Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Miller Auto Care Inc

Founded 1968 • With Angi since April 1996

4.6

(196) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

434 S. Range Line Road

Carmel, IN 46032

Description

13 employees. Use subs. Cost is determined by flat rate, hourly rate for electrical. Extra charge for 24 hour emergency service....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/18/2017


Rachel W.

They replaced the Alternator and Belt. I paid and left, on the way home I felt the engine was still vibrating so I returned and had the mechanic listen to the engine and open the hood. He said "Oh yeah, I see the engine vibrating". Why didn't he do this before he worked on my car???

Description of Work
Engine was vibrating. They said that I needed a new Alternator and Belt.

Category auto repair

5.0

08/16/2017


Jarrett A.

No problems, excellent service and timely

Description of Work
They gave us a competitive quote for a starter replacement and could get the work done within that day or the next. We deferred the time, and the starter ultimately went out. We used their towing service which was EXTREMELY reasonable (about half what I expected) and they promptly picked-up my car and had the starter replaced the next business day. The only negative to them is that their Noblesville location is not well marked, but once you go there it will be worth it in my opinion.

Category auto repair

5.0

07/21/2017


John K.

I had asked for an oil change, tire rotation, and a few other fluid changes, as well as a general inspection before we drove on our vacation. They actually took the time to go back through my service records and found that I didn't need all the things done that I had requested. They also saw that another service that I didn't request hadn't been done in an excessive amount of time. They could have made a lot more money from me than they did. A very honest and capable organization. After I picked up my car, I noticed that they had not indicated on the ticket of doing the requested tire rotation. When I called the next day to ask why, they said that the tires didn't look like they had excessive wear to warrant it. I said I wanted it done anyway. Without arguing or challenging, they said to bring the car in at my convenience and they would do it at no charge. That's customer service!

Description of Work
Oil change, various service items, inspection in preparation for vacation

Category auto repair, car inspections

5.0

07/18/2017


Jim E.

we only trust them to work on our vehicles.

Description of Work
We take our cars to them for regular maintenance, check ups, and also any major work that is needed. We have been going to them since 1991.

Category auto repair

5.0

05/06/2016


LARRY R.

Very satisfied with their sincere customer concern and the high level of their professional work.

Description of Work
Work done on 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier on February 12, 2016 and on February 19, after their receipt of part for dashboard electrical system part. Service on February 12 consisted of headlight alignment, lube, oil and filter change, replacement of spark plug and ignition wire set, new air filter, the installation of a new a/c compressor w/clutch and rec/drier, evacuate and recharge a/c system, service transmission, replace filter and pan gasket, refill and check for leaks. Service on February 19: replaced electrical dashboard instrument cluster.

Category auto repair

5.0

05/06/2016


LARRY R.

Care handled like a new car. Very happy with work.

Description of Work
Work on 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier: Miller Auto Care removed and replaced defective power steering rack and leaking pressure hose and retested system, aligned vehicle to factory specifications, replaced leaking valve cover gasket and tested, removed and replaced bad lower control arm bushing.

Category auto repair

5.0

09/16/2015


KEN & KATY C.

Keith Stockberger drove over to where the car was and drove it to his shop. He told us that he could do the repairs, and was extremely helpful. Miller Auto care did the repairs immediately, and we waited for the vehicle and the work was done. Kerry Short one of the managers supervised the work, and explained what was done. It was a great experience, and would not hesitate to take my care to Miller auto care. Thank you Miller Auto Care.

Description of Work
Owner Keith Stockberger, and his manager Kerry short, went out of their way to do some auto collison repairs so my son could drive his vehicle. It was a low cost repair, but Miller auto care was so classy and helpful in taking care of the customer.

Category auto repair

5.0

07/13/2015


Stephen P.

Explained the toe in experienced and how it was fixed.

Description of Work
Alignment

Category auto repair, car tires

4.0

05/14/2015


BARRY & LISA E.

We have gone there many times. They are very reliable.

Description of Work
They tuned up the car.

Category auto repair

5.0

12/30/2014


Ian S.

I cannot recommend this company enough. They have what we all want - integrity. And that's not just a marketing statement. I genuinely trust them not to lie, do work that I don't need, sell me parts or services that are worthless, and give me accurate estimates. I would trust them to work on my car with a blank check. What other auto service places can you say that about? They do great work, are completely trustworthy, and on time. Their price is higher but you get what you pay for. I've been using them for regular maintenance and the occasional big job (like a transmission rebuild) for 9 years. If you want good work and the peace of mind to be able to sleep at night, then don't go to the cheap mechanic your cousin knows - go to Miller Auto Care.

Description of Work
Front end suspension work

Category auto repair, transmission repair

5.0

11/18/2014


MARK G.

They have a fair price, good quality service and just a friendly comfortable atmosphere that they do business in.

Description of Work
I used Miller Auto Care. I had my oil changed this morning.

Category auto repair

5.0

08/27/2014


JEANNE H.

Between appointments, my vehicle's indicator light for a possible transmission problem came on 1 hour prior to me needing to drive to Boone County. I was worried if there was truly a sudden problem with the transmission, I could do further damage driving the vehicle any distance. I am NOT a prior customer of Miller's Auto Care, but they were the closest auto shop to my location, so I stopped by to ask if someone could quickly assess if I needed to be concerned about the tranny and if it could make it to my appt in Boone Co. (as the car's instruction manual implies a sense of urgency when this indicator light comes on). The receptionist kindly took my plea to a mechanic in the garage, and he immediately came out, plugged the computer in to check the error code, and checked the dip stick for tranny fluid quantity and quality. When all looked fine, he asked if he could drive it around the block to listen for problems. He could not diagnose anything wrong with the tranny and we both boiled it down to one of those phantom indicator lights that couldn't be reproduced. He spent the time to explain to me what the light could indicate, what to listen for, and what conditions I should look out for to know to bring the vehicle in for service. This was exactly the peace of mind I needed before my next appointment. I never, ever, once felt he was creating paranoia to generate future business for himself. When I asked him what I owed him for his effort, he replied that I owed him nothing. This was customer service like I haven't seen in a very long time from anyone. Miller's Auto Care earned my sincere respect and future business.

Description of Work
Assessed my vehicle for transmission problems.

Category auto repair, transmission repair

5.0

07/12/2014


Kyle H.

I travel for work and only had one day to try and get my brakes attended to. I explained to them over he phone and they were able to squeeze in a time to look a them. They weren't sure if they could get to them that day because it was busy and a Friday afternoon. However, they knew I needed to leave town again on Monday and they went above and beyond to get them replaced and road ready. I love Miller's. They are honest and have the highest level of integrity. They stand behind their work. I have never had a problem with any of the work they have done for me over the last 14 years. I will not let another place touch my car. You pay a little more, but the peace of mind and workmanship is worth every cent. I could go on and on about Keith and his team. The best mechanic experience I've ever had bar none.

Description of Work
Replaced rotors and brake pads.

Category auto repair

5.0

06/20/2014


Nancy C.

My car started to show signs of the battery dying. I drove right over there during lunch and although short handed because their guys were also at lunch, Dan helped me out and changed my battery for me! I was desperate, since I had a long drive in the morning.

Description of Work
Changed my battery

Category auto repair

5.0

01/29/2014


Elizabeth D.

They seem to know what they are doing. We use them for more complex stuff. Their prices are reasonable.

Description of Work
We use Miller Auto Care Inc for auto service.

Category auto repair

3.0

01/14/2014


LINDA &JOHN B.

appointment made..checked car in at 9AM and it was agreed car would be ready for pick up at 3PM...they were to check brakes and give me a call with details of work needed (just pads or pads&rotor) and cost...I had not heard from them and I was going to be unavailable for a couple hours so I called them at 12:30 for status..they said car was just brought in and they had not yet looked at it ..manager said that cost would be between $280 and $340 depending on work needed...we agreed to do work based on that estimate and that they would call to confirm work/cost when car was brought in...I never did receive a call and not heard from them so I called again at 3PM (time I was to pick up car) and they said they were finishing work and car would be ready by time I came to pick up and that cost would now be $395.29...the reason given for increased cost was tax ($18) and rotor cost was more then expected...I guess I am old school and assumed that they would know parts cost either by experience or a quick check of price and trusted that my bill would fall within the range quoted me...I was wrong on both counts...lesson learned,do not trust what is being said and get a written estimate

Description of Work
rear brake pads and rotor

Category auto repair

Service Provider Response

My apologies for our initial estimate being incorrect. We should have called you back after we had it checked out. We probably got caught up in trying to meet the finish time and failed to call you with an updated price. I am sorry for this. I will be happy to refund you the difference in cost. Please call me at 317-844-7566 to make arrangements for your refund. Again, my apologies.
1.0

01/09/2014


Peter F.

The service went well and seemed to be thorough. But when I was given the bill I was told verbally and in writing a list of items that need to be fixed - estimate total was $810. I was even called later to suggest I address the items. Today I took the auto to a trusted and long-time mechanic (who moved to another city). He found nothing on the estimate needing maintenance. Nothing! Not even marginally worn. My trust in Miller Auto, that has had a very good reputation, is gone.

Description of Work
60,000 mile checkup, coolant flush, check a few specific items

Category auto repair

Service Provider Response

In reference to the services that we recommended, I think it would be wise for you to allow us to show you what your car needs. The left lower ball joint does have excessive wear. We had two people check it, it is not dangerous at this point, but will cause excessive tire wear. This ball joint will eventually become a safety issue. The front valve cover gasket is leaking oil. That is something that we can easily show you. The transmission service that was recommended was per the 60,000 mile maintenance schedule provided by your vehicle manufacturer. These items were discovered during the 60,000 mile check up that was done per your request. I hope to have the chance to earn your trust. Feel free to call me at 317-844-7566
5.0

09/20/2013


Suzy G.

They fixed only what was needed and gave me a complete run down on everything that was looked at. They did not try to sell me anything that wasn't necessary. My car was finished when they said it would be which is a plus for me.

Description of Work
general maintenance check,; changed oil; diagnosed engine noise

Category auto repair

5.0

09/20/2013


BECKY K.

Miller has taken care of my cars for about 20 years now. I took my Pontiac in early this year for a new battery and they said my sway bar needed to be replaced at an estimated cost of $330. I had just had other repairs done and they said the sway bar could probably wait, so I let it go until August. During that time, I researched the part and the potential consequences of replacing or not replacing it. I also got an estimate from another local highly rated provider, which came in at $440, over $100 higher than Miller. When I was ready to get the repair done, I called Miller. Scheduling the time was easy. They estimated it would take 3 hours or so to do the work so I chose to wait. There are plenty of places close by to spend the time, but the waiting room at Miller is fine as well. The best thing was that I asked to see where the sway bar was cracked before they replaced it. Once they had the car on the lift and the wheel off, they showed me the crack, and it had obviously become worse since January. I felt completely respected and valued as a customer, and now I feel more confident in my car. Better yet, the price came in at less than their estimate. I am very grateful to Miller Auto Care for giving me great service at a very fair price for so many years.

Description of Work
Replaced the sway bar on my 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix

Category auto repair

5.0

08/27/2013


Judy M.

prompt service with call about what needed to be done, then performed service at estimated price and called to report that car was ready for pickup

Description of Work
30000 mile check, oil change .air filter change, cabin air filter change

Category auto repair, car inspections

5.0

08/05/2013


Mary Ann K.

Miller Auto Care they did a great job and were very professional.

Description of Work
Miller Auto Care did routine maintenance and oil change for my vehicle.

Category auto repair

5.0

05/10/2013


LAURIE & BRIAN B.

It's the only place my husband goes to when he doesn't do it himself. I have no problems or complaints with them.

Description of Work
We have been using Miller Auto Care Inc. They did brakes for me and after that it started causing problems again and they fixed it with no charge.

Category auto repair

5.0

02/25/2013


Judy G.

We have used them for both of our cars for multiple times. They give an honest estimate evaluation, the merit of the work being done for me to be done. In other words, it was worth putting the money into the vehicle. They are good at explaining the work. They are just good in explaining the work and are patient about questions.

Description of Work
I took my car to Miller Auto Care in to get my breaks worked on.

Category auto repair

5.0

02/25/2013


Hannah G.

Work was done quickly and thoroughly. We've always been very happy with their work and felt like they are very trustworthy and dependable mechanics. Their prices seem a little higher than average to us, but we know we can always rely on their work.

Description of Work
Miller changed out the starter on our van.

Category auto repair

2.0

01/19/2013


Jeffrey B.

The prices charged are listed on Tirerack's website for each installer (mount and balance, tire disposal, stem, etc). I have had 4 sets of tires from Tirerack ordered this way and installed at a Tirerack installer locally. Prices listed were the prices charged. There were no surprises. I decided to try Miller because their mounting fee was less than the others. Well, I was surprised on two accounts: the valve stem fee charged (instead of the listed $1 they charged 4) and the worst was that they charged me $8 to put my spare tire back in my trunk. REALLY! Something that I can do in 2 minutes they charged me 8 bucks. All I can see is that this is a BS charge and they ripped me off. Unbelievable. I have has the same single tire service done at another local installer and they did not and would not think of adding such a charge. Certainly leaves a very bad impression on this repair center and seems like just a way to add to their bottom line. They will not be able to earn my trust back and I suggest that anyone reading this review think twice about having them mount tires on your vehicle. I also will be writing a review on Tirerack as Miller is supposed to be a Price Pledge Plus installer. Apparently they no longer believe in the pledge. UPDATE (Feb 21, 2013): in response to Mr. Stockberger's response, the other shops I have used for similar services had no shop fees tacked on and were more than happy to put my spare tire (the two times I have had a spare repaired on this car), secured back in the trunk. I will take an extra $4 mounting fee per tire over being surprised at an $8 fee that 1) ought not be an extra service, but in this case was and 2) one that works out to $80-100 per hour I can put my tire back in the trunk and secure it in about 2-3 minutes. To me, it is not about the actual charge (which is trivial), it is that I am a bit mystified that one would not do the simple courteous thing for a new customer. I could understand if this took 15 minutes to do, but it does not and no amount of explaining will convince me otherwise. If you are going to charge it, then you ought to disclose that to the customer first and let him/her decide whether to accept or decline.

Description of Work
I had a single tire replacement service done. I ordered the tire from tirerack which shipped the tire directly to Miller. Miller is rated as a performance Plus service center for Tirerack.

Category car tires

Service Provider Response

You mentioned that you used us because our mounting fee was less than other shops. We charge fees that cover what we are doing. Most shops today charge a shop supply fee on every invoice simply based upon a percent of the total bill. I am of the belief to charge for what we actually use and do. We do not charge fees that are elevated to cover things that we may, or may not do. Our mounting fee covers mounting the tire on the wheel, it does not include other needed services. I apologize that you are offended by the $8.00 fee for installing your spare tire in your trunk and properly reinstalling the rest of the items associated with that. Perhaps the other shops that charge more for the mounting have inflated that price to cover these type of "extras" that may or may not occur. Therefore when they don't do anything extra that is a bonus so to speak for their bottom line. You also referred to a $4.00 valve stem, if you look at your receipt, you will notice that the $4.00 charge was for the valve stem and the aluminum protective coated wheel weights that were used to balance your wheel and tire. I am sorry that you were offended by these charges on your bill, I will gladly refund them upon your request. Please feel free to me at 317-844-7566, or at millerautocare@yahoo.com Sincerely, Keith Stockberger Miller Auto Care Inc.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Arlington Auto Center, Joe's Battery & Import

    We have been serving Indianapolis motorists for over 40 years. We are proud to announce our recent move to a much larger and more professional facility to better serve our customers and provide more services. We also provide fleet/commercial discounts and we are very experienced in extended warranty repairs. Come see us grow and receive even better service! 5 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Service fees apply. DBA: import station.  

    Romans Quality Touch

    Over 100 years combined experience we have the tools to get the job done right! Call today for your estimate!  

    All Star Tire & Auto Service

    All Star Tire & Auto Service Company is a family owned tire and auto / truck maintenance and repair business located at the same address, 534 North Capitol Avenue, in downtown Indianapolis since 1940. We are an Affiliated Dealer of the Bridgestone-Firestone Company. Our primary tire lines are Bridgestone, Firestone, Fuzion, Primewell, Dayton and Lemans. We are also a Michelin tire dealer. Additionally, we sell Uniroyal , BFGoodrich , Goodyear, Hankook, National, Kelly, Dunlop, Carlisle, Continental, General, Kumho, Nexan, Pirelli, Super Cargo and most other original equipment and private label brands of passenger and light truck tires for cars, trucks, RVs, SUVs, CUVs, HYBRIDs, carts, mowers, wheelbarrows, and industrial pneumatic tire applications. Our specialty is the sale and service of high performance tires for European and Asian imports and all domestic automotive applications. We use the latest state of the art equipment and techniques to install and/or repair your new or e xisting tires and check your alignment, chassis and braking systems.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Auto Service
    Auto Transmission
    Auto Tires
    Auto Mufflers
    Auto Inspections
    Auto Accessories
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Oil changes, brakes, electrical, computer alignment, tires, tune-up and computer diagnosis, engine work, transmission, a/c & heat, etc.

    Services Not Offered

    Paint work.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Miller Auto Care Inc

    How is Miller Auto Care Inc overall rated?

    Miller Auto Care Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Miller Auto Care Inc open?

    Miller Auto Care Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Miller Auto Care Inc provide

    Miller Auto Care Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does Miller Auto Care Inc offer free estimates?

    Ask Miller Auto Care Inc for details on free project estimates.

    Does Miller Auto Care Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Miller Auto Care Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Miller Auto Care Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Miller Auto Care Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Miller Auto Care Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Miller Auto Care Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Miller Auto Care Inc?

    No, Miller Auto Care Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Miller Auto Care Inc offer?

    Miller Auto Care Inc offers the following services: Oil changes, brakes, electrical, computer alignment, tires, tune-up and computer diagnosis, engine work, transmission, a/c & heat, etc.

    Are there any services Miller Auto Care Inc does not offer?

    Paint work.