Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Fireplace Doctor Inc

Founded 2007 • With Angi since April 2011

4.8

(99) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5031 List Dr.

Colorado Springs, CO 80919

Description

We are licensed and insured in El Paso, Teller, Douglas, and Park Counties. We have National Fireplace Inststute (NFI) certifications in Gas, Wood, and Pellet, including a Master Technician.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
John D. C.
5.0
11/22/2019
It went amazing. The crew arrived 15 minutes early. Identified themselves, then started working on the fireplaces. As each fireplace needed a replacement part they explained to me what it was and why it needed to be replaced. I was extremely impressed with knowledge and professionalism the workmen.
Description of Work
Needed gas fireplaces inspected, cleaned and if needed repaired.
Category
fireplaces
John D. C.
1.0
11/18/2019
I’ll let you know when the work is started/finished. It would be nice to be asked after the work is done and not be bothered in between!
Description of Work
Work to be done - service has fireplaces.
Category
fireplaces
Rebecca F.
5.0
04/10/2017
Technician was prompt, professional, and spent a long time making sure our glass was as clean as possible. Glass was cloudy and etched.
Description of Work
Fireplace maintenance and glass cleaning
Category
fireplaces
Rebecca G.
1.0
01/31/2017
The sweeps who came were FILTHY! They did not wear shoe covers, or use enough tarps to protect the carpet near the hearths. One of the vacuums spewed dust as they vacuumed out the fireplace. They left sooty foot prints all over. It took several tries to vacuum it all up, and I'm still seeing spots! We did order chimney caps and had them installed on a second visit. I was assured they would not have to come inside for this visit. They did not install the caps correctly. They didn't bother to tighten the screws into the chimney piece, and did not warn us that the caps may come off in wind. I was assured by the installer that the caps were on the chimney securely. We had the big winds come through, and sure enough the caps flew off and damaged our roof. Ours were the ONLY caps that came off in that wind in our neighborhood, which tells me that the installers did not do the job correctly. Fireplace Doctor and their insurance company refuse to repair the damage. I can show that the screws were loose and not tightened to the caps, but neither the Fireplace Doctor nor Nationwide, which insures them will acknowledge responsibility. I would like to escalate this, because they should be liable for shoddy work. The response I got from the Fireplace Doctor was to contact my insurance company and have them pay. Excuse me, but I should not have to lay out the deductible and have my insurance company pay for repairs when it the responsibility lays with Fireplace Doctor. I asked if they could at least come out and look and her replay was, "Oh no, it's our busy time of year. I can't schedule anyone to come." DO NOT TRUST THEM to install chimney parts correctly! Oh, yes, They were an hour late for the cleaning, but no one bothered to call us to let us know. I had to call them.
Description of Work
They came twice. Once for chimney cleaning of two chimneys. Once to install chimney caps.
Category
chimney caps, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

We originally went to the customer's house to sweep her flue, service a log set and measure for chimney flue caps. This review is the first time our office has heard anything about the lack of cleanliness during this sweep. Normally our technicians offer to take their shoes off when going into someone's home. We will be speaking to our technicians about this matter. It is interesting to note that the customer apparently gave us an "A" review for the original appointment. We installed the caps on the house a couple weeks later. These caps were installed as we always do on a clay flue. The technician screwed them on as tightly as he could without causing damage or cracking the clay flue. Once the cap was on the technician pulled on it with as much force as he could to make sure that it was secure. This procedure was confirmed with our owner who has over 20 years of experience in this field. Our owner said that when putting a cap on a clay flue you do not want to force the screws into it or drill holes because you run the risk of damaging the flue beyond repair and that the procedure that we use is acceptable for normal weather conditions. The screws on the cap seem loose when not installed. They are tight only when installed. The wind the customer speaks of was not ordinary wind. It was hurricane force winds ranging upwards of 80 MPH on January 9, 2017. Close to the area of this house nine semi-trucks were knocked over on the interstate. The state closed many miles of the interstate for several hours until the wind calmed down because of this. According to news reports this wind storm caused millions of dollars of damage around town and was responsible for the death of one person. The worst damage was in the area where this customer lives. It is also good to note that we went to a home located within a mile of this customer the week after the wind storm and they had two of the exact same type of chimney caps. In their case one cap stayed on and one cap blew off which is in accordance with what the customer says in her review, there were some caps that did stay on. We did not tell the customer that we were too busy to go out when she called about her roof damage after the wind storm. On the contrary it was clear that there was nothing that WE could do to remedy this situation and there was no reason for us to visit her home to see the damage-it was a matter for our insurance company to handle. We did suggest that she contact her homeowner's insurance based on the severe weather conditions, but we willingly contacted our insurance because the customer felt we were responsible for the damages. We contacted our liability insurance immediately since she felt that her house was damaged due to improper installation of the chimney caps. Our liability insurance determined that the damage resulted from an act of nature and not from improper installation of the caps.
Rebecca G.
5.0
11/28/2016
The sweeps did an excellent job getting the fireplaces cleaned and explaining the issue with our gas log. We opted to cap off the gas line for now, so they didn't do the repair, yet, but we will call them when we're ready to get it working again. My only negative critique is that the sweeps did not use shoe covers and one of their vacuums left dust. Not a lot, but we had just had the carpets cleaned, so I am especially sensitive to the dust.
Description of Work
We had two chimneys cleaned and inspected. One had a gas log that was malfunctioning, the other was wood burning. They also measured for chimney caps, not included in the price.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces, gas logs
Janine S.
5.0
11/15/2016
Emil worked with me to help choose the perfect replacement unit. His installation was flawless and the fireplace is exactly what I needed.!
Description of Work
New fireplace
Category
fireplaces
Doris S.
5.0
11/14/2016
It went very well. The technician was very polite and knew what he was doing.
Description of Work
Clean and restart gas fireplace insert.
Category
fireplaces
D.R. M.
5.0
10/25/2015
Good work, professional and very helpful. I would use them again. They can be hard to nail down during the busy season, but that is to be expected, I suppose.
Description of Work
They replaced a control module and then cleaned, tested adjusted both of my gas fireplaces.
Category
fireplaces
Richard H.
5.0
07/27/2015
Emil was very helpful with fixing the problem we had with our new wood stove. The wind had blown off the outside vent cap soon (4 weeks) after installation. As I live on the eastern plains, we can get some high winds. Emil's team found the cause and, with manufacturer input, applied the fix to more securely mount the vent cap. Thanks Emil!
Description of Work
Install Wood Stove.
Category
chimney caps, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Sir, I am very sorry that you are dissatisfied with the services we have provided you. We take customer service very seriously, which is why we are more than willing to come to your house next week as discussed to re-attach the cap for you at no charge. As our technician told you, the cap was attached per the manufactures instructions, and most likely blew off due to the unusually high winds that your area experienced recently. When we come to re-attach the cap, we will take extra precautions to ensure this does not happen again. If we can be of any further assistance, or if you are unhappy with the product in any other way, please do not hesitate to call
Leslie F.
5.0
06/10/2015
They were excellent. They were clean and they were neat. They were professional. They addressed those problems, figured it out and got it fixed. It was expensive.
Description of Work
The unit was built in '91 and it wasn't working so they had to kind of refurbish it with a new thermocoupler, an igniter and something else.
Category
fireplaces, gas logs
Gerry K.
5.0
05/23/2015
The workers came out on the assigned day and time to do the work. The were very friendly. They covered all my carpet to make sure nothing would be damaged. The workers had quite a bit of trouble cutting through the metal firebox, but they persevered even though it took several hours. Because of the curved brick arch, the insert wouldn't go all the way back so they perfectly notched the brick so that it would go back a few more inches for a better fit. They explained how to work the insert and showed me how to make the tiny initial fires to break in the firebricks. They finished the install around 5pm and, unlike what the first guy said, the inspector was there by 9am the next morning! Everything passed inspection perfectly! I had problems getting the fire to maintain the correct temperature in the beginning, and Emil spent about an hour troubleshooting possible problems and explaining to me how to set the air vents so that the fire could be maintained for 8-12 hours. Everything was fine with the install, it was just a problem with me having to go through a learning curve with learning how to set up a fire differently from what I was used to. Also, because of the curved arch, Emil had built in some ironwork built in the estimate to make a cover for the arch. However, the insert box looked fine without the extra metal above it. Emil called me to say that he was giving me a refund since they didn't have to do that work. I wouldn't have known about it otherwise since I thought it was an add-on if I needed it. Both Emil and the installers were there for me to make everything went perfectly and effortlessly. This install was one of the best experiences I've had with a contractor!
Description of Work
I wanted a fireplace insert installed so my house would be warmer. Emil came out and measured my fireplace and brought brochures from several different manufacturers. There were several issues with my fireplace. I had a metal fire box instead of a masonry one, and there was a brick arch in front instead of it being square. Previously, I had someone else out and they wanted to take an acetylene torch to remove the damper area, and told me I should find a farmer to do the work because they didn't do it. Emil said "no problem" and they would take it out with a reciprocating saw. He answered all my questions. He also told me I needed to have ceramic tile placed in front of the fireplace since the insert extended past the fireplace opening and I needed it for safety. I went to their showroom and looked at various models, and paid a deposit for them to order it. He also said about having his work inspected for safety and told me the inspector would look for carbon monoxide and regular smoke alarms, so I should make sure I had everything in place before the inspection. The first guy said he would by-pass the inspection to save money and time since he said I couldn't use my fireplace until the inspection was done and that it would take several weeks for an inspector to come out. Emil was very professional and knowledgeable through the entire process, and very much aware of safety issues. I have already recommended him to others.
Category
fireplaces
Earl P.
5.0
04/24/2015
He did an outstanding job. He was very polite and friendly. I would recommend him and use him in the future.
Description of Work
He came out to replace the heat controller in my fire place. He also took out the logs and swept and cleaned the fire place.
Category
fireplaces
Kevin M.
5.0
03/17/2015
After initial consultation and diagnosis, the stove parts were ordered from the stove manufacturer. Upon receipt of the parts they got us on their schedule as soon as they could. The rebuild of the woodstove was timely ad went seamlessly. They will be coming back to do more work for us this summer.
Description of Work
Reconditioned our woodstove to manufacturer's specs.
Category
fireplaces
Christine W.
5.0
03/04/2015
He was very professional and got it done in just an hour and made both fireplaces look great
Description of Work
Cleaned both fireplaces and made sure they were working properly
Category
fireplaces
Sandra V.
5.0
01/03/2015
Excellent and responsive service. Emil spent 2 hours discussing options and costs as well as answering questions - after working us in to his already booked schedule at the last moment. Installers Ben and Brian were professional, quality install (complemented by inspector) and actually fun to have in the house. For even more fun give them very strong coffee - then sit back and watch. There was a bit od confusion re: finish (due to Mendota's website) - Emil made modifications at no charge. Overall professional, responsive, quality product service.
Description of Work
Sold and installed Mendota gas fireplace insert
Category
fireplaces, gas logs
Karen M.
5.0
09/22/2014
Emil came out, assessed our situation, discussed options and made recommendations. All interactions with the Fireplace Doctor employees were positive. They were responsive, communicative and skilled at their specialty. Our wood flooring was protected during the removal and installation and the immediate area was left clean. The Mendota was an excellent recommendation for our open space and vaulted ceilings. While more expensive than we had anticipated, it has absolutely been worth it on chilly mornings. We will not hesitate to use this company for annual inspections.
Description of Work
Removed old gas log set and replaced with a full view Mendota direct vent gas insert with log set, ceramic glass, blowers and multi-function thermostatic remote control.
Category
fireplaces, gas logs, gas leak repair
Tracey T.
5.0
08/17/2014
The company was quick to respond and to schedule my job. The provider was courteous and he made sure to keep the work area clean so as to avoid damage to my home. I would highly recommend the Fireplace Doctor to others and I will use them again.
Description of Work
Cleaned two gas burning fireplaces.
Category
fireplaces, gas logs
Alvin K.
5.0
08/06/2014
The appointment was made through snap-fix. I received a call the day before to verify the appointment. About 1 and 1 half hours before the appointment I received a call stating that they were running ahead of schedule and asked if they could arrive early. I had them arrive according to their availability. The technicians placed drop cloth across the living room floor and removed the fireplace and vents from the wall opening. They did the haul away as well. The wall opening was swept clean as well. The technicians were pleasant, professional and friendly as well as completing the work quickly and cleanly. They were done before the actual time of the appointment. I would not only recommend them highly, but would hire them again if the need arises.
Description of Work
Removed and hauled away a metal, zero clearance wood burning fireplace. The wall was already open around the fireplace so they did not have to deal with any drywall.
Category
fireplaces
Thomas A.
5.0
07/29/2014
Great! The chimney cleaning was very thorough and as mess-free as possible.
Description of Work
Cleaned and inspected our wood burning fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
Christine W.
5.0
06/23/2014
Was very clean and professional in all the work he did
Description of Work
Fireplace service
Category
fireplaces
Amie A.
5.0
05/01/2014
Very professional service and I would definitely use them again. They were actually running early and arrived about 45 minute early, after calling first. This worked out great for my schedule. They were polite and professional and I would definitely use their service again.
Description of Work
Cleaned wood burning fireplace-- that really needed cleaning- hadn't been cleaned for 10 years. Removed ashes, inspected and cleaned fireplace, gave a report of condition.
Category
fireplaces
Wendy R.
5.0
04/14/2014
The technician was extremely polite. He was only a few minutes late due to icy roads however was curious enough to call me and let me know he was running late.
Description of Work
My fireplace was not functioning at all. The technician thoroughly cleaned my fireplace and replaced the switch that operates the fireplace. My fireplace looks brand new. He also showed me how to operate the pilot and how to remove the glass to clean it.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
Sharon F.
5.0
04/09/2014
They were great. I don't know what else to say. They did a really good job. There were no problems whatsoever. I would say we were very satisfied. They did a really good cleaning out of it and it looks good. The price was what they told us and we agreed. We haven't been able to use it yet.
Description of Work
The Fireplace Doctor Incorporated cleaned up the glass on the fireplace that were broken and then we had them add a blower.
Category
fireplaces
Thomas K.
5.0
03/28/2014
They did put in the stove and they solve my problem with my fireplace. They are very skilled with their stuff because in my problem was kind the unique that required them far and deep analysis.
Description of Work
I went to The Fireplace Doctor.
Category
chimney sweep
Irene P.
5.0
03/21/2014
He was really good, clean and I am planning on using it again.
Description of Work
Came out, fixed fireplace and cleaned it.
Category
gas logs

    Other local Pros in your area

    Prime Roofing

    $500.00 advertising credit for Angie's List members (for any cash project of roof). Cannot be applied to insurance deductibles as stipulated by Senate Bill 12-038. Prime Roofing, Inc. has earned the reputation of Colorado Springs and the front range areas for roofing excellence, stellar customer service and the knowledge and expertise that has made us leaders in the roofing industry. We realize knowing how to build a successful relationship with our clients is just as important as knowing how to install a quality roof. We never said we were the best in the industry. The best in the industry said we were! And when the Better Business Bureau needed a new roof, they trusted Prime Roofing Inc to replace it. Now you know who you can trust.  

    Angi Certified

    Rampart Roofing Inc

    We handle roofing jobs from repairs to complex roof replacements. We are a family owned Colorado Springs business that has great reviews from our customers! Rampart Roofing is licensed in El Paso and Teller Counties.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Integrous Roofing & Restoration Inc.

    6 year Super Service Award winner serving most of the Front Range INCLUDING - Denver and Colorado Springs. Due to what we are passionate about, we purposely named this company "Integrous" (meaning "full of integrity"). How does integrity affect you? We believe it affects everything that we do for you. A passion for integrity affects how we handle you personally, conduct honest roof evaluations, handle your roof problems from start to finish, our pricing, and even down to how we handle our own business finances. All of these are done with the highest standard of true integrity. We plan to be around for the long run to serve you and your roofing needs. We specialize in roofing and hail & wind damage claims. We'll take care of all your roofing and gutter needs. For any other work like painting, windows, and siding, we'll provide you with a list of proven, trusted contractors to get your entire house back to pre-storm condition. We are licensed in over 42 jurisdictions.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We service ALL makes and models of gas and pellet fireplaces, stoves, inserts, log sets, and BBQs. We also sell and install gas, wood, and pellet hearth appliances, as well as outdoor fire pits, BBQs, glass doors, and other hearth accessories.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not do masonry work other than minor crack repairs.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Fireplace Doctor Inc

    How is The Fireplace Doctor Inc overall rated?

    The Fireplace Doctor Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Fireplace Doctor Inc open?

    The Fireplace Doctor Inc is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does The Fireplace Doctor Inc provide

    The Fireplace Doctor Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does The Fireplace Doctor Inc offer free estimates?

    No, The Fireplace Doctor Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does The Fireplace Doctor Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, The Fireplace Doctor Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Fireplace Doctor Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, The Fireplace Doctor Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by The Fireplace Doctor Inc?

    Yes, The Fireplace Doctor Inc offers warranties.

    What services does The Fireplace Doctor Inc offer?

    The Fireplace Doctor Inc offers the following services: We service ALL makes and models of gas and pellet fireplaces, stoves, inserts, log sets, and BBQs. We also sell and install gas, wood, and pellet hearth appliances, as well as outdoor fire pits, BBQs, glass doors, and other hearth accessories.

    Are there any services The Fireplace Doctor Inc does not offer?

    We do not do masonry work other than minor crack repairs.