Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Top Notch Home Improvement

Founded 2006 • With Angi since September 2006

Owner-operated. No subs. Cost is determined by job. Travel charges may apply. After hours charges may apply.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.9

(299) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 299 reviews
Wade C.
5.0
10/05/2020
Replaced range hood and ceiling fan and replaced a bad electrical outlet. He was able to remedy and make professional recommendations.
Description of Work
Electrical replacement
Category
electrician, alterations
Bonnabel C.
5.0
06/29/2018
Excellent, as always I have used Pete for many years and he is always first rate. Great service and work. So glad I have him to call on when routine things need to be done and when emergencies arise. Five stars*****!!
Description of Work
lots of misc. items and chores
Category
handyman service, plumbing
Gail W.
5.0
03/07/2018
He is excellent, is prompt and his prices are fair. I am using him again and I would highly recommend him.
Description of Work
He repaired a bed for me and did some other handyman jobs.
Category
handyman service
Mary Ann B.
5.0
06/28/2017
Pete was on time, professional, and efficient. Even thought the original job needed to be extended due to an unexpected (and unrelated!) electrical problem, Pete resolved the problem quickly. His fee was very reasonable.
Description of Work
Move a refrigerator from laundry room to garage. Laundry room door and refrigerator doors needed to be removed to accommodate the move.
Category
electrician, handyman service, doors
Patti C.
5.0
02/09/2017
He was here most of the day. He is a perfectionist. What stands out is the punctuality, attentions to detail and pride.
Description of Work
I had a dish-washer installed. He had to dig out the floor to make it fit.
Category
plumbing
Nong W.
5.0
11/07/2016
He did a quality job. But we had a bit problem of communication on price: my initial call got a quote of $100 and it evolved into $140, $160, and $175 when everything is ready and the job was about to start. I was a bit unhappy for the surprise on price but agreed to pay him $175 if the work went well. He took time to finish and cleanup and I want to pay him $180 but he refused, insisted on only taking $160.
Description of Work
Replace dishwasher
Category
appliance repair, plumbing
Dee P.
5.0
10/31/2016
Pete did a really great job. I would use him again in the future and recommend him to others.
Description of Work
I had three dishwashers that needed to be repaired. Pete was able to fix two of them, but the third one can't be repaired.
Category
appliance repair
Rick Y.
5.0
10/06/2016
On the night the water heater was damaged, Pete provided a verbal estimate over the phone and came out the next morning to firm up the price and do the job. He was on time, professional and courteous. New water heater was installed without a hitch and - other than a minor hiccup which Pete quickly corrected - job went as planned. Cleaned up after himself when the job was done. Price was competitive. Highly recommend him for this type work.
Description of Work
We had to replace a damaged water heater.
Category
electrician, plumbing
Sandra W.
5.0
09/26/2016
I had called several local plumbers. Pete was the only service that promptly called back and arrived early for his appointment. He was knowledgeable and courteous. He identified the problem. Fixed it and was on his way to his next job.
Description of Work
Repair leak under kitchen sink
Category
plumbing
Richard S.
3.0
09/20/2016
They do not have the right equipment to do this job.
Description of Work
A plumbing repair
Category
plumbing
Peter K.
5.0
06/18/2016
It went extremely well and I could not be more pleased. Pete was great, very professional and worked straight through until all work was completed. Some of the fixes were extremely difficult but Pete kept his cool and got the job done.I have used other plumbers in the past and there is no comparison. I have scheduled him for more work to be completed within the next week or two. I wouldn't use anyone else for my home repairs.
Description of Work
Did a lot of plumbing work that needed repair on an older home-inside water main value, fixing bathtub faucets, sink faucet and replacing kitchen faucet along with coming out the next day for an emergency repair on a basement door that had become locked.
Category
plumbing
AMY B.
5.0
05/26/2016
I was extremely pleased with the service. I called early in the morning and Pete answered immediately. I was told a date and time that he could come out. He was very professional as he called me to see if he could come into the home 30 minutes earlier than he had stated before he knocked on my door. I was very pleased that he was earlier than stated. He and I discussed what needed to be done before he left to get some parts. He came back quickly and had the job done quickly. The price was very reasonable and I would not only recommend but hire him in a heartbeat again......He is the guy to hire for your needs....
Description of Work
Fixed the shower that was leaking and the toilet tank as it was making too much noise with it filling up way too slowly
Category
plumbing
Val L.
5.0
05/25/2016
He was pretty good. I have to call them again. He was an A+.
Description of Work
I used Top Notch. My jacuzzi stopper had popped out so I needed a specialty job for that. He did a toilet.
Category
plumbing, pool cleaners
David G.
5.0
05/16/2016
He was very prompt and vary careful during the installation. Would definitely use his services again.
Description of Work
Pete hung 5 heavy mirrors and 1 custom made shelf. He also patched several large holes in drywall .
Category
handyman service
Joseph S.
5.0
05/01/2016
Pete was there when he said & on time. Fixed the problem and at a reasonable price. Would recommend him to anyone.
Description of Work
Unclogged kitchen sink drain and replaced leaking pipes in wall, also changed hot & cold faucet around.
Category
plumbing
Joanne L M.
5.0
04/01/2016
last winter, new flooring was placed over existing. afterwards, it was impossible to use bathroom rugs unless the doors were left open. I reached out to top notch for adjustments needed. pete responded quickly and worked around my schedule. he arrived on set time, giving a fair price, began the excellent job right away and made sure any mess was taken care of. I am so pleased in using pete @top notch! folks, looking for excellent work, call pete!
Description of Work
top notch shortened 2 doors in bathroom.
Category
flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing, home remodeling
Nancy C.
5.0
03/25/2016
He is very prompt, professional and capable. I'm so happy to know I can call him whenever I have a problem. I'd be happy to recommend him to others.
Description of Work
I've had Pete over to do several things in my house. He installed a water line for a new refrigerator. Then I had him back to install grab bars for the showers and handle other miscellaneous plumbing issues.
Category
plumbing
Val L.
5.0
03/22/2016
Very neat thorough. Would recommend price reasonable.My dates arent right but I remember his work was good.
Description of Work
Plumbing
Category
plumbing
John K.
1.0
03/18/2016
They mis-advertise their service area, they don't service all of New Castle County and they refuse to do service in the city of Wilmington which is in New Castle County. Due to this I think that Angie's List should drop them.
Description of Work
I spoke with the provider to have work done at my home in Wilmington.
Category
handyman service
CAROL B.
5.0
02/24/2016
went great. I am lining up my next project for him.
Description of Work
Pete was able to replace a sump pump. I sent him a photo of the old one and he came prepared. Before that, he replaced a shower head and tub faucet that had copper piping. would call again.
Category
handyman service, plumbing, remodeling
Kate C.
5.0
02/18/2016
Pete did the work as requested. Always reliable, informative and thorough.
Description of Work
Plumbing repairs and updates
Category
plumbing
Carl G.
5.0
02/16/2016
The job was excellent. In fact perfect. Moreover, because of an impending carpet installation he went out of his way to meet our deadline so the carpet installation could proceed. We have used Top Notch for several other services over the past few years and always found him to be thorough, personable and professional.
Description of Work
Pete painted and did some finishing detail on an important part of our great room sky light.
Category
flooring contractor, plumbing, interior painters
Erin & Robert F.
1.0
01/28/2016
He left the toilet broken. It needed a simple adjustment. Top Notch installed cheap parts that immediately broke. He left the job broken and incomplete. I had to hire someone else to repair the toilet. We spent 450 in materials for the lighting jobs that were to be done, when Pete Lindbergh decided he was no longer going to do the job. He never provided us a receipt for the electrical wires and supplies, so we cannot even return these unneeded materials. We will be seeking damages for carpet cleaning, plumbing repair, and disconnecting the lighting that he left unfinished and dangling from the wall, repainting and refinishing the beam that he drilled into. We were taken back by his rude behavior, and would not recommend Pete to be let in anyone's home. Take this as a warning. We had a very unpleasant experience that left us feeling unsettled.
Description of Work
The provider, Top Notch Home Improvement, was hired to repair toilet, and construct two separate track lighting systems. First of all, he did not wear booties and tracked snowy mud through the house. He worked for 8 hours, after telling us the job would take 2 hours. He constructed a monstrosity of tubing and wires on the ceiling. He announced to us after 8 hours of work that he would not be completing this job, with no explanation, he left abruptly, leaving the job in disarray.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Description of work: Complaint 1: Did not wear booties and tracked snow and mud into house. Response: Homeowner was there during the entire time and never mentioned anything about this to me. I watch where I walk and am careful not to track dirt. Complaint 2: He worked for 8 hours, after telling us the job would take 2 hours. He constructed a monstrosity of tubing ad wires on the ceiling. Response: I reviewed with the homeowner just exactly what he wanted while there on a previous trip. Purchased materials required based on that job. upon arrival, homeowner had changed his requirements which called for considerably more work, more materials, and another trip to supply store. Owner was consulted or looked at appearance multiple times during process and never said anything negative at the time. Complaint 3: He announced to us after 8 hours of work that he would not be completing this job, with no explanation, he left abruptly, leaving the job in disarray. Response: I did leave abruptly, with the job unfinished. I could not complete job due to back pain incurred because I slipped repeatedly on customer's icy porch. I disconnected what I had installed for safety reasons and left the installation so that customer would be able to save money by not having another installer do the same work again. Member comments: Complaint 1: He left the toilet broken. It needed a simple adjustment. Top Notch installed cheap parts that immediately broke. He left the job broken and incomplete. I had to hire someone else to repair the toilet. Response: I do not use cheap parts, and that flapper did not break. I used the wrong flapper to fix an existing leak on a previous visit. it appeared to work at first, but was not returning to the closed position properly. I had the proper flapper with me on this occasion, but did not install it before I left. I will refund the portion of previous visit spent on replacing flapper, and cost of flapper. Complaint 2: We spent 450 in materials for the lighting jobs that were to be done, when Pete Lindbergh decided he was no longer going to do the job. He never provided us a receipt for the electrical wires and supplies, so we cannot even return these unneeded materials. Response: Homeowner never asked for a receipt. A receipt is not needed to return items to Lowe's. Nevertheless, I will refund the homeowner $450.00 for materials purchased, on the condition that he returns the materials to me. For my part, I spent about $100.00 on additional materials required for the homeowner's change order, that I never charged him for. Likewise, I wasted a day of labor that I will never see.
Erica J.
5.0
01/18/2016
On the initial visit he found that the replacement parts could not be found at Home Depot but instead ordered for free directly from the manufacturer. He submitted the order and then came back once the parts came in to make the repair. On both visits he was prompt, personable and professional. He discounted his fee of $60.00 on his second visit because the repair took less than 30 minutes as all the work was at counter level and not under the counter.
Description of Work
Repair/replace our hot water faucet which would not turn off
Category
plumbing
Deborah R.
5.0
01/04/2016
Pete was great. Knowledgeable and honest
Description of Work
fixed a botched install by Hone Depot
Category
handyman service

Other local Pros in your area

Microni Painting

Microni General Services is a company that you can trust on the quality of service and relax without worry. Microni Painting - Another job completed with quality. Free estimates.  

Angi Certified

Zoom Drain

Here at Zoom Drain, we are best known for fast response times and our ability to provide focused solutions to drain & sewer problems. From sinks, toilets and tubs to main lines and sewers, our team of drain & sewer professionals are ready to provide you with fast, expert services.  

Angi Certified

Done Right Today

Done Right Today is FAST, FRIENDLY, & AFFORDABLE. We are always available to provide plumbing and drain cleaning services at a time that is confident for you. Locallly owned and operated out of Delaware. Call today!!!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

1805 Lincoln Ave

Wilmington, DE 19808

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Top Notch Home Improvement is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Top Notch Home Improvement is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

Top Notch Home Improvement accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Top Notch Home Improvement offers free project estimates.

No, Top Notch Home Improvement does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Top Notch Home Improvement offers emergency services.

Yes, Top Notch Home Improvement offers warranties.

Top Notch Home Improvement offers the following services: Minor Electrical & Plumbing, Remodeling Kitchen & Bath, Lighting, Handyman, Drywall Patching, Window, Door & Siding Repair, Mechanical & Minor HVAC, Lock Replacement & Repair