Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Magic Broom Chimney Sweeps

Founded 1977 • With Angi since April 2005

We are locally owned and family run. This is our 34th year in this business. There are seven employee's dedicated to the servicing of Pellet Stoves, Wood Stoves & Gas Fireplaces & Logs. We do not sub-contract out any of our work. We send our technicians for training as available and four of them are certified by CSIA.

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(34) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 34 reviews
Lita C.
5.0
04/22/2022
I couldn’t keep the pilot light on to flip the switch for the burner. So called Magic Broom and Blair scheduled me twice for an appointment because of a staff shortage (CoVid/pandemic), but Bryan & Dylan came out and was able to fix/clean my gas fireplace and fix the burner switch. Bryan had the magic touch with the pilot light. He was very thorough with cleaning and repairing. Dylan was most helpful assisting Bryan and determining the right switch at the house electrical panel. Everything was safely and professionally done. If I can’t get the pilot light started for next Winter, I will definitely call Magic Broom for service again.
Description of Work
Gas fireplace cleaning and repair
Category
fireplaces, gas logs
Reisha R.
5.0
09/12/2021
Glenn and Bryan did the impossible. Magic Broom is indeed pricey but they have the expertise, skill, and workmanship none of the companies with more ratings have on Angi. He installed a chimney liner for our 1980s Squire wood stove insert. Other chimney companies said they would have to knock out and replace bricks (which would have been impossible to match) on our interior wall to install it because there wasn't enough clearance to reach their hands in above the stove insert to attach the liner. However, Magic Broom instead knew of a boot adapter that attaches by reaching through the inside of the stove insert instead. They got it done smoothly. Other top rated Angi chimney companies were also telling us that the only other alternative was to buy a new insert which would be smaller to give them space for the clearance above the insert. New stoves hold maybe one log at a time...we did not want to give up our spacious insert which we have built roaring fires! Magic Broom saved us!!!!! As I stated in an earlier review from their initial visit: Better than four other A rated Angie's List companies. I called three other chimney companies to help solve a problem. We have a 46 year old wood stove insert and safety code now requires a chimney liner. Three other companies who are the top rated and most reviews on Angie's List came out and I they could not find a solution on how to attach the liner to the wood stove because their is no clearance above the unit to attach. I was terribly disappointed and stuck with the other companies. One day I stopped in the Magic Broom office and Glenn was a fireplace encyclopedia. He immediately knew my fireplace, unit and solution to provided a solution attach from the inside. This job is more expensive than the other companies but they are more knowledgeable. They started the job today by doing the chimney clean and they treated my unit so delicately and paid attention to details. They had an impressive camera system for their inspection (the other companies showed up with NO cameras for their estimates although it was promised) and I was blown away by the technology and detail with their inspection report. Bryan and Michael were absolutely the best and they will return to do the liner install. Magic Broom should be listed at the top of Angie's List.
Description of Work
Chimney Liner for 1980s Wood Stove Insert
Category
chimney repair
Reisha R.
5.0
12/17/2020
Better than four other A rated Angie's List companies. I called three other chimney companies to help solve a problem. We have a 46 year old wood stove insert and safety code now requires a chimney liner. Three other companies who are the top rated and most reviews on Angie's List came out and I they could not find a solution on how to attach the liner to the wood stove because their is no clearance above the unit to attach. I was terribly disappointed and stuck with the other companies. One day I stopped in the Magic Broom office and Glenn was a fireplace encyclopedia. He immediately knew my fireplace, unit and solution to provided a solution attach from the inside. This job is more expensive than the other companies but they are more knowledgeable. They started the job today by doing the chimney clean and they treated my unit so delicately and paid attention to details. They had an impressive camera system for their inspection (the other companies showed up with NO cameras for their estimates although it was promised) and I was blown away by the technology and detail with their inspection report. Bryan and Michael were absolutely the best and they will return to do the liner install. Magic Broom should be listed at the top of Angie's List.
Description of Work
Wood stove insert chimney clean
Category
chimney sweep
Vonda F.
5.0
10/31/2016
Because of a previous home inspection, I knew the thermopile needed to be replaced. Magic Broom was very efficient and protected the work area from dirt by laying down cloths. They also checked its other components and cleaned the fireplace.
Description of Work
Thermopile replaced
Category
fireplaces
Leanne S.
5.0
11/11/2014
Glenn and Rocco took great care in giving the insert a good inspection. They made some adjustments and replaced necessary components of the fireplace and put everything back perfectly. I will ask for them for future check ups!
Description of Work
Complete inspection and cleaning of our gas fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
Doug G.
5.0
10/22/2014
Due to a draft thru the pellet stove on cold winter days I needed a chimney liner installed to keep the cold air out. I don't use my stove continually in the colder months. They arrived in the first hour of a 3-hour scheduling window and laid drop cloths to protect my floor and carpet. This proved a good idea as their work behind the stove and while cleaning the chimney created a lot of soot. Too minimize the dust they used a shop vac to suck up as much dust as they could. They respectfully answered any questions and explained in detail the work involved. It was clear they knew what they were doing, and had a good sense of humor throughout the install in spite of the rainy day. When completed, they cleaned up the work area and left no trace of them having been here. When it came time to pay it was noticed the written estimate was less than the itemized invoice, and they honored the lower amount without issue. Dealing with Tri County was a positive experience and I'd call on them again.
Description of Work
Tri County Hearth and Patio Center employees Glenn and Rocco installed a stainless steel liner in the chimney for a pellet stove.
Category
chimney repair, fireplaces
Christopher C.
5.0
12/19/2013
Bobby C. Was fantastic. He had a professional appearance in an easy to identify uniform. He was very well informed and answered all of my questions. I will def use them again for all of my chimney needs.
Description of Work
Chimney level 1 inspection
Category
chimney sweep
Brian H.
5.0
09/17/2013
We originally scheduled to have our chimney inspected and cleaned in August so we could take advantage of their out-of-season pricing. We got a call the day our service was to be done stating that the technician would not be able to make it out due to mechanical problems with his truck. We were able to reschedule to September and Magic Broom honored their out-of-season price even though September is considered in-season. Chris was our technician and he arrived on time and was very polite and professional. There was initially some confusion as to what he was supposed to be doing due to the notes in the computer not being very detailed. We were able to get that hammered out pretty quickly. He made sure to protect the surrounding area with a drop cloth. He did a good job explaining things which was really nice since neither my wife nor I are chimney experts (plus this is our first home and we didn't really know what all to ask). He also ran his camera up the chimney and explained various items of interest to me. He said that running the camera up isn't something they normally do for this level of inspection, but I really appreciated that he did it as it helped me to better understand the condition of the chimney in our new home. I did need to wipe down the hearth once the technician left but that took only a minute or two (not really his fault as our hearth is painted white and everything shows). Overall, I was happy with the service and would hire Magic Broom again.
Description of Work
Clean and inspect chimney.
Category
chimney sweep
Charmaine L.
2.0
09/14/2013
I've been getting my pellets from them for years in addition to buying many other products and services from them. On the saturday before labor day they had a sale on pellets so I went and paid for 5 pallets of pellets. I had planned to rent a truck to put all of the pellets on and take them to my property in one trip, but was not able to find a truck to rent. I was able to use a van and take a little bit at a time. I had spoke with Tri-County and explained I would be making several trips which they were fine with since I had already paid for it. I had only been able to get 2 pallets before it was time for them to close and they informed me they would refund my account for the remaining three and I would NOT be able to come back and pick them up at a later date. They promised 5 pallets, hey had their money, everything had cleared and they couldnt wait 1 more business day for me to come and pick up the remaing pallets I had purchased. Everyone I spoke with was friendly and did a fine job but the manager, Steve was very rude and I felt like he just wanted to send me on my way with no regard for customer service.
Description of Work
I bought my pellets for my stove from them.
Category
Uncategorized
Tammy K.
5.0
07/31/2013
Prompt, courteous, and did a good job.
Description of Work
Sweep and spction
Category
chimney sweep
Patricia A.
1.0
03/31/2013
HORRIBLE DAY. RACHAEL SHOULD BE FIRED
Description of Work
I scheduled a pellet stove cleaning 2nd week in March, Rachael scheduled us for March 31. Rachael called March 29th and said they would arrive between 1 and 4 pm. On March 31 of course the guy who is schedled calls at 9:30am to tell us he is not sure when he willget here, we responded we will be here. He complained that RACHAEL had over booked him and he was not happy with her. I did not see why this was our problem. When I hung up I told my husband I bet he never shows! And he didn't!!!! Then I get a call from someone at the store who keeps telling me that the guy who was suppose to come could not get a stove that he had cleaned back in the slot!!!!!!!! of another customer!!!!!!!! That he cannot make our appt. because he is so far behind. This girl was rude and argorant and was arguing with me the customer! Then tells me that RACHAELwill call me on mon. to reschudle. Do these people think I will believe anything RACHAel says? No consideration for the customer at all! Ruined our weekend and what we had planned.
Category
chimney sweep
Mark K.
4.0
03/25/2013
They were just very thorough and clean.
Description of Work
Magic Broom Chimney Sweeps checked our gas fireplace and cleaned it.
Category
chimney sweep
Brad R.
5.0
04/24/2012
Great chimney sweep, have been using them for years. I try to take advantage of their spring savings and not wait till the fall for my annual cleanings. Always on time and they never leave a mess.
Description of Work
Annual chimney cleaning and inspection services.
Category
chimney sweep
Alvin N.
5.0
02/09/2012
Good, but their estimate for a new chimney cap ($900.00) seemed kind of pricey.
Description of Work
Cleaned chimney and inspected fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep
Saramae K.
5.0
01/27/2012
Day of inspection, they arrived promptly at 8:30 am. They inspected both the fireplace and furnace/hot water heater flues as well as the exterior of the chimney and described what work needed to be done. When asked, they explained in detail why the work was required, what needed to be done immediately, and what could wait. The crew was courteous and professional. One of them even took the time to give me instructions on how to set and light a fire in the fireplace when I explained I didn't know how. The work was performed over the first two Saturdays in January. I actually had to leave them alone there as something had come up requiring my attendance. When I got home, they had completed all but the smoke chamber work and that was because they thought they would have to go in from the outside requiring that they remove bricks from the chimney on the outside and they did not have brick with them that matched my brick so they didn't want to do the work until they were sure they had the right brick to replace what they removed. I thought that was very thoughtful of them to want to ensure that the brick was correct. So we rescheduled for them to come back the next Saturday although I again had to be away from the house again because of a prior commitment. They had no problems with this and were even nice enough to use the back door and ensure it was locked before they left. I actually arrived home just as they were finishing. They showed me what they had done as well as a video one had taken before the work to show me the holes inside of the smoke chamber wall that necessitated the work. They also showed me where they had to take out and replace three bricks in the chimney and I could barely tell the difference from the old brick. All personnel were very courteous and professional. They didn't leave any mess in or outside the house. As almost all of the work was inside the chimney or up on top of the chimney, it is difficult for me to comment as to how well it was done but it appears to have been done in a professional manner so I am confident it was done correctly. Before agreeing to the work, I researched the company and what they recommended doing and felt confident given their reputation that their work would be adequate. At this point, I am completely satisfied with the work done and the manner in which it was done.
Description of Work
Chimney inspection in December showed need for repairs that included replacement of liner in furnace/hot water heater flue, repair of chimney crown, tuckpointing, and parging the fireplace smoke chamber with insulated cement. I also had them cap both flues. Work was performed over first two weekends in January 2012.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces
Matthew A.
4.0
09/01/2011
Contacted magic broom via phone and scheduled a chimney sweep and inspection. They answered the phone promptly and were able to schedule me quickly. I called approximately on a Wednesday and they had a Saturday morning appointment which was a plus because I didn't have to miss work. They also offered a 2 hour window, and came right at the beginning of the window so they were very punctual. The technician was polite and professional and from what I can tell was qualified. I have read on Angie's List that some other company's use video cameras to look inside the chimney and also take pictures. This company did not, but then i think it is reasonable to look inside with a flashlight. If you are looking for the report with the pictures and and quot;borescopeand quot; this service did not come with it. If have also had companies check the chimney top using a ladder and I did not observe this company doing that. Overall it took roughly an hour. They did identify that the rear firebrick / refractory panel needed to be replaced due to a crack. I requested that they give me a quote to replace it and the technician took down the information and offered for the company to call back with a quote for the panel. Overall, the service went well, for just the chimney sweep part, but here are my cons. First, it seemed like the price was expensive. In their defense, I did ask over the phone and did accept the 189.00, so it is somewhat not fair for me to knock the price after the fact. But I feel like the price I have paid in recent past has been around 99 to 139, especially during off peak in the season. I was hoping to get a pre-fall special and they didn't have one. They are right down the street from me so I ended up being ok with them because they are close by and I didn't want to hire someone who was going to drive a long distance. If C means and quot;fairand quot; then for price I am giving a grade of C because I think that if I shopped it more aggressively, my previous market research would hold up and the price would be lower. Second, I am disappointed that I didn't receive a quote back for the rear refractory panel replacement. In a previous house a previous company quoted me on the spot for 350$ to replace all of the panels at once and could schedule it the day of the sweep. In my experience this would be my third company over the last 10 years. Basically, I think there are companies that just do sweeping and then there are ones that can do sweeping and repairs. If I had to interview a fourth contractor, I would inquire if they were able to take care of any issues identified on the inspection and sweep to make things easier in the event you do need something fixed. I looked up online how to perform the replacement myself and it doesn't seem like a big deal so I am not sure why there would be any issue getting a price. Bottom line is that if the price was reasonable I wanted to pay a contractor to do it, so to not receive a quote was disappointing. They were extremely responsive answering the phone, scheduling and coming out to do the service, but I would have to rate a C due to the no response on the additional repair work. Overall I am giving a B, coming down from an A for the two reasons mentioned above. I would probably use the company again for just a chimney sweep although I would probably consider using a different contractor if I could find a lower price and they offered more value and services.
Description of Work
routine annual chimney sweep and inspection. Also requested a quote for the rear refractory brick panel to be replaced.
Category
chimney sweep
Dorothy J.
4.0
07/01/2011
They come out every other year. It cost us about $200 a little more when he once had to do the brick work but otherwise to just clean and blow it out it costs us about $140.
Description of Work
I used the service of Magic Broom Chimney Sweeps to repair and clean my chimney sweep.
Category
chimney sweep
KIM P.
3.0
10/04/2010
The person who scheduled the appointment seemed extremely professional and efficient. The technician did a nice job cleaning out the pellet stove and didn't make a mess of the surrounding area which is incredibly easy to do. We had been having problems with the fire pot overloading--the auger would just keep adding pellets no matter what the temperature setting and overload the fire pot to the point that it would completely overflow if we weren't constantly watching it. The tech gave us several ideas for controlling the rate of pellet release and burn. The problem was that we had already tried all of his suggestions, told him so, and he just left it, insisting that the stove was in perfect working order. The cast fireback was also cracked into multiple pieces so we asked if he had or could order a replacement for us. He said that having a cracked refractor was no big deal--despite the fact that hot flyash was building up BEHIND the fireback--but that he would order a new one for us and call us when it came in. We never heard from him again. We will keep using this company simply because they are the only company that works on the brand of pellet stove we have in our region. We are a captive consumers.
Description of Work
A technician came out to clean our pellet stove and look at a problem with the auger overloading the fire pot.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kenneth G.
5.0
08/22/2007
From the receptionist to the actual worker everyone was friendly and helpful. They are very professional
Description of Work
The worker Cleaned my fireplace and chimney.
Category
chimney sweep
Jane & Allen S.
5.0
03/03/2006
Michael is the chimney sweep, and I call once and it's taken care of. I'm a widow; he checks and makes sure that everything chimney-wise is in good condition and working.
Description of Work
They have done annual service on my chimney for years.
Category
chimney sweep
INGRID D.
5.0
11/25/2005
I enjoyed myself. Repairman was very fluent and knowledgeable about the system. He was very professional and took time to answer all questions I had regarding the boiler and heating unit.
Description of Work
Repaired the radiator vent and the A/C pump. Checked on the boiler and repaired the pilot valve.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
SHARON B.
5.0
06/22/2005
TRI COUNTY WAS THE ONLY COMPANY THAT GUARANTEED THEY COULD REPLACE THE FIREPLACE WITHOUT DISTURBING THE HEARTH. THEY WERE FRIENDLY AND INFORMATIVE. THEY WORKED QUICKLY AND CLEANLY. THEIR PRICE WAS ALSO THE MOST REASONABLE.
Description of Work
TRI COUNTY REPLACED OUR EXISTING WOOD BURNING FIREPLACE WITH A GAS INSERT. I WANTED A UNIT THAT WOULD PRODUCE HIGH EFFICIENCY HEAT, LOOK LIKE A REAL FIRE BUT NOT DISTURB THE MARBLE HEARTH ORIGINALLY PLACED.
Category
fireplaces, gas logs
5.0
04/19/2005
THE WORK CREW WAS ON TIME, WELL-EQUIPPED AND POLITE. THE WORK AREA WAS WELL PROTECTED FROM FALLING ASH AND OTHER DEBRIS BOTH OUTSIDE AND IN OUR FIREPLACE AREA.
Description of Work
THEY CLEANED OUT CHIMNEY AND OUT STOVE INSERT VERY EFFICIENTLY AND THOROUGHLY. THE CHIMNEY AND STOVE WERE THEN FULLY CHECKED FOR ADEQUATE PERFORMANCE AND SAFETY.
Category
chimney sweep
RACHEL D.
5.0
04/12/2005
I ENJOY WORKING WITH COMPANIES WHO ARE FRIENDLY AND DO WHAT THEY PROMISE YOU. TRI COUNTY HEARTH GAVE ME AN ESTIMATE OF COSTS AND A TIME FRAME, WHICH THEY ACTUALLY EXCEEDED. THEY ALSO BILLED ME FOR THE WORK BECAUSE I WAS ON VACATION AT THAT TIME.
Description of Work
I HAD THEIR CHIMNEY SWEEP DIVISION TO INSPECT THE DAMPER IN THE FIREPLACE AND THEY FOUND IT WAS A HOME MADE DAMPER AND WAS FAULTY. THE OLD DAMPER WAS REMOVED AND INSPECTED BY THE OWNER. THEY IMMEDIATELY CALLED ME WITH THE ESTIMATE FOR THIS TO BE REPAIRED. A NEW DAMPER WAS ORDERED THAT DAY AND ORIGINALLY I WAS TOLD IT WOULD BE 3-8 WEEKS TO RECEIVE IT. THEY EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS, AS IT WAS RECEIVED AND INSTALLED WITHIN A COUPLE OF WEEKS.
Category
chimney repair
RACHEL D.
5.0
04/12/2005
THE WORK WAS DONE ON SCHEDULE. THE CHIMNEY SWEEPER WAS VERY THOROUGH AND DID AN EXCELLENT JOB OF CLEANING THE CHIMNEY AS WELL AS CLEANING UP ANY AREAS THAT WERE DIRTY AS A RESULT OF HIS WORK.VERY NEAT FOR A VERY DIRTY JOB.
Description of Work
A SAFETY INSPECTION WAS DONE ON THE CHIMNEY AND FIREPLACE. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE BUILD UP OF SOOT IN THE CHIMNEY NEEDED SWEPT. THE CHIMNEY WAS ACCESSED FROM THE ROOF AND ALL AREAS WERE BRUSHED. THE FIREPLACE WAS CLEANED AND VACUUMED FROM THE FAMILY ROOM AS WELL.
Category
chimney sweep

Phone

Address

2475 Old Washington Rd

Waldorf, MD 20601

Other Information

Services offered

Level One Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Inspections, Level Two Chimney Inspections with Video Camera, Reling Chimneys, Crown Repairs, Chase Cap Replacements, Pellet Stove Service, Wood Stove Service

Services not offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Financing Available

FAQ

Magic Broom Chimney Sweeps is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Magic Broom Chimney Sweeps is open:

Monday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Magic Broom Chimney Sweeps accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

Ask Magic Broom Chimney Sweeps for details on free project estimates.

No, Magic Broom Chimney Sweeps does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Magic Broom Chimney Sweeps does not offer a senior discount.

No, Magic Broom Chimney Sweeps does not offer warranties.

Magic Broom Chimney Sweeps offers the following services: Level One Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Inspections, Level Two Chimney Inspections with Video Camera, Reling Chimneys, Crown Repairs, Chase Cap Replacements, Pellet Stove Service, Wood Stove Service

Other Local Pros In Your Area

JJ AIR CONDITIONING LLC

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

JJ AIR CONDITIONING LLC

We can take care of any of your heating and cooling needs. Give us a call or click for a free estimate!  

Su-Coy Heating A/C & Duct Cleaning

5.0

(15)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Su-Coy Heating A/C & Duct Cleaning

Su’Coy Heating, AC & Duct Cleaning, LLC is a full service HVAC contractor located in Washington Metropolitan Area. With 12 years of service, we offer top-notch maintenance and repair service to all makes and models of air conditioners, furnaces, and heat pumps. We also provide residential and commercial installation of American Standard heating and cooling products, the leader of the industry. We are licensed and insured and currently hold an A+ rating with Better Business Bureau.  

Sierra HVAC

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

Sierra HVAC

We provide excellent service in HVAC installation, repair, electrical, and plumbing. We have 24 hour emergency services and our customer priority comes first.