Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Mad Hatter Chimney Service

Founded 1994 • With Angi since April 2000

4.7

(317) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5288 E 65th St

Indianapolis, IN 46220

Description

When you have a fireplace, the risk of a fire in your home is something that is always in the back of your mind. The Mad Hatter Chimney Service would like to put your mind at ease with our array of chimney services. We have seen firsthand how devastating a house fire can be due to a chimney that was not maintained properly. Without the proper maintenance of sweeping and inspections, a home fire is a true threat. Let our years of experience go to work for you....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/06/2018


SANDRA J.

He didn't go on the roof which I think he should have, but did a good job.

Description of Work
They cleaned my chimney.

Category chimney sweep

1.0

07/30/2018


Jeffrey T.

Deceitful. On 20 June I paid $99 for an assessment for a chimney rebuild, and Warren came to my property and provided me a reasonable quote ($3750). After comparing other bids, I called Warren on 3 July and scheduled the work to start on 30 July. The $99 would be credited towards the job. On 26 July Dennis called me and said Warren had erred, and the job would cost $5091 (a 35% increase). When I asked to meet, discuss and negotiate, he refused. Take it or leave it. I received a revised job quote via email reflecting the $1341 increase, and they had back dated it to 3 July. I visited the office on 27 July to discuss the situation, but the admin, Leeann, would only agree to refund me the $99. She sent a “credit memo” via email, but it has not posted to my credit card and, frankly, I will be surprised if it does. Don’t waste your time with this dishonest organization. They’re not worth the risk.

Description of Work
Chimney rebuild

Category chimney sweep

5.0

05/06/2018


Deelyn L.

Everything went great. He called because he was available early and wanted to know if it would be ok to come earlier then planned. When he arrived, he introduced himself and verified the scope of work requested. He went straight to work. When complete he explained everything he did, showed pictures of things that would need work, and answered all of my questions. It was only $150 for the inspection and cleaning and I received my receipt with the pictures he had taken within minutes. He was quick, clean and very professional. Thank you Mad Hatter for a great experience.

Description of Work
A chimney inspection and sweeping.

Category chimney sweep,fireplaces

5.0

06/28/2017


Jane P.

They were efficient and friendly. So far, so good, with the quality!

Description of Work
We had a leak near our fireplace. They installed a new 24 gauge Stainless Steel Chase Cover. Painted our existing cap. Did some flashing and sealing. Applied 2 Coats Of Water Repellant To The Chimney

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

5.0

06/03/2017


Nancy S.

Perfect! The owner was actually the one to come to the house and explained everything to me in my language. Very professional and friendly. Excellent service.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaned and Dryer vent cleaned.

Category chimney sweep,dryer vent cleaning

5.0

04/14/2017


DONNA S.

Had a good experience. I like the way they were, the way they handled stuff. They are really great. They are punctual. They couldn't be nicer, personable. Their price is in the ballpark. They came when they said they would come.

Description of Work
They came out yesterday and today to repair the chimney.

Category chimney repair

5.0

01/17/2017


Pamela P.

Great job! Very professional. I've recommended to friends & will definitely use again. 👍🏻

Description of Work
Chimney inspection & cleaning.

Category chimney sweep

2.0

01/02/2017


Mitch C.

Asked for them to look at our chimney twice, but they never responded. If they can't have the courtesy to respond to my requests, I can expect the same kind of care as they the work for me. I have no trust in people like that. I won't even consider them for any work I may have in the future.

Description of Work
Chimney cap replacement.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

It looks like you left messages on the Angie's list message center - it is always best to call our office directly at 317-596-0200 as this message center is not checked regularly nor are we notified when there is a message. You can also send us an email request for service from our website www.madhatterindy.com.
5.0

10/31/2016


Joy P.

He was very nice and did a great job

Description of Work
Cleaned out my wood burning stove and reattached my chimmey cover

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/18/2016


Valerie T.

Called when was ahead of schedule and asked to come early. Very detailed inspection and gave us information about the fireplace insert and about getting a owner's manual. Great experience and great service.

Description of Work
Inspected and swept chimney.

Category appliance repair,chimney sweep,fireplaces

    Other local Pros in your area

    Arvin Masonry

    Welcome to Arvin Masonry your full service masonry contractor proudly serving Hamilton County and the surrounding areas as well as Indianapolis. We have been in the business since 2002 and have experience in residential and commercial work. We are insured with Indiana Farm Bureau.  

    Showecker Masonry

    Showecker Masonry has been in business Since 1989. We do our own work no subs Free estimates Quality and Commitment is our number one priority.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Showecker Masonry on Angi
    Hayes Masonry and Concrete LLC

    Hayes Masonry and Concrete specializes in standard and decorative residential concrete. We focus on small to medium size jobs in the Indianapolis area as well as surrounding cities. We are a small business company that provides services for concrete fabrication, utilizing formwork, laying foundations, concrete placement, and excavation. With being such a small business we're able to pass the savings on to our customers while also building a better work relationship. The mission of Hayes Masonry and Concrete is to become the leading contractor by providing the best quality of concrete and masonry work.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Chimney sweeping & inspections. Chimney & masonry repairs. Dryer vent cleaning. Air duct cleaning. Chimney caps & dampers Installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Mad Hatter Chimney Service

    How is The Mad Hatter Chimney Service overall rated?

    The Mad Hatter Chimney Service is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Mad Hatter Chimney Service open?

    The Mad Hatter Chimney Service is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does The Mad Hatter Chimney Service provide

    The Mad Hatter Chimney Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does The Mad Hatter Chimney Service offer free estimates?

    No, The Mad Hatter Chimney Service does not offer free project estimates.

    Does The Mad Hatter Chimney Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, The Mad Hatter Chimney Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Mad Hatter Chimney Service offer a senior discount?

    No, The Mad Hatter Chimney Service does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by The Mad Hatter Chimney Service?

    No, The Mad Hatter Chimney Service does not offer warranties.

    What services does The Mad Hatter Chimney Service offer?

    The Mad Hatter Chimney Service offers the following services: Chimney sweeping & inspections. Chimney & masonry repairs. Dryer vent cleaning. Air duct cleaning. Chimney caps & dampers Installation.