Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness

Founded 1983 • With Angi since February 1997

4.8

(120) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4340 E 82nd St

Indianapolis, IN 46250

Description

Sale and servicing of bicycles and fitness equipment for both commercial and residential purposes throughout the state of Indiana.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/25/2021


Meranda & Ryan A.

We bought an elliptical at Dick's Sporting Goods. We got it home and to our foyer, but we quickly realized we weren't strong enough to carry the 270lb machine upstairs and down the hall. Oy. I filled out the form on their site for a quote on Saturday afternoon to see if they could help (since we didn't buy it there), and they got back to my first thing Monday. They came out today (Thursday) and in less time than it'd probably take us to unpack and read the instructions, the 3 workers were able to get it upstairs and fully assembled. They were all courteous and efficient, so totally worth the money! If/when the machine needs service, I'll definitely call them back again now that I know they service other equipment as well!

Description of Work
Carry elliptical upstairs and assemble

Category fitness equipment

5.0

08/21/2020


BEVERLY L.

Everything was great except that they forgot to put the bicycle seat back to its original height. The seat was high. AL one of the mechanic, went above and beyond, went out of his way to drop by in my house and adjusted the seat.

Description of Work
I took the bike over, They were overwhelmed with bicycles. They put a new chains, put a new brakes and handle bar.

Category bicycles

5.0

07/30/2018


JOE & PAT C.

All personnel I interacted with from setting up the repair online, to phone conversations to in-person on site assistance were highly customer focused. They exemplified old school professionalism and consideration. This is the second time I have used BGI to repair my Fitness system (previous in 2012) and their high level of quality has been maintained. They were courteous and very knowledgeable, always able to answer my questions and going out of their way to help me. The specific work done was to repair cables and parts on my home fitness system, parts that had become loose or inadvertently removed. The gentleman who repaired and tested the unit was experienced and made sure all was working well. He answered all of my inquires and provided advice which I welcomed. I highly recommend BGI's services, and will use them again.

Description of Work
repair of a Hoist multi exercise Fitness System with Leg Press unit

Category fitness equipment

5.0

07/12/2017


Dwight K.

I purchased my first bike at Bicycle Garage in 1983 and have been a customer ever since including purchased an elliptical for my Wife. The great advice given to me over the years and prevented several costly mistakes. They had an eTap equipped bike that I could test ride. Toby and Adam did a great job helping on the sales side as well as several mechanics answering questions during my several visits, and Kyle did a great install, even remembering, without being asked, to install the little round rubber rear brake cable protectors to keep the brake cable from s

Description of Work
Recently decided to upgrade my Serotta Legend to SRAM eTap.

Category bicycles

5.0

07/03/2016


Bryan T.

My wife and I got married last weekend and decided our first big purchase together would be some new bikes! Scott greeted us as we walked in the door to BGI and hung out for two hours as we each tried out a few different bikes and picked out accessories. He even showed us how to put our bike rack on the car. Everyone was friendly, the service was patient and detail oriented, the store is big and bright and very clean. Thanks Scott and team - you rock!

Description of Work
Helped us purchase new bikes and accessories!

Category bicycles

5.0

09/01/2015


Bob H.

great service. Came ti my condo on time, knew their stuff, friendly, and fixed the problem. Very good experience.

Description of Work
repaired electrical gremlin in one bike, checked the other

Category bicycles

5.0

04/02/2015


Kelsey T.

Joey Antico walked me through the purchasing process from start to finish. He made suggestions based on our needs, then started the paperwork process. Our purchase was rather large and required getting many documents signed. Joey made it easy. Matt and Robby delivered the equipment and had it installed in no time. They showed me the settings on the machines and told me to call them if I any questions at all. Matt and Robby were nice and extremely polite, even assisting me with the cleaning of my mats and gave tips for maintenance.

Description of Work
Assisted with the selection and purchase of six treadmills and two elliptical trainers. They completed the process by installing the equipment

Category bicycles

5.0

08/30/2014


Mary L.

Chris Chance, the Fitness Technician, identified the problem right away, performed the repair efficiently, answered questions, and couldn't have been more polite and professional. Note: Purchased treadmill at BGI Fitness in 2005, spending more than I would have at retailers or discount stores, but the equipment quality and post-sale customer service have been worth it.

Description of Work
Replaced treadmill rear roller & performed routine maintenance

Category bicycles

5.0

01/10/2014


G Scott S.

BGI Fitness came within a week and serviced it. At the time of scheduling the appointment they were upfront about charges. They also explained what would have to happen if it was broken and parts needed to be ordered. Jack was very professional and polite. Along with tightening the belt, he applied Silone spray and vacuumed the motor. He also tightened the side handle bars. Since I was an Angie's List member, he gave me a 10% discount. I will definitely use their service again.

Description of Work
BGI Fitness serviced my 9 year old treadmill so the belt would not skip anymore.

Category bicycles

4.0

09/30/2013


debbie G.

did a good job but didn't tell me about a broken brake pad.

Description of Work
put chain on bike

Category bicycles

1.0

09/12/2013


Alyn B.

This was the worst experience I have ever had with a local bike shop. When preparing for a bike ride this spring, I noticed a crack on my Trek mountain bike frame. Trek normally has a great warranty program, and BGI was listed as my local TREK dealer. I contacted BGI, took the bike to them for repair and dropped it off. The person that I talked to and that I dropped the bike off with was very nice, looked at the problem, agreed that it was a warranty issue, and told me that they would be able to get a replacement frame within a week. 3 weeks later I called to find out if my bike was ready for pickup only to find out that they had not even started the process yet. No phone calls from them, no notification that they needed a copy of my original purchase receipt, nothing. When I did call them (2 weeks after it was supposed to be finished), I was told that I needed to provide them with my original purchase receipt for the bike. I called the shop where I originally purchased the bike and asked them to forward a copy of the purchase receipt which they did. Two weeks later the bike was ready for pickup. I finally picked the bike up, only to find out that 1) it was missing a part, and 2) they didn't even bother to adjust the rear derailleur. It took 2 more weeks for them to finally get the missing part, and I took the bike to a different bike shop to fix the shifting issues. Overall it was a horrible experience and I will not do business with them again. The Downtown location is the location that finally as able to get the missing part for me, and to them I am thankful. The Castleton store, however, is a mess.

Description of Work
Warranty Repair on a TREK mountain bike frame

Category bicycles

5.0

07/08/2013


Lonnie M.

Very impressed with level of detail and assistance provided.

Description of Work
Training on and Prep of a new bicycle after purchase.

Category bicycles

5.0

05/14/2013


Lynne I.

We finally agreed to buy the kids quality bicycles instead of the usual discount store variety. Once in the store, we were assisted right away. An associate helped us choose the right bike for each child's size, let them ride in the back parking lot/bicycle corral, and suggested we upgrade to a small adult bike for the taller child to get more mileage from it. We didn't feel pressured, and the kids LOVE their bicycles. The taller child has never taken to a bike the way she has to this one!

Description of Work
Bought bicycles for 2 children

Category bicycles

5.0

01/25/2013


Brandon K.

They were very thorough with their work. They were also very friendly and informative. I would recommend them to all who have a bicycle.

Description of Work
They helped me build my custom bike from the first piece to the last.

Category bicycles

5.0

11/28/2012


paul B.

Ask for Bill if you want first class expert service..

Description of Work
Great experience buying a bike from Bill. He was recommended to us and he was excellent, very patient and prepared to let me try a number of bikes before I finally settled on the first bike he showed me! He could easily have put me on a more expensive less suitable bike but he steered me towards the machine that was right for me.

Category bicycles

1.0

10/20/2012


Christine M.

This is my first review for Angie's list and I am sad to say that as a supporter of local business that it is a negative review. We have been pleased with bgi fitness for years as we have purchased an expensive treadmill and had great service on multiple occasions. However today we decided to purchase a simple Yakima bike rack for our car and the experience was horrible. After finding the proper rack we went to pay for the item and were treated poorly by the cashier with pink tinted glasses. Not only was she rude, she treated us like fools and suggested that we would not be able to install the rack properly on our own. She had no way of knowing that we have used Yakima rack systems for over 18 years or that one of us had been a part of the industry and actually sold and installed rack systems out west. Her behavior was so outrageous that when we got to the car we actually considered returning the item. It is safe to say that we will never purchase another item, large or small, from this business.

Description of Work
Purchased an item

Category bicycles

Service Provider Response

Member--I'm so sorry to hear that our service wasn't up to par on this occasion. We'd love to know more about what happened. If you'd be willing to talk about that, feel free to contact either of myself, Randy Clark or Toby Holsman, at any time: Toby Holsman - Retail Operations Manager c. 317-506-2658 - - tholsman@bgindy.com Randy Clark - Founder and President c. 317-965-5369 - rclark@bgindy.com
3.0

10/03/2012


JANE K.

I'M UPDATING THIS REPORT. HAPPY TO SAY THAT BGI CALLED ME THE DAY AFTER IT POSTED AND BENT OVER BACKWARD TO MAKE SURE MY EQUIPMENT WAS WORKING PROPERLY. I APPRECIATE THEIR SUPER QUICK AND PROFESSIONAL RESPONSE. I purchased an expensive ($2,000) recumbent exercise bike from BGI. The people in the store seemed very knowledgeable and did work with me on price. Soon after I got the bike, the seat began to wobble from side to side. I contacted BGI and they sent out a repair person who showed me how to fix the problem, which made me think they had seen the problem before. I was charged for this visit. The fix was not easy, requiring tools and brute strength. No matter how many times I fixed it, the seat continued to wobble. After over a year of trying to deal with the issue on my own, I called again and explained the problem. BGI's service department immediately offered to replace the seat and track system under warranty, which again made me think this was a recurring problem with the machine I have. They sent out a repairman who was surly, negative and complained about all the work it was going to take to fix the seat. He then charged me $165 for his time (on a warranty repair) and left all of the heavy equipment he had removed on my front step for me to deal with. Now the bike is making a clicking noise with every stride. When I went to find the source of the noise, I realized that the repairman had not put the bike back together properly. There were screws and other hardware missing. Now the seat is beginning to wobble again. For this big of an investment, I'm really disappointed in the quality of the machine and the unprofessional conduct of the one service repairman. I do appreciate the service department's help in obtaining a warranty replacement, but the bike still isn't operating properly.

Description of Work
I bought an exercise bike that had a recurring problem and needed to be serviced under warranty.

Category fitness equipment

5.0

07/14/2012


Susan S.

I brought in a 25 year old mountain bike that had a flat tire. I was expecting to drop the bike off and come back and pick up at a later date. After an approximate 3-5 minute wait at the service desk I was greeted by Technician Matt who asked what services I need. He expertly assisted me with choosing 2 new tires and installing them on the bike. I was in and out of the store in no more than 20 minutes and was ready to ride again. A very efficient , professional and satisfying experience. And the bike rides like new.

Description of Work
Replaced the two original tires and inner tubes on my 25 year old Ross Mountain Bike

Category bicycles

5.0

07/06/2012


EILEEN & CARL P.

Great! I came VERY frustrated with a DIY bike repair that I was working on. and quot;Benand quot; (service technician) dropped what he was doing, immediately got my bike up on the rack and fixed not only what I was working on - but made sure everything else was in working order. All on the spot. I find this type of attention and care to be exceptional. I'll definitely be back!

Description of Work
Bicycle repair

Category bicycles

5.0

07/03/2012


Deborah M.

I like Bicycle Garage Indy. I saw them on Angie's List. I will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
I went to them more than once.

Category bicycles

5.0

07/01/2012


Scott S.

Superb Service Department! I went in thinking my LeMond road bike had a loose cable, but Matt D. quickly diagnoed it as a broken front derailleur. Even more, he fixed it on the spot and did not charge for labor because the bike had been through an overhaul at BGI. He had me test it out to ensure smooth shifting and explained how to take it easy on the front derailleur. His thoroughness and great customer service match what I've seen in earlier visits from Kent (built a rear wheel) and Troy (complete overhaul with attention to the smallest details). Great techs who speak in everyday language and enjoy helping cyclists get back on the road.

Description of Work
Bicycle repair.

Category bicycles

5.0

06/14/2012


MICHAEL B.

They were very nice and helped us pick out the perfect bike.

Description of Work
Had a bike repaired and bought a new one.

Category bicycles

5.0

04/28/2012


Katrina S.

We first looked at this elliptical a few months ago and sales staff was very helpful and informative. We went back several times to look at it again and they were very understanding since this the machine isn't cheap (we also were selling some old equipment and could not get new one until this was done). We finally decided to buy it but my wife wanted model with contact heart rate handles and different console. They ordered it on a Saturday and got call on Monday to setup delivery and setup. The delivery people were very efficient and had unit in place and ready to go very quickly. We have used BGI in past for other fitness equipment and would highly recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Purchase and delivery of new recumbent elliptical machine to our home.

Category fitness equipment

5.0

04/09/2012


Kent B.

.They are superb. I buy all my bikes and accessories from them only. They do eveything professional and of high quaility. I will only go to them for my bike needs,

Description of Work
.I use Bicycle Garage Indy Inc/BGI Fitness for the care of my bicycles.

Category bicycles

5.0

03/12/2012


john S.

I brought my 2 little boys bikes for service.. The technician-Seth, was extremely courteous-professional, and knowledgable especially with regards to the city's downtown HUB and recent trends in biking. Seth's professionalism and willingness to assist is what has locked in the decision for both my wife and I to purchase bikes from this BGI facility!!

Description of Work
Inflate tires, tighten chain by pulling back on frame, straighten training wheel

Category bicycles

    Bicycles
    Fitness - Equipment
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Check, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    -Sale of bicycles, servicing of bicycles and sale of residential fitness equipment at our three retail locations in Indianapolis: North, South and Downtown. -Sale and mobile servicing of fitness equipment for commercial uses across all of Indiana. -Mobile servicing of residential fitness equipment across all of Indiana. -Mobile servicing of bikes in Central Indiana

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness

    How is Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness overall rated?

    Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness open?

    Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness provide

    Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness offer free estimates?

    No, Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness offer a senior discount?

    No, Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness?

    No, Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness does not offer warranties.

    What services does Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness offer?

    Bicycle Garage Indy / BGI Fitness offers the following services: -Sale of bicycles, servicing of bicycles and sale of residential fitness equipment at our three retail locations in Indianapolis: North, South and Downtown. -Sale and mobile servicing of fitness equipment for commercial uses across all of Indiana. -Mobile servicing of residential fitness equipment across all of Indiana. -Mobile servicing of bikes in Central Indiana