Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Spartan Lawn Care Inc

Founded 2008 • With Angi since April 2007

4.6

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 4882

East Lansing, MI 48823

Description

We specialize in Lawn Care, Landscaping, and Snow Removal, for homes and businesses throughout the Greater Lansing Area. We are rated one of the top Lawn Care and Property Services in Mid-Michigan. We have the experience and are well equipped with qualified staff to handle any size job. Some

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Tom F.
5.0
07/07/2017
Enrique and his assistances did a great job. They were always trying to please us. They were efficient and extremely friendly.
Description of Work
We had old plantings removed and boxwoods and a spirea planted. Additional bark and stone were also part of the job.
Category
lawn service
Frank L.
5.0
06/28/2017
It looks great. The neighbors have asked for Spartan Lawn Care's name and number.
Description of Work
Spartan Lawn Care did a great job. From evaluating our property and responding to our requests to implementation and work, Rusty and his team were consummate professionals. They knew plants and species to recommend that would be deer resistant.
Category
lawn service
Sue S.
5.0
06/23/2017
Great! They responded to my inquiry immediately, came out within a few days to give me a quote, and performed the service as soon as I accepted the quote. They were also very easy to work with as far as "tweaking" the job so that I could save money. In other words, I said that I would do some tasks myself and they took those tasks off the original quote.
Description of Work
I had a small landscape/clean-up job done. This is the third time I've called Spartan to take care of a small job that other companies can't be bothered to do.
Category
lawn service
Lorena V.
5.0
05/11/2017
Very quick and no mess afterwards. Very pleased
Description of Work
2 Bushes trimmed and 2 yews removed.
Category
lawn service
Debbie H.
5.0
05/11/2017
I was very impressed. The crew showed up on time and worked quickly and efficiently. They left my place looking fantastic in only a short period of time. I hire them as my weekly mow service the next day.
Description of Work
Lawn mowing and minor landscaping, gutter cleaning, fall clean up, and bush trimming.
Category
gutter cleaning, lawn service, leaf removal
Jackie G.
3.0
01/31/2017
When the gentleman came to the house for the estimate, he was told we needed the area in front of the house plowed so the mailman could deliver the mail. We decided to have them do the sidewalks also, along with the whole driveway which went out in back of the house. He was also told that they could not take a plow up the driveway past the gate as it was very narrow and they would run the risk of damaging either the fence or the air conditioner compressor. He indicated that was no problem as they had snow throwers to handle that area. The first snow, I went outside to see how things were progressing and found that they had driven the vehicle up the whole driveway and found they had a difficult time trying to turn the truck around to get back out. They were told never to do that again. They also used a small shovel to clean the sidewalk, leaving a narrow path to walk. The second time they came out, I cornered them about the driveway as far as doing it out back and they indicated they would have to use shovels to do it. When asked about the snow throwers, they indicated they had all been taken by the other crews and they did not have one to use. They said if we weren't in any hurry to get out, they would come back later and finish it. That was about 4am in the morning. We waited and waited until mid afternoon for them to return and when it appeared they were not, a neighbor came and finished doing what they should have done. In talking with the two gentlemen that had come to do the plowing, it was apparent that what the original gentleman had been told was never relayed to the crew as they said that what I was telling them had never been put on the card. I decided they were not capable of handling the job and sent them an email that from that point on, they were only to do in front of the house and the driveway out front of the gate. Another snow came and they showed up to do what I had asked, but brought along a snow thrower to do the rest of the driveway, which they were not to do. With the fence, the driveway is narrow and when they were done, the snow was piled along the fence as well as up against the basement wall of the house. With the driveway being narrow to begin with, it left little room to get the vehicle down the driveway. Again I had to have the neighbor clean up after them and they had been told to leave that area alone. Needless to say, it appeared there was a general lack of communication on their end and I sent them another email cancelling anything further with them. I waited and waited for them to send a bill and finally had to call and leave a message that if they we could get a bill to me, I would send a check for what I owed. Amazing, after I left the voice mail the bill was finally sent. I couldn't help but wonder if I hadn't called and left the message on it, when would I have received it. The whole ordeal was not worth it. What a crock.
Description of Work
Have snow plowed from in front of the house, do the whole driveway, and the sidewalks.
Category
snow removal
Rachel W.
1.0
08/19/2016
Performed services not requested, took over a month to send an official contract, and not until after I contested the bill. My lawn did not require a weekly mow especially with it being so small and half burned from the sun. Absolutely rude when dealing with customer service.
Description of Work
Lawn Mower Service
Category
lawn service
Larry H.
1.0
07/12/2016
It took a long time to hear from Spartan. Their quote was a bit more than I expected, but we agreed on pricing and work to be done. After a number of missed service dates, I gave up and did it myself. Disappointing
Description of Work
Cleanup of flower beds and bushes, mulching, tree trimming
Category
lawn service
Vanessa H.
5.0
03/09/2016
They did a great job and were always on time on our scheduled service day.
Description of Work
Lansing Lawn Care did a basic mow and leaf cleanup.
Category
lawn service, leaf removal
Sandra N.
5.0
05/16/2014
We've have had other lawn mowing companies in the past mow the lawn etc. and I can truthfully say that Spartan Lawn Care is the best that we've had. From the time that I first called, to them cutting the lawn was just 1 week. That time included getting the contract and sending it back. The lawn looks wonderful and I'm very pleased with them. I am also signing a contract with them for snow removal. Snow will again be here again before we know it!
Description of Work
They mowed the lawn, trim and cleaned up grass on sidewalks and drive.
Category
lawn service
Suzette T.
5.0
03/06/2014
He was careful not to damage our shrubs while plowing and applying salt.
Description of Work
He snow plowed my driveway and sidewalks. I don't know the price.
Category
snow removal
Joel B.
5.0
02/17/2014
Spartan has plowed our driveway about 8-9 times this winter. They come promptly but they wait until the snowfall is finished. If it is a heavy snow that lasts for hours, they come when necessary to get out of the driveway and then return to finish the job after snowfall is ended. They also will return free of charge after the county plow has filled the end of the driveway if we call and request it. They're careful to avoid damage to the lawn. They come with two men in the truck; one shovels the front walk and around a parked car while the driver plows the heavy snow. We have had three or four other plow services over the years. Spartan is by far the best. My only concern is that everyone else will read this review and hire them, making them too busy.
Description of Work
Spartan plows our driveway whenever there are 2 inches or more of snow for 30 dollars per occurrence, per contract. The charge is 50 dollars if more than five inches of snow.
Category
lawn service, snow removal
Nettie W.
5.0
02/02/2014
It went well, especially when my neighbors reported that while I was away, the provider still cleared my drive and walk. This was important since I had individuals working in my home while I was away.The provider has told me that they will provide salt on my walk if needed but I do not know if that has been done. or if it is extra. I am going to ask them to make sure the curb in front of my mailbox is clear. The mail person will not deliver if it is not. Also, the provider is excellent in returning to make sure the end of my drive is done after the plow trucks leave snow at the entrance. I would like to have an email sent by the provider each time they have provided a service. This can be checked against the bill and the times my neighbors have recorded their services for me.
Description of Work
The provider removes the snow from my drive and sidewalk.. It is done while I am asleep. I like the fact that if I am not disturbed, my neighbors aren't either.
Category
lawn service
Nettie W.
5.0
01/08/2014
Spartan not only communicated with me prior to the service but following completion of the first snow removal to make sure I was a satisfied customer. I was.
Description of Work
I used Spartan Lawn Care.
Category
snow removal
Sam T.
3.0
01/06/2014
Aeration went fine; rolling did not. Company did not disagree (our communication was primarily through email) with my decision not to pay for rolling after second unsuccessful effort and an unfulfilled promise to try a third time again.
Description of Work
Aerate and roll lawn for $160.00 total. Ended up paying for aeration only. See below for explanation.
Category
lawn service
Martha J.
5.0
11/25/2013
Fabulous. Shane came out on several occasions to talk about what I wanted and give his ideas. His workers arrived when they said they would and did a great job. I can't believe how great things looked when they finished. They cleaned up and were very friendly and professional and I would definitely use them again!
Description of Work
They did a cleanup and removal of poison ivy, scrub and vines. Then they put in grass seed, mulch and some plantings.
Category
lawn service
Daniel V.
1.0
07/13/2013
could not make contact duevto non response
Description of Work
I left a message for an estimateband never got answer
Category
lawn service
Benjamin E.
2.0
07/08/2013
Although I'd love to say nice things about these folks, I can't really say anything. I called this company (and others) to ask for an estimate. They promised to call me back on Monday after going past my house to look at the land's layout. They never called me back. Now, Angie's list specifically asks me to review them? They may do great work once you're set up but I don't know anything about that. All I know is that they didn't keep the promise to call me back. I ended up using a different group because they were responsive. They were perfectly polite and nice on the phone though so I don't want to say anything negative about them.
Description of Work
The provider did not "do" anything.
Category
lawn service
jane D.
2.0
06/28/2013
I have used them for snow removal. They did some great, well priced work in my yard last spring. THIS year....the person missed the first appt. because he "entered my phone number wrong" (I should have been in the books anyways) and then he came the next week: I had to call and ask where the estimate was a week later I got it, about $300 mote than I anticipated.....I cut back some items and sent the contract back...waited another week to hear,,then I just canceled. Of course then, I got an immediate letter of apology...but , Im over it.... VERY NICE to talk to though.
Description of Work
nothing this time I canceled see below
Category
lawn service, snow removal
TARA H.
5.0
03/11/2013
When we bought the house the yard was a disaster. Spartan knew exactly what to do to bring it back to a beautiful, "grub free" green...we went from the worst lawn in the neighborhood to the best. They also moved and replanted a number of trees and flowerbeds. You wouldn't know it was the same yard! As far as snow, what little there was this year, was promptly removed and we appreciated that they were very careful around our newly planted shrubbery.
Description of Work
Last summer we used Spartan Lawn Care to repair our lawn and and trees. We were very impressed with their thorough work and timelimess we decided to use them this winter for snow removal as well.
Category
lawn service, snow removal
Sara R.
5.0
01/28/2013
They do an excellent job. They are very conscientious. If they feel like they did something wrong or if you fell they did, they try very hard to make it right.
Description of Work
They did my final fall clean-up and my gutters.
Category
lawn service
Traci Z.
5.0
01/05/2013
Very prompt service. I had an estimate within 3 hours of my inquire.
Description of Work
Fall clean up of multiple flower beds. They also removed a garage full of yard brush, sticks, clippings. In addition, a final mowing for the season.
Category
lawn service
Andrew B.
5.0
01/02/2013
I had the one interaction with Spartan Lawn Care Inc. They did a nice job. They contacted me, being the service provider of the home we purchased, before we got there. So they new the system and I just let them continue the work.
Description of Work
Spartan Lawn Care Inc did the winterization of our sprinkler system.
Category
lawn service, irrigation systems
Harry M.
4.0
12/20/2012
To be honest, their service was a little spotty over the past summer, I had asked them to mow my lawn while I was on vacation for two weeks and it never happened, and they had to come back a time or two after each cleanup to finish things which were on my "to-do" list but did not get completed. When I called to complain they were right out to fix the problem, and gave me a free mow, but it was a little frustrating to have it happen on several occasions, which is why I gave them a B overall, and for quality/responsiveness. With that being said, their prices are very good, and my yard always looks fantastic when they are finished. Shane indicated they'd hired some new staff which had not worked out well in 2012, which is maybe why things seemed to go better in 2011. Snow removal service is good, they're out first thing in the morning on a snowy day, and it's nice not to have to come home from work on a dark & cold night to have to worry about shoveling my sidewalk & driveway.
Description of Work
I'ved used Spartan Lawn Care for spring/fall cleanups since 2011, and for their snow removal service since 2011.
Category
lawn service
Martha J.
5.0
09/24/2012
Shane came to give an estimate and was very nice. They did the work as discussed and did a wonderful job. I would use them again any time. The cost was reasonable.
Description of Work
They cleared an area of dense undergrowth and poison ivy and tree overgrowth.
Category
lawn service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Window Washing Plus

    Window washing, gutter cleaning, pressure washing, Family business for over 19 years. Reliable, Courteous, respectable quality work, at reasonable prices!  

    Angi Certified

    Victory Pest Solutions

    We specialize in relieving you of unwanted household pests! From ants to bed bugs, cockroaches to fleas, stink bugs to wasps, we help you resolve the issue quickly and efficiently. Our desire is for you to feel like family, and to be confident that we will give you a great price and outstanding service. I have been in the pest control industry for 5 years and saw firsthand the unfair pricing and dishonest assessments. This is why I started Victory Pest Solutions, to provide a quality service, at a great price with transparency throughout the process. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    CAP'S Nursery and Landscape

    Since 1970, our family owned and operated company, has been providing our clients with outdoor spaces that are both functional as well as beautiful. Whether you want to update your yard for the summer season or you want your landscape completely redesigned, we can help. Our Certified Green Industry Professionals, will work with you to come up with a cost effective landscape solution that you will love. From brick pavers and walls to water features, plant-scapes and sustainable landscapes, our professionals can Imagine, Design, Create. Maintain. it for you.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Lawn Mowing, Edging, Trimming & Blowing, Fertilization, Weed & Pest Control, Spring & Fall Lawn & Bed Clean-Ups, Mulch, Gutter Cleaning, Lawn Rolling & Aeration, Bed Weed Control, Tree & Shrub Maintenance, Landscape Design & Installation, Power Washing, Retaining Walls, Tree & Stump Removal, & Snow Removal.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Spartan Lawn Care Inc

    How is Spartan Lawn Care Inc overall rated?

    Spartan Lawn Care Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Spartan Lawn Care Inc open?

    Spartan Lawn Care Inc is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Spartan Lawn Care Inc provide

    Spartan Lawn Care Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Spartan Lawn Care Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Spartan Lawn Care Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Spartan Lawn Care Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Spartan Lawn Care Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Spartan Lawn Care Inc?

    No, Spartan Lawn Care Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Spartan Lawn Care Inc offer?

    Spartan Lawn Care Inc offers the following services: Lawn Mowing, Edging, Trimming & Blowing, Fertilization, Weed & Pest Control, Spring & Fall Lawn & Bed Clean-Ups, Mulch, Gutter Cleaning, Lawn Rolling & Aeration, Bed Weed Control, Tree & Shrub Maintenance, Landscape Design & Installation, Power Washing, Retaining Walls, Tree & Stump Removal, & Snow Removal.