Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Mad Hatter Service Co

Founded 1978 • With Angi since December 2002

4.5

(129) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5220 Hwy 9

Alpharetta, GA 30004

Description

Additional DBA - Mad Hatter Air Duct Cleaning & Chimney Sweep. Additional email - info@madhatterservices.com. Family owned. Additional business hours - Mon-Sat 10:00 AM-6:00 PM; Sun 12:00 PM-5:00 PM. Family owned....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/03/2020


David J.

The team of Pepe, Eric and Nathan were on time, in fact early, very efficient and clean and polite. I will certainly use them again.

Description of Work
Chimney swept.

Category chimney sweep

1.0

07/01/2020


Tammy S.

Chimmey caught on fire a few months after install, 911 arrived, Chimmey is now unable to use and mad hatter arrived few days later and refused to fix Chimmey and I quoted told do NOT use wood stove again!

Description of Work
Install wood stove

Category chimney sweep, water damage restoration, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

1.0

12/13/2019


Joe J.

Poorly. You feel held hostage because there are very few companies that do this. They up charge you for items not needed and tell you that it is due to code. I dealt with Chris who always tries to add needless charges. The installation was not professional; I had to stand over he installers and help them reference the manual. I paid a lot for installation and literally could have done a better job myself. I was concerned about the pipe assembly going into the wall. I was told it was fine. Turns out I was right. Apparently when the plume was cleaned the next year a note was made that it was not done correctly and it needed to be fixed under warranty. I wasn’t told that but it was apparently relayed to the office. They never called me. We had some smoke seeping out from the pipe and we called. I was told that they won’t come out unless they do a service and cleaning ($400 charge). The soonest they could come out was A MONTH LATER. When they came out, the guys notes the improper assembly and asked me why I hadn’t scheduled the warranty repairs. I told them that it was the first I had heard of it. They were surprised that we hadn’t been contacted. I paid for a service I didn’t need and was supposed to be contacted to schedule the repair. Still hasn’t happened. It’s been cold and for 6 weeks the only thing I have gotten from my stove is a $400 charge for an unnecessary service call and the stove still doesn’t work. This company steals money. Don’t use them.

Description of Work
Stove installation and repair

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

07/23/2018


Cheryl T.

I contacted this company because they were referred to me by my HVAC contractor and I had used them on a previous job. They were responsive to the request for services on Angie's list and we set up the appointment. The crew showed up on time, were polite and professional and performed the work quickly. They cleaned up after themselves. They suggested some additional work such as replacement of the duct in the bathroom that appeared to have some mold growing in it, and provided a quote but they did not do a 'hard sell' which I appreciated. They reduced the price of the duct cleaning because my system was brand new and I did not need cleaning of the coil or blower, and they also had a $50-off special at the time I scheduled services. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Duct cleaning

Category air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for inviting our company into your home to perform the air duct cleaning for you. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again in the near future! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

04/05/2018


Kristee W.

The workers arrived right on time, performed the work, then explained to me the findings. The price was a little high compared to other companies but they did give me two coupons (including the angies list coupon) to apply, which brought the price down. They put down floor protection, cleaned up after they were done, and left no mess at all. They even gave me a free estimate on replacing my gas logs. I would recommend and am likely to have them replace the log set in the future.

Description of Work
chimney sweep, chimney inspection

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you for inviting our company into your home to clean and inspect your fireplace. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to installing the gas logs for you!
5.0

01/23/2018


William G.

Hired Mad Hatter to install a set of fire logs. The folks in the showroom were very helpful and James the service technician who did the install was great. They had inspected and cleaned the chimney when I first bought my house in 2015, so I got a break on the installation price. Will definitely use them for duct and dryer vent cleaning in the near future!

Description of Work
Install gas firedogs

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing our company to install the gas logs for you! We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again in the near future!
5.0

11/22/2017


Michael B.

Very well, thorough and professional

Description of Work
Chimney sweep & inspection

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing our services. We greatly appreciate your business!
5.0

07/27/2017


Erinn R.

The folks at Mad Hatter were prompt, thorough and courteous. They cleaned up very well after themselves.

Description of Work
Air duct cleaning for 2 HVAC units and 30 returns

Category air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for inviting our company into your home to perform the air duct cleaning. We greatly appreciate your business! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

06/02/2017


Kristye D.

Went very well. Jack and his assistant did a great job on the chimney part. Air duct cleaning went well, too.

Description of Work
First used them for firebox rebuild, partial flue rebuild, installation of cap, cricket, gas logs installed. The following year, I used Mad Hatter for air duct cleaning.

Category chimney sweep, masonry, air duct cleaning, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing our company to perform the fireplace repairs for you! We greatly appreciate your repeat business and look forward to working with you again in the future! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

05/19/2017


PAUL R.

SUPER! Very smooth and professional No dust or dirt left behind!

Description of Work
Air conditioning ducts aged over 35 yrs-needed to be cleaned. We did not know if that had been done before we had bought the house. Mad Hatter took care of our two systems' ducts and retrieved a large amount of dust. everything went smoothly and we are very happy with their work, professionalism ,etc. This happened a few years ago

Category air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing our company to perform the air duct cleaning for you! We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again the near future! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

04/27/2017


sandy S.

They were on time, professional, considerate, thorough. The took before and after pics. They found mold in my Plenum and gave me a quote to replace. they stuck to the quote with no hidden charges. they cleaned all the vents by hand and sealed my system up tight the fireplace had some issues and they pointed them out for me. they were excellent

Description of Work
have an odor coming out of our vents when the Air is on. Just had two brand new units put in 1.5 years ago. HVAC company suggested duct cleaning to clear that as an issue to the odor. been here in this house 20 years never had chimney cleaned. decided to do it while they were here

Category chimney sweep, air duct cleaning, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing our company to perform the air duct cleaning and remediation for you. We greatly appreciate your business and review! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

03/29/2017


Richie C.

GREAT! They were fast and suggested the right products for the fireplace out of the gate. They even modified my old mantel and reused the top part after the stone covered the existing wall.

Description of Work
Replaced old builder grade fire insert with a real wood burning stove. Also removed the old marble and replaced with natural stone.

Category masonry, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing our company to install the wood burning stove for you. We greatly appreciate your business and review! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

01/02/2017


Diantha H.

Fully professional report by e-mail including photos of the inside of the chimney.

Description of Work
Evaluation of chimney.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

We greatly appreciate your review of our services. If you ever need anything else, please don't hesitate to ask! - The Mad Hatter
5.0

09/30/2016


Valerie A.

They did great! Called to see if they could come a bit early as they were running ahead of schedule, which worked out great for me! They were professional, pleasant and worked fast. I will call them again for sure!

Description of Work
They cleaned our dryer vent and swept and inspected chimney and fireplace.

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing our company to perform the chimney cleaning and inspection for you! We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again in the near future! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

09/26/2016


Norman P.

Everyone involved was very courteous, Clayton was on time and very mindful of keeping any mess to a absolute minimum.

Description of Work
Panels inside fireplace replaced, sealed flue gap at termination cap.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing a review of Clayton and the service he provided. If you ever need anything else, please don't hesitate to give us a call! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

08/04/2016


Steve C.

Honesty and Professionalism. Contracted Mad Hatter to complete duct cleaning and dryer vent cleaning. Zak and Harvey arrived as scheduled. Very professional, they introduced themselves and put on protective foot covers before entering the residence. After an initial inspection of my ducts, Zak asked was prompted me to have the vents cleaned. I had just purchased the home and assumed the ducts would need cleaning. Zak provided photos he took during the initial inspection showing a clean system- it’s good to see a contractor that’s HONEST. The dryer vent was another matter, dirty and was thoroughly cleaned. In lieu of cleaning, I had the ducts sanitized. Thank you Mad Hatter for true PROFESSIONALISM.

Description of Work
Duct and Dryer vent cleaning.

Category air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing such a fantastic review of our technicians, Zak and Harvey. We greatly appreciate you inviting us into your home to perform service for you, and we're glad to hear our technicians were honest and saved you some money. If you ever need anything else, please don't hesitate to ask! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

12/08/2015


Tracy C.

Matt and Andrew were prompt and very professional. They carefully moved furniture, covered rugs, protected flooring, wore booties inside the house, and then put everything back when they were done. Of the 6 fireplaces in the house, 3 had pilot lights with gas log sets, 1 had a gas log set and the other 2 were wood-burners with a gas starter. On the pilot light sets, they removed and cleaned the glass doors, removed and cleaned the logs, vacuumed out dust, checked fittings and valves for leaks, checked the switches and explained to me how everything worked, including how to re-ignite the pilot, turn everything off and on, etc. I had asked about a potential leak at a switch for one of the pilot-operated fireplaces, and Matt checked the chimney at the roof and made recommendations for follow-up with the roofer for a potential minor flashing issue. The main gas log set in the family room was inspected and cleaned as well; they removed the logs and the old, crappy looking "ember" material and replaced with updated materials. Prior to their visit, it looked like a fake log fireplace with "insulation"...now it appears more like real logs, with more realistic looking embers that don't look like R 19 fell from the chimney and landed on the logs. Very pleased with how that one turned out; exceeded expectations. The basement wood-burners were also inspected; the previous owner told us he used one of the fireplaces "every day"...well, he clearly never had it cleaned. EVER. After getting huge piles of creosote out of the flue, Matt recommended a follow-up chemical cleaning as the video inspection still showed caked on creosote in the flue. He also advised not to burn wood in that fireplace until further cleaning could be done due to the potential fire hazard. I had a feeling that fireplace was going to be bad (based on other lack-of-routine-maintenance things we discovered after purchasing the home), but not that bad. As other reviewers had mentioned, the cost of these services is not inexpensive. However, it was well worth the price to learn the proper operation of all fireplaces in the house (since they are gas appliances), as well as gaining the peace of mind that comes with knowing they are in good working order. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Performed a thorough inspection and cleaning of 6 fireplaces in a 16-year old home where the previous owners did not do much in the maintenance department.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces, gas logs, wells

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing such a detailed review of our technicians and the services they provided. We are very thankful for your business, and we greatly appreciate your recommendation and 'A' rating. If you ever need anything else, please don't hesitate to give us a call! -The Mad Hatter
4.0

11/02/2015


greet G.

I did like the work they did but I thought it was a little on the pricey side but for the rest, the service and the work, it was good.

Description of Work
I used Mad Hatter to repair a backdoor for our fireplace which was cracked and they cleaned or looked at our chimney.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing our company to perform the fireplace repair for you. We greatly appreciate your business and your review! -The Mad Hatter
2.0

07/29/2015


Cliff B.

No one should charge you for giving you a quote and I felt like the quote they gave me was very un-thorough. They did not even do a comprehensive chimney inspection. They sent somebody out to take just a couple of pictures and very quickly they gave me an approximate number. They then said they would have somebody send me a final quote in two days and I needed to pay them $100. Two days later somebody who had had never even seen the chimney sent me a quote for $13,000 so I felt like their prices were exorbitant and their inspection was very unprofessional. When they were out here for the inspection they thought it would cost $10,000. They got to me quickly. Other companies I spoke with did not charge for a quote.

Description of Work
They gave me a quote for re-bricking my chimney.

Category masonry, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback and will acknowledge this review when making future business decisions. Although, we do want to remind you that, even though we charge a $75.00 evaluation fee, the cost is applied towards the recommended repairs. For those interested in a comprehensive chimney inspection instead, we offer that service for a nonrefundable price of $189.00. When scheduling the appointment, you were made aware of the two options provided and chose a single item evaluation rather than the video inspection. If you believe our technician performed the evaluation in an unprofessional manner, we apologize for not meeting your standards. However, with the pictures and information gathered, our Director of Operations (who has cleaned, inspected and repaired fireplaces and chimneys for 14 years) provided you with a formal proposal to perform the repair. Within the 5 page document, he outlined the following: a 9 to 11 day calendar that noted the step-by step instructions as to how the work is to exactly be performed, a count of the number of technicians and helpers onsite to perform the service and an exact list of materials required to complete the repairs (some of which, such as the rain pan and wind shroud, are custom built items). Perhaps, what is most important to note is that our company offered a 10 year warranty on the finished product. This guarantee includes both the labor involved and the materials used. If you are still unsatisfied, please call our office at 770-740-8133 to speak with our Director of Operations. He would gladly schedule an appointment at no charge to meet with you as well as the other companies to ensure our findings and prices are reputable and accurate. -The Mad Hatter
5.0

06/19/2015


Ursla T.

They were courteous thorough clean and professional, They explained everything that they did as well as showed me what it was that they were working on. They covered they areas that they were working on and left the house cleaner than when they started.

Description of Work
Cleaned all of the air vents duct work and chimney.

Category chimney sweep, air duct cleaning, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing our company to perform the air duct cleaning for you; we also greatly appreciate the fantastic review of the services provided. -The Mad Hatter
5.0

05/29/2015


Rose W.

I didn't know hole in wall was there. So Mad Hatter's technicians came back the same day and sealed it all up for me. I'm good to go now! Definitely will recommend and use again in the future!

Description of Work
Cleaned dryer vent. Found and repaired hole in wall at dryer connection.

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our technicians and the services they performed. Thank you for your business! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

02/18/2015


Robert T.

Got everything working good. Very happy with them.

Description of Work
Fireplace company. Tuned up and cleaned our chimney.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing our services; we greatly appreciate your business. If you need anything else, please give us a call! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

10/23/2014


gary M.

Prompt, courteous, efficient and professional.

Description of Work
Cleaned dryer vent and replaced dryer roof vent cover. Checked my chimney and advised it did not need NOT need cleaning!

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing a review of our services. We greatly appreciate your business!
5.0

09/29/2014


Heather C.

Zak & Chad arrived on time, did a thorough cleaning and inspection of our fireplace with zero mess. The inspection was well-documented. We will be following up with Mad Hatter for any future maintenance or repairs.

Description of Work
Cleaned and checked our chimney.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing our company to perform the chimney cleaning and inspection. We greatly appreciate your review and your business! -The Mad Hatter
5.0

07/07/2014


Alex W.

The crew was fabulous. It was a two-person show. I recently purchased this home and the ducts had not been cleaned in about 5 years. I knew it needed to be done, and I was impressed with their before and after pictures. The ducts were truly disgusting. The guys were funny, on time, and worked very hard. They included a free dryer-vent cleaning with the service as well. I would use them again, and they quoted me on some Duct Replacement work that I may move forward with in the future. Very positive experience.

Description of Work
They cleaned my air ducts. One unit, about 7 vents.

Category chimney sweep, heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for writing a review of our services! We are glad that our technicians went above and beyond your expectations. We look forward to hearing back from you in the near future! -The Mad Hatter

    Other local Pros in your area

    StormROOF Systems

    We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate!  

    Small Change Assembly Solutions

    Small Change Assembly Solutions has over 25 years of experience assembling, installing & repairing fitness equipment (i.e., recumbent bikes, treadmills, ellipticals, home gyms (PRx & Rogue Systems), game tables and bicycles), basketball systems (in-ground and portables), furniture, outdoor recreation and entertainment equipment such as (swing-sets, trampolines, patio sets, gazebos, pergolas, grills and sheds) and providing maintenance & services or related equipment. Small Change Assembly Solutions provides service in Greater Houston & Katy Tx. surrounding areas, LA., Ms., Al., Ga., Fl., & Southern Tn.  

    Charter Remediation & Construction

    Searching for the right water remediation company can be a daunting task. Look no further. We succeed where orther companies fall short. Most companies just want to dry your home and leave you having to find a contractor to put it back together. Not at Charter. We are a full service water remediation and construction company. We are here for you. FROM START TO FINISH!  

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Dryer vent, chimney restoration and repair, fireplaces, gas logs, grills, awnings, accessories & duct cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Mad Hatter Service Co

    How is The Mad Hatter Service Co overall rated?

    The Mad Hatter Service Co is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Mad Hatter Service Co open?

    The Mad Hatter Service Co is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does The Mad Hatter Service Co provide

    The Mad Hatter Service Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does The Mad Hatter Service Co offer free estimates?

    No, The Mad Hatter Service Co does not offer free project estimates.

    Does The Mad Hatter Service Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, The Mad Hatter Service Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Mad Hatter Service Co offer a senior discount?

    Yes, The Mad Hatter Service Co offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by The Mad Hatter Service Co?

    Yes, The Mad Hatter Service Co offers warranties.

    What services does The Mad Hatter Service Co offer?

    The Mad Hatter Service Co offers the following services: Dryer vent, chimney restoration and repair, fireplaces, gas logs, grills, awnings, accessories & duct cleaning.