologize that a representative from our company did not reach out to you sooner. Your Angie's List inquiry was missed by our team. We have reviewed our inbox and do not see the original inquiry. I am not certain how it did not show up and regret we did not reach out sooner. Every inquiry is important to us. We apologize that yours was missed. We would love to help you with your projects if you are still interested. Sincerely, The GFC Team
1.0

04/26/2017


britt L.

the salesman told us if we paid extra for the lifetime warranty then all repairs would be covered. when we tried to have repairs done suddenly that wasn't covered for rock pops or this or that. repair men said that the salesmen will tell customers "any thing they want to hear" to make the sale.

Description of Work
garage floor coated

Category epoxy flooring

Service Provider Response

We are sorry you are disappointed that your repair needs are nonwarranty and have caused you angst. It is never our intention to mislead a customer about our warranty policy or repair expectations once a coating is applied. As your signed warranty at time of sale mentioned, we provide a coating application to concrete and warranty for a lifetime the product and installation of the coating against peeling. If we have not properly prepped the concrete, and it has begun to delaminate; or if the product fails and lifts from the concrete - not holding its bond - we are more than happy to honor the lifetime warranty and resolve the issue. However, it is impossible for any coating company to warranty the concrete beneath; any coating manufacturer will state that it cannot and will not warranty against concrete issues. Concrete is a product of its environment and will crack and heave on it its own accord if the force applied to it is great enough. A coating cannot stop this process and is not designed to do so. Our warranty is very clear on what concrete situations may arise after a coating is installed and what we can and cannot warranty. Your warranty in particular even called out the possibility of rock pops which are a product of hydrostatic pressure related to the water table beneath the earth'[Member Information Removed] surface. A coating cannot prevent these occurrences. Our warranty also states our repair fees if a nonwarranty related issues arises. We also require the client, at time of purchase, to acknowledge the possibility of these future situations. I pulled your warranty and found signatures acknowledging each of these items at time of sale. Therefore, it seems it would have been impossible to mislead you into thinking that all repair needs would be free of charge. Perhaps, it was mentioned that if you ever experience delamination, we would happily fix it as the terms of your warranty state. We regret your current situation and hope we can help you resolve the matter in a manner which is fair for all parties involved. It is our desire for you to understand that we do not make a practice to make a profit off of nonwarranty repairs - nor do we like to see any of our customers experience such situations. However, when such situations arise, we only hope to cover the cost associated with providing a service to address the concrete issues and create a new seal for the coating.
1.0

03/15/2017


Steve C.

Got stood up originally, and then price swapped later.

Description of Work
Estimate for garage floor.

Category epoxy flooring

Service Provider Response

We are sorry you did not find your experience with our company to your satisfaction and felt the need to rate our company an "F". It is our goal to meet every prospect's or customer's needs to the best of our ability. After further investigation, I discovered that you did not actually use our services but were negotiating a deal. It appears our services may not have been what you were looking for after all and may have been a budgetary concern rather than a customer service issue. I apologize that your first appointment was missed by our representative. As it was explained to you, your rep was new to our technology, and it was an oversight on his part. We understand the value of everyone's time and do not belittle that we did not meet you at the appointed time and do not make excuses for the time you lost waiting for our rep. However, once aware of the issue, we quickly arranged for another rep to meet you at your earliest convenience. It is our goal and aspiration to avoid any missteps throughout any part of the process. However, much to our regret, there are times when a mistake may still happen. It is, at this time, our goal to overcome any mistakes and ensure that the rest of the process is handled with extreme care. As you are aware, we have stayed in front of you throughout this whole process since the missed appointment and have attempted to work with your budgetary concerns and multiple home improvement projects. We respected your timetable and followed up at the requested times you had asked. Although we continued to follow up at the requested times, it turns out we were unable to help you with your coating project. It appears our minimum offer of $2000 is not within your budget. We completely understand and respect one's decision to use another company or product. It is disheartening, however, to be accused of price swapping. After investigating your claims, I have discovered that there were two reps working with you to help you with your project. They were in close communication (their desks are next to one another) as well as logged all conversations in our database for both to see. While looking through their notes, I found their offers were the same to you. They even went to management on your behalf and asked to authorize a $2000 minimum for your job even though our current minimum is $2500. Per your own email, you acknowledged our minimum offer to you. You stated, " If 2000 is the lowest you guys can absolutely go I get it, and I will try to get more estimates and maybe it will have to hold off until next year. If that is your bottom then it was great of you guys to come out, if you guys can do better please let me know as I have a couple more estimates this week." I respect and revere the ability to leave reviews. I rely on them personally when researching companies. What causes me great remorse is the inability for others to truly see who we are when people such as yourself never had the opportunity to use our services and truly feel the heart of our company. We are a team of individuals that are working together for a common goal - to give the best customer service and product in the Twin Cities area. Good customer service does come at a price. We do not spare any expense when hiring staff to manage our projects. We have a full team of people that work on every project that comes through our office. We rejoice with our customers when they are happy with their purchase. We mourn when a mistake is made, and we cheer with our customers when a problem is resolved. Many of our customers have become family to us and will stop in or call just to say Hi. A coating project is not just a job to us - it is our heart and soul worn on our sleeves for all to see. We wish you the best with all your projects and again regret that our company was not able to help you with the coating portion of your project. Sincerely, The GFC Team
5.0

01/31/2017


Eric N.

The floor looks awesome. The crew was courteous, timely and professional. We are very happy with the results. We would highly recommend their services.

Description of Work
We had our 3+ car garage floor coated in December 2016 by Garage Floor Coatings of MN. Our floor had some minor cracking that needed to be addressed. GFC of MN repaired the cracks and put a three layer coating on our garage floor and stem walls.

Category epoxy flooring

3.0

10/24/2016


Alison W.

Met sales rep at the state fair booth. Two weeks later, he came to my house to take photos of my garage floor and give an estimate. Having trouble with his wi-fi, he emailed me a quote later in the day. He was very punctual, cordial and appeared to have knowledge of the product he was selling. Later I talked to a neighbor who had their identical garage floor coated two years ago. My quote was 61% higher than theirs, 24 months later. When I called to ask, I was told I could get a 5% discount, if I choose to wait until winter to have the work done. Apparently the process has changed in past two years adding cost, but no explanation was offered of what that change was. Currently, no floor is coated for under $2000. If I wanted to discuss further price reductions, I would have to send in photos of my garage floor because the photos taken during the original estimated were on a tablet that was stolen from the estimator. I choose not to have the work done.

Description of Work
Estimate for seal coating the garage floor.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

10/12/2016


JAMES D.

Everything went perfectly. This company knows what they're doing. The crew was knowledgeable, very friendly, and willing to answer questions while they worked.

Description of Work
Our garage floor was severely pitted and spalling. They patched everything and applied a great textured finish to the entire floor. This solution to the problems cost much less than replacing the garage floor. There were no cracks in the floor so the patching and coating would be the right thing to do. If the floor was cracked then it would have had to be replaced.

Category ceramic tile, epoxy flooring

5.0

10/06/2016


KRIS A.

Awesome. The sales guy had big samples to choose from, the scheduling went well. The only slight hitch was in finding a finish carpenter to add stem walls (baseboards) before the coating went on. But, it all got finished, the communication was great and the floor looks amazing. Spendy but Worth it!

Description of Work
They resurfaced our 3 car garage floor.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

02/08/2016


Jack H.

Very responsive. Got the job done when they said they would and the floor looks great.

Description of Work
coated garage floor

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

02/08/2016


STEWART H.

Very well, followed through as promised

Description of Work
New floor coating in garage

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

02/02/2016


James L.

I was looking for a contractor to grind the concrete floor in part of my basement smooth. The person I spoke with was very helpful and gracious. He explained why it would be fairly expensive to do my job. I was impressed with his professionalism.

Description of Work
Provided a phone estimate for grinding smooth an area of my basement concrete floor.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

12/02/2015


Jonathan O.

Good communications, professional, and responsive. I am impressed! GFC communicated with me via email and phone in advance. The crew lead was professional and communicated as expected 20 minutes before arrival. They ground, patched, and coated the garage floor with primer the first day. They applied the color coat and flecks the next day. They came back and applied the clear coats the next day. Each day they cleaned up after themselves leaving almost no trace. It was starting to get cold out, so they shut my garage door almost all the way down to the ground to conserve heat in the garage. They also covered the opening with plastic to retain heat and keep out rain/snow while allowing the coating that extended outside the garage to dry. The odor was very strong. Even though they taped up the inside garage door with plastic, some of the odor still got into the house. Couldn't be helped I suppose. There was one issue with part of the garage floor that remained sticky, but they came out right away the next day and took care of it. Overall, I'm very impressed with their work and would not hesitate to recommend them. -Jonathan...

Description of Work
GFC prepared and coated the floor of my three-car garage with their "Platinum" package.

Category concrete repair, garage doors, epoxy flooring

    Other local Pros in your area

    SKLS Group LLC

    High quality standards met with great customer service and affordable budget. We are local Twin Cities based General Contractor that comes with many services for projects of all sizes. Most contractors try and sell you on deals and financing. With our straight forward, transparent approach to meeting our clients real needs and not over designing a project for the sake of making more profit on the job or materials. https://sklsgroupllc.com/  

    Residential Garage Door Services

    Residential Garage Door installs and repairs garage doors and openers for the entire Twin City area. Our goal is to provide you with the best pricing and service, leaving every customer glad they chose us. We are a locally owned and operated small business that takes pride in the work we do and our reputation. We offer price matching so you can be sure you're getting the best deal. Fast, friendly and professional. Call or text to schedule an appointment or speak with a technician today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    CHAMPION GARAGE DOORS

    At Champion Garage Doors we pride ourselves on quality and reliable timely service to Minnesota residents. We seperate ourselves from our competitors being that our background is from both the manufacturing and service side of the garage door business. This allows us to have a better overall complete knowledge and understanding of how to most effectively and efficiently solve all your garage door needs. In addition, when it comes to a new door purchase we have the expertise to walk you through the whole process step by step to make sure your satisfied with the end result. Give us a call for a free estimate on a new door or any service needs you may be encountering. We handle the entire twin city area and all surrounding areas. We accept all major credit cards. We do repairs and installations 7 days a week on YOUR schedule. Free in home estimates. Same day service  

    Offers by CHAMPION GARAGE DOORS on Angi
    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    2%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and Commercial Flooring, Garages, Porches, Patios, Basements, Gym & Hardwood Floor Finishing, VCT & Ceramic Tile Finishing & Rubber Flooring.Systems, & Decorative Coatings for Home and Office

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota

    How is Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota overall rated?

    Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota open?

    Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota provide

    Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota offer free estimates?

    Yes, Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota offers free project estimates.

    Does Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota offers a 2% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota?

    Yes, Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota offers warranties.

    What services does Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota offer?

    Garage Floor Coating of Minnesota offers the following services: Residential and Commercial Flooring, Garages, Porches, Patios, Basements, Gym & Hardwood Floor Finishing, VCT & Ceramic Tile Finishing & Rubber Flooring.Systems, & Decorative Coatings for Home and Office