Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington

Founded 1994 • With Angi since August 2008

3.1

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1078 TAFT ST

Rockville, MD 20850

Description

PuroClean, a leader in property emergency services, helps families and businesses overcome the devastating setbacks caused by water, fire, mold and other conditions resulting in property damage. Each of our independently owned franchises pledge to do whatever it takes to respond, restore and rescue

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
John F.
4.0
09/15/2019
Good except insurer was unwilling to pay full cost
Description of Work
basement flood
Category
water damage restoration
RAMIN N.
1.0
12/07/2017
Horribly, took them 5 weeks to get the windows.....lied to me about date it would come. First and foremost i used them because they claim to be a restoration company , I live in a condo association and windows all have to match rest of the community (people who live in areas like this understand ) They replaced the windows but didn't match the color of the rest of the building which is tan...they installed white....I had to hire another contractor out of pocket to fix this. Puro First has been harassing me for a year for the $250 fee which is rest of the payment,They have filed in court to make me pay...I am going to counter sue for the cost it took to have another contractor to fix. These people are liars and cheats...do not trust them, they pay people to give them good reviews , other people in my area have used them and have had same experience.... plenty of other honest contractors out there.Pictures submitted below....white windows my windows which do not match rest of building....next picture neighbors windows which are what all windows in building should look like.
Description of Work
Replace 2 windows
Category
water damage restoration
RAMIN N.
1.0
12/07/2017
Horribly, took them 5 weeks to get the windows.....lied to me about date it would come. First and foremost i used them because they claim to be a restoration company , I live in a condo association and windows all have to match rest of the community (people who live in areas like this understand ) They replaced the windows but didn't match the color of the rest of the building which is tan...they installed white....I had to hire another contractor out of pocket to fix this. Puro First has been harassing me for a year for the $250 fee which is rest of the payment,They have filed in court to make me pay...I am going to counter sue for the cost it took to have another contractor to fix. These people are liars and cheats...do not trust them, they pay people to give them good reviews , other people in my area have used them and have had same experience.... plenty of other honest contractors out there.Pictures submitted below....white windows my windows which do not match rest of building....next picture neighbors windows which are what all windows in building should look like.
Description of Work
2 windows to be replaced
Category
water damage restoration
Vanessa C.
4.0
10/19/2015
It was OK. We actually felt like our old wood laminate floors were a little nicer looking and even glued down a little better. Also, we have a sliding Asian-style screen a couple of inches in front of the glass screen door to the back patio, and along most of the length of this, they installed the wood laminate flooring underneath the Asian screen, so that it went right up to the sliding glass door; however, along one end, they installed the wood laminate so that it stopped at the Asian screen. If you peeked at the space between the Asian screen and the sliding glass door, you could see the cement floor. This seemed sloppy. It's barely noticeable with the Asian screen there, but what if we (or a future potential buyer) wants to remove the Asian screen someday? We asked them to fix it. I thought they might rip out the laminate strips along that edge and do them over, but instead they patched up the unfinished space with very short segments of the laminate. It doesn't quite match the way the other laminate pieces were spaced out, but we decided that it isn't too noticeable and wanted to be done with it. After they installed the carpet, we kept stepping on protruding nails in the doorway. I insisted that we'd never had that problem before, but they were resistant to fixing it. They finally came in and nailed them down enough that we haven't had a problem since. When they were going to replace the kitchen flourescent light, I asked if we could pay extra (above what our insurance would pay) to upgrade to recessed lighting. They were very nice about it but also very resistant to doing this (I think they just wanted to replace everything exactly as it had been before as required by the insurance company so that they could move on to their next job) and briefly talked me out of it...Because they'd just assumed they'd be restoring everything to exactly the same as before, they'd already started on the lighting. True, but BARELY, and anyway it would have been nice if they'd asked if we wanted the same lighting or something different...It would take more time and be more expensive. True, but we were willing to deal with that. Thankfully I recognized that I wasn't happy with the outcome of our conversation in time to run out and insist upon the improvement. I am so much happier with the new lighting. I think if I had just let them replace the old lighting as it was, I would have really been kicking myself later. The improved kitchen lighting was the best thing to come out of the whole experience. It feels so much brighter and nicer in there. People keep asking if we got new countertops, and I say no, just new lighting.
Description of Work
Our condo flooded when our upstairs neighbor's pipes above our kitchen broke. We initially called in another company - the first flood service company that came up in Google when the water was actively crashing down - but our insurance company only works with Purofirst, so they paid the first company for the initial clean-up that they did and switched us over to Purofirst. With our approval, Purofirst boxed up the stuff in our kitchen and living area and moved it out of the condo. Purofirst contracted with Epic Flooring to remove water-damaged wood laminate flooring and installed new wood laminate flooring and carpet. Purofirst took down the cupboards, which were not significantly effected, tore out the drywall underneath, fixed the pipes, fixed the drywall, and rehung the cabinets. They also replaced the oven and kitchen lighting, which had been flooded/broken when the water was coming down.
Category
water damage restoration
Diana P.
5.0
05/12/2015
I would give a wonderful recommendation. They were fantastic and extraordinarily wonderful people. They came right away, just as soon as they had been called. They were just so incredible. I am not sure I would be able to pay if it were not for insurance but they are worth it.
Description of Work
I needed my basement re-done and I called them because there was a septic down there. They cleaned and sanitized the entire basement. They took away all the dump staff that could not be saved.
Category
water damage restoration
Harriet B.
5.0
01/27/2015
.The whole process went very well. The caliber of all the workers was excellent, they knew what they were doing, performed efficiently, and cleaned up thoroughly when they were finished for the day. There were no surprises, except for how well the work was done. The carpets and floors were thoroughly dried; the padding removed from under the carpet, to be replaced with new padding; all of the damaged baseboards replaced and repainted; the vinyl floor in the laundry room replaced, walls painted, replacements made, and the carpet steam cleaned. We are completely satisfied. And apparently the price was right, since our insurance company accepted it immediately.
Description of Work
We had a very serious flood in our apartment: vinyl and wooden floors, carpets, baseboards,almost half the apartment soaked. Purofirst performed mediation, which I now know means getting rid of all the bad stuff, and repair, which means returning everything to the way it was before the flood. It was a huge job which took over two weeks altogether.
Category
water damage restoration
Mary L W.
5.0
08/24/2013
Water got into the wall space between the outer brick wall of my building and the inner plasterboard during the derecho. The presence of mold was detected in the space and so needed to be removed, space dried out and repaired. Purofirst personnel were courteous and competent. The work didn't take long and the staff were very professional. Excellent, I was very pleased with the work performed by Purofirst.
Description of Work
Dried out rain damage in wall, preventing mold from spreading. Replaced plaster board and painted.
Category
water damage restoration
Michele D. B.
5.0
05/02/2013
Good experience. Technician was well informed, courteous able to answer all questions.
Description of Work
Dried dining room ceiling and bathroom floor from water damage 48 hours prior.
Category
water damage restoration
Richard F.
3.0
01/04/2013
The quality of the work is fine. However, there was a lot of disconnect between the mold remediation team and team responsible for making repairs to the house. This caused a considerable delay in the completion of the project.
Description of Work
They removed portions of ceiling that had been contaminated with mold, and they removed the mold from the house. They also made repairs after the mold remediation had taken place.
Category
mold removal
Elizabeth D.
1.0
06/08/2012
Purofirst did remediation/tear out but failed to tear out vanity, molding and sheetrock affected by a water leak. (Unfortunately, I was out of the country and not able to keep an eye on them.) As a result, mold developed. Now they are trying to claim that the mold was pre-existing, and they apparently thought they were going to get me to pay them to fix the problems that they caused. They are aggressive in trying to put back up sheetrock ASAP (before you can know if mold will develop) and came back to scope the repair job after I had said that I didn't want them to do the repairs. When unit owners call contractors whom they already know due to work in our building, the Purofirst guys allegedly harass them for "stealing our work." Purofist was negligent, did unsatisfactory work and shirked their responsibility. Do not allow Purofirst into your home.
Description of Work
The fill valve on my Toto toilet blew out and caused a water leak. Purofirst did water cleanup, some tear out, chemicals, fans and de-humidifiers. I do not know the price as my condo management company paid and has not shared the price with me.
Category
water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

I personally visited the customer in her home to address her concerns after she returned from overseas. We understand that not being present during the water loss and mitigation work being performed in her home can leave one unsure about what happened and/or who to blame, however, I shared dated (timestamped) photos with the customer clearly showing the presence of microbial growth in her bathroom, prior to Purofirst being called to mitigate her unit. The photos were taken by the Certified Technician on the first day of work. We also paid for an Independent Industrial Hygienist to do a site inspection and further investigation, and it was determined that the customer has had, what seemed to be, an on-going issue with a slow leak or similar in her bathroom which caused the mold growth. We are very sorry that the customer is having to deal with this issue, but dated photographs and the Industrial Hygienist's report clearly indicate that Purofirst did not cause this mold problem - we found it, and reported it to Management as she was absent.
Joel P.
1.0
01/03/2010
Their site contact person insisted on a signed contract before beginning work. Would not give an estimate, but only asked for a $300 deposit which seemed reasonable for the scope and area/size of work. When my wife asked what we owed when they were leaving, he said- "nothing". He gave the impression the job was done. He never mentioned there would be a bill. WE WERE SHOCKED WHEN WE RECEIVED A $1900 BILL!($1600 owed). There was probably more time spent preparing the bill than time spent on the job at one time! It is obvious why i was coerced to sign a contract before work was commenced. This was a set up. BEWARE, IT IS MY OPINION THAT PUROFIRST TOOK ADVANTAGE OF THE ADVERSE,INOPPORTUNE, AND HELPLESS SITUATIONi was in. After 6 weeks of discussion regarding the bill they finally offered 20% off the remaining balance. I will pay them because I signed a contract and have no choice, but warn consumers to heed my experience.
Description of Work
A water pipe burst that afternoon. After the plumber fixed the pipe, Purofirst arrived several hours later. They placed 2 fan/blowers and a humidifier. They lifted the carpet and mat to dry, sprayed an anti mold solution. and removed the base board. Two men were there maybe an hour on Friday evening. The damaged area was in a small unfinished closet under that had been mopped by my wife and housekeeper. The carpet area was approximately, 400 square feet. They returned Monday morning, replaced the wet foam matting,replaced the carpeting, removed their equipment and left after no more than an hour and a half, as i was told. The baseboard was not put back in place.
Category
water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

It is unfortunate that our customer felt "coerced" to sign a contract before work begins, but this is standard practice in pretty much any industry when a customer calls for service in their home or property, whether it be repairs, pest control, landscaping, or emergency water mitigation services. Work does not begin until the customer signs the contract (or in this case, a form called *Authorization for Emergency Service* allowing the work to begin. Unfortunately "estimates" are not provided for Emergency Water Damage Mitigation Services. It's like asking a Fire Department "How much water are you going to use to put out the fire? I need to know beforehand" - it is simply not possible to give an estimate for this, just as it is not possible to give an estimate for damages that are not visible, such as condition under the carpet, damage behind walls, is the insulation wet or not. Another major factor is how long the drying will take, which is unknown until the drying is done (It could be anywhere from 3 days to 6 days or more, depending on level of saturation and density of structural material and whether the customer leaves the drying equipment turned on at all times). Electronic moisture meters are used to determine when the dry standard has been reached and drying equipment can be removed. Purofirst uses a standard price list provided by the insurance industry for this type of work, and all approved & certified mitigation contractors use this price list. And we are more than happy for provide a copy of this price list upon request when the initial call for service is made. Work is charged according *what* is done, as opposed to the time it takes to do it. Charges are per square foot, per linear foot, per piece of equipment etc. Even if an insurance claim has not been made at the time we perform the work, we still use this same price list in case the customer turns in a claim after the fact, and also because the prices should be the same for everyone, whether it is a claim or not. We do not create separate prices for customer's paying out of pocket. This is not to say that Water Damage Mitigation can't get pricey if damages are extensive, but Purofirst follows the proper standards and procedures set forth by the IICRC and uses the same price list as all Mitigation Companies in our area.
Alice C.
2.0
12/22/2009
They took up two rooms of carpet and put in dryers. They were recommended to me from my insurance company. When I asked about the cost, they refused to give a cost or they would leave. I went ahead and had them do the work. Two weeks later they still did not tell me what the charge was. I thought I had a deductible to apply to this job but it did not apply. They ended up charging me $2237.00. They allowed me to make payments on this but I am not happy with them holding out on giving me an estimate up front.
Description of Work
They removed water from my basement from flooding.
Category
water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately "estimates" are not provided for Emergency Water Damage Mitigation Services. It's like asking a Fire Department "How much water are you going to use to put out the fire? I need to know beforehand" - it is simply not possible to give an estimate for this, just as it is not possible to give an estimate for damages that are not visible, such as condition under the carpet, damage behind walls, is the insulation wet or not. Another major factor is how long the drying will take, which is unknown until the drying is done (It could be anywhere from 3 days to 6 days or more, depending on level of saturation and density of structural material and whether the customer leaves the drying equipment turned on at all times). Electronic moisture meters are used to monitor and document the drying progress, and determine when the dry standard has been reached and drying equipment can be removed. Purofirst uses a standard price list provided by the insurance industry for this type of work, and all approved & certified mitigation contractors use this price list. And we are more than happy for provide a copy of this price list upon request. Even if a claim has not been made at the time we perform the work, we still use this same price list in case the customer turns in a claim after the fact, and also because the prices should be the same for everyone, whether it is a claim or not. We do not create separate prices for customer's paying out of pocket. This is not to say that Water Damage Mitigation can't get pricey if damages are extensive, but Purofirst follows the proper standards and procedures set forth by the IICRC and uses the same price list as all Mitigation Companies in our area. It is very unfortunate that the customer had to end up paying for the damages out of pocket, this is why we afforded a payment plan for her, which is not always customary in our industry.
Alice C.
4.0
06/10/2009
Purofirst responded very quick. There was two guys, and they did the job pretty quick. One couldn't speak English, and one could. The bad part was that I didn't know how much it was going to cost before they got here. They required $1,000.00 before they would even start the job.
Description of Work
I hired Purofirst to provide emergency water damage service. They removed wet carpet, and took out the under layment. They dried everything out to prepare for restoration.
Category
water damage restoration

    Other local Pros in your area

    CHEVY CHASE REMODELING

    26 employees. Cost is determined by the job. Travel charges may apply. Service fee applies. Extra charge for after-hours service. License #: 95598. Additional contact: jennifer depollar. Additional phone #: (240)535-6296. Additional service areas: calvert county & district of columbia. Additional services offered: siding, roofing, windows, kitchens, baths, flooring,painting. We work under the rowan group llc's licensing in Virginia and D.C.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    RestoreUnow

    WATER, FIRE & MOLD Damage Restoration & Clean-up Services! When disaster strikes your home or business, you need an experienced professional company to restore your property back to pre-loss condition. We offer immediate disaster response and can work with your insurance company. Having a disaster happen can be a traumatic time in your life and we understand every aspect of this. Our goal is to not only restore your home or business properly but to also ease your mind. From the initial phone call until after we've completed the work, we promise you'll be completely satisfied. We urge you to take a few moments to read our reviews, learn about our services, and contact us with any questions you may have.  

    Angi Certified

    Water Damage America

    Here at Water Damage America, we sustain our business on quality and integrity. We are experts in Water Damage and Water Mitigation Services. W are committed to quality from the beginning to the end of your project. We look forward to earning your business. We always offer veterans special offers  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Water Damage Mitigation, Fire Damage Restoration, Mold Remediation, Biohazard Cleanup

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington

    How is Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington overall rated?

    Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington is currently rated 3.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington open?

    Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington provide

    Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check

    Does Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington offer free estimates?

    No, Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington offer a senior discount?

    No, Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington offer emergency services?

    Yes, Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington?

    No, Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington does not offer warranties.

    What services does Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington offer?

    Purofirst of Metropolitan Washington offers the following services: Water Damage Mitigation, Fire Damage Restoration, Mold Remediation, Biohazard Cleanup