Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Woodruff Property Management

Founded 2009 • With Angi since February 2010

4.3

(15) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1740 Marion Street

Denver, CO 80218

Description

J. Andrew Woodruff Why Woodruff Property Management is Better: "We Don't Charge a Dime Until the Lease is Signed." We don't charge any up front fees. Not even a "Non-Refundable Set-Up Fee". If we don't preform, you don't pay. There are no "hidden fees" in our contracts. Tenant Quality Assurance Guarantee: We are so confident in our Tenant Qualification Process that, if we have to evict a tenant we qualified and moved into a property we manage, we will pay for the eviction and find a new tenant. This is a FREE service, not an "Eviction Protection Plan". We advertise your property more extensively than our competition. Over 85% of renters now find their next home online. We post your property to over 200 websites and 150 media sites. More advertising means less time on market and more money in your pocket. We show properties from 9 am to 9 pm 7 days a week... when the tenant prospects need to see the rentals. Our competition shows during normal business hours. We are Green - 98% paperless. All our contracts, leases, and documents are signed digitally. Tenant and Owner On-line Portals allow 24/7 access to all invoices, documents, statements, reports, and financials. We are Real Estate Brokers. We are trained professionals who know how to negotiate and facilitate the rental process. We will get the highest possible rent for you, and, as an added bonus, you get the benefit of our years of real estate experience and accumulated knowledge. We don't Nickel and Dime you on Maintenance. We ask for approval on all work orders so you don't get surprised when you receive your statement. We don't have an in-house maintenance staff that we pay $15 per hour and bill out at $50 per hour. Rather, we use our buying power to get discounts of 10-50% from our Preferred Vendors... and pass that savings directly on to you. We don't have hazy language in our contracts that allow us to mark up any invoice for any amount at our discretion. We get your money to you fast. We use ACH direct deposit to collect rent and pay our owners so we can pay you up to 10 days faster than our competition... in time for you mortgage payment. We don't start you out a month behind on paying your mortgage. We do not work with Public Assistance. Even though it may be easier to place a Section 8 tenant in your residence, we go the extra mile and find fully qualified tenants who makes 3x the rental amount. Our tenants can truly afford to live in your rental and they protect is as if it were their own since they have "skin in the game". We offer Leasing Only service for those who don't need Property Management. Average TIme to Rent: 19 days. National Average: 34 days. We also maintain a Tenant Wait List: We may already have a tenant who is looking for a property just like yours. Responsiveness: We answer / return 99.2% of our phone calls. The National Average is only 60% returned / answered calls. Our voicemail will never say: "We will get back to you within 48 hours.". Our Reputation is Everything to us: We have Zero complaints with the BBB (the BBB tells us we are the only property management firm in Colorado with zero complaints), and Zero complaints with the Real Estate Commission. We only charge our tenants the application fee. We have a fiduciary responsibility to our property owners to get them the best tenant possible. One of our competitors charges their tenants an additional fee of $200 upon lease signing. We do not. We gratefully accept good tenants. We Are Essentially FREE: All of our fees can be written off against income at tax time. A note from Andrew Woodruff: "Service is the key to this industry. We bend-over backwards for our clients. We will always be the most responsive, client oriented, technologically advanced property management firm in the country. That is our goal. That is our promise." Please see our website for more details on our property management, leasing, and real estate services....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

12/03/2017


Stephen K.

Terrible. Worst customer experience ever. Sarah Snead lied to get sale. And now the company refuses to respond to me or fix any problems. From the other reviews I seen this seems to be a recurring problem with this company.

Description of Work
Find a rental property

Category property management

Service Provider Response

We were hired initially to lease the premises. The owner had such a problem dealing with Mr. [Member Name Removed] and getting him to pay his rent that she hired us as her agent and property manager. Mr. [Member Name Removed] continues to refuse to pay his rent. When I last spoke with him he was so rude that I requested that we only communicate in writing. His last email to me said that I was harassing him that that if I tried to contact him again he would call the police. We have posted a Demand for Rent or Possession and have started eviction proceedings. Mr. [Member Name Removed] can contact us through his Tenant Portal and can also submit work orders (zero have been submitted). He could even set up auto-pay so his rent is never late. I feel terrible for the home owner. We try very hard to find the best tenants for our clients. We even have a Tenant Quality Assurance Guarantee. The home owner will not be charged for the eviction process and we will find a better tenant for her without charging a leasing fee.
5.0

08/02/2016


Yvonne S.

Woodruff, specifically Troy, was prompt, professional, VERY responsive to all questions and concerns. I wanted to put a time limit on the listing and he agreed. I love that all of the contact can be done through their web interface: payments, maintenance, lease signing, all documentation is done electronically. SO EFFICIENT and easy! And the listing was beautiful! Made me think that I wanted to move back to the old home. Thanks for all of the effort and the amazing new tenant

Description of Work
After engaging another property management service and waiting 7 weeks for them to find a renter (in Denver's HOT rental market!!) with no solution. I engaged Woodruff and worked with Troy Herman. I signed up in one day, did all of my paperwork electronically, and he had a lease for me within the week. BRILLIANT! Thank you Troy! I was incredibly stressed at the thought of having to come up with another mortgage payment and no renter.

Category property management

5.0

03/03/2014


Shawn P.

I have an investment property in Denver but I live in Connecticut so when my current tenants informed me they were moving out I had to scramble to find a Property Management service. I found Woodruff Property Management on Angie's List and their reviews were great so I figured I'd give them a shot. I called and worked with Geoff. I handed the property over to him just 2 weeks before it was going to be vacated by my current tenants so my assumption was that two weeks wouldn't be enough with Geoff to work with and I should prepare to have my property vacant for at least a month. However, Geoff was able to find 2 very qualified renters on the 2nd of the month with just a single day of vacancy and the rent was much higher than I had been previously getting so the service was essentially paying for itself. I couldn't be more please with Geoff and Woodruff and I would enthusiastically recommend them to anyone looking to simplify their rental properties. Now I am able to forget about this property and focus on other things because I know it's in good hands.

Description of Work
Property Management Service.

Category real estate agents,property management

5.0

01/08/2014


Maureen O.

They arranged for repairs to be done and find renters for condo quickly.

Description of Work
Provide Property Management for condo in Colorado.

Category property management

5.0

05/09/2013


Melissa D.

I contacted Woodruff Property Management after finding them here on Angie's list. I scheduled a time for Troy to come out and provide me with an estimate. Troy showed up on time and provided me a professional proposal complete with rent comparables and a partial list of other properties under his management. I was a little skeptical at first because of their upfront fees and the monthly costs when compared to some other property management companies but in the end, their professionalism & their guarantee sold me.

Description of Work
Rented out my home and took over the management of our other property.

Category property management

1.0

03/03/2013


Sherry T.

They handled 2 of my properties for November and December. I counted 12 lies/ screw ups the agent did since I started working with hiim not counting the ones above. Whats worse is the owner also does not tell the truth and is very arrogant. The new property they were going to get, but couldn't rent and kept telling me I had to lower the rent, I got rented in one week with the new property management company at the rent I wanted.

Description of Work
Bad Property management for tenants and owners! My tenant called to say she had no heat and thought something was wrong with the thermostat. The agent told her to google it. When he did a walk through with tenants that were leaving, he said every thing was fine. They had left the back yard full of dog poop. The agent must have some kind of issues maybe with women. I asked about some rent they owed me and he told me it was in my account. It wasn't in my Wells Fargo account but in their Woodruff account. I could not explain that to me and they terminated me the next day with no notice in violation of our agreement.

Category property management

Service Provider Response

Customer's core complaint, as stated above, is that we did not get her property on the market in a reasonable amount of time. The fact is, we posted her property on 200+ websites within 24 hours of her execution of the required paperwork. I feel this was a response time that would meet anyone's reasonable expectations. We started working with the customer in the beginning of November. My broker took pictures of her property on November 15th. When he spoke to the customer's existing tenant, her tenant said that he didn't know when he was going to move out. There are hundreds of emails between my broker and the customer. The customer never provided us with a specific date as to when her tenant was moving out. On December 2nd the customer informed my broker that her tenant had moved out. On December 3rd the customer was sent an Exclusive Right to Lease... which she didn't sign until December 6th. We cannot list a property without an executed Exclusive Right to Lease. On December 7th, less than 24 hours after receiving her executed Exclusive Right to Lease, we posted her property "For Rent" to our extensive list of 200+ websites. Unfortunately, it is very hard for any property management firm to find a quality tenant in the winter. December is particularly difficult due to the holidays. No one wants to move at Christmas. When my broker told me that he was having communication issues with the customer, I reviewed her account and emails. I noticed a trend in their communications which also occurred in my own emails with the customer. We would make a statement and the customer would disregard the statements made, and then she would ask the same question again. I repeatedly tried to explain that we could not list a property without the proper paperwork (the Exclusive Right to Lease). I asked why she waited three days to sign the document. The customer never responded to this comment or question, and instead sent another email to me with almost the exact wording as the previous email. In the first week of January, after my review, I asked my broker to terminate our contracts with the customer. the customer had three properties with us, and we managed the other two without complaint. I waived all termination fees and January property management fees for all three properties (despite clear contractual rights, worth about $1,500). the customer then sent us an email asking if we would meet her new property manager at her property at 3 pm the following day. At 9 am my broker received a very upset phone call from the new property manager asking why my broker wasn't at the property. My broker sent him a copy of the email from the customer requesting the 3 pm meeting. Her new property manager (rhetorically) asked why she had told him 9 am. I believe the new property manager is going to have the same communication issues that resulted in the termination of the customer's contracts. We strive to serve our clients with the highest degree of professionalism, but communication is key. It is very had to satisfy a client who holds unrealistic expectations with whom we couldn't communicate. We did our best, but, after two months of hard work we had to ask the customer to work with another company. This is only the 4th time we have chosen to terminate one of our relationships. We have satisfied or exceeded the expectations over 700 other property owners. J. Andrew Woodruff Managing Broker / Owner
5.0

01/29/2013


LARRY & SUE P.

We get our checks reguarly from them. He is very efficient of making sure that the tenants keep our property well maintain. If we buy another home to rent we will let them maintain this one too. I would recommend them to others.

Description of Work
We found them on Angie's List and we have been very pleased with them looking over our property.

Category property management

2.0

01/12/2013


Andrew B.

I never recieved a return call from the agent to list my home. I left a message and did get a return call from the receptionist. She transferred me to the voicemail of the agent that handels the Lone Tree area. I left another message and did not get a return call. I did not bother calling back. My biggest concern is if they can't take the time to return a call to a new customer how will they handle my tenants.

Description of Work
No services performed.

Category property management

Service Provider Response

Customer, you caught us with our pants down. We doubled in size in 2012 (from 150 to 300 properties) and our phone system was having trouble handling over 200 calls per day. We are currently changing to a new phone system. During the transition we have had issues with transferred calls going to the wrong extensions and lost voicemails. I truly apologize. We typically answer / return over 99% of our calls. I have emailed Shawn Cassel (broker for Littleton with over 20 years experience in real estate and ex-managing broker of Coldwell Banker Cherry Creek) to contact you ASAP. If he is not able to recover your voice mail he will have to send you a letter as your contact info is not on this review (unless you decide to give us another chance and email him or call him - shawn@woodruffpm.com - 303-872-9118 x 19). Just FYI, our tenants (and property owners) generally contact us via their Tenant and Owner Portals using Conversations (like the wall on Facebook) or clicking on Maintenance to enter a service request. This give us a constant written record and eliminates unnecessary steps that can lead to things falling through the cracks. Thank you for posting this review. I need to know when we aren't responsive. The new phone system should be up and running by no later than the 18th. I think you'll like what it can do. Sincerely, J. Andrew Woodruff - Managing Broker / Owner - Woodruff Property Management
1.0

12/10/2012


Thomas W.

NO WORK WAS PERFORMED!!!!!!!!!!!

Description of Work
This Company is overly aggressive and over priced for the services I wanted.I would never use this Company even if this is the only Company left in their field........

Category real estate agents,property management

Service Provider Response

I see that you contacted my company in July of this year (5 months ago), but apparently went in a different direction. Perhaps if you had hired us you would have found that we were worth the money. In construction we used to say "Speed, Quality, Price... Pick Two". I am sorry that you feel that we are over priced. My company has leased over 700 homes in the Denver Metro area since we opened on April 1, 2009. Our clients have found that the level of service we offer is worth what we charge. Before I opened my company I reviewed other property management companies, not only in Denver but across the nation. I discovered that the average property management company only returned 60% of their calls. I discovered that property management companies had more complaints than almost any other profession. I discovered that most property management firms made most of their money by over-charging for maintenance. And almost all of them were still using paper. We are 99% paperless, use e-signed documents, answer / return over 99% of our calls, and offer discounted maintenance (and a handyman that only costs $20 per hour). We show our properties from 9 am to 9 pm 7 days a week. We average 19 days to rent a property vs the national average of 34 days. We pay our property owners on the 6th of the month rather than the 20th so they don't start out a month behind on their mortgage. We are so confidant in our screening services that will even pay to evict a tenant that we qualified in a property we manage (we have only had 2 evictions... ever). We don't charge an up front / set-up fee. If we don't preform, you don't pay. Actually, it would just be easier if you looked at our 15 point promise on our website. In my experience you really do get what you pay for, and I really don't want my company to be Ford. I would rather it be Mercedes. Please let me know if you decide you would like a higher level of service.
5.0

11/19/2012


Stephanie C.

.We got a fast response and our questions were answered. If I need this service I will consider using this company.

Description of Work
Called them for information about property management and prices.

Category property management

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Property Management
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Property Management, Leasing, Tenant Placement, Real Estate.

    Services Not Offered

    HOA Management, Commercial Management, nor do we manage apartment buildings over 8 units. We specialize in single family homes with a value over $300,000.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Woodruff Property Management

    How is Woodruff Property Management overall rated?

    Woodruff Property Management is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Woodruff Property Management open?

    Woodruff Property Management is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does Woodruff Property Management provide

    Woodruff Property Management accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Woodruff Property Management offer free estimates?

    Yes, Woodruff Property Management offers free project estimates.

    Does Woodruff Property Management offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Woodruff Property Management offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Woodruff Property Management offer a senior discount?

    No, Woodruff Property Management does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Woodruff Property Management offer emergency services?

    Yes, Woodruff Property Management offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Woodruff Property Management?

    No, Woodruff Property Management does not offer warranties.

    What services does Woodruff Property Management offer?

    Woodruff Property Management offers the following services: Property Management, Leasing, Tenant Placement, Real Estate.

    Are there any services Woodruff Property Management does not offer?

    HOA Management, Commercial Management, nor do we manage apartment buildings over 8 units. We specialize in single family homes with a value over $300,000.