Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Building Services Group LLC

Founded 2008 • With Angi since February 2011

3.2

(62) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1250 Connecticut Ave NW 200

Washington, DC 20036

Description

Building Services Group, LLC is a full service residential and commercial General Contractor servicing DC, MD and VA. Since 2008 BSG has been making our clients visions a reality. We will guide you through each step of the process to ensure your complete satisfaction from design through

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/13/2014


Andrea P.

After calling and leaving several messages, I simply gave up. None of the messages were ever returned and in the end I was simply out the 50.00 for "the big deal".

Description of Work
Nothing --never returned phone calls

Category remodeling

1.0

10/08/2013


Cynthia R.

Mr. Giordano was very good about communicating and responding to e-mails at the beginning. We set a date for coming to my home for measuring. He was a good sport when he showed on the scheduled Monday in February, knocked at my front door and got no answer. He sent me an e-mail to that effect, immediately, and offered to reschedule. I explained that I was at home but in the basement with my puppy and did not hear him at the door. We rescheduled for later that week. A very personable man, Mr. Giordano showed up on Friday, we discussed the "must haves" and then my wishlist, and he wrote down the dimensions of my basement. He told me he would send me the design renderings we discussed via e-mail. Despite several calls, voicemail messages, and e-mail attempts, I've never spoken with Mr. Giordano since he came to my home nor received anything from him or his company via e-mail or snail mail.

Description of Work
Nothing beyond taking measurements.

Category remodeling

1.0

05/28/2013


Richard G.

It started off okay in that I was able to schedule an appointment and then he showed up as scheduled on Jan. 2. I was expecting the design within 2 weeks. After many emails and phone calls, and I do mean many, and several missed new deadlines, I finally received the plans on Feb 12th. The plans were measing the actual measurements, but he sent me updated docs with the measurements the same day on Feb 12th. I realize that I am one of the few people that actually received a design out of this deal. However, when somebody is 6 weeks late in doing an easy task, there is no way I would use them for a complex task such as actually refinishing my basement.

Description of Work
$50 for Custom Basement Design with Measurements & Set of 2D Floor Plans

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

05/20/2013


Daniel P.

After trading several emails to schedule the site visit to survey the basement, the provider completely disappeared and failed to respond to emails and phone calls for several months through the expiration of the voucher.

Description of Work
provider promised to do basement renovation plan. Provider never performed service because provider ceased responding to emails and phone calls.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

05/20/2013


Roy R.

Contact was sporadic and never completed. Tried to make an appointment several times -- even had a few appointments but they never showed.

Description of Work
Nothing. Never came to our home even though we were scheduled twice.

Category remodeling

1.0

05/13/2013


Aaron R.

Horrible. The absolute lack of communication, professionalism, or committment to honor contracted work was unexcusable. Shockingly, we are ready to pursue construction work on this space now--and communicated this fact to BSG--which should have motivated timely follow-through. I strongly considered pursuing legal matters with BSG to recooperate the full cost of replacement service ($250), not just the token Big Deal price ($50), but was able to obtain a full refund from Angie's List and wipe my hands clean. I hope that this and other recent reviews of BSG serve as notice for all future buyers to beware.

Description of Work
We contracted BSG by way of a Angie's List Big Deal to provide us 2D drawings and proposal for a new basement design. After initiating contact with BSG and iterating on scheduling of the first site visit, BSG--i.e., Joe Giardano, the company president who appears to be a one-man operation beyond the previously noted ineffectual office administrator--became quite erratic in behavior. Specifically, as many other reviews now attest, he started cancelling appointments on the same day with excuses ranging from other projects to none given at all. It wasn't until I insisted to speak with him, that we finally established the site walkthrough. He was professional during the visit, but did openly note that "this was a very low priority" to him. Needless to say, his stated promise to have the first iteration of drawings "in no later than two weeks," have been surpassed by weeks.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

05/10/2013


Carolyn S.

Company failed to deliver. Refund by Angie's List.

Description of Work
No response from the company when I tried to schedule. Called Angie's List and got a refund.

Category remodeling

1.0

04/17/2013


Frederick A.

We bought one of Angie's Lists "good deals" for $50 to provide a "custom basement desuign with measurements and a 2-D set of plans." It was too good to be true in the end. Mr. Giordano of Building Services Group LLC of Washington DC came on 2/11/2013 to look at the basement and take measurements and he promised to provide the plans "within a week." We also provided some pictures of a playroom for him to incorporate into the design. After a month went by with no contact, I followed up with Mr. Giordano on the 7th and 11th of March; he said he would have the plans "completed by mid-week." We did not receive the plans. I followed up again by email on the 2nd of April and called him on the 14th of April. This time, there was no empty promises, just the same result - no plans and no return call or acknowledgement. This was the first (and apparently last) time we will use Angie's List if they cannot make good on the deal and return the $50. We were excited to think of the plans which would create a wonderful living space for us and our grand children, but it but it does not look like that will ever happen.

Description of Work
Mr. Giodano came to take measuerments of the basement to create plans and a design for a new basement living space. He did not however provide the plans as promised and it has been over two months with numerous follow-ups.

Category basement remodeling

1.0

04/17/2013


Jeff C.

They had offered a Big Deal service through Angie's List in December 2012 to provide basement plan drawings. After purchasing the service we were unable to contact them via email or phone over the last 3 months. Since we were not on a time deadline we waited to see if things would change, giving them the benefit of the doubt that they were busy. Angie's list tried to facilitate contacting them on numerous occassions and did a couple of times telling them to contact us as soon as possible. Only once did they email us and then they never replied to our prompt follow up email. I would not want to think what would happen if you had them on a big project and you wanted to change something or they failed to appear and you needed to contact them. While no service was rendered, I would believe that this lack of communication would be indicative of the type of care they would provide.

Description of Work
No services ended up being rendered.

Category remodeling, home builders

1.0

04/16/2013


Porter M.

We hired this company to provide measurements of our basement and provide plans for remodeling using the Angie's List Big Deal. ($50 for $250 worth of custom basement design and measurements). It took 6 weeks to schedule a visit. Joe Giordana finally came on Feb 11 to measure the basement and told us the estimate and measurements would be done in about a week. It's two months later and we've still received nothing. I've left several phone and email messages since then and have received no response. Not even the decency of a courtesy call or an email. Perhaps they've gone out of business.

Description of Work
A representative game to our house to measure for custom designs, but nothing was ever delivered to us. There was no response to our calls or emails either.

Category remodeling

1.0

04/15/2013


Deb R.

Our coupon expires next week and since the company has been so unresponsive, I can't imagine we would actually hire them to do any work. We are very disappointed.

Description of Work
We purchased a "Big Deal" to have Building Services Group LLC do a custom basement design. Despite repeated attempts to contact Joe Giordano--the specified person at the company--by phone, voicemail and email over a three-month period, we have not received a single response and have been unable to schedule the service. I also called the main number and asked if someone else could help me since Giordano was not getting back to me, but was told he was the only one who could help.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

04/07/2013


Thomas M.

It never went!! and I have never been contacted

Description of Work
I have never been contacted by this business and I would like my 50 dollars back! I took advantage of a sale I received in an e-mail...usually never do that but hey this is Angies List ...Bid mistake...I will never to that again.

Category remodeling

1.0

04/07/2013


Erich G.

It did not go well. I purchased an Angie's List deal for basement designs for 50 dollars. I was looking to have my already finished basement upgraded with some new flooring, adding a wall, and repairing some water damage. I originally had an appointment scheduled for Dec 21, 2012. I reschedule with Joe for January 11, and once again it was cancelled the day before. I had to follow up with Joe on January 30, after not hearing from him. A week later, I received a response for an appointment, and Joe finally made it to my house for the measurement and estimates on February 8. After taking about 15 minutes to do measurements and draw some sketches, he told me he'd have back my designs and estimate in about a week. I followed up on March 7, and received no response. It is now April 7, and I haven't heard anything from him. I'm disappointed in the overall experience, and am glad I only wasted 50 dollars on the deal through Angie's List.

Description of Work
I received a visit from Joe, the owner, to look at my basement and design a remodel. He came and took some measurements, and I have heard nothing since.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

04/04/2013


Cynthia R.

I purchased a $50 Big Deal for basement design. Joe Giordano contacted me by email to set up a time to come measure our basement, which he came and did on February 19th. At the end of that visit, Joe told me he would send me the 2D design within a week. It is now April 4th, and despite repeated phone calls and emails following up with Joe, I have had no response nor seen any basement design drawings. I am extrememly dissatisfied with this Big Deal, and will request a refund from Angie's List.

Description of Work
No service was performed. Joe Giordano took basement measurements at my home on February 19, 2013. As of April 4th, I have heard nothing back from him.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

4.0

03/31/2013


Chris M.

fine, so far waiting on the plans to come back; site visit went well.

Description of Work
took measurements for basement plans; have not gotten plans back yet.

Category home builders

1.0

03/30/2013


Laura H.

It was dealing with a yo-yo. He would contact us to schedule the appointment, we would reply via email and phone message, would here nothing for weeks, he would send an apology email, the process would start over, and then he dropped off the face of the earth. Terrible professionalism!

Description of Work
The coupon was for plans for a basement redesign.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

03/11/2013


Joan P.

I called several times and was referred to a person's cell telephone. I called him several times and asked for a return call, posed possible dates and asked if I could not be reach by telephone, that he contact me by email. I never heard from the company or him, nor did I get an email confirming a scheduling date and time. Lousy. I want my money back.

Description of Work
I paid for plans for my basement. The work was not performed.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

03/09/2013


Quentin S.

.I should have known when I had trouble getting a hold of Joe (the owner) that this would be a hassle. After several emails and calls I received a response and with conflicting schedules (including mine) we decided on a date and time for him to come out. The morning of the appointment, I received an email stating that he had lost my phone number requesting that I call him because he had a conflict and wanted the push the appointment back by an hour. I emailed and called (leaving messages) that the 1 hour delay was fine as I was working from home (I empathize with folks that have taken vacation days or other forms of time off to wait around for this guy). After he did not show up or respond at the reappointed time, I reviewed Angie's List to find a slew of negative reviews with folks experiencing what I was going through at that very moment. Later I received a text (talkabout lower form of communication - I call you and you text me........seriously???) stating that I need to reschedule. Sorry dude, my hourly rate is many magnitudes greater than the coupon - Thanks but No Thanks. I would never in a billion years recommend a company that conducts business in this manner.

Description of Work
Purchased Angies Big Deal ($50 for 2D sketch of basement remodel) just to get an idea of what we could possibly do as a part of our basement remodel understanding ahead of time that you get what you pay for and that a much more substantial evaluation of the cans and cannots of what we could do would be fleshed out by a real full service design build firm that we will eventually select. So this was really just a break the ice type of deal for us. Fortunately Angies List protect their members and I will be requesting and will receive a refund.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

03/08/2013


David G.

After that day we stayed in contact but he kept saying he did not have time to come give me the design. There were various excuses and then he just stopped communcating.

Description of Work
No services were performed. He came out to take measurements of my basement, so I could get 2D plans for a basement design.

Category basement remodeling

1.0

03/03/2013


Marjorie L.

We signed up through Angie's List, our credit card was charged $50.00 for a 2D rendering of basement design. We called them twice to set up appointment, they never called back. We purchased this in December, 2012. It is now March 3, 2013. We would like our money refunded.

Description of Work
Provider never contacted us. No service was performed.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

02/04/2013


Susan G.

They wouldn’t honor the deal as they didn’t call me back to set up an appointment and I left three messages. I’m now getting a refund from Angie's List.

Description of Work
This was for a Big Deal for $50 for Custom Basement Design with Measurements & Set of 2D Floor Plans.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

02/01/2013


Colleen J.

I've called this company 6 times in the last week and left voice mails for Joe Giordano and he has never called me back. His receptionist/phone operator is of no help either. I purchased the Big Deal of a design and floor plan for a basement remodel AS A GIFT FOR A WOMAN WHO WANTS TO START QUICKLY. i'M EMBARRASSED THAT THIS HAS BEEN A NO SHOW/NO GO. Shame on Angie's List for not putting a stop to this abuse by contacting this company and pulling ALL their 'Deals' until they perform professionally.

Description of Work
NO work was performed - he hasn't even returned phone call!

Category remodeling

1.0

01/31/2013


Jeff H.

Three times I tried to contact Joe Giordano to set up an appointment for the basement design purchased thru Angies List Deals. Attention Angies List - this is a scam not a deal! This company never returns calls! I will request a refund! I will now have to find another company to spend my $50 to $75 k I had reserved to remodel the basement! Shame on Building Services Group LLC and shame on Angies List for promoting the deal!

Description of Work
A BIG SCAM!!!

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

01/23/2013


G W.

The contractor never fulfilled the Angie's List Big Deal promotion that I purchased, nor was anyone from Angie's List able to reach the contractor. In addition to getting a refund on the promotion, I ALSO CANCELLED MY ANGIE'S LIST MEMBERSHIP AS A RESULT OF THIS UTTERLY UNPROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE. If Angie's List doesn't vet the contractors who they allow to use their website to promote their businesses better than this then I have no confidence in their professionalism to list credible businesses !

Description of Work
"Big Deal" promotion failure

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

01/22/2013


Andrea S.

I have called and emailed the provider several times and have yet to receive a call back or any email, despite speaking to the main receptionist repeatedly. I was very excited about this deal as I was planning on having my basement redone. Unfortunately because they have not responded I will be asking Angie's list for a refund. Very disappointed.

Description of Work
No service provided.

Category remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    John Seward General Contractor

    We offer our expertise in all aspects of Home Improvement and Repair. From small to large, including full scope design work. We have been in business since 1981.  

    Angi Certified

    Closet America

    Closet America is a privately owned and locally operated manufacturer and installer of custom home organization systems for closets, home offices, pantries, media centers, and garages. By raising the standards for quality and customer service, Closet America has steadily grown into one of the premier names in the professional organizing systems industry. We have been consistently awarded the prestigious GuildMaster Award for exceptional customer service and satisfaction.  

    Angi Certified

    Klappenberger & Son D.C.

    Whether you just want to make sure your home looks its best, or you’re in charge of multiple rental properties, Klappenberger & Son offers a full range of professional painting and property management services. Our services include both residential and commercial painting (interior and exterior), home repairs, custom carpentry, and even aspects of preservation for historic buildings! Klappenberger & Son, LLC has been in business since 1989, and the quality and durability of the work we perform is proof of our integrity and attention to detail. We proudly serve all of Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Calvert, Cecil, Harford, Kent, Montgomery, Prince George’s, and Queen Anne’s counties, as well as Baltimore City and the District of Columbia.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Homes, Additions, Remodeling, Patios & Sidewalks, Decks,Sheds, Garages,& Kitchen Remodeling,

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Building Services Group LLC

    How is Building Services Group LLC overall rated?

    Building Services Group LLC is currently rated 3.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Building Services Group LLC open?

    Building Services Group LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Building Services Group LLC provide

    Building Services Group LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Building Services Group LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Building Services Group LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Building Services Group LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Building Services Group LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Building Services Group LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Building Services Group LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Building Services Group LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Building Services Group LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Building Services Group LLC?

    Yes, Building Services Group LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Building Services Group LLC offer?

    Building Services Group LLC offers the following services: Homes, Additions, Remodeling, Patios & Sidewalks, Decks,Sheds, Garages,& Kitchen Remodeling,