Parker & Son Screen & Glass Inc

About

Founded 1961 • With Angi since March 2004

We offer close one-on-one personalized customer service. We specialize in computerized design services so you can see your Kitchen or other Cabinetry project before you purchase it. We provide superior workmanship from our select teams of professional installers, all with proven track records. We are very proud of our level of personalized service with polite and courteous sales staff, designers, and installation teams. We offer a diverse line of Semi-Custom to Fully Custom Kitchen, Bath, Furniture, and Office cabinetry and we are an authorized distributor/dealer for 9 different quality manufacturers. We offer 100% all wood cabinetry on most lines, a Lifetime warranty on selected lines, and 1 year complete workmanship warranty on every job. We have convenient payment options through our partners GE Financing for Visa/MasterCard, and for qualified buyers we offer “ 6 months same as cash “. Besides our outstanding reviews on Angie’s List, we have an A+ rating on the Better Business Bureau. You want the best for your family so you need to call the best, PGT Cabinets....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

.

+5 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(83) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

75

4

3

3

2

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

glass repair (72)window replacement (18)door installation (10)screen repair (8)home remodeling (3)bathtub refinishing (2)
Showing 1-25 of 83 reviews
5.0

03/20/2020


Ronald R.

Everything was great and it done very quickly, very satisfied, highly recommend

Description of Work
Replace window panes

Category glass repair, replacement windows

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks glad we could help.
1.0

12/19/2019


Lisa W.

Our contractor wanted to go with them and when they came out to quote a man on their team repeatedly made what I would call condescending and obnoxious comments. A few highlights: when I asked lots questions he responded, “are you sure you’re not a dumb blonde,” when I asked about glass maintenance he replied, “what does it matter, you have a maid,” and when it was time to talk about pricing he said, “let’s get the husband in here.” For a variety of reasons I regret, we still moved forward with them, but I requested well in advance that the gentleman not be on the team that would install the door. They ignored the request and sent him. They came out to install and the panels were incorrect. They took additional measurements at install. They called the next morning saying they needed to take measurements for a third time. I changed my day to accommodate them, they didn’t show up. At this point in the holiday season, they said mid January, at best. After we had enough, we contacted the owner, he said they did not need our business, that they stood behind the man who made comments (“he was joking”), and now we are in the process of getting our 50% deposit back. I highly recommend you choose another vendor.

Description of Work
Shower enclosure

Category glass repair, home remodeling

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/19/2019

5.0

08/13/2018


John C.

The work replacement was outstanding.

Description of Work
Back door glass window replacement

Category glass repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2018

5.0

05/04/2017


Cheryl M.

They were very nice. They did exactly what they told me they would do and I had a pleasant experience with them. They were very professional and on time.

Description of Work
They replaced both panes of glass in a sliding glass door.

Category glass repair

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2017

5.0

05/02/2017


Berkeley B.

It was just fine. I'm very happy with it.

Description of Work
They custom made a storm pane for a large bay window.

Category glass repair

Cost $440

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/29/2016

1.0

09/07/2016


Anna C.

They were the worst contractor we dealt with in a master bath renovation. I regret having chosen them without getting another estimate, as my tiler recommended them and I trusted his judgement. When I called them up before agreeing to the estimate, I asked to speak with the installer. I wanted pictures or samples to see what the shower door would look like. I was repeatedly told that I had a drawing and that would show me how it would look. I asked to talk to the installer but Sarah ignored my requests to leave a message or talk to him. Then she hung up on me. I called back and told the next person that I didn't think it was unreasonable to get information on how the shower door would look. She sent me to their website, and from the pictures, the shower door looked fine. The representation for Clear glass did not have a hint of green. I never got a call back from the installer, but I assume that's because no one gave him my phone #. I have a bathroom in white marble. The glass door, which is marked as Clear on the estimate, was GREEN when they brought it. When I called the store, Mark the installer seemed reasonable and tried to work with me on getting a low iron glass, which is much closer to what most people would consider as clear. I think it's called Ultra Clear. He gave me an estimate of 3200-3500 that sounded a bit high, but told me he'd call me back to confirm the price. He called and told me it would be $4114 which is double the original price. I called another installer and was given a quote that was only 30% over the original price as opposed to 100% that Parker wanted to charge. Keith Parker, the business owner called me and the conversation became unprofessional and heated quickly. I told him that the $4114 quoted was unreasonably high relative to other installers and that whereas I wanted to work with him, I felt like he was ripping me off. He became aggressive and told me he wouldn't refund my deposit, even though there is nothing on the estimate that indicates a non refundable deposit. He also told me not to call him when another installer installed a door that falls off in 6 months. Considering he ripped me off of the deposit, and tried to double charge me, why would I ever call him again?

Description of Work
Glass shower door installation for a master bath renovation

Category glass repair

Cost $4,114

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2016

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the feed back, We always appreciate when customers take time to let us know how were doing. Unfortunately there were some miss communication and we are working to get resolved.
5.0

03/15/2016


Shirley L.

Called company from Angies listed. They came out quickly and gave an estimate which was much more reasonable than Home Depot. The windows took less time to get back than I anticipated, which was great. They came out quickly, did the work, cleaned the broken glass from the yard. I am very happy. He also was nice enough to replace bulbs in my chandelier that was too high for me to reach.

Description of Work
Replaced loft window and two side windows after a vandalism.

Category glass repair, replacement windows

Cost $1,330

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2016

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your response.
5.0

08/03/2015


Jamila T.

Someone tried to break in my house at 4 am today. After the initial shock and walk through with the police, I used Angie's List to research a nearby window replacement company with early hours. I called Parker & Son at 7:49 am. Although they weren't initially sure if they'd be able to replace the window today, they told me they thought they could send someone out to measure it today. At 7:56 am they called and confirmed that someone would be on the way shortly. They arrived to measure before 9, left to get a pick up, called a quote to me before 9:30, and had the window in before 10:15. They even hauled away some of the remaining shards for us. Great service. I have saved this company as a favorite and would definitely do business with them, again.

Description of Work
Replaced a broken window

Category glass repair, replacement windows

Cost $260

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2015

5.0

05/09/2015


Gloria S.

In fact, they came in under the price they originally quoted. They were efficient, punctual, and did everything they were supposed to do. They did it on-time.

Description of Work
I have used Parker & Son for the glass. They replaced my window. It was a huge window that was double pane.

Category replacement windows

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2014

5.0

04/29/2015


Robert L.

Parker and Son provided very efficient and responsive service throughout the project. The glass installation was excellent and they went out of their way to accommodate our schedule. Their responses to our questions via phone or email were prompt and informative. Overall we are very pleased with the experience and the result.

Description of Work
Prepare and install a custom frame less shower door and partition.

Category glass repair, doors

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2015

5.0

02/02/2015


Bobby S.

I had a door mirror in my bedroom that fell and my brother took it out there and they were able to replace the glass the same day. We were also able to get screens for the windows. We have used them a number of times and we were very pleased with the service. I’ve also referred my stepdaughter to them.

Description of Work
They replaced some glass and we had screens done by them.

Category glass repair, screen repair

Cost $45

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/09/2014

4.0

12/15/2014


Flavia O.

It went great. Mark provided the quote and it was very similar to another contractor I found on Angie's List. So I decided to go with them. However, when I said I wanted to close the deal, I left a message and unfortunately didn't get a call back from Mark. I called back and asked to schedule the service. However, the measurement needed to be that same day, since I was going to travel for a week, and Mark said there was nothing he could do. So I called Jim and he solved the problem. I only didn't give them an A because of Mark, but I would give them an A+++ because of Jim and his partner, who did the measure and installation. He was very flexible and was able to do the measure when I was available (and I had a very busy trave schedule). The installation happened in the exact date promised (the day before Thanksgiving) and it had to be that date, because I was going to travel for a few weeks after that. They were very accommodating and great to work with. The shower looks great and I am very happy! I would do business with them again!

Description of Work
Framed shower enclosure installation, in oil rubbed bronze

Category glass repair

Cost $1,380

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/26/2014

5.0

06/10/2014


Robert D.

Prompt reply - courteous telephone service - does estimates - best price!

Description of Work
Replace window glass

Category glass repair

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2014

5.0

04/21/2014


Mary J.

The were excellent and did a great job. I highly recommend and would advise using them.

Description of Work
Installed shower doors.

Category glass repair

Cost $1,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2014

1.0

04/09/2014


Erik M.

This is one of the worst customer service experiences I've ever had. In preparation for selling our home we needed to have one of the insulating seals replaced on a window. We contacted Pinnacle and Son's based on the favorable reviews on Angie's List. We didn't have any issues making the appointment and getting a couple of guys to come out and measure the window. The issues started as the workers were leaving our home, after measuring the window. I simply asked them what the next steps were. They seemed a bit fuzzy on what would happen next, but basically said the glass would be ordered and someone would be following up with us. They also stated it would take about 4-5 days to order the glass. Fast forward 4 days later, I call Parker and Son's to confirm. I ended up speaking with Laurie. Laurie was nice enough on the phone, but I became alarmed when she mentioned that we should have received a confirmation via email requesting a deposit. No one had told me about this, and the email is not addressed from Parker and Son's - so it probably went straight to my spam/trash folder. She also said that it would take about 7-10 days to order the glass. I told her we were up against a deadline to move and no one had informed us of this. Finally, to add insult to injury she said they needed to come back out to verify the color of the window, so they still wouldn't be able to order the mirror. She couldn't really give me a good explanation of why they didn't do this when they were out here the first time. After I didn't let her off the hook for this, she put the owner, James on the phone. JAMES PARKER aggressively stated - and I quote - "Sorry buddy, but it takes 7-10 days to get the glass ordered and if you can find it faster somewhere else, knock yourself out." He then hung up on me. I haven't been hung up on since I was in the 8th grade. We did find another company that could order the glass in 4-5 days for $100 cheaper on Angie's List, so I guess this was a good thing. My advice to James and Parker/Son's - train your guys to clearly state what the next steps are, how long it will take, make sure they get all the details they need IN ONE VISIT!!! Again, this is one of the most unprofessional experiences I've ever had. If the owners are behaving in such and unprofessional manner, then what type of service can you expect from the employees?

Description of Work
We needed the insulating seal replaced on a Window

Category replacement windows

Cost $300

Work Completed On 04/09/2014

Service Provider Response

unknown
5.0

03/19/2014


Blake S.

First, the glass that came in, they checked it and one of the pieces was not cut correctly so they had to cancel that. It wasn't really scheduled but they called me to tell me they have a piece of glass that isn't cut to their expectation so they ordered a new piece but they wanted me to know so that I didn't wonder how long it was taking. So, they kept me informed every step of the way. And when they finally came in, everything was done very professionally. I am extremely pleased with the results. They were always on time. They answered all of my questions. They were not the cheapest provider but then again, they were not the most expensive. Their price to me was right on the money for the type of work and the glass that was installed.

Description of Work
I used Parker & Son Screen & Glass Inc to re-do the shower, enclosure, rebuilt my bathroom and I needed them to put in the shower glass. They came out and measure the shower area to be enclosed.

Category bathtub refinishing, glass repair

Cost $2,318

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/27/2014

5.0

02/27/2014


margaret D.

The windows and streens have held up well and look as good as the day when they were installed.

Description of Work
They installed bronze color storm and streen windows 25 years ago.

Category screen repair, replacement windows

Cost $700

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2014

5.0

01/12/2014


Darcy S.

The house we recently bought didn't have screens in most of the windows. I took one of the screens that we did have to Parker and Son, and they made four identical screens for us.

Description of Work
I used PARKER AND SON SCREEN AND GLASS INC

Category screen repair

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2013

5.0

01/07/2014


JEANNE G.

This company gets an A all the way. The guys that came to do the estimate knew what they were doing. I had two other estimates, both from Angies List, and while these companies may have been fine and the estimates were all in same ballpark, the Parker &Son guys took many more measurements, and checked various things about the windows to be sure the new glass was the correct type and size. I felt more confident that the glass and mullions would match my existing third window which is next to the two that needed the glass replaced. Only hitch was that by mistake only one window was ordered instead of the two, which they discovered when they came to install the first window. But it didn't really matter to me; I knew they would order and install the other one in due time. Several years ago I had this company make and install a frameless shower door and so based on that good result was an additional reason to hire them for this job.

Description of Work
Replaced insulated glass in 2 very large windows

Category glass repair

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/02/2014

5.0

01/03/2014


Frances J. B.

This review is long over due. It was a real pleasure doing business with this Company. It is so good to know that there are some companies out there that still conduct their business the old fashion way. that is, with pride and integrity. they were always on time and delivered as promised! Mr. Parker came out first and carefully explained to us what we needed to do in preparation for the job. he also explained the process from start to completion. The guys that came in to actually do the work were amazing. very respectful, cleaned up after each visit, wore shoe covers without me asking them to! Mark was amazing as well, he will not be satisfied until you are! I would also like to include Mrs. Parker and the office staff, they too were very friendly and polite. Thank You Again, Parker and Son, For A Job Well Done!

Description of Work
Removed our old framed shower and, replaced it with a beautiful new frameless shower.

Category glass repair

Cost $2,233

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2013

5.0

10/12/2013


Andrew C.

All went excellently. They came out and took measurements. Emailed us estimates for doing it 2 ways. We decided to go in and look at the hardware and talk with someone further. We then finalized the plans and the glass was done just about a week later and installed soon thereafter. It looks great. It works great. Its exactly what we wanted.

Description of Work
Added the glass walls and door enclosure to a shower.

Category glass repair

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2013

3.0

10/02/2013


Richard F.

Supplier provided incorrect information regarding my glass thickness and was $197.00 higher than the company we ended up using.

Description of Work
None

Category glass repair

Work Completed On 10/02/2013

5.0

09/10/2013


Marilyn M.

Their top rating is deserved. Nice guys (Jeff and Todd at my house). Good job. Sometimes things happen. Since my house was recently painted, some windows were difficult to open. Not till after the job was completed did I notice there was a small crack in one of the window's panes. I called the company to let them know although I was uncertain if I wanted to worry about it at all. Done! They were back out and replaced the glass immediately. No question in their minds. Job done right and done well. One screen didn't fit correctly but was resized on the spot and the job was complete. Definite recommendation.

Descripti