Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CUSTOM LAWN CARE

Founded 1997 • With Angi since June 2010

Here at Custom Lawn Care, we specialize in landscape design and install, hardscapes (paver patios, retaining walls, natural sidewalks, etc) and LED lighting. We do full maintenance for residential and commercial, which includes mowing, fertilization, mulching, and pruning. Our work is guaranteed and we strive for customer satisfaction.

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Verified Reviews

4.9

(20) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews
Sharon S.
5.0
09/30/2021
Custom Lawn Care did an amazing job within the timeline they provided. They were professional, courteous, punctual, clean and just an all around pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend working with them.
Description of Work
paver patio
Category
pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios
jack L.
5.0
06/30/2021
Initially, we needed 3 retaining walls and a large wooden deck replaced. We also wanted new landscaping put into place. Rather than replacing the walls and deck with similar construction, Jonathan suggested replacing the creekstone walls with engineered retaining walls, and instead of another wooden deck, install a paver patio. We spent several months finalizing the design specifications, and Jonathan worked with us to find materials, features, and plants which would meet our desires. His staff is very experienced with the construction of these engineered hardscapes. They are a very hard working group. The final product is a masterpiece and greatly exceeds our original expectations. We are so pleased with the outcome, and would not hesitate to use Jonathan and his crew in the future. Thank you Jonathan for giving our home the curb appeal we have always dreamed of.
Description of Work
hardscapes and landscaping
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Mary C.
1.0
06/19/2020
He contacted me and we agreed on a time the following day to meet. He did not show up. I called him but his mailbox was full. I texted him twice but he never responded.
Description of Work
Gravel patio and walkway
Category
landscaping, pavers, gravel
Laura H.
5.0
08/22/2019
Jonathan and his crew did an amazing job! From the beginning, Jonathan was great about answering all my questions, very prompt in getting back to me, and working it out so that my patio was perfect. They showed up on time every day, worked diligently, and created a gorgeous outside space for me. They dug and graded the space, put down a weed barrier and gravel, and then installed a roughly 250 square foot paver patio with a seat wall that contains LED lighting. When finished, they did a great job of cleaning up and put down sod, seed and straw to give a finished look. Can’t wait to spend lots of time on my beautiful patio! The Custom Lawn Care folks are true professionals!
Description of Work
Installation of a paver patio including seat wall and lighting
Category
lawn service, outdoor lighting, patios
Mary S.
5.0
08/20/2019
It went very well. Jonathon was friendly and professional. He answered all of our questions. The workers arrived on schedule and did a great job.
Description of Work
Patio, seat wall, lighting, gravel driveway
Category
lawn service
molly J.
5.0
02/21/2019
It went perfectly. I love my new patio. No surprises, the process was very smooth. They really know what they are doing and don't cut corners.
Description of Work
Customer lawn Care removed an old paver patio, installed a new large patio and added a stepping stone walk way. They also helped me with grading of my front yard which was necessary due to other work being performed by a driveway contractor. Jonathan and his crew were very professional, and kind. They completely respected me as the homeowner. It wasn't like I was just another job. This project was a important to them as it was to me. I would definitely hire them again. I am looking to have them provide routine lawn care.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios
Jeff J.
5.0
09/30/2018
John the owner of Custom Lawn Care & Landscaping were amazing. We had several quotes for our project and they were competitive with other companies. We chose Custom Lawn Care & Landscaping because we really felt comfortable after meeting John. He was readily available for our questions and came to the property several times upon request in order to answer our questions. We were told the project would take between 3-5 days to complete and once the crew broke ground it was competed in the time frame quoted. The entire process and his crew were absolutely amazing. They came out in the middle of July heat and worked their tails off. Each day at the end of the day the job site was spotlessly cleaned. (No tools laying around, trash, ect.) We are beyond satisfied with our patio! We really appreciated the honest we received from John during the entire process. They even added extra drains for our down spouts at no additional cost to be sure water would run away from the house and even relocated our AC drip line. These guys were amazing through out the entire process. There were no surprises when it came to our invoice. They even relocated several shrubs for me at no additional cost. We love it! We have spent just about every night around the patio with our kids playing, for family barbecues, birthday parties and just about every outdoor activity you can imagine! Might as well put a bed out here bc we have lived outdoor this summer!
Description of Work
350 sq foot paver patio with knee wall
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios
Nicholas S.
5.0
09/20/2018
The project went well from beginning to end. They returned all calls and emails as quickly as possible and kept me updated on the project's start date. Once construction began they moved quickly to complete the project in only three days. The quality of the work performed clearly demonstrated the crew had years of experience. This project turned half of a backyard into a beautiful patio area for entertaining. Once the project was complete the crew cleaned and removed all debris generated by the construction project. When the crew departed from the project they made the patio look like it had always been a part of the backyard.
Description of Work
Constructed a patio in the back yard.
Category
lawn service, hardscaping, patios
ken E.
1.0
08/31/2018
company failed to respond
Description of Work
concrete steps
Category
lawn service
Greg P.
5.0
06/13/2018
Very well done in a timely manner.
Description of Work
Landscaping
Category
landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel
Janet S.
5.0
05/31/2018
I've done landscaping myself - I'm not an amateur. Jonathan is awesome to work with. I liked his design concept much better than the other bids - so we went with his plan (I normally do my own, so this is a huge compliment). His crew is friendly and are all very hard workers - they were meticulous in the work they did. And they did all this work in TWO DAYS, which was amazing. We did a large landscaping job with removal of 90% of the old landscaping, a lot of new shrubs, and all new mulch. The materials purchased were of a good quality, both the shrubs and the mulch. Jonathon was picky about the plants he chose, which I appreciated - and was just as precise in their placement. Jonathan was on site most of the time, and when he wasn't, there was always another supervisor - it's always important to have someone in charge. It was not a problem free job (hardly any jobs are), but its a new house to us, so we didn't know where all the irrigation was - they did hit some of that. But they attempted to fix it (altho it didn't work), they were prepared to try with supplies and know how (it's a very complicated system). We also had quite a few trees taken down including 2 in the front too close to the house - large birches. They had those down in no time and cut up. They took out all the old landscaping and 7 trees, ground the stumps and cleaned up, all in the first day. The second day was about installation. We were to get part of our lawn graded and sodded, but we had to postpone that for a couple of weeks (our scheduling problem). Upon hearing about a postponement, Jonathan made immediate allowances. Looking forward to getting that done shortly. I put a B on price only because he is not the cheapest bid you will get (not that I didn't find him affordable). Sometimes you get what you pay for. I am extremely happy with the results - with the professional workmanship and the quality of the finished product. I am planning other projects and will be using Jonathan. They were great!
Description of Work
Landscape beds around house renewed, tree removal, stump grinding, mulching
Category
landscaping, mulch
Michael W.
5.0
05/25/2018
Working with Johnathon was great! Very responsive, completed scope of work in timely manner and yard looks better than it ever has.
Description of Work
Drainage pipe, topsoil and grading. Landscaping and seeding.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel
patricia B.
5.0
05/17/2018
They did a great job, but weekly service was just too expensive
Description of Work
Lawn mowing services
Category
lawn service
Brian B.
5.0
04/24/2018
Outstanding work, very professional, many positive compliments received
Description of Work
Mowing, French drain, pavers, tree planting
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping
Kaitlin M.
5.0
12/16/2017
When the work was all done they placed decorative rock around the patio and even added extra rock around our outside air conditioning units. The extra rock was not included in our original estimate. We liked how the rock looked, and asked where we could get some for around the air units, and they just took care of it for us at no additional cost!! They also replaced more than half of our back yard with new sod! We would definitely use them again for any landscaping needs.
Description of Work
We had a patio remodel done. Custom lawn care removed our old patio and replaced with a new paver patio. They also installed a paver fire pit, and rerouted our drainage pipes.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios
Judy M.
5.0
09/03/2017
PHENOMENAL!!!
Description of Work
Jonathon and his crew installed a beautiful paver patio off of my walkout basement. They built seat walls and installed LED lighting, as well as a fire pit. They were extremely courteous when it came to protecting my lawn from damage during the installation, and they were on time every day and worked their tails off. Please consider using them! I had three quotes and not only were they fair, they had the best attitude and desire to have my business. That goes a long way these days. They care about the customer as much as their work. You WILL NOT be disappointed!
Category
lawn service, hardscaping
Janet C.
5.0
07/20/2017
Work went quickly. Workers showed up early every morning. The walkway was built on a hill so a retaining wall was made. Creekstone was used for the walkway and it turned out better than we thought it would. We are extremely happy with the results and have already showed it off to people and told them where we had it done. They also did some front of the house landscaping work that we just didn't feel like doing ourselves, and did it in no time. Thanks, guys!
Description of Work
We had a walkway built from the driveway, around the back of the house to the deck
Category
landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, hardscaping
jean R.
5.0
06/04/2017
Had trouble getting a date of when the work would begin. However, when they did call they arrived exactly as scheduled and did an excellent job. In the past when we have had landscaping done, we were given info about the plants and how to care for them. That did not happen and that was disappointing. Other than that, we are very pleased. The owner and his employees are very professional and we are pleased with the results.
Description of Work
Landscaping
Category
lawn service
Amanda D.
5.0
03/10/2017
Actual patio install went great! They did a proper job with proper grading, drainage, etc. Had to use heavy machinery so sod went in. I wish I had a better understanding of how much the sod cost, I might have gone a different route with either re-seeding or more sod to replace existing. We also had this work done in June before our baby was born in early July. Despite that, I was able to water per instructions. Unfortunately the drought in the back half of summer has been fairly harsh to the sod, especially at the edges. Also did not receive instructions for care of arbor vitae that was planted between patio and dog area. They ended up dying probably due to the drought, but also not sure if they were appropriate for the area. Just wish there was more recommendation/instruction here. Also follow up to make sure we were taking care of the sod. I also probably could have been upsold on lawn renewal, more sod, maybe a sprinkler system to try and help maintain this area we were already invested in. Overall, I'm not terribly torn up about those issues. The patio itself looks amazing and I think the workmanship was great. Just need a little more communication regarding care of landscaping replace/installed. There pricing was great as well. It did go up a bit after we added some options, but that's to be expected. Overall, very satisfied and would hire again. I would just be a little more forthcoming with questions based on my learning experience. This is the largest contracted job I've ever had done.
Description of Work
Install Paver patio with fire pit, gravel for dog bathroom area.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens
robert D.
5.0
12/26/2016
We have it monthly.
Description of Work
We use them for lawn care.
Category
lawn service

Other local Pros in your area

Preferred Outdoor Designs

We are a design and build firm. We specialize in outdooor living areas such as landscaping, paver patios, walkways, outdoor kitchens, outdoor fireplaces, fire pits, wooden pergolas,fences,decks,screen porches, water features,and landscape lighting. We have been serving the Louisville area for over 20 years.  

Angi Certified

Rey's Landscape

We Specialize in Solving your most pressing landscape needs. Rey's Landscape is a full-service company in Shelbyville with customer reach through the entire of Kentucky since 2005. Professional teams create beautiful, welcoming gardens and outdoor spaces for homeowners, families, local organizations, and small businesses. We're also known for our highly-rated lawn & garden-maintenance services, Whether via word of mouth or online searches, when new customers find us they tend to stick with us for the long-haul. Here's why: clear communication, competitive pricing, quick turn-arounds, friendly, reliable, highly-trained teams, and an unsurpassed work ethic. Text or Call Us Now.  

Angi Certified

J's Picturescape

We are a locally owned and operated company with over 17 years of professional experience that values honesty and integrity in all aspects of our business. We offer a variety of landscaping and tree services that are customization to each individual property. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work as well as our commitment to outstanding results. Why hire two company's when your can hire one to complete your landscaping needs as well as your tree needs? We look forward to building lasting relationships with our clients and guarantee your satisfaction!  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

1245 Plum Ridge Rd

Taylorsville, KY 40071

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

CUSTOM LAWN CARE is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

CUSTOM LAWN CARE accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

No, CUSTOM LAWN CARE does not offer free project estimates.

No, CUSTOM LAWN CARE does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, CUSTOM LAWN CARE does not offer warranties.

CUSTOM LAWN CARE offers the following services: lawn services