Mastodon Moving

About

Founded 2011 • With Angi since June 2011

Mastodon Moving is a fully licensed and insured professional moving company that takes great pride in providing the best possible service available to every customer. We also believe in being socially responsible and doing what we can to help others in need. For every move we do, a portion of those profits will be donated to local and foreign charities with a focus on helping children in need. We also would be happy to take things you might otherwise be throwing away as you prepare to move (ex. Clothes, Books, Toys, etc) and donate them on your behalf to others in need....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+32 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(84) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

71

4

6

3

3

2

2

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

movers (84)storage unit (3)
Showing 1-25 of 84 reviews
5.0

09/26/2019


Miranda C.

The guys walked into what was a stressful situation for the kids and me and took the moving piece and made it not only easy, but pleasant, as well. I never thought I would say such a thing about moving, but it's true. They are friendly, efficient, treated my kids like they are family and even reached out to check on us, knowing we are going through a difficult time. Excellent moving service and customer service that goes above and beyond. I recommend them to everyone because I think all moves should be as painless as Mastodon makes them.

Description of Work
3 moves in a short period of time plus storage

Category moving companies, storage units

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2019

5.0

11/27/2018


L STEVEN H.

The moving team was great. They worked very hard and carefully packed and unpacked everything. Nothing was danGed or broken. They could not have done a better job. The cost was a bit higher than the large carriers but the quality of service made it worth while. Best moving experience so far, out of 4 relocations.

Description of Work
Moved 5bedroom house from Boston area to Atlanta area.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2018

Service Provider Response

Thanks Steve!! Very best of luck down there ! Regards! Dave
5.0

10/28/2017


Leslie J.

Recently, I decided to install new hardwood floors in the second floor of our home and needed help in coming up with a plan for moving and storing the furniture while the work was being done. Dave met with me and made it all happen. On the day of the move, the crew arrived promptly and got right down to work. Padding was put up to protect staircases and doors, furniture was professionally taken apart, wrapped in protective covering and moved with the greatest of care. Rugs and runners were wrapped in tacky plastic to protect them from any wood dust generated by the floor refinishing. The crew literally "bent over backwards" to accommodate my wishes. Later that day, the furniture was delivered safely to Mastodon's climate controlled facility in Ashland. In the end, I couldn't have been more pleased. Mastodon came up with the most efficient plan for managing the job and gave me "white glove" service at a price I could afford. I can't wait to use them again.

Description of Work
I needed to have all the furniture removed from the upstairs of my house and stored in a climate controlled facility in preparation for installation of new hardware floors.

Category moving companies, storage units

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2017

3.0

09/11/2017


Stephen G.

For the most part, it went ok, however the slats in the bed frame were not screwed back in, and my partner ended up crashing to the floor as the slats shifted and the foundation/mattress fell. While this dramatic oversight was severe, the rest of the move went quickly and I have no other issues. Also, one of the movers was late. Not terribly so, but noticeably. We had pre-purchased a fix block of time, so it did not cost us anything extra. I might be concerned if we had ended up paying by the hour.

Description of Work
I needed to have furniture and boxes moved from the basement to the second floor.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2017

Service Provider Response

We are so sorry it wasn't a positive experience for you [Member Name Removed]. Our normal process would be to reassemble the bed back to its original condition unless specified otherwise by the client or if the client had ant time / billing constraints occasionally they'll do this themselves. Apologies if this was not communicated properly. Id be happy to send someone by to rectify that if its still an issue. On rare occasions our guys use their own vehicles if they are running late. In every single event of this occurrence, the lost time will not be charged and deducted from the bill, Thanks again for the business and best of luck in the new place, Best Dave
5.0

07/17/2017


Adrienne P.

Mastadon moving is truly an exceptional moving company. I can not say enough about my experience with JJ and his team. This was the best moving experience I have ever had. JJ was so easy to work with, accommodating and extremely professional. JJ and team treated me and my belonging with great respect. The team worked efficiently and moved every item with great care. I appreciated the hard work on an extremely hot day. They barely took any breaks and didn't quit until the job was done. In addition to doing everything right professionally, they made a big impact personally. When the move was complete, one team member even indulged my budding Isaiah Tomas with a quick game of one- on one. As if all that isn't enough - the price was a bargain for the exceptional service that I received. Though I don't expect to be moving again any time soon, I will recommend Mastadon to anyone who inquires and will certainly call JJ again if I ever need a moving company in the future. Thanks JJ, Ivan and the other gentleman whose name I can't recall (so sorry). We love our new home and are so grateful for your hard work last month.

Description of Work
Multi location pickup (3 bedroom Townhouse and a storage unit) plus the move to a Single family home - nearly 8 hours total with only 15 minutes driving time.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2017

5.0

06/18/2017


Robert S.

Excellent! The crew were on time every day, friendly , and careful with our furnishings. Ivan, Allen, John, and John J really knew what they were doing. They moved my massive desk to the second floor, which initially seemed impossible, without a wall dented. I would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
As part of our downsizing efforts, we recently moved from our home to a townhome nearby. Over two days, the crew from Mastodon packed and moved our belongings.

Category moving companies

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2017

Service Provider Response

Thanks For the kind words [Member Name Removed] Best of luck at the new place JJ, Dave & the Mastodon team
5.0

06/05/2017


Phillip S.

Done well in one day, about 10% below estimated cost. I wanted to get the move done in 1 day, so Mastadon provided a flexible team to handle 2 trips between locations. Everybody involved knew what they were doing, worked hard, and was pleasant. I think I could have got a cheaper quote, but the actual price of the move was pretty reaonable. I've never had a move come in under estimate before. We had schlepped some stuff on our own before the move, which probably helped, but still - a first for us.

Description of Work
Local move between 2 houses.

Category moving companies

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2017

5.0

04/03/2017


Marcia M.

Exceptionally well. And a great value for the price.

Description of Work
This moving company is excellent. I have never seen the inside of a moving truck that was this clean and a couple of employees that were as proud of their work and their company. The young men are professional and smart and clearly very experienced. They are exceptional.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2017

1.0

03/16/2017


EDNA V.

Worst moving experience bar none. Initially were not responsive to request for estimate. But due to good reviews overlooked this problem. A big mistake. They showed up late. They took off without completing the job. They broke/damaged most of my furniture and lost items. Packing was sloppy and unprofessional, putting heavy things on light. They exceeded there estimate significantly and tried to charge me for driving to location despite stating they wouldn't do so, and for 4 person crew when most of the time only two people did any work. They left a mess, including trash from their snacks/drinks and unused boxes and packing materials that they tried to charge me for. Refused to take accountability for damage, accused me of lying about it, claimed they'd never had any problems (Angie's list reflects otherwise), and threatened to blacklist me to moving companies if I left a bad review on Angie's List, Yelp etc. At every step of the way they had an excuse, or pointed the fingers every which way but themselves.

Description of Work
In-town move

Category moving companies

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2016

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], I am sorry you still feel this way about our company. After your move we gave you an $800 discount because thats what you believed would make it right. After 3 months your items came out of self storage and when you called me to say items were damaged I stayed in touch about possible resolutions and repairs. We had no prior knowledge to any of this before and even though we couldn't prove it was per-exisiting or done by other movers we still wanted to see how we could help. We did our best to see what we could do to make things right, yet before we were able to discuss further I received a notification that your payment had been reversed. Once this was done and we performed our services you received a completely free move. We take great pride in our work and taking care of every customer to the best of our abilities. I want to apologize for us not meeting your expectations.
5.0

11/27/2016


Rebecca W.

We were very happy with Mastodon's services. They came out to do a free walkthrough before giving us an estimate. They were thoughtful about their estimate, changing the types of trucks to make sure they would fit down our long and narrow driveway. The day of the move they were 15 minutes early and ready to go. We had four guys there, since they were also moving a piano, and they worked very quickly and efficiently. We were really pleased with their work, especially in the care they used when moving the piano. The move was done within the time quoted. We did pay a little more for them versus some of the other quotes we received but we thought based on the reviews it would be worth it and it was. I've had many moves over the years and I can honestly say this was the first time I was 100% satisfied with a moving company.

Description of Work
Moving from a 3br house to another 3br house in the next town over.

Category moving companies

Cost $2,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2016

5.0

10/04/2016


John D.

They did a great job with a very large move. They showed up on time with six guys and two trucks. Every one of them was friendly, professional, and hard working. All of our property was cared for exactly the way we would have wanted. The entire move went above our expectations.

Description of Work
Moved our belongings from one very large home to another. They also went to our storage site to move additional belongings to the new house. Some disassembly and reassembly work was required, and they helped arrange the larger pieces in our new home.

Category moving companies

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2016

5.0

02/16/2016


KRIS M.

My experience with Mastodon Moving was incredible. The service offering was exactly what we were looking for - a boutique mover that provided us with the level of attention we needed as well as the infrastructure to perform an efficient and painless move. JJ was very good at communicating up front, and throughout the process. He was able to provide all of the supplies we needed at very reasonable prices. His quote came in almost to the penny. His team was both friendly and professional throughout the move. Every aspect of the experience exceeded my expectations. Mastodon Mover's could not have done a better job for us!

Description of Work
Moved a 1 bedroom apartment (~700 sq ft) from the South End to Charlestown in roughly 4 hours.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2016

5.0

01/25/2016


Laura A.

Provided efficient, careful moving of furniture and boxes. Very helpful with furniture disposal and furniture setup as well. Work completed by 3 men and approximately 7 hours.

Description of Work
Moved furniture and boxes.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2016

5.0

01/05/2016


SUSAN B.

MASTODON MOVERS, Headed up by JJ and ALEX, is a completely professional and outstanding Boston based moving company. *****I could not recommend them any more highly, except to give them an A+ rather than simply an A.***** Please add them to my list of a company that deserves a Page of Happiness. At all times, they honored every request by us, no matter how difficult. They were terrific problem solvers and always had great recommendations which we followed. Not one single thing in this move went wrong. I've moved plenty of times in the past, and cannot ever remember saying that about a move. As a luxury market Realtor myself, I would not hesitate to recommend them to any of my clients who are buying or selling a home.

Description of Work
MASTODON MOVERS moved us from a large home which contained many items that were fragile, and did not break a thing. It was certainly a complex move, perhaps the most complex one they had done to date!

Category moving companies

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2015

5.0

11/23/2015


Janis T.

JJ and his team are excellent to work with. They are professional in demeanor and care for your valuables like they were their own heirlooms. They also move shockingly quick considering they are paid by the hour! They have all the right small items to make the move safe for your home (sticky mat for outside your door, plastic wrap to hold drawers in a dresser , and felt dots for the bottom of a chair!). I highly recommend t his team!

Description of Work
Mastodon Moving moved our boxes and furniture from a 16' storage Pod back into our home. They also moved items within our home from storage in the basement and 1st floor up to the 2nd floor.

Category moving companies, storage units

Cost $345

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2015

5.0

11/11/2015


Wayne H.

The entire Mastodon team were great. They accommodated our late change of our move date, advancing it by 2 days. They were thorough and careful throughout the move. I couldn't believe the pace they kept up, even at the end of a long day, hauling heavy things, carrying two boxes at a time. And without a slip or damage of any kind. They also earned special marks in my book by moving an EXTREMELY heavy cast iron gas stove out the door, down a long walkway, and up into the back of a pickup truck for someone else who had bought the stove from me, but was supposed to have moved it herself. And with no question or complaint from the Mastodon crew. That was above and beyond the call of duty.

Description of Work
Moved our household from a 4-BR home in Wayland to a 2-BR condo in Sudbury.

Category moving companies

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2015

5.0

07/23/2015


Matthew F.

My wife and I have moved 3 times in the past 5 years due to my job being relocated and I can honestly say this was by far and away the easiest move of the three. I called at least 3 highly rated movers from Angie's list before going with Mastodon. Their quote wasn't the cheapest (it wasn't the most expensive either) but Alex in the office generated the quote quickly and was very responsive to my e-mails. The move itself went incredibly smoothly, JJ and his crew arrived on time and got straight to work. All the crew were friendly and very professional. JJ and his crew worked so efficiently (without stopping for lunch despite my offers to get them something) that they finished the job nearly two hours ahead of schedule and under the quote. My wife and my-in-laws who had flown in to help with our move all commented on what a good job JJ and the guys did. We've only just unpacked all the boxes but so far have not found any broken items. I highly recommend Mastodon Movers to anyone looking for a great moving experience. In fact I just recommended them to my co-worker who's moving shortly.

Description of Work
Moved a 2 bed condo from Jamaica Plain to a single family house in West Roxbury.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2015

5.0

06/28/2015


Regina S.

The move went well. Mastodon was only about 25 minutes late in arriving due to traffic on a major highway. There were 5 men and a truck. They introduced themselves and then began the process of packing up my kitchen, dining room, study, and cellar.All boxes were marked by room and easy to identify. As two men packed, the others moved my furniture into the truck. The movers were polite and asked questions when necessary. The packing process and loading the truck took longer than I anticipated. I did not worry about the time, since my move was only a mile away. The next day, I started the unpacking process -- everything was in excellent condition. Nothing of value was broken or scratched. At one point during unloading,I must commend the movers when I thought a sofa bed would not be able to fit up the turning stairway and into a narrow doorway. But they were successful. And I must say there were no fingerprints or scrapes anywhere on walls with the exception of one knuckle print which I successfully washed off with a damp cloth. If I were to move again, I certainly would contact Mastodon again.

Description of Work
Mastodon packed my kitchen, dining room, study and cellar and moved my household.

Category moving companies

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2015

3.0

05/22/2015


Leslie L.

The nicest guys - just not very efficient. Their truck wasn't available, so they were late - not a problem. But, they got lost - A LOT - on the road, and in the building, which was costly. Then, they seemed to lose the overage payment I sent via bank billpay. Nothing was lost, nothing was broken, they just weren't efficient./

Description of Work
Moved a small amount of furniture (bed, chest, sundries) from Lincoln to Marlborough.

Category moving companies

Cost $750

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2015

5.0

05/19/2015


HEATHER C.

Great team. Very fair on price. Worked very late into the night to get us moved out day before our closing. All around really great team. Took very good care of everything. One small item broke, and the team worked hard to make it right (3 additional visits). Would highly recommend - who says that about their movers!

Description of Work
Pack and move 4 bedroom home to new home for local move.

Category moving companies

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/26/2014

5.0

05/07/2015


Martha C.

The movers were extremely easy to deal with. They returned my calls, kept up with emails, and were very professional. The move took a lot less time than I expected; they worked hard and were very pleasant.

Description of Work
The movers moved furniture from my Cambridge apartment to a basement in Concord, MA. They also moved some things around for me in Concord.

Category moving companies

Cost $750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2015

2.0

04/14/2015


David S.

I've regretted going the cheap route on previous moves where I felt taken advantage of by other companies, so maybe I am overly sensitive when it comes to moving my personal stuff. When they did call me, I just wasn't interested in hearing their explanation about some crisis that made my case an unusual exception to their usual excellent service. Why would I take a chance on some guy on the phone when there is an excellent, professional, reasonably priced, flexible company like John Palmer Moving and Storage in nearby Acton.

Description of Work
Mastodon has a very nice web site with an easy to complete contact page, but after they ignored multiple phone calls and emails asking for a rough estimate, when they finally responded with a phone call days after I had found an alternative and they seemed unfamiliar with the details I had sent to them, I decided not to give them a chance to prove themselves.

Category moving companies

Work Completed On 07/28/2014

Service Provider Response

I'm really sorry that our communication was poor and frustrating at the time of your move. Last busy season, JJ (owner/operator) was running the entire business himself (on the trucks, corresponding with emails, scheduling, etc.) and for some stretches of time there really wasn't enough hours in the day to do everything. Nobody wants to hear excuses, and yes a simple email informing you that we were too busy would have sufficed, but as it stands we can only apologize for our misstep. Thankfully, we now have an office manager who is in charge of handling the company email and phone line, and who also performs all of the scheduling. Your experience, which we admit was poor and regrettable, should not be considered an accurate account of our current operations. We aim to provide personal customer service along with our moving services, and we are now properly staffed to do so. -Alex Wright