Wolverine Custom Painting LLC

About

Founded 2002 • With Angi since January 2013

Wolverine Custom Painting L.L.C. is a growing business located in the heart of Washtenaw County. Established in 2002, Wolverine proudly calls Ann Arbor, Michigan it's home. We are definitely not your average painting company. Every member of our team carries with them 20+ years of skilled trade experience, some in multiple disciplines. Our collaborative partners include a Structural Engineer, Architect/Interior Designer, Plumber, Electrician & HVAC Mechanical contractor all of which are Licensed in their respective fields of expertise. We believe that quality is not an act, it is a habit! Wolverine Custom Painting L.L.C. merges your vision with our quality. In addition to Painting we specialize in Kitchen, Bathroom & Basement remodeling projects. Our unique process of contracting opens the door to savings for all clients, cushioning their budget, thus allowing them to maximize renovation potential while maintaining attention to detail. At Wolverine, communication, customer service & catering to the special needs of each client is a priority. Our goal is to provide a safe, cleanly & well-organized project environment while providing a high quality of craftsmanship. With over 27 years of experience in the building trades we stand behind the work we perform and have the references to back it up. We purchase our building & remodeling materials locally from trusted suppliers and small business'. As often as possible, our company utilizes environmentally friendly green building & reclaimed materials, Top-Grade Low VOC, Zero VOC & LEED approved primers, paints & finishes. * Hourly & Day Labor rates are available upon request....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+151 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(65) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

60

4

3

3

1

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

interior painting (46)handyman (19)woodworking (17)drywall (17)countertop installation (16)house painting (14)door installation (9)home remodeling (9)general contractors (8)pressure washing (5)plumbers (5)tile installation (5)
Showing 1-25 of 65 reviews
5.0

12/16/2019


sara D.

This is the third project Doug has done for me. Working with him is a pleasure. He is honest and his workers are competent and professional. They take pride in their work and the finished project always reflects that!

Description of Work
Interior painting of finished basement, new bathroom sink installation.

Category drywall, handyman service, plumbing, woodworking, interior painters

Cost $4,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/21/2019

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking your time to review our company here on Angie's List. You are a pleasure to work with as well. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you for choosing Wolverine as your contractor! - Wolverine Team

5.0

06/19/2019


David S.

Wonderfully well, I feel proud again! Doug Fox and his crew were professional, kind, and respectful. and knowledgeable. I highly recommend and WILL hire them again!

Description of Work
Replace my failing and dangerous deck

Category contractors, decks, handyman service, interior painters

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2019

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking your time to review our company here on Angie' List and for your honesty throughout the process as well. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. Our team welcomed the challenges your deck project presented them and they enjoyed working for you every step of the way. We are certain that you will enjoy our work for many years to come. Thank you again for choosing Wolverine as your contractor! - Wolverine Team

5.0

03/02/2019


Colleen A.

The last windstorm successfully removed one strip of my aging aluminum siding, right up at the roof line of the second story. I was too chicken to get up that high and attempt a fix, and was concerned about getting a pro to help with such a small job. I called Doug at Wolverine, and he was able to make some room in his schedule and get someone out the next morning to help me out. They were able to put the strip back where it belongs, and I can’t even tell that it came off. The added bonus was that the fix ran me a lot less than I anticipated. I’ll add Wolverine’s number to my go-to list.

Description of Work
Repaired aluminum siding

Category siding

Cost $125

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2019

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking your time to review our company here on Angie's List. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you for choosing Wolverine as your contractor! - Wolverine Team

5.0

01/10/2018


Doug S.

Our main project work was performed in April and May 2017 with some subsequent work after we completed a new master bath in January 2018. The drywall repair phase in 2017 encountered unforeseen issues due to improper work done by a contractor used by the previous owners. While the cost of the project increased accordingly, Doug Fox (owner of Wolverine Custom Painting) was particularly good with clear communication and transparency as we expanded the project scope. The Wolverine craftsmen that performed the cabinetry, drywall and structural/fastener solutions for high ceiling drywall features were extremely thorough and skilled. The painting crew were excellent and took great pride in their work. Given the unusual nature of this home (in a Frank Lloyd Wright tradition) we are extremely pleased with the end result that highlights the barrel ceilings and interior features of this beautiful home. Wolverine Custom Painting was a 'one-stop shop' for us that exceeded all our expectations.

Description of Work
A complete repair of drywall and painting of the entire interior of our newly purchased Arts and Crafts style house built in 1998. Very challenging and expensive project due to extensive drywall repairs required for second floor of the house (2nd floor rooms finished in 2012 but drywall not installed properly). First floor has multiple levels and barrel ceilings that also presented challenges. We selected Wolverine Custom Painting since they had an experienced team of painters and craftsmen that could address all our drywall, cabinetry and painting needs.

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, woodworking, interior painters

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking your time to review our company here on Angie' List and for your honesty throughout the process as well. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. Our team welcomed the challenges your home presented them and they enjoyed working for you throughout every step of the project. We are certain that you will enjoy our work for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you again for choosing Wolverine as your contractor! - Wolverine Team

5.0

01/10/2018


Joy A.

We had Doug and his crew re-grout cracks in our shower and they were phenomenal. We had Doug come for an estimate and he was very knowledgeable and thorough. He even researched the brand of our old grout that was used (previous owners) so he was familiar with the suite of products and purchased additional products (colorant and sealant) for us to use after they re-grouted. The new grout and caulk look great and he walked us through the application of the additional products and even offered to assist with any questions as we used them. Doug worked with us to make the project cost effective and was in continuos communication with us regarding the project between the time of the estimate until after the project was complete. I would highly recommend Wolverine Custom Painting for any home projects, they go above and beyond. They also do more than painting :).

Description of Work
Repair cracked grout in shower and caulk

Category handyman service

Cost $257.51

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2018

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking your time to review our company here on Angie's List and for your honesty throughout the process as well. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you for choosing Wolverine as your contractor! - Wolverine Team

5.0

11/06/2017


Les B.

Excellent. Highly recommend. Honest and dedicated. Quality workmanship.

Description of Work
Primed, calked and painted shed. Also performed various carpentry repairs and painting.

Category contractors, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/26/2017

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking your time to review our company here on Angie' List and for your honesty throughout the process as well. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you for choosing Wolverine as your contractor! - Wolverine Team

5.0

10/06/2017


Deanna L.

Doug and his entire crew are so pleasant, professional, tidy, respectful, and fun to work with. Our house is absolutely gorgeous and we are so thankful for the attention to detail as well as the patience and understanding while working around our sometimes chaotic life.

Description of Work
Our entire house exterior was attended to by Wolverine Custom Painting. The house was power washed. The trim, caulk, gutters, and fence were repaired and/or replaced. All the siding, trim, doors, shutters, and fence were painted.

Category contractors, gutter cleaning, gutter repair, handyman service, pressure washing, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2017

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking your time to review our company here on Angie' List and for your honesty throughout the process as well. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. Our team was delighted to transform your home's exterior into a gorgeous space that you will enjoy for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you for choosing Wolverine as your contractor! - Wolverine Team

5.0

09/19/2017


Norma G.

We have been using them for about 6 years. They are very skilled, professional, trustworthy, and honest. They are also very responsive to our needs and are very courteous and friendly.

Description of Work
They repaired a few retaining walls and decks. They also touched up some painting and caulking on a few different buildings.

Category deck cleaning, house painters

Cost $2,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2017

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking your time to review our company here on Angie' List and for your honesty throughout the process as well. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. We are certain that you will enjoy our work for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you for choosing Wolverine as your contractor! - Wolverine Team

5.0

09/19/2017


Mike H.

Doug Fox and his team are busy because they are good! Any question or change before and during the project was addressed immediately, professionally and successfully.

Description of Work
After initially hiring Wolverine Custom Painting, LLC for an interior finished trim installation and painting project that went very well, I then booked them for home window and siding replacement and whole house exterior painting. We really valued the attention to detail; A+

Category contractors, picture framing, handyman service, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2017

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking your time to review our company here on Angie' List and for your honesty throughout the process as well. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. Our team welcomed the challenges of your project and we appreciated the opportunity to perform quality work to the interior & exterior of your home. Our team enjoyed working with you throughout every step of the project. We are certain that you will enjoy our work for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you for choosing Wolverine as your contractor! - Wolverine Team

5.0

09/02/2017


Kristene D.

I contacted Wolverine Custom Painting in the spring to discuss my project. Doug came to my home and we walked through all of the tasks that needed to be done including pressure washing, making repairs, and painting/staining. He was very thorough and took the time to help me understand that there was more needed than I originally expected, especially due to how long it had been since the last painting/staining. I received his quote in a timely fashion and he was quick to answer the questions that I had. I understood when I signed the contract that I would need to wait until summer for the job to be completed. The job was started the end of July and took about a week and a half to complete. Doug and all of the workers were professional, friendly, and informative throughout the project. Because this company could provide a wide range of services, it made it easy for me. I was especially impressed by the work done to prepare the buildings for the staining/painting. Everyone was careful to work around the landscaping and kept the area clean each day. The quality of the final product is excellent - my home looks better than it ever has before. The cost was high but well worth the final results.

Description of Work
I needed to have my garage and house painted including making repairs.

Category contractors, handyman service, pressure washing, house painters, doors

Cost $11,285

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2017

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking your time to review our company here on Angie' List and for your honesty throughout the process as well. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. Our team welcomed the challenges of your project and we appreciated the opportunity to perform quality restorative work on the exterior of your home. Our team enjoyed working for you throughout every step of the project. We are certain that you will enjoy our work for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you for choosing Wolverine as your contractor! - Wolverine Team

5.0

08/27/2017


james R.

We decided to you someone else to do the job

Description of Work
They came over and gave us some ideas and an estimate

Category home remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing our company and for your honesty throughout the process as well. We hope that the project is a success! Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects and thank you again for choosing Wolverine to consult with you about your remodeling project. - Wolverine Team

5.0

08/27/2017


Amy S.

Excellent! Doug was very helpful in assessing the space and suggesting quite a few leads for us to follow up. We hope to continue working with him as this project develops.

Description of Work
Consultation on adding a shower to an existing half-bath.

Category remodeling, home remodeling, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your recent review of our company and for your honesty throughout the process as well. We are pleased to hear that the consultation for remodeling was a success!. We are looking forward to working with you throughout every stage of the project. - Wolverine Team

5.0

08/17/2017


Jeff S.

They were timely, punctual, and professional. They were careful about not impacting other areas of the house. The job looked great when they were finished. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Drywall, handyman services, painting, restoration. Doug and his crew repaired interior damage from aroof leak.

Category drywall, handyman service, woodworking, interior painters

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2017

Service Provider Response

The team would like to thank you for your recent review of our company. We appreciate your honesty throughout the process as well. It was our pleasure to repair the areas of your home that required attention. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects and thank you again for choosing Wolverine as your contractor.

5.0

08/14/2017


Amy S.

This was an excellent experience. Doug listened carefully to us, answered all of our questions, proposed multiple ideas and options, and had the opportunity to explain his business model and identify his subcontractors and vendors. The consultation was well worth the value!!

Description of Work
I did the consultation offer, which was really helpful. We want to remodel a half bath on the lower level to create a full bath and in-law suite. I looked to Doug for help in identifying next steps and who to consult next.

Category home remodeling

Cost $49

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your recent review of our company and for your honesty throughout the process as well. We are pleased to hear that the consultation for remodeling was a success!. We are looking forward to working with you throughout every step of any future projects. Thank you again for choosing Wolverine as your contractor. - Wolverine Team

5.0

07/27/2017


sara D.

Work was done as promised and exceeded my expectations. Workers were professional and pleasant. I will be hiring this company for future projects.

Description of Work
We had a new patio door wall installed and Doug, the owner, took care of the project from A to Z. They installed a Pella door that needed to be painted as well as replacing the door frame inside and outside. The carpenters, Tim and Jon and the painters, Erick and Joe did a fantastic job! Very pleased with Wolverine!

Category contractors, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors, Uncategorized

Cost $3,346

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2017

Service Provider Response

From all of us here at Wolverine, we would like to thank you for your recent review of our company. We appreciate your honesty throughout the review process as well. We enjoyed working for you throughout every step of the project. It was our pleasure to give the area of your home the attention that it deserved and we are certain that you will enjoy our work for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you again for choosing Wolverine as your contractor.

5.0

06/10/2017


annie R.

Doug Fox and his Wolverine team are the best! They created two gorgeous bathrooms in our home. Doug gave us a fair timeline and a budget, and came in perfectly on both. He is thorough, extremely knowledgeable, and always on top of things. John and Tim were amazing at their work, always kind and ready to answer questions and offer suggestions when asked. Thank goodness they steered us to great paint choices, even though they would have honored whatever we asked for. Errick is a fantastic painter! What we really wish is that we could just have the whole house remodeled and upgraded now, with Wolverine doing all of it! After we save up for a kitchen remodel, we will be in touch with Wolverine to set up the job months ahead. Can't wait to work with Doug and his team again!

Description of Work
remodeling two bathrooms

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, picture framing, lighting, plumbing, wallpaper removal, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, Uncategorized

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2017

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking your time to review our company here on Angie' List and for your honesty throughout the process as well. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. Our team welcomed the challenge of your remodeling projects and we appreciated the opportunity to perform quality restorative work at your home. Our team enjoyed working for you throughout every step of the project. We are certain that you will enjoy our work for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you again for choosing Wolverine as your contractor! - Wolverine Team

5.0

04/08/2017


Ingrid C.

Wolverine Custom Painting exceeded my expectations, in terms of their professionalism, quality, and flexibility. Their estimate was competitive, and their final costs came in under what I was expecting. I feel like Doug was fair and honest every step of the way.

Description of Work
Doug and his team installed baseboard in my downstairs, painted, and did some overall touching up in my house.

Category drywall, handyman service, woodworking, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2017

Service Provider Response

Our team would like to thank you for your recent review of our company. We appreciate your honesty throughout the review process as well. It was our pleasure to give the areas of your home the attention that they deserved and we hope that you can enjoy the quality of our work for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you again for choosing Wolverine as your contractor. - Wolverine Team

5.0

03/28/2017


Stanley W.

Great! they did a great job on everything, in the hallway You cannot see any repair spots in the hallway. The molding looks very good, The painting looks great, The wife didn't like the color in one of the rooms she picked out. They altered their schedule to get it done before they left. I cannot say anything bad about them. In the past 3 years we had two bathrooms gutted and rebuilt, new roof, floors done, new roof, new well, so we have been dealing with a lot of the trades lately. I divide them into 3 types of workers, laborers, tradesmen and craftsmen. Wolverine guys are all Craftsmen.

Description of Work
Painting, molding staining and install. Drywall repair. There was a half wall paneling in both hallways, It was trying to look like wainscoting. I removed right after we moved in. The drywall below this was never finished. I tried to finish it and did an OK job. And painted the hallways but in the right light I could still some patch marks. They refinished both hallways, Installed new stained floor and window moldings in the bedrooms and hallway. We had most of the trim stained, but we ran out and they stained the rest.

Category drywall, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2015

Service Provider Response

The Wolverine team would like to thank you for your recent review of our company. We appreciate your honesty throughout the review process as well. We enjoyed working for you throughout every step of the project. It was our pleasure to give the areas of your home the attention that they deserved and we hope that you can enjoy the quality of our work for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you again for choosing Wolverine as your contractor.

5.0

02/25/2017


Lisa H.

The Wolverine team were very knowledgeable and professional. Doug explained various options, found the color I was looking for, and helped me decide on paint finishes. His team of painters were punctual, friendly and thorough. They worked hard for several days to make sure the extensive drywall damage was sufficiently repaired. They cleaned up after themselves each day so my pets would be safe in the project area. The walls and ceiling that were such an eyesore now look clean and new. Very happy!

Description of Work
Repair and painting of the entry hall, stairway and upstairs hallway of my late-70s house. The walls and ceilings were in terrible condition, with nail pops, patches, chips and cracks in the drywall. Because of the high ceiling in the stairway, this area hadn't been painted in many years (maybe never?) and needed a real rescue. They also did a quick side project for me, replacing the grout caulk between the granite counter and backsplash behind my kitchen sink.

Category drywall, handyman service, interior painters

Cost $3,650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2017

Service Provider Response

From all of us here at Wolverine, we would like to thank you for your recent review of our company. We also appreciate your honesty throughout the review process. We enjoyed working for you throughout every step of the project. It was our pleasure to give the area of your home the attention that it deserved and we hope that you can enjoy our work for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you again for choosing Wolverine as your contractor.

5.0

02/18/2017


Emily N.

Doug and his team were incredible! They were so kind, very knowledgable, on-time, and the work is flawless. Our pipes burst in our kitchen causing a lot of drywall damage, they installed new drywall, color matched our current paint, and painted the walls and ceilings. It looks great and was completed ahead of schedule.

Description of Work
Our pipes burst in our kitchen - requiring new drywall, repair to existing drywall, and painting the kitchen and ceiling.

Category drywall, interior painters

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing our company here on Angie' List. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. We appreciate your honesty throughout the process as well. Our team welcomed the challenge & enjoyed the opportunity to perform quality restorative work at your home. We hope that you can enjoy our work for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Thank you again for choosing Wolverine as your contractor!

5.0

02/08/2017


Phillip T.

Overview My wife and I had Wolverine Custom Painting come in and do a LOT of work on our newly purchased home over. Before having the house painted we had new carpet and hardwood floors installed (in order to keep the dust off the newly painted walls). Timeline Completed in two weeks - Monday through Friday for both weeks with a Saturday in the first week as well. What Impressed Us (1) The quality of the work. The house looks night and day after the fresh paint and when you look at it from every angle there are no drips or drops of paint - completely smooth. (2) The level of detail with the prep work. I know you might consider this a basic for painters but the care they took from day one was impressive and our new carpet and hardwood floors came out just as clean as when we put them in. (3) The flexibility was amazing as well. The scope of work changed from the start and expanded quite a bit based on new discoveries we made between the initial estimate and statement of work and the time they were in prepping. (4) The customer service was great as well. Doug was available anytime to answer a question or workout logistics. Overall we were very happy with the work of Wolverine Custom Painting LLC and Douglas Fox, the owner. We already have a list of items in our head for them to come back and do more work at a later date.

Description of Work
(1) Complete wall repair of the entire first and second floor (~ 2,400 square feet with vaulted ceilings) with EXTENSIVE drywall repair. (2) Painted all ceilings and walls for the first and second floor (~ 2,400 square feet with vaulted ceilings) (3) Hung a new two story entryway pendant light (~12" x 20") (4) Replaced shower heads, scussions, and diverters in two bathrooms

Category drywall, handyman service, plumbing, interior painters, Uncategorized

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2017

Images

Review for Wolverine Custom Painting LLC - 2075 West Stadium Blvd, Ann Arbor, MI - 34430397

+3 More

Service Provider Response

All of us here at Wolverine would like to thank you for your recent review of our company here on Angie' List. We appreciate your honesty throughout the process as well. Feedback from our clients is very important to us in order to continue improving our quality & customer service experience. Our team is very grateful to have been given the opportunity to perform quality work at your home. We hope that you can enjoy our work for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call us for free advice on any future projects. Wishing you good fortune in your new home. Thank you again for choosing Wolverine as your contractor!

5.0

02/07/2017


Robyn H.

The owner and crew (Jon and Tim) were friendly, knowledgeable and straight forward about the work they would be doing. They were on time each day and made sure I was ok with the process throughout. I recommend their work and plan on calling them for future projects.

Description of Work
Wolverine Custom Painting was hired to deal with a structural issue in two rooms at my residence. They replaced and built up what was needed in the crawl space and also leveled the floors in both rooms.

Category contractors, picture framing, handyman service, Uncategorized