Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

CJB Pest & Mosquito Control

4.8

(212) Verified Reviews

Founded 1930 • With Angi since June 2010

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
630207
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

24407 Halsted Rd

Farmington Hills, MI 48335

http://www.cjbpest.com/
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Any interior work done has our techs wearing disposable gloves, filtered masks, face shield, and boot covers. No signatures required. Payments made over phone with office or with standard safety pre-cautions when given to techs on site.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

At CJB Pest and Mosquito Control we provide over 85 years family experince combined with exceptional service. Our knowledgeable staff and state certified technicians will not only provide you with the best options to eliminate your problem, but focus on informing you, the home/business owner on how to help prevent future problems in your home or business. Detailed inspection reports and environmental recommendations are provided with most services. Proper pest control treatment for your home or business is an investment; you want a company who will be sensitive to your needs as a home or business owner. Our family will treat you like family. We provide only the best in pest elimination and preventive programs....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(212) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

186

4

9

3

9

2

3

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

pest control (202)gutter cleaning (2)animal removal (45)
Showing 26-50 of 212 reviews
5.0

07/22/2019


Sarah S.

Great, hired them after they did a great job on pest control, and their estimate on gutter cleaning was very competitive. Then, after they did the work, they determined their estimate had been too high and they lowered the price. That was amazing. Definitely recommend.

Description of Work
Gutter cleaning

Category gutter cleaning

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2019

5.0

07/22/2019


Sarah S.

Great treatment, thorough, very professional. Came back as promised and addressed an area that still seemed to be a problem. Note you as the homeowner have to follow their request to fill out an inventory after the first treatment, in order to see if / where there are continuing problems. This is in your best interest so that they can continue to help you. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Carpenter Ant treatment

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2019

5.0

07/19/2019


Lori W.

Came home to an ant trail outside our home, crawling up the brick and under siding. Called and they had someone come out promptly. Sprayed around entire inside/outside of home. It's been over 45 days and, fingers crossed, have not seen another ant. Appreciate their timely response and professionalism. They also called after 30 days to follow up.

Description of Work
Ant eradication

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2019

5.0

07/18/2019


Laura D.

CJB is awesome. We've used them multiple times over the past two years to get rid of mice and ants and also to spray our yard yearly for ticks and mosquitoes. They also came back multiple times to eliminate wasps that somehow got into our family room. Not an easy job, as it turned out, but CJB figured out the problem and we haven't seen a wasp in months. All of the techs have been very knowledgeable, friendly, and willing to go the extra mile to get the job done right. I wouldn't dream of hiring anyone else to exterminate on my property. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Pest control for mice, wasps (inside and outside of our house), ants, ticks, mosquitoes

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2019

1.0

06/26/2019


SHAWN Y.

Contacted the business through yelp for rates on removing bedbugs. Was told it would cost $595 with a 90-day guarantee after the second application. Paid them had someone come out and spray 2nd application two weeks later then the **** began. Two weeks after the 2nd application we found a new adult. So we called to have them fulfill the guarantee. The said they it would take them another week to come to spray. No big deal but since the bed bugs could multiply at a fast rate I had a ton of concerns. They came they sprayed they left. The house was not inspected and they only treated the main room nothing else. A week went by and I found another adult. Makes sense due to the fact it 3 weeks to get the third treatment and the 2nd application had to be done no more than 2 weeks after the first. So we called again asked what we could do differently. Explained what we were doing. We told we were doing what we were supposed to but they would get it handled. OK sure let's get it done. :) NOPE sent another tech out he told us to have our kids change at the door after school because they are likely coming in from somewhere other than the home. HMMM? Ok we'll try that. We found new adults in the traps last week just called them again asking if these bugs could be resistant? If there were any alternative treatment options and was told it I would be called back after he spoke to the owner. When I was called back I was told would be another $200 for them to come out again. Mind you we started this in at the end of March the 2nd application wasn't in April and it's June so not even 90 days. They were once again claiming that the bugs must be coming from somewhere other than my home. They claimed the house was inspected during the last spray which was a lie since he just came in and sprayed while I stood there and talked to him. When I pointed out that it had not been 90 days he became increasingly hostile with me claiming this whole mess was not their problem and though they were not fulfilling their guarantee that it was not a breach of contract and I needed to pay them $200 for them to come to spray again. Which was not what I asked for in the first place. All in all, I would never hire this company. They do not seem to know what they are doing. They show up sometimes an hour after they are supposed to get to the home and their guarantees are a lie to get your business. It's sad really. Because now I have to find a new company and find more money to get this taken care of. Why? Because people don't want to back up their promises or word. Wish I could get my money back but it wouldn't be worth the trouble in court.

Description of Work
Beg Bug Removal

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], it really is sick to see a review written on lies. I tried to contact you multiple times to resolve the issue after you spoke to our representative. Even saying we would bring out a Bed Bug sniffing K-9 for you. (at no cost) ...You feel the need to try and spread out your review on 2 different sites. When the truth is you got Bed Bugs back in your trailer after almost 3 months......Bed bugs (if they are still in your home) will continue to bite you because they need it for life-stage development. We did 2 normal applications, came out 2 weeks after for a touch-up application when you requested it (which, i'm sorry, in the middle of MAY of peak season when we are backed up) took a week to get out. From that day it was 7.5 weeks until you saw a bed bug (in a trap that we set up under your bed frame to catch NEW bed bugs trying to crawl up) There is NO WAY bed bugs are going to sit dormant for 7.5 weeks not biting you or being somewhat visible. I know the truth is hard for some people......but you had them re-introduced into your home. We stick by our Guarantee and have eliminated THOUSAND'S of homes with problems. I am sorry you got them back, we would of done a full treatment again for minimal cost, but you wanted to tell lies and not accept my offer of getting a K-9 out for you and doing a full retreat at cost.
2.0

06/12/2019


Jim B.

The person came out on time. He was was very professional. Went in the attic found the raccoon. He called his boss and was told that they were to far away to trap it. I talk to the boss and she told me that I had said it was Bats or Mice which I never did because I had no idea what was making the noise. Since it was not bats (which I have now learned pay big bucks to get rid of) which they would come back to get rid of. They gave me a bill for 99 dollars and who to call to get rid of it. So please make sure you live very near this company before you even think to use them because they will gladly come out and gave you a bill and not do the job.

Description of Work
to trap animal in attic

Category pest control

Cost $99

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], That is correct.....we came out on time, were professional, and informed you of what you had and where they entered. On the initial call you said the noises were LIGHT SCRATCHING at night. Raccoons make heavier noises and scratching. So from what YOU told us, it fell in line with either mice or bats. At the time of service (Early June) we were to overwhelmed with work to take on any other trapping jobs because they required IMMEDIATE attention once the animal was caught (within 24 hours) and we could not promise that. THAT is why we couldn't trap for you. I am really sorry about that, but i did not want to risk an animal dying in your attic or on the roof. So if you want to leave this review after we did everything right, informed you of your problem, and what needed to be sealed, only we couldn't do the trapping for you, i find it in HORRIBLE taste. When speaking on the phone, i can't say 100% that it is one thing or another until we get in the attic. You should be aware of that. So i will just leave saying this........If you wanted us to be dishonest and trap for you risking that it could die and cause bigger problems, i dont want to do work for you.
5.0

11/13/2018


Pam W.

I am a repeat customer of CJB because they are extremely thorough, honest, and reliable! My recent experience involved making repairs to prevent mice from getting into my house. Not only did they provide a very reasonable quote, but the actual cost was less than anticipated because they discovered that some of the repairs were not necessary! I have utilized their services for a variety of services and have never been disappointed.

Description of Work
Mice extermination and outside house repairs to prevent further infestation.

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2018

5.0

11/05/2018


Carol S.

They are always very informative and helpful. They have even taken a minute to caulk a spot for us. Anytime we had a question or concern they were quick to answer. They do what they say they will do on time and for a fair price.

Description of Work
We schedule them every spring and fall-complete outside house and landscape.

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2018

5.0

10/31/2018


Suzanne S.

Within 48 hours of contacting CJB Pest, its service technician, Josh, performed a professional and thorough evaluation of how the mice were entering my dwelling. He also set bait throughout my home to kill the invaders. Also, the cost was significantly less then what was quoted by other pest control companies. I am very happy with the service and highly recommend this fine company.

Description of Work
Eradicate mice from my home

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2018

5.0

10/29/2018


Yasmin S.

The team was very responsive, on time, and answered any questions or concerns I had, even weeks later. Would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Annual insect spray

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2018

3.0

10/15/2018


Matthew P.

Had a tri-seasonal contract; spring, summer and fall sprays. This company has been to my house 5 times. They have been great until today. Had an appointment scheduled from 1-2pm on a Monday. Received an automated call Sunday night saying my appointment was at 11am instead. I was taking time off work and couldn't be home at 11am. Called first thing Monday morning and was told they had 2 guys call-in and had to change my appointment time based on logistics. Nothing they could do about it. Maybe a "C" rating was too hard for one scheduling change, but just felt they didn't think about my schedule at all. Everyone has busy lives and not enough time for an extra 2-3 hours waiting at home for their appointments.

Description of Work
Pest Control / Extermination

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], To say we told you "nothing we could do about it" is completely false... ... Our schedule is set by appointment. So when we had 2 technician's out (called in sick) one of which was the technician scheduled for your home, we try our best to move a few things around so we get there at the appropriate time. We know our customers time is valuable, (that is why we book with 1 hour windows), and i try my best to make that happen. I could of easily moved another 1 or 2 jobs around to make sure we got out at the time you needed (due to taking time off work) if you would of given us that chance, but you just cancelled when we said we were "scheduled" to come earlier. I am not someone who "forces" a time onto ANYONE. We try our very best in customer service (that is why we have over 150 "A" ratings,) We could of ABSOLUTELY come at the time you needed if you let us know about the time off from work. If you were told something different then i apologize, but that is not the way we do business. As you stated in the beginning, we were "great" , so i am sorry this one incident (the exception to the rule) caused you to cancel and put a negative review on this site. When it did not actually reflect the WORK we have done for you. Good luck to you in the future.
5.0

09/15/2018


Cynthia C.

Great, more than one service call was required complete satisfaction

Description of Work
Bee removal

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2018

5.0

09/13/2018


Terri V.

Our home borders a wooded area where the moles have been able to move about freely. Within days of my call, we had an estimate and the first application was applied. We have since had a second application as the moles are determined creatures and two applications are recommended. We also have a larger lot - 1 1/2 acres. Other determined creatures included our two labradors who would dig at the moving tunnels trying stop the moles - dirt would be flying! The activity is down considerably and we are confident will soon be gone!

Description of Work
Moles had invaded our yard, creating tunnels in flower beds and the yard.

Category animal removal

Cost $285

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2018

5.0

08/23/2018


Margaret H.

It was perfect! The service man told me what the process would be and answered my questions. I will definitely call them for pest control. Bees are gone!!!

Description of Work
Remove bee's nest

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2018

5.0

06/29/2018


Jeff R.

Joe was exactly on-time ... to the minute. He was also very professional and thorough, taking his time to cover every square inch of the area where nests typically get built ... and explaining what he found afterward. He also informed us of a few areas where squirrels may be gaining access to the attic ... a new project we'll have to look into. When he noticed that a squirrel had fallen into the pool and drowned today, he even went to the trouble of retrieving and disposing of it for us. Like the others from CJB who have been to our house, Joe did his job very well and went beyond what was expected.

Description of Work
We've been using CJB for mosquito control for several years. This year, we added yellow jacket/wasp inhibitor to prevent nests from being built under the eves of our house.

Category pest control

Cost $230

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2018

5.0

05/08/2018


Denise S.

The service was excellent. They take care of my concerns and get back to me immediately.

Description of Work
They set up a cage to trap some squirrels. The next day, there's actually a squirrel.

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2018

5.0

11/01/2017


Krish A.

They were very responsive. Came out as promised on the day and did a great job. Since hten the bugs in my house have reduced.

Description of Work
We needed external fumigation.

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2017

5.0

10/23/2017


Paul C.

Yellow jacket nest was sprayed from outside of house at the entry point to the nest and killed off. A trap was placed on the roof at the entry point for the squirrels. All squirrels were caught and removed which allowed me to patch up the holes to keep any new creatures from making this their home. CJB personnel were prompt and professional and provided all services requested to full satisfaction.

Description of Work
Eliminate yellow jacket nest in attic. Catch and remove squirrels living in attic.

Category pest control, animal removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2017

5.0

09/11/2017


Vince O.

Chris Haynes is the man! Originally he only came to do a termite inspection but I had a question about a yellow jackets nest that my association started but was dragging their feet to complete it. He said he would finish the job for free. I did not expect that nor did I ask for it! He could have easily take advantage of me but Chris is a man of integrity! He finished the termite inspection and I want Chris to get the proper recognition he deserves! Because of him I will call CJB if I need any pest control needs!

Description of Work
Termite inspection and look at yellow jacket nest

Category pest control

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

08/28/2017


John W.

Chris came out on time, was professional, courteous, knowledgeable and too, the time to thoroughly explain what he did as well as what to expect. I would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Mouse eradication/extermination.

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2017

5.0

08/08/2017


Marsha E.

All went well. Technician informed me what he was doing, what to expect, left 2 bait traps & called back to check.

Description of Work
Interior & exterior of house was sprayed for carpenter ants & other pests.

Category pest control

Cost $385

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2017

4.0

08/04/2017


Marilyn M.

The man who came to the house was extremely knowledgeable, and I valued his information.

Description of Work
Bed bug prevention.

Category pest control