Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup

Founded 1935 • With Angi since May 2010

Roto Rooter plumbers in Detroit provide full service plumbing maintenance and repairs and clogged drain cleaning, 24 hours a day. Roto Rooter's Detroit plumbers offer residential and commercial plumbing services that customers depend on for all of their local plumbing needs. Trusted and recommended since 1935, Roto Rooter is the premier provider of plumbing and drain cleaning services in Detroit, MI. Homeowners and businesses depend on Roto Rooter 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Our specialty is emergency services. Your call will be answered by a trained customer service representative who will handle your request quickly and schedule service at your convenience.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
no
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.1

(85) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 85 reviews
Michael N.
1.0
06/23/2016
Scheduled an appointment for Wednesday 6/22. They did not show. Called the office, and they promised to be out the following morning between 8-12. Again, No-Show. Called again and they promised to get someone out. I declined. Would rather work with a company that has better communication, scheduling practices, and lives up to their promises.
Description of Work
Scheduled an appointment for Wednesday 6/22. They did not show. Called the office, and they promised to be out the following morning between 8-12. Again, No-Show. Called again and they promised to get someone out. I declined. Would rather work with a company that has better communication, scheduling practices, and lives up to their promises.
Category
plumbing
Henry W.
5.0
12/12/2015
Cut the rotted gavinize pipe install a boot, reconnected all plumbing.
Description of Work
Repair drain pipe under the kitchen sink.
Category
plumbing
Alison R.
4.0
06/29/2015
Everything went well. The techinican explained to me what the problem was and why he couldn't reaach the blockage from the kitchen sink.
Description of Work
The techinican came out to unclogg my kitchen sink. The problem was actually farther down the pipe and he had to go to the basement to unclog the blockage.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Brent S.
5.0
05/19/2015
I was very impressed with the technician Fred. I had used him previously and requested him for this job. Based on what my tenant told him he identified the problem and was able to quickly correct the problem. He also provided me with useful advice to avoid future issues. I will definitely call Roto Rooter in the future for issues at any of my properties
Description of Work
Fred identified the problem and cleaned out the affected pipes.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Melissa K.
5.0
04/11/2015
We discovered the back up in our basement on a Saturday night and called for service on the following Sunday morning. We received a call within the hour to confirm a technician would arrive between 1-6pm (the representative was very pleasant, I think his name was Andy). The technician Russ arrived within the estimated timeframe (and Andy gave us a heads up he was on his way). Russ proceeded to analyze the situation once we explained the issue, and confirmed it was our main clean out. He explained the various options and prices to clear the drain and we choose to have it cabled with a video inspection, given that we've owned our home for just over a year, we wanted to have the line checked out (thankfully it looked good). Once the line was cleared, Russ offered to have their Water Restoration division give us a free estimate to remediate the minor carpet and padding damage. I received a call from that division (Bill) while Russ was still at our home and later set an appointment. Russ was professional, easy to talk to and clearly explained all of the options and pricing.
Description of Work
Snaked and performed a video analysis of our main clean out.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Travis S.
4.0
04/03/2015
The service technician was very professional. He came within the specified time frame, and resolved the issue within an hour.
Description of Work
Cabled the bathroom drain line from the toilet to open and restore flow. Removed the toilet before cabling, and reinstalled the toilet after the line was clear.
Category
plumbing
ROGER B.
5.0
03/31/2015
I scheduled an appointment for the following day after the problem was noticed. The appointment was for between 10 am and 2 pm. I received a phone call from Roto Rooter almost an hour before the appointment was to begin to let me know someone was coming out. That someone arrived 35 minutes later. I escorted down into basement and explained the problem to him and what attempts I did to alleviate the problem. He explained to me that the gurgling and hissing from the plumbing I had been hearing was most likely due to a partial obstruction located somewhere in the horizontal run of the vent pipe. He first checked the junction point where all three vents meet and had me flush the nearest toilet upstairs. He then had water run through the problem vent, he could hear the water flowing from the junction point which confirmed that it was partial obstruction. The repair guy brought in a plumbing snake with a grinding bit on the end and proceeded to thread the snake though the problem vent. And afterwards, he had me flush an upstairs toilet and fill a bathtub that was connected to the vent in order to flush the pipe. On a side note, during the conversation about the pipes under the basement floor I brought up the subject of the household's sump pump which my family was uncertain was functioning because no one in the household had ever heard it operate before in all the years we have lived here. A few minutes of inspecting and fiddling with the pump's wiring proved that the sump pump was operational. So far, its been a day since the repair and not hearing anything amiss downstairs is sweet music.
Description of Work
The repair guy snaked one of our house's plumbing vents under the basement floor with a grinding bit to clear out an obstruction that was causing a draining problem when a toilet was flushed upstairs.
Category
plumbing, wells, drain cleaning
Steve P.
5.0
03/21/2015
Wonderful. Toilet flushes without backing up, sink drains. No problems.
Description of Work
Snaked a major sewage pipe.
Category
plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning
Avalys L.
1.0
02/23/2015
My sink clogged up on Sunday afternoon. I called Roto Rooter and scheduled an early morning appointment for 10am. Monday morning I called in at 8:30 to verify my appointment, they confirmed and said I would have a call 30 minutes before a technician showed up but everything was good for my appointment. 2pm came and went, I called in again they said they were sorry but they were really backed up but I would be the "next" call in the area. 3:30pm They called and said sorry we can't service you today, how about tomorrow? I demanded to speak to a supervisor, they said none were available but they could take my number for a callback within 2 business days (seriously?). When I asked how they could be so backed up they couldn't service a first of the morning appointment, they had no explanation. The phone scheduler Freddie was incredibly rude. I canceled my appointment and had another plumber from Angie's list out within an hour. Avoid this company ata ll costs.
Description of Work
Nothing
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Lauren A.
5.0
01/20/2015
The service went well, technician was very thorough and cleaned up the bathroom area after completing the work. Also put down drop cloths to prevent from getting new carpet dirty. Since the technician did not have a camera a second appointment will be needed however the technician said they would work with me on the cost of the camera for the next appointment.
Description of Work
Requested service due to drain back-up in the laundry and utility closet. They were able to come out and perform service on the date and time requested. Technician removed the toilet and put a snake down the pipe to determine any obstruction in the line which could cause back-up. No obstruction was detected. Recommended a camera down the line as a next step.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Tom J.
5.0
12/03/2014
Originally scheduled for 12/01 - "late morning/early afternoon". Didn't make it until 12/02. Was on site for approximately 2 hours and worked as stated above. The stopped drain is now flowing great with no issues. price came with a 6-month guaranty on same lines as worked on. Also, left a drain cleaning product to use every other month to help remove buildup in the pipes.
Description of Work
Snaked kitchen sink line through trap. Also cabled kitchen underfloor to main stack.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Mark W.
5.0
10/24/2014
Great Job! We called needing a toilet installed asap and Charlie was there within an hour. He was very professional, put on shoe covers while in the house and described our options. He worked very hard and did a perfect job installing the toilet. The services may have been a little more expensive that other plumbers, but in my experience, Roto-Rooter has always performed well and was worth the extra few dollars.
Description of Work
Installed a toilet purchased at Home Depot
Category
plumbing
Rebecca I.
2.0
09/06/2014
Poorly. First, I want to note that the technician (Marcus) demonstrated a very professional demeanor and worked hard. Unfortunately, he did not have the proper equipment to address our problem, nor was he willing to use the data we had already collected about the issue. The first (small) snake he used reached from the sink part way to the outside access (cleanout). When cleaning this section of pipe did not change our result, he moved outside, and began snaking from the cleanout to the street, ignoring the section of the pipe from the cleanout back toward the house. He said that his equipment would not allow him to reach this area. When this didn't resolve the problem, he packed up and told us that we would get a call the following day to schedule a different technician with a camera, as he believed we had a broken pipe going to the street. Issues: (1) The technician insisted that he start at the kitchen drain, even though we told him that a local plumber had done this a few days earlier. (We called Roto Rooter because that effort had failed to resolve our issue.) (2) The technician did not have the proper equipment to reach the "middle" area where we later found the blockage to be located. (3)) The large snake he used to try to clear the outside pipe was not operating properly, forcing him to continually open the case, pull out a piece of cable, then reassemble the unit to run it. It took hours longer than it should have taken to complete this step. When Roto Rooter called the following day to schedule the camera appointment, we declined. The local plumber returned, snaked the middle section of pipe, and the problem was resolved. The kitchen sink drain continues to operate as expected. (We originally called Roto Rooter because the first plumber's schedule was full.) Roto Rooter is expensive/overpriced. That's a warning, but not my major concern. They're upfront about the cost structure--though not until the technician is on site. (Compared to the $437 that Roto Rooter charged, the licensed master plumber charged $120 and actually fixed the problem!) My real issue is that the technician did not have the tool needed to address the problem in a systematic fashion, and, instead, ACTIVELY WORKED TO CONVINCE US that the next step he was taking--based on his available equipment--was actually the proper step to take. My internal alarm should have gone off when the technician insisted on repeating (and charging for) a procedure that had been done a few days earlier. If not at that point, then when he failed to work his way systematically down the pipe. Instead, I listened to his description of "symptoms" and their probable "causes". Yep, I should have known better. Lesson learned, with some embarrassment. Hopefully this experience will benefit someone else.
Description of Work
Snaked kitchen drain and outside pipe from cleanout part way to street.
Category
handyman service, plumbing, drain cleaning
Janine D.
4.0
03/13/2014
We have used Roto rooter on a few occasions. They always do a great job of unstopping the drain but they gave us a window from 8-5. The window of service was too large and very inconvenient.
Description of Work
Snaked the main drain and trap.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Annele R.
3.0
02/27/2014
Came out for a service call for a slightly backed up sewer which was only happening occasionally. The Roto Rooter resource came out, 'attempted" to run a cable/snake which did nothing. He simply recommended we call a manager for a second opinion but still charged us for a service call and travel. Did not solve anything and in fact we had to call another service provider to come on the same day.
Description of Work
not much.
Category
plumbing
Vassilis J.
5.0
01/07/2014
During the big snow storm I called Roto-rooter for an appointment. They couldn't give me a time for the appointment, but that was fine as I was home all day. Their technician Mitchell snaked the drain 4 times and pulled 4 big clumps of roots, as well as the other company's snake cutter that had fallen in the line. They guaranteed it for 6 months. I was really impressed by his approach and knowledge. He snaked multiple times to make sure it was clear. He was very honest about the variety of options I could pursue with a leaking cast iron drain. I've dealt with dozens of contractors, as I'm renovating a home. He was one of the best.
Description of Work
Snaked out the main drain. Wrote estimates for other work.
Category
plumbing
Valerie J.
3.0
11/19/2013
Originally scheduled an appointment between 5-9pm and they called day of the appointment and rescheduled for the following day which was annoying but not the reason I am giving them this rating. The reason I was having Roto Rooter come out was because I flushed my credit card down the toilet on and it was clogging the toilet. The technician informed me that he was going to have to remove the toilet and snake the card out of the toilet. He made the task sound extremely easy so I was shocked when he told me how much it was going to cost....Almost $480.00. Are you kidding me! it only took him about 25 minutes to complete the job that's like $19.00 a minute. I know it is not the technician who makes the price and since he was so nice it was hard to be mad at him. He is the only reason I did not give them a one star. Overall I felt that I was WAY overcharged.
Description of Work
pull/reset toilet snake credit card out
Category
plumbing
William C.
1.0
08/05/2013
The serviceman arrived with attitude like he was having a bad day and didn't want to be there. I escorted him to the basement and showed him the two cleanouts. I recommended he use cleanout cover on main sewer line as cleanout cover on floor was inbedded in the concrete and looked like it would not be able to be removed. He chose to use the one on the floor against my advice. I left him to it and went to do work elsewhere in the house. He spent less than an hour and gave up without clearing the blockage. He claimed that he couldn't get past blockage and when he brought snake back from sewer that it had clay on it indicating that the pipe was broken and snake went into the ground.He did not clear the clog. Before his attempt the sewer was sluggish and slow but still ran. After he was done it was completely blocked. I was dissatisfied and challenged him but he stood his ground. I went and rented a snake from Home Depot then snaked the sewer myself. I had the blockage cleared in about 15 minutes and was able to run snake back and forth through clogged area several times. The sewer ran fine after that. There wa no sign of clay in it, only tree roots and a couple dryer sheets. The pipe had a slight jog in it but was not broken. In the process I found that he had broken the cleanout cover trying to take it off. Furthermore, he chipped out the broken cover with a chisel or something and in doing so cracked the cleanout pipe. He replaced it with a rubber stopper that was loose and allows sewer gas to enter the house which stinks all the time now. I am now unable to put a proper cover on the cleanout because the pipe is cracked. I called to complain. They were non responsive and said that a manager would call me back. He did not
Description of Work
Attempted to clear main line sewer blockage in my house.
Category
handyman service
Daizel G.
5.0
07/17/2013
The guy seemed to know what he was doing. They are good. We made an appointment and he was late because he was stuck on a job, but he called to inform me.
Description of Work
We used RotoRooter.
Category
plumbing
Janis B.
2.0
04/24/2013
In the past, we had a particular plumber we worked with from Roto Rooter, and he was fair and did good work. Because of the urgency of our problem, we did not think to ask for this particular plumber in this case, and I think that made about $4500.00 in difference. If I had all of this do to over, I think I would have established a relationship with a COMPANY I could trust before a major emergency occurred. I would also have "thought about" the second job a few days before okaying it, especially since there was no imminent problem involved. The Roto Rooter representative seemed friendly and sympathetic and ready to help us with our problem, but I would not want to work with him again because I don't think he had OUR BEST interest in mind.
Description of Work
They unplugged the basement main drain which was a few feet away from the overflowing basement toilet. They claimed that the water that overflowed was sewer water even though it only began to overflow when I took a shower upstairs. They recommended a clean-up company (Johnny on the Spot) which charged an exorbitant fee to clean up a 12' X 12' area and set up large fans for 3 days. They recommended that the main drain be replaced, which we had done a few days later costing about $2900.00. The plumber who did the main drain replacement was courteous, competent, and pofessional, and explained things and answered my questions. Then the person in charge of the work talked me into an additional major job that in hindsight, we did not need. We agreed to have them dig up part of our backyard to replace some of the drainpipe leading underground from our main drain which had a few roots growing through it. He also talked us into having an access pipe installed into the sewer pipe which now allows easy acces at ground level to the sewer pipe in our backyard for any future outside sewer cleaning. This second major job cost about $3500.00. Looking back, this access pipe might be a nice feature, but I hardly think it was necessary since very few roots were in the sewer pipe leading to the city drainpipe. Water jet pressure cleaning was part of this job, and the man who did it said that the rest of the pipe was clear. All of this problem started the afternoon we planned to leave for a much needed and anticipated final summer weekend get-away. The last thing I wanted to do was to stay home and clean part of a water-soaked basement. The cleaning company Roto Rooter referred us to charged approximately $1100.00. We agreed to the backyard work several days later, but soon after started to regret it because the whole incident ended up costing us close to $8,000.00.
Category
drain pipe, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning
Jeffrey F.
2.0
08/27/2012
Just don't call them and go to your local plumber.
Description of Work
Shaun (Tech 247) charged my tenant $700 to jet out two sewer stacks one a one-story home and, according to the tenant, was only at the house for about 30 minutes. The end result was good, no more gurgling in the bath tub when the toilet is flushed, but the price charged is nothing less than outrageous. Tenant has been advised that Roto-Rooter is no longer acceptable. According to my tenant, Tech arrived about an hour late on the first trip to the house and was less than professional. Grades provided, except price, are my tenant's review of the service.
Category
sewer cleaning
CHRISTINE M.
1.0
11/08/2011
Roto-Rooter would not give a price estimate over the phone for the cleaning of a 2nd floor shower drain and our main basement drain. The customer service person told me that they did not have access to the price list and that only the Roto-Rooter technicians had the price lists. I asked if a technician could call me to discuss pricing. She said that technicians only make pricing available once on-site. The customer service representative also told me that we would be charged a service call for a technician to come to our house. Basically, the only way to find out how much Roto-Rooter will charge for different jobs is by paying the service call fee. If you don't mind not knowing how much a company is going to charge you, then good luck with Roto-Rooter. Based on my internet research, Roto-Rooter tends to gouge customers. Transparency is best. Many companies on Angie's List have flat rates for services and will tell you these rates over the phone. Avoid the Roto-Rooter franchise and hire your local plumber to do the job. Try Jim Peterson Plumbing or Gregger Company. With these firms, you know you're getting what you pay for and you can trust the plumbers because they actually own their company. Both have "A" ratings overall.
Description of Work
Roto-Rooter would not give a price estimate over the phone for the cleaning of a 2nd floor shower drain and our main basement drain. Roto-Rooter would only make pricing available once a technician was on-site. Once a technician is on-site, you must pay a service call fee.
Category
plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning
FONTAINE F.
4.0
09/07/2011
They work was fine but I thought they were very high priced. They also charged me a travel fee of $29.99
Description of Work
They installed a faucet in my kitchen I had already purchased.
Category
plumbing
Cheryl D.
5.0
06/13/2011
We had Roto Rooter come out twice, thus the $625.00 between the two calls. We were having construction done. The same day the construction crew started digging the footings for our new addition, we experienced unusual weather -- extremely heavy downpours. Later that day our one and only bathroom backed up. (We have no basement, small house, one level). No one could tell at that time that the construction crew had broken the sewer line. I finally called Roto Rooter to come out and snake and scope the sewer line. Keith came out and was very professional (although a bit dirty -- could have used a hand washing). He dealt with my "freaking out" because of the raw sewage in my bathroom (The bathroom backed up while I was giving my 16 month old daughter a bath). Keith had to drag his nasty equipment into my house - I was prepared though and so the mess was minimized. He found the problem and was extremely accurate in finding out exactly where the break was (actually two breaks). The construction company was called to come out and fix the break and we were back in operation by the end of the following day. Thank you Roto Rooter -- esp. thank you to Keith and to Sam Delli who is the owner of the store. We appreciated your service and your professionalism. Keith went the extra mile and beyond for us. The second time we called him out, after the break was fixed, to scope and make sure the pipe was in good shape, Keith had to climb onto a ladder that was sitting in a big trench in order to get to the outside cleanout we had installed. He almost fell in. We really put Keith through the mill, so to speak, but he still performed his job with a great attitude and courteous professionalism.
Description of Work
Snaking and scoping our sewer line during the first visit. Scoping the sewer line during the second visit.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Daniel F.
1.0
06/07/2011
They dug a giant hole in our front yard and wanted to take out a buried septic tank. They were going to charge us $10,000 for that. Their workers are trained to rip off people. It is part of their program to prey on senior citizens. A city official came over and said that the septic tank did not have to be removed and that we did not have to pay them a dime. They said it was not the law or the rule. Roto-Rooter tried going round and round with us, but I told them that if they did not give us our money back then my daughter who works for a news channel would love to do a story. They promptly gave us all our money back. We had paid them a couple of hundred dollars a couple of weeks before. They had come out, but the problem still continued, so they got a couple of hundred dollars off of us. I tell everybody I run into not to use them.
Description of Work
We used Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Drain to fix a problem in the basement. They told us that we had to remove a septic tank off of our front yard and across our driveway. They said it was the law.
Category
plumbing

Phone

Address

422 W Congress st Ste 330

Detroit, MI 48226

Other Information

Services offered

Residential & Commercial Plumbing, Drain & Sewer Cleaning, Faucets & Sinks, Toilets, Showers & Tubs, Waterlines, Pipe Work, Water Heaters, Septic Tanks, & Video Camera Line Inspection

Payment options

American Express
Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa

FAQ

Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

No, Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup does not offer free project estimates.

No, Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup offers emergency services.

Yes, Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup offers warranties.

Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup offers the following services: Residential & Commercial Plumbing, Drain & Sewer Cleaning, Faucets & Sinks, Toilets, Showers & Tubs, Waterlines, Pipe Work, Water Heaters, Septic Tanks, & Video Camera Line Inspection

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Hawkins Home Improvement

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Hawkins Home Improvement

Jack of all trades  

All Type Landscape Co

5.0

(56)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

All Type Landscape Co

Over 46 years of operation in Outstanding Landscape design, Paver's, Hardscaping, Retaining walls and Drainage Systems, installations. All Type Landscape was founded in 1979, 41 years ago with one goal in mind - to provide full range superior landscaping services, including landscaping, hardscaping and drainage solutions, all at affordable rates. Our company has grown over the years from a few person operation into a full staff of professionals able to meet your every landscaping needs. We are dedicated to building long term relationships with our clients by providing the highest standard of quality on each and every project we do. Our reputation for customer satisfaction in the S/E Michigan area is what has made All Type Landscape an award winning customer service company.  

At Icon Restoration & Construction we understand the emotional trauma and financial burden you experience at the onset of your personal or business property disaster. We are committed to providing you with the quickest response time. Our team of construction experts are dedicated to completing your project, large or small, with quality results, on time. Fast service is paramount in every phase of the restoration process, from roof covering to board-ups, water extraction to cleaning and deodorization. We are a full service reconstruction company dedicated to providing unmatched performance and quality. We implement the industry's most sophisticated estimating software, inspection instruments and construction equipment available. We provide you with a 5 Year transferable guarantee on all materials and workmanship we provide. We will work diligently with you and your insurance provider to get you back in your home as swiftly and seamlessly as possible.