Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Midwest Lightscapes

Founded 2000 • With Angi since February 2006

We are passionate about outdoor lighting. Midwest Lightscapes services and maintains all systems. Whether you’re looking to repair broken wires, replace bulbs or even replace a broken fixture, we offer the highest level of customer service. Our experienced techs can locate and repair most broken wires in a very small amount of time to ensure savings and satisfaction the same day. Our evening demonstration will enable you to see how lights would look on your home. Participate in the design and you'll be sure to have the look you want. Serving Michigan and Indiana. Additional email - info@midwestlightscapes.com. Super Service Award winning.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.9

(37) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 37 reviews
Holly S.
5.0
11/13/2020
Andrew did an amazing job for us in Columbus, Ohio. He was professional and timely. He did a great job working within our budget and not trying to sell us things we did not need. We will definitely use him again.
Description of Work
landscaping lights moved and fixed
Category
electrician
Anthony D.
5.0
08/23/2019
Bud and Jane are excellent to work with. Very professional, great product, and the finished result is just fantastic,
Description of Work
Installation of landscape lighting
Category
outdoor lighting
subhash K.
5.0
03/26/2019
Bud came to fix the issues with our landscape lights. We had paid Wilcox Brothers to get this problem solved. NO RESULTS. Bud is very knowledgeable and thorough.Knew exactly what to do, gave a fixed price PRIOR to starting work and finished it in a very professional manner. ALL LIGHTS ARE ON. Thank you.
Description of Work
Fixed mess left by Wilcox Brothers
Category
lighting, outdoor lighting
ROBERT F.
5.0
06/14/2017
Excellent. Bud arrived early on the date of installation. Took him around 2 hr to finish. Very professional and courteous. Would use him again.
Description of Work
Backyard deck and landscape lighting
Category
lighting, outdoor lighting
Carol M.
5.0
06/11/2016
on the day of installation, Bud and Craig, artfully installed their fixtures. They also installed my 3 new fixtures on the porch and garage doors. They installed my fixtures included with their total price. Such wonderful men! True Professionals.!
Description of Work
Bud came out before installation to give me an idea of how my house would look with the 14 up lights and 4 path lights that he thought the house needed for proper illumination. He showed me the beautiful copper LED fixtures that would be used.
Category
lighting
Jason H.
5.0
05/16/2016
Bud and Jane were a pleasure to work with. We had work done twice; once in the fall of 2015 for the front and once in the spring of 2016 for the back patio. The quotes were spot on. We had them come out and setup lights prior to install so we could see how it would look and make any adjustments. Even after the last install my wife and I decided to have a couple of adjustments. Bud came right out when he was first available. They were very flexible with our schedule for install. I highly recomend them.
Description of Work
Front of the house and landscape lighting. Back patio and walkway lighting.
Category
outdoor lighting
Kim B.
5.0
10/01/2015
Bud and his wife were wonderful! They returned my call on Labor Day to schedule the appointment to come out and do a demo. We loved their ideas for our yard and decided to have them do our deck lighting at the same time. Bud arrived on the scheduled date promptly and completed the job even though he had been ill for several days prior to the date of the installation. Bud and his assistant completed the job in four hours and at dusk, Bud and his wife returned to adjust the lighting and make sure we were satisfied, and we definitely were!! I highly recommend this company and we will use them for any of our future lighting needs. They truly care about the work they do and they place customer service at the top of their priority list. We love the new lights and look forward to hosting our next outdoor family gathering on our beautifully illuminated deck!
Description of Work
Landscape lighting in front garden beds/walkway and deck lighting.
Category
lighting, outdoor lighting
Richard A.
5.0
09/28/2015
Midwest Lightscapes is not the most inexpensive option, but it is tough to imagine a better one. And despite the higher price point, you will still feel like you are getting value. Bud and Jane are efficient and professional. They provide a full "at dusk" demonstration of the lighting plan based on the design they architect with you. Their lighting scheme for your home is smart, beautiful, even revelatory, and the lighting equipment they install is gorgeous and of very high quality. Outstanding on all accounts. We were supremely satisfied and would recommend Midwest Lightscapes to anyone interested.
Description of Work
Replaced old front yard landscape light system with contemporary LED fixtures. Included full re-design and re-wiring.
Category
lighting, outdoor lighting
Tushar C.
5.0
07/23/2015
I was looking for a company to do landscape lighting for my front yard. I used Angie's List to find providers. The top name was Midwest Lightscape. The 2nd name was the company who installed sprinkler system for us. I got quotes from both these company. When I called Midwest, Jane from Midwest took all my details and then she called me backed with a date where they wanted to come and see the house and give a demo. On the scheduled day, Jane and Bud came out to our house and Bud went around with me to go around the house. He was taking notes. He then gave us the design of what he was planning. We liked what he had to offer. They waited till it got little darker. Meanwhile both of them did the setup and they were ready for Demo. We were impressed by their work. We got a glimpse of how the house would look after we have our lights. done. They were very open to take our suggestions. They moved around the lights so that we can get different light setup. Bud and Jane gave details about their products. They spoke about the warranty of their products. They are one of the distributers of the products they install. Their price was on the higher side but they were installing all copper/brass product. They were using hight quality product and they were competitively priced for that. Between the 2 provider we decided for Midwest because of the demo, promptness and the quality of product. On the day of installation, Bud and Craig came out to our home on time. There were 2 places where installing involved some digging and some good way to burring the low voltage wire. They did not charge any extra for that. The price of each item included all the charges. They were done with their installation job in around 4 hrs. Evening when the lights came up, we were amazed to see our home. It looked totally different and transformed. The demo was like a trailer and the actual lights were like a Movie. There was a huge difference in what we saw in demo and the actual lights. This maybe because the lights used in demo might be used ones and these were all new lights. Don't get me wrong, the demo is really good but the actual lights are at least 10 times better than demo. Bud explained me how the timer worked. In the evening, the lights did not turn off. I reached out to Jane and the same evening both Jane and Bud were there to replace the faulty timer and they stayed back to see the lights. Both of them are real professionals. They are good human beings as well. In few days to our surprise, we got a gift in the mail too. Not sure if everyone gets that but that was a bonus for us. They also honor a discount of around $300 where you get the transformer free if you tell them that they got referred to Angie's List.
Description of Work
The provider installed Landscape Lighting for my front yard.
Category
outdoor lighting
Lynda B.
5.0
06/25/2015
From our very first interaction with Bud and his wife, it was a wonderful experience. We discussed pricing over the phone so that we knew what we were looking at even before they came out to speak with us. The pricing is straight forward, there are not a lot of lighting options (finishes etc..), but that actually makes it easy. The pricing is a bit on the higher end, but the product and service you get will be incredible. As part of the process, we were given a demo. We had committed to nothing at this point and were under no obligation to purchase anything. Bud came out to our house before dark and set-up lights so that we would see what the final result would look like. After dark, he lit up our world and - WOW. Once you have seen your house lit-up properly with professional lighting, the sale is made. Bud spent a lot of time with us that evening and the lighting design was tweaked based on what they and we thought would look nice. There were no high pressure sales tactics, in fact there was no pressure. Bud really is passionate about the work and wants everything to look as nice as you do. Once we had the front design set, we talked about our backyard a bit. We had only planned on doing the front yard this year but wanted to hear his ideas about the backyard after seeing the front yard demo. He checked out our backyard and had some great ideas to showcase our trees and garden beds. We were so excited, he then did a demo of the backyard too, and we had that yard done as well. We love our lighting. They did what they said they would do, they did it when they said they would do it and for the exact price quoted. It was a great experience. Bud checked out all the lighting after dark once it was installed. He came back out twice after that, once for a bulb issue and once because we thought maybe a light needed to adjusted a bit. He came back out with no questions asked, he wanted us to be happy with the end result and we are. Very happy!
Description of Work
Midwest installed all new landscape lighting in both our front and backyard. They also pulled our old fixtures and wiring.
Category
lighting, outdoor lighting
Marla W.
5.0
04/25/2015
Professional , quality product and work. For the job quote....showed up in the evening on time and set up lights to show me what the finished job would look like. This was free and i was under no obligation to buy. Wonderful customer service. Followed through on all promises. I highly recommend this company.
Description of Work
Replaced existing outdoor lighting system.
Category
outdoor lighting
Joel M.
4.0
01/22/2015
It was good. They seem to be honest and transparent. They were prompt. My interactions with them were good. The work they did turned out good.
Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal coupon from Midwest Lightscapes to reinstall existing lights.
Category
lighting, outdoor lighting
Rick T.
5.0
11/03/2014
Our home landscape lighting system was shabby. Multiple lights out. Broken wires. The original installer was out of business. So we asked for bids. A couple companies never called back to set an appointment. One wanted $90 just to come over and talk. Another vendor who did visit bid low but left us unimpressed when we saw nearby home installations. Then we called Midwest Lightscapes. Bud Freed stopped by next day, listened to our needs and gave us a preliminary estimate for a whole new system using high-efficiency LED lights, Same day at dusk, he was back and spent an hour setting up a demo system display. The difference visually was like night and day compared to our old setup. Bud followed immediately with a written estimate. And within a week or so, we had our new landscape lighting in place. Midwest may not be the most inexpensive vendor going in. But given the quality of their components, energy saving solutions (75 watts vs. 400+ watts used), promptness and professionalism, we'd say they're a great value.
Description of Work
Removed old system and installed totally new landscape lighting for our home.
Category
outdoor lighting
John C.
5.0
10/22/2014
In brief--outstanding work which is typical for the company. Details--within minutes of arriving, Bud, from Midwest Landscapes, found and repaired a cut/break in the circuit to an outside floodlight. He arrived on time, fixed the circuit, and would not take any money for his time or work. Whenever I've used Midwest Landscapes, I've have been very, very pleased with the products used, prices, and the quality of their work. Bud has always arrived on or before his scheduled appointment and does an outstanding job installing or repairing landscape lighting.
Description of Work
At no charge, Midwest Landscapes repaired a circuit to an outside flood that had been cut during recent gardening work.
Category
outdoor lighting
Wayne R.
5.0
09/24/2014
It was great. He started work and had to leave because of the rain. He did the work mostly in the front yard.
Description of Work
I bought a deal for $89 for Up to 2 hours of labor for landscape lighting service package.
Category
lighting, outdoor lighting
STEVEN & Gayle W.
5.0
08/04/2014
They came out and were absolutely excellent. They were very quick and efficient. This company did everything they said they would and more. A's across the board! I am very happy with them.
Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal with this company for $89 for Up to 2 Hours of Labor for Landscape Lighting Service Package.
Category
outdoor lighting
Peter P.
5.0
08/02/2014
Bud did an excellent job, explained all of the details of our lighting system patiently, and fixed the problem. Cost was very reasonable and we will definitely use their services for any outdoor lighting needs in the future.
Description of Work
Fixed a broken light in the front of our house.
Category
outdoor lighting
Stacey H.
4.0
05/29/2014
The owner was polite and explained the process of installation well. We like the lighting if it were not for the damage the installation caused to the property. A hole was poked through the foundation of the house into the basement wall, which the owner repaired. Unfortunately, he also poked holes into the pipes of the sprinkler system that we discovered today when we had the sprinkler system turned on. This created some flooding and a malfunction in the system which will take some time and expense to repair.
Description of Work
He installed landscape lighting along front of house.
Category
outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

I am the owner and was the one that installed the lighting. I bore a hole in the garage wall, a small one, to thread the 12/2 wire through from the transformer to the outside lights. This is the basic installation practice unless the owner wants it in the basement or outside. Apparently, I sliced an irrigation tube when installing our wire. Landscapers, irrigation, and outdoor lighting have this happen to each other. They fix whatever they slice and move on. I did not notice I had sliced a tube because the irrigation was winterized (It was October). Had it been in the summer, I would have had water squirting up at me and would have immediately repaired it. I had no idea until we read this review. I immediately called her upon reading this, apologized, and said I would repay her for any damage it caused when some lawn flooded and I would pay whatever the irrigation company charged to fix it. I have never heard back from her. I left her messages, and my wife and I went out to their house when we were in the area to pay her for what the damages were, but they were not home. If [member name removed] ever calls us and gives us the cost, we will pay. This is the only time I have had this happen. We do not dig into landscape, we slice into the ground and lay our wire down to cover it. We work with very high-end homes and their landscape is costly. We respect the property and are there to make it even better looking than it does before we arrive.
Sriram V.
5.0
05/14/2014
Midwest promised to finish the job in a week's time and they came within two days and fixed all the landscape lights in spite of the rain. I appreciate their prompt and quick service and the cost was quite reasonable. I would recommend them strongly.
Description of Work
He repaired the lights in the front year
Category
outdoor lighting
John C.
5.0
10/24/2013
Very, very pleased. Installer/electrician came to our house, on time, to determine what we wanted done--fix/repair existing landscape lighting and install a new low voltage outdoor fixture in the front of our house. Since we didn't have existing LV lighting in front, the job involved running a LV cable from the transformer in our garage thru the garage wall to the location we preferred about 25 feet from the transformer. Installer provided recommendations, an estimate, and we scheduled an install date. A few days later, installer was at our house exactly when he said he would arrive. Two hours later the job was done and the installer walked us thru what he had done. We were very satisfied with the work, price and promptness of installer.
Description of Work
Installed a new, copper subdued LED light to highlight house number on garage in front of house ($250) and examine/clean and replace bulbs in landscape lighting along walkway and patio at the back of our house ($89).
Category
outdoor lighting
Donna D.
5.0
08/22/2013
He was very prompt and provided really good service. He followed up and called me the next day. It was a great experience and I would highly recommend him.
Description of Work
I have purchased a Big Deal for Midwest Lightscapes LLC. He came over and fixed the outdoor lights that were broken.
Category
outdoor lighting
Dorothy A.
5.0
08/20/2013
It went very well, He was most efficient and helpful and getting the job done.
Description of Work
replaced all my low voltage lights and connected them to the house.
Category
lighting, outdoor lighting
charleen K.
5.0
08/06/2013
They are wonderful. They did a great. Husband would use them again. The father and son were great. They went above and beyond. They spent a good amount of time and did a great job. Good experience.
Description of Work
They fixed the outside lights. The front and back.
Category
lighting
Patricia W.
5.0
07/31/2013
Joe Freed called me the same day I purchased the service coupon Midwest advertised on Angies List. He scheduled an appt within a few days of this contact. He came on time and spent the entire 2 hours I had purchased working on my outside lighting system. He was able to activate lights that no one had been able to fix in the past. We talked about replacing the system, as it is about 20 years old, and I intend to have Joe and his father come out and set up a mock system so we can do exactly that. I look forward to using this company in the near future. Joe was honest, reliable, friendly, and courteous.
Description of Work
Check out all my outside lighting fixtures and repaired the ones which were repairable.
Category
lighting, outdoor lighting
Richard H.
5.0
07/31/2013
This started out as a repair job and some selective replacement of damaged lights and morphed into a wholesale replacement of standard lights in the front of the house with LED fixtures. The LEDs use much lower wattage but are much brighter. We added a bunch of lights to the front and replaced all the exisiting ones to really bring the front to life. Joe and Bud did a great job - they were at the house 4 or 5 times in total, were always punctual and reliable in terms on doing what they said they were going to do. They only use LED fixtures but will repair anything. We were unhappy with our exisitng lights - not very bright, always burning out bulbs, a number of fixtures not working. LEDs are much more dependable, use way less energy, are brighter and the fixtures are very attractive. Before we settled on the lighting in the front they came out at night and set up a temporary system in the configuration that they recommeded so we could see what it would look like. We then picked what we wanted. These guys did a great job and are just nice people - would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Joe & Bud repaired existing lights in the back of the house and replaced all the lights and added more in the front of the house
Category
lighting, outdoor lighting

Other local Pros in your area

Austin Brick Pavers LLC

We have been in business since 1994. During this time, we have installed hundreds of brick paver and natural stone landscapes throughout Southeastern Michigan. We carry Commercial Liability, Commercial Vehicle and Worker's Compensation Insurance. Take a look at our website to see our portfolio. Austin Brick Pavers LLC is dedicated to our community. We only employ local workers because we believe in keeping jobs local and we also believe in paying a decent wage for an honest day's work. Our employees are courteous and knowledgeable and always appear in Austin Brick Pavers LLC uniforms on the job site. As an owner of the business, I work hand in hand with my employees on the job site, utilizing my 19 years of brick paving experience and also my knowledge of architecture. I hold a degree in Architecture from Lawrence Technological University. We are a Unilock Authorized Contractor. We take pride in community outreach like sponsoring our local T-ball teams and the Adopt-a-Highway program.  

Angi Certified

DeGains Masonry

Masonry brick/stone repair We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

Angi Certified

It's the Brick Guys

Professional services at affordable prices! Contact us today for an estimate!  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

110 S Tilden St

Waterford, MI 48328

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Landscaping.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Midwest Lightscapes is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Midwest Lightscapes is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

Midwest Lightscapes accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Yes, Midwest Lightscapes offers free project estimates.

Yes, Midwest Lightscapes offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Midwest Lightscapes offers a 10% senior discount.

Yes, Midwest Lightscapes offers emergency services.

Yes, Midwest Lightscapes offers warranties.

Midwest Lightscapes offers the following services: Exterior Lighting - Path, Pools, Decks, & Fixtures.