Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

ChimneyTEK

4.6

(745) Verified Reviews

Founded 1994 • With Angi since June 2010

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask
No License Required for Trade
Trade License Locale
MD
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

3206 Art Hall Ln

Pasadena, MD 21122

http://chimneytek.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Currently able to perform NO TOUCH chimney inspections, sweeping, and repairs.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Been in business since 1994, professionally trained at the Chimney Safety Institute of America, Member of the National Chimney Sweep Guild. Licensed by the Maryland Home Improvement Commission, #86685. Family owned and operated. Owner on most major repairs. We are dedicated to serving our customers needs....

Verified Reviews

4.6

(745) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

555

4

108

3

39

2

24

1

19

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

chimney sweep (632)chimney repair (305)chimney cap repair (82)fireplace services (76)masonry (59)roofing (12)home inspection (8)foundation repair (1)interior painting (1)pressure washing (1)deck cleaning (1)
Showing 1-25 of 745 reviews
3.0

10/30/2020


Steve S.

They were one of the higher bids, but I was willing to pay more for what I thought would be the best service. The technicians seemed capable and were friendly, but overall I wasn't impressed with the service. The cleaning was performed as expected, and while they removed most of the waste material, they left us a fair amount of soot to clean up. I'm not sure what I expected, but they did not set up anything to contain the soot while cleaning, so the cleaning left a film of soot on every surface of our entire downstairs - which we keep discovering every time we run our hand over any surface (floors, tables, window sills, etc., even on the opposite side of the house from where the work was performed. After the inspection was complete the technician tried to sell me a flue liner and repairs that he said would cost $20,000.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and inspection

Category chimney sweep

Cost $279

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2020

Images

Review for ChimneyTEK - 3206 Art Hall Ln, Pasadena, MD - 38989619

+1 More

5.0

10/17/2020


Mike T.

Much better than expected. They confirmed appointment, arrived on time, worked quickly and quietly while keeping work area neat and clean. I would definitely tell friends and family to use Chimney Tek at 512 Crain Hwy N Suite 16 in Glen Burnie, MD 21061 phone 410-796-8450. Tori the receptionist is very helpful. Jon Chance and Trey are professional and hard working.

Description of Work
Inspected and cleaned chimney

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to review our company, we appreciate it. I am glad you were pleased with our service, and thank you for allowing us to serve you. We look forward to being your chimney sweep for life.
5.0

10/17/2020


Mike T.

Much better than expected. They confirmed appointment, arrived on time, worked quickly and quietly while keeping work area neat and clean. I would definitely tell friends and family to use Chimney Tek at 512 Crain Hwy N Suite 16 in Glen Burnie, MD 21061 phone 410-796-8450. Tori the receptionist is very helpful. Jon Chance and Trey are professional and hard working.

Description of Work
Inspected and cleaned chimney

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2020

5.0

08/29/2020


Shelly B.

I am very happy with Chimneytek. They arrived on time, explained what they would do, and then explained their findings. Very professional!

Description of Work
Chimney inspection

Category home inspection

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to review our company, we appreciate it. I am glad you were pleased with our service, and thank you for allowing us to serve you. We look forward to being your chimney sweep for life.
5.0

10/10/2019


David W.

Great work, great crew. Refinished fireplace with thin brick and a new mantel and it looks great. The team was punctual, friendly and professional. Although the original estimate was only 2 days, it took 3+, but it didn't faze the team at all as they were focused on quality. While there was a scheduling problem getting them back in to finish, they came out WITH the boss, Vince, who made sure I was happy with everything. Recommended.

Description of Work
Brick facade on fireplace. Replace the mantel

Category fireplaces

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/13/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to work with you on this project. We appreciate it and are glad you were pleased with the outcome. If you need anything in the future please let us know. Regards Vince
5.0

10/02/2019


Mark W.

Team was professional, friendly, thorough, and efficient.

Description of Work
A full cleaning of chimney system including a video inspection.

Category chimney sweep

Cost $249

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing ChimneyTEK as your Certified Chimney sweep we appreciate it. We llook forward to being your Chimney company for life. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review us, we appreciate that .
5.0

06/07/2019


Monica R.

it went extremely well. There is still a final work that has to be performed. I have to say that it is rare to find someone so customer focused as Wayne. He was about as forthright as they come. This was a major work, and Wayne did everything he could to successfully carry the work out until the end. He said he was bringing his A-team, and he did. It is rare to see someone who embodies commitment. Wayne is that person. .

Description of Work
new fireplace and liner

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2019

5.0

01/05/2019


Joy W.

Wonderful. The technician performed both inspections and cleanings. Provided information on the status of each chimney and provided honest recommendations to ensure the longevity of our units as well as suggestions for increasing their efficiency.

Description of Work
Inspected and cleaned two Fireplaces/chimney's

Category chimney sweep,fireplaces

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our company. We appreciate it, and value as our customer. We look forward to working with you in the future.
5.0

12/18/2018


Lucy A.

First we had an inspection and detailed report on what was needed. The configurations and materials were too old and worn and/or not up to modern specifications. There was definitely a safety hazard with regard to fire and to carbon monoxide. And much loss of heat up the chimney, rather than into the room. We already knew much of this to be true, and the inspector provided detailed photographs and measurements. The job took 2 men a week. They worked hard and continuously and were very considerate and pleasant - high degree of professionalism. The job is just finished, so cannot comment yet on how the fires will be.

Description of Work
fireplace and chimney in need of repair and updating

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to do a review for us. We appreciate you and your business and look forward to serving you in the future.
1.0

11/19/2018


Stephen B.

I have an inspection report from a different chimney company and was interested in getting a second quote for the work. They were not interested in this report and instead said It was going to cost $299 for them to come out and do their own inspection before they could give me a quote on anything. No thanks...

Description of Work
I wanted a quote for chimney repair

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Hello Mr. [Member Name Removed], I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. In an unregulated industry, there is much liability when it comes to chimney inspections and repairs. While we can give you an approximate price on a list of repairs over the phone or via email, we do not go to a property to provide free estimates. We do not rely on the word of another technician or company, as it is possible they may have overlooked a deficiency, they may have not performed as comprehensive of an inspection as we do or they may have overstated a potential issue. We need to perform our own inspection so we may speak legitimately to any deficiencies and the repairs needed to correct said deficiencies. If a doctor tells a patient they need xyz, and the patient decides to get a second opinion, the patient doesn't just ask the second doctor how much for xyz ...and the second doctor performs their own tests and evaluations...he/she does not rely solely on the first doctor'[Member Information Removed] findings. Again, our apologies for any misunderstanding.
5.0

08/28/2018


Bill B.

Fine. Chimneys are cleaned but are not usable due to disrepair. Expense to repair was too high.

Description of Work
inspected and cleaned 2 chimneys

Category chimney sweep,home inspection,fireplaces

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to review our company we appreciate it. Look forward to working with you on your repairs at some point when the time is right. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you.
4.0

06/27/2018


James F.

okay, solid performance though not enough to say it was an "A"

Description of Work
chimney repair inspection

Category chimney sweep

Cost $80

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing ChimneyTEK as your Certified Chimney sweep, we appreciate it. Look forward to being your chimney sweep for life. We thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review us. We value you as our customer.
4.0

03/19/2018


William F.

Unfortunately their camera to look into the chimney was broken - they did offer to come back with another one. Price to fix the Chimney seemed a little high, but I think that was because they were very thorough.

Description of Work
Chimney Inspection

Category chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/19/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your feedback. Our prices may seem high, but we are the Permanent solution with Premium products. We do offer 10% off to Angie list customers. We would love an opportunity to earn your repair business. If you have any questions feel free to contact us 410-796-8450 Regards Vince ChimneyTEK
5.0

03/06/2018


GREGORY P.

Inspection was very extensive inside and out. Various cracks in the flue as well as the bricks. The technician ( Drew) was very professional with the explanation of the extent of the damage. I agreed to have it taken care of inside and out. Made the appointment. Each day the tech would call to alert me with arrival time. They (Drew, Wayne & Harry) removed the old flue and the firebrick in the fireplace. Replaced with new brick and a stainless steel liner. Replaced about 20 brick on the outside and applied water repellent to the brick. Added a new chimney cap. The technicians were extremely polite and thorough. Would use again.

Description of Work
Noticed some external mortar and brick cracks (27 years old). Called for inspection.

Category masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair

Cost $14,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/06/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for choosing ChimneyTEK as your chimney Professional we appreciate it. Look forward to being your chimney sweep for life.
5.0

02/27/2018


Lee D.

Quick and professional. Great to work with.

Description of Work
Chimney Repair

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing ChimneyTEK as your Certified Chimney sweep we appreciate it. We thank you for your business and look forward to working with you in the future.
3.0

02/12/2018


Thomas L.

The inspection showed the need for a few things, but mostly a relining. The crew was thorough and professional, but said since a relining was required, there would not be a sweeping. I feel I should have been charged only for an inspection ($149) and not for an inspection and sweeping ($249). I emailed about a $100 refund and received no response. Also, the estimate for the proposed work was very high. I saved $3,100 by using someone else.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and sweeping

Category chimney sweep

Cost $249

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2017

Service Provider Response

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Since you purchased the service through angie's list the refund would come through them. I checked our records and did not receive an email from you. As far as the price, you can find another company to band aid your problem, however we are the permanent solution with premium products. When you are dealing with safety we refuse to cut corners and use inferior products in our customers homes. If you would like to discuss further please call the office at 410-796-8450 Regards Vince ChimneyTEK
5.0

02/05/2018


Wayne W.

expensive, but not unreasonable for the amount of work they had to do, in some rather nasty weather

Description of Work
masonry repairs on chimney

Category masonry,chimney repair,fireplaces

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing ChimneyTEK as your Certified Chimney Sweep we appreciate it. We value you as our customer, and look forward to working with you in the future.
5.0

12/18/2017


Henry S.

Bad news; but very professionally delivered

Description of Work
Chimney inspection

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our company, we appreciate it and value your business. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
5.0

11/28/2017


Martha W.

As smoothly as such an extensive repair could. What I appreciated was the courtesy, professionalism and promptness of the entire team. They arrived when they said they would, did the work as efficiently as possible and left my house neat over several days of work. There was a strong commitment to customer satisfaction. I recommend them enthusiastically without reservations.

Description of Work
Complete rebuilding of the inside of my fireplaces and chimneys in two condos.

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our company. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you. We value you as our customer. We look forward to being your chimney sweep for life.
5.0

11/20/2017


Catherine N.

Well done and have them clean our chimney every year.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing ChimneyTEK to serve you again, we appreicate you business. We look forward to being you chimney sweep for life.
5.0

11/11/2017


Tien Peng H.

It was great very helpful and kind workers get it done well and informed me what I need to be aware as a new chimney owner.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning/inspection

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2018

4.0

11/08/2017


Barry F.

Tec did a good job cleaning and inspecting.Very nice guy. Prices are just absurd.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and cleaning.The tec they sent was excellent, but the prices quoted were outrageously high!! $12,000 to repair some rust and put a new cap on the chimney. $2000 just for the cap alone!

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our company, we appreciate it. However apparently, there is some disconnect with the pricing. If you look at the proposal, we are replacing the entire fireplace system, which includes taking off the siding to access the fireplace. Remove the existing fireplace, chimney system, and fire stops, chase cover and chimney cap, and install new complete Fireplace system. In order to do this, or even put a new chase top, we have to install a scaffold system, so that is why the price of the chase top is such a big investment. This was outlined in your proposal that you signed and was explained in detail by our Certified tech Jon. If you would like to further discuss the pricing please feel free to reach me at 443-956-5583. Regards Vince
5.0

10/20/2017


Dennis H.

Wonderfully well. they cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
Stainless steel chimney liner, new tile header at top, new chimney crown and cap

Category chimney sweep,home inspection,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair