Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc

Founded 1932 • With Angi since September 2012

4.5

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

30140 Van Dyke Ste 103

Warren, MI 48093

Description

Bond Bilt Is a family owned Home improvement company. Started in 1932 In the middle of the depression. A full service design build as well as home improvement company with 75 years .Our long established reputation as earned us the ability to receive a budget from the home owner and deliver a

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/03/2021


ANTHONY F.

Company was amazing. From providing an estimate to completing the job. All my questions were answered promptly and ensured my concerns were addressed. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Resided my home

Category gutter repair, siding

5.0

09/17/2014


Sharron M.

Description of Work
Getting the quote finalized took significant time. The job was for siding, gutters, window and door replacement and potential portico. Did an excellent job. Removed old siding,replaced damaged wood and installed new siding, gutters, window and door for garage and bump-out.

Category remodeling

2.0

02/26/2013


John G.

I called and asked for an estimate for a doorwall to be installed where there is currently a wall. John arrived on time and looked over the job, he was very pleasant to deal with. John said he would get back to me in a day or two with an estimate.I explained that I was ready to start the job as soon as they were able because I wanted to move into the new-to-me house. I received the email that evening with an estimate and a notation that they were looking forward to having work for their employees during the traditional slow time. The email said they could start with in two weeks. I called and spoke with John and said the estimate was acceptable and to book the job. I didnt hear anything for two weeks. I called John backon Feb 4th and asked if they would be starting. He replied, "I'll call you back tomorrow to get a contract to you and we can schedule a start date" I have not heard anything since then. I have since employed another contractor for the job. I would have preferred a simple "Sorry we are not interested in the job"

Description of Work
I called and requested an estimate to have a doorwall installed.

Category drywall, remodeling

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry you feel that way. certainly your member comments are inconsistent with the ratings given. Given the weather we were experiencing at the time, opening your home to the elements was in my opinion a bad idea. You are correct I did state that i would stop out present you with a contract and collect a reasonable deposit. A death in the family prevented me from getting to you and as a result That didn't happen in the time frame you would have liked it to again i apologize. I think we are both better off for the decisions made here, realizing i cant make every body happy
3.0

02/02/2013


Jason and Karen W.

We received an estimate from Rick Hall today to have a new roof put on our house. He honestly didn't seem like he wanted to be here or wanted the job. He measured only from the ground and only in front of the house. He never bothered to go to the back of the house until I told him he needed to because of the deck! He claimed we had roughly 37 squares on our roof. I know for a fact that it is actually only right around 26 squares. The quote he gave me was for $13,700. That was actually more than even Hanson's had quoted. We will defiantly not be hiring this company! Rick knew that we were looking to have a complete tear off and new roof installed. He did tell me 37 squares now in his responce he states that his "visual" inspection indicated 34.5 squares. In reality "considering pitch and valley's" and accounting for scrap ther is only 26 squares. I have personally measured it by hand as well have had several other estimates that indicated either 26 or 27 squares. Buyer Beware!!!

Description of Work
Roofing Estimate.

Category bathtub refinishing, roofing

Service Provider Response

I am sorry you feel that way. But for the record existing roof inspections are only needed when the installer wants to know if the surface will hold a second roof over it, Although "cover ups" have been allowed in the past we at bond bilt will only install a roof once the entire existing roof has been removed. It is only at that point a roof inspection can reveal soft or rotten wood and replace it accordingly. Also the manufacturers warranty is void when a roof is covered up. We only install over a clean dry substrate( osb roof decking). My visual inspection indicated to me that 34.25 squares would be required considering the roof pitch and valleys. I am somewhat troubled by the statement about hansons, as if to imply that you expected them to be very high but called on them anyway? The term in our business Free estimate is of course free to you but represents a size able weekly expense to the contractors quoting. All any of us would ask is that it be about doing business with a reputable company with a track record of standing behind there workmanship and not about who errors the most in the homeowners favor. Thank you for the opportunity to provide a free estimate
2.0

01/31/2013


Debra C.

I recommend getting EVERYTHING in writing. Obtain a line by line detail of the project. Include ALL potential costs. The project manager will talk about integrity and the importance of trusting a verbal agreement but he does not practice what he preaches. We hired Bon Built because the project manager, Carl, talked about his extensive experience building in Warren and how he was known by the city. Our project is listed above. We were going to leave the old garrage door inplace and the manager said "No problem". Within a week he was back saying that we had to take the door down and it would cost us more money. This was our first hint that he did not know the city of Warren building ordinances. There has been an ordinance in place for years that says garage doors cannot remain up if converting an attached garage into living space. He acted like this was a new ordinance and was not his fault but then nothing was ever his fault. The course of the project was plagued with a lack of communication and a lack of follow through. The project manager would forget what he promised and would not convey plans to the subcontractors. The electrical subcontractor, Vern, was FANTASTIC!! The drywallers were good. We did have problems with multiple nail pops and bad seams with the initial drywall however the drywall company was prompt in returning and fixed everything when we called them. The project was started in November with a promise to have in done by Decemebr 20th as we were expecting company for the holidays. We planned for carpeting to be installed on December 21st. The 20th came and the project manager said we could simply reschedule the carpeting installation so he could have the trim on the ceiling finished. We told him that would not be possible and the trim was finished as the carpet was being installed. The trim would not have been finished if we had not told the manager it was not completed. There were numerous small items that were overlooked and required us calling Carl to have the items finished or attended to. The outside of the garage conversion was not completed by Decemebr 20th and is still not completed as of January 30th.. We finally came to an agreement with Bond Built and were credited money so we could contract our own company to complete the brick work on the front of the garage.The manager bacame angry and refused to come to our house after yelling at me on the phone. I would never do business with this company again. The price was not great and the management of the project was inferior. We needed to stay consistently attentative to the project to assure things got done. The manager knows how to sell a project, he just doesn't know how to finish it.

Description of Work
Project to be done: 1.) Convert an attached one car garage into a bedroom.Leave the garage door in place. 2.) Build a two car garage in the backyard 3.) Pour a new driveway (approx 1500 sq feet)

Category remodeling, garage builders

5.0

10/18/2012


Joanne R.

All went well. Estimator was prompt. Construction was fast, clean up was excellent. Electrical and door installers did a great job. Owner and employees were very nice to talk to and could be contacted easily. Very professional and courteous. A quality job at a good price. I am considering using them for a kitchen remodel and would definitely recommend Bond-Bilt for any remodeling job.

Description of Work
Partial garage rebuild. New roof, door, electrical, header, front panels and side panel.

Category garage builders

5.0

05/16/2012


ANNA S.

I wanted to do a remodel of the hall bathroom, which still had the builder grade vinyl flooring and a fiberglass tub and surround. There was some drywall damage next to the tub and what finally pushed me to do it, was the exhaust fan was making funny noises. I started in January going to some of the home shows. I found Bond-bilt online at service master. I checked them out here on Angie's list and had Carl give me an estimate as well as two other companies. All 3 estimates were almost exactly the same, but Carl took one look at my bathroom and immediately suggested adding a soffit over the tub area, since the ceiling was so high. I had never realized that the ceiling was a foot higher than in the master bathroom. He also was the only one who would include painting the bathroom in the estimate . We discussed the look that I was trying to achieve and I knew I could work with him. Meanwhile I found the tile and glass decorative tile at one place he recommended. His right hand man, Dan, came out and took measurements and took me shopping to pick out the plumbing fixtures, cabinets and the granite counter top. We did this in February with a remodel date of the third week of April Overall the remodeling job went OK. There was a mix up with the toilet topper cabinet. The one that was ordered was WAY too big and wouldn't fit into the space. Carl ate that expense and was apologetic about it. Unfortunately it added 2 weeks to my bathroom project while we waited for the new, smaller one. There was also a small delay of 2 or 3 days for the granite counter top which was only a problem because the plumber couldn't install the plumbing, making the bathroom usable until it came. I am extremely pleased with the work, which is top notch. Jason, the person who did everything except the plumbing was a joy to work with. He really knows his tile and what looks good. We spent time discussing where exactly to put the box for the recessed shelving and where to put the decorative glass tile . Everything ended up being perfectly placed. I am also happy with the plumbing fixtures. When I had the master bath done 12 years ago, my only real complaint was that the fixtures seemed cheap and not installed well. That's why I had a new tub fixture installed in that bathroom while the plumber was working on the main bath. Everything works well and appears to be solidly made. It's hard to believe that my old ugly builder grade bathroom now looks like something out of a magazine. Today Carl and I settled the charges and he charged me very fairly for the extra work that I had done that was not included on the original estimate. My original quote didn't include the work on the master bath or the tile wainscoting. So great quality, fair pricing and good people to work with...I am happy.

Description of Work
I had Carl (Bond-bilt) completely gut my main bathroom and remodel it. It was down to the studs at one point. I had a soffit installed above the tub, added a light in the shower, had the tub surround completely tiled, added recessed shelving, had decorative glass tile (which I used as a listello) incorporated into the tile work, had tile wainscoting added to the walls, tiled the floor, and had new toilet, cabinets, tub, granite counter top, lighting, exhaust fan and plumbing fixtures installed. I also had some work done in my master bathroom. I had mosaic glass tile installed above the bathtub (I had wanted to do this 12 years ago when it was remodeled, but didn't have the money) and had new plumbing fixtures installed in the tub. I also had to move the exhaust fan to make room for the tile and had a new fan installed. I will be doing all further work in the Master bath as money allows.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/23/2006

HE GAVE ME A GOOD PRICE. THIS GUY WAS A GREAT PERSON AND THEY KNEW WHAT THEY WERE DOING AND I WAS VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE GUTTER WORK. I THINK THAT THE WORK DONE WAS OUTSTANDING.

Description of Work
THEY REPLACED THE GUTTERS ON MY HOUSE.

Category gutter repair

4.0

03/23/2006

THE JOB WENT VERY SMOOTHLY. THEY HAD THE ENTIRE SHED BUILT IN TWO DAYS. THEY WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND GOOD COMMUNICATORS. I THINK THAT THEY DID AN EXCELLENT JOB.

Description of Work
THEY BUILT A SHED OUTSIDE OF MY HOME.

Category garage builders

4.0

03/23/2006


ELIZABETH G.

THEY EXPLAINED EVERYTHING THAT THEY WOULD BE DOING. EVERYTHING TURNED OUT JUST HOW IT WAS SUPPOSED TO. THE PRICE WAS A LITTLE HIGH BUT, IT WAS WORTH IT. THEY CLEANED UP THE MESS AFTER THEY FINISHED.

Description of Work
THEY REMOVED AND COMPLETELY REINSTALLED ALL OF THE PIPES IN MY BATHROOM.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Closets By Design - East Michigan

    Since 1982 Closets by Design designs has built a reputation of integrity as the industry leader in building custom closets, garage cabinets, offices, laundries, pantries and much more. With a wide selection of finishes, accessories and hardware, you will get the customized look you have always imagined. We are committed to quality from the beginning to the end of your project and look forward to earning your business. We also offer Financing!  

    Angi Certified

    Somerset Painting & Professional Improvements

    Somerset Painting and Professional Improvements is an Angies List Super-Service Award-Winning Michigan-based company that specializes in both residential and commercial improvements with over 39 years of experience. Check out our video on our website! Award winning. Additional email - naomi@somersetpainting.com.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Nikola Painting

    Specializing in Interior/Exterior painting, epoxy floor painting, and small drywall jobs.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Remodeling & Renovation

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc

    How is Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc overall rated?

    Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc open?

    Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc provide

    Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

    Does Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc?

    No, Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc offer?

    Bond Bilt Home Improvement Inc offers the following services: Remodeling & Renovation