Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters

About

Founded 2004 • With Angi since October 2012

Great service. Great products. Great prices. Outstanding reviews. The convenience of shopping in your own home. Free consultation with a design professional. Showroom variety and quality. Professional installation. Warranties you can trust. Independently owned and operated. Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters has been your local source for top quality window coverings since 2004. We pride ourselves on providing window coverings that will fit your lifestyle without putting a strain on your pocketbook....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+20 more images

Verified Reviews

5.0

(201) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

201

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

window treatment (201)
Showing 1-25 of 201 reviews
5.0

07/23/2022


Julia P.

We loved working with Colorado Custom Blinds. Malia and her team were excellent and worked with us to find the perfect blinds and shades for our home. Whenever we had a question Malia was extremely fast and responsive. They made the entire process go smoothly and we are so happy. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Blinds and shades

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2022

Service Provider Response

We pride ourselves on top-notch customer service and keeping you informed every step of the way. We can help narrow down your choices of treatments to find the perfect mix. Motorization, no problem. We do hard-wired, low-volt, battery-operated and rechargeable. Our goal is always a smooth experience. Thanks for the "high recommendation," [Member Name Removed]. Malia, owner Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

07/08/2022


Scott M.

Malia, of Colorado Custom Blinds and Shades was great to work with. From the start she was timely in her measurement consultation and took precise measurement for multiple options for style and function. She made certain that what I wanted fit within my design goals and within my budget. Highly recommend her team and process.

Description of Work
Window Coverings

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2022

Images

Review for Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters - 5325 Aubrey Way, Colorado Springs, CO - 39791784

Service Provider Response

We know our way around a tape measure and prefer it more times than not to our laser measurer. The options can be overwhelming but we have a simple process to narrow down your choices to ensure the perfect fit. We always work within your budget and never try and upsell. Thanks for the "high recommendation," [Member Name Removed]. I'm glad you enjoyed working with our team. Malia. owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

07/01/2022


Linda B.

Malia the owner made us feel as if we were her #1 customer. When I would have to call her she would answer pleasantly and knew my name without me even saying who I was. She was very knowledgeable and had wonderful suggestions for us. Being a new build home she had to make several trips to our home during construction to make sure she had the perfect measurements for our new blinds. I felt bad, but never felt like it bothered Malia. Her measurements were perfect and delivery and installation were two weeks after the order was written. Jeff our installer was on time and very professional. Perfect installation! Would highly recommend Colorado Custom Blinds!

Description of Work
New build on new home.

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2022

Service Provider Response

We work new construction often and are always in the new build areas so making a second trip or stop is easy. We measure in 12 spots to ensure the perfect custom fit so your treatments look amazing. Being a small business has its benefits and we know our customers by name. Thanks for the awesome review, [Member Name Removed]. It was nice working with you. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom, Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

01/15/2022


William M.

Here is the wishlist of what my wife and I hoped for when we took the plunge and bought our new window treatments: 1. a person who listened to what we wanted, offered their expertise, and took their time as we asked questions; a straightforward price quote that fit within our budget; high-quality shades; delivery on time; expert installation; followup to make sure we were happy with our purchase. We hit the jackot and got them all!. Our combination of motorized shades for unreachable windows and manual shades for the windows below, has been one of the higest quality, affordable, and worry-free renovations that we have done . I cannot urge you enough to call Malia at Colorado Custome Blinds Shades and Shutters. It was the smartest home improvement call we have ever made.

Description of Work
purchase and installation of new window shades

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2021

Service Provider Response

We have great affordable options for all types of window openings without sacrificing quality. We give you options and listen to your needs to find the perfect fit. We're experienced and stay on top of all the latest trends. We keep you informed every step of the way. Thanks for the review, [Member Name Removed]. I'm thrilled we fulfilled the wishlist. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

07/11/2021


Susan M.

Wonderful quality, service and professional ideas and help. HIghly recommend.

Description of Work
Blinds throughout the house

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2021

Service Provider Response

We only sell high-quality products with great warranties. We have great ideas for your windows because we know the products available inside and out. We love when clients have an existing vision but we also like to help clients create one. Thanks for sharing your "wonderful experience," Susan. The remodel turned out fabulous. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom, Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

06/23/2021


Edie G.

Super. Easy to work with. Everything went exactly as planned. Highly recomment

Description of Work
Window shades

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2021

Service Provider Response

We like taking the work out of purchasing window treatments. We are detail-oriented and make sure you understand the function and utility of our products. Our goal is twofold: no surprises and happy customers. Thanks for the "high recommendation," [Member Name Removed]. Always good to see you. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

02/27/2021


Anita F.

We received quotes from 3 Colorado Springs blind companies and Colorado Custom Blinds was the clear winner. The owner, Malia came to the house to measure our windows and show us our choices for the solar shades, roller shades and cellular blinds. She had the best selection of colors & fabrics, the best attention to detail as well as the best prices. She made finding the right colors and fabrics for our window coverings fun and easy. The blinds were installed before the date promised. The installer, Tom was pleasant to work and did a great job. We are so happy with Colorado Custom Blinds and will use them in the future when we need custom blinds.

Description of Work
We needed custom blinds and solar shades for our new home.

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2021

Service Provider Response

Having an "AR" personality is great for this industry. We measure the windows in multiple locations and analyze various scenarios to ensure the perfect fit and function with no surprises. Being independent allows us to offer great pricing and focus our energy on our clients. All we do is window treatments and we know our lines inside and out. Thanks for the great review, [Member Name Removed]. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

01/30/2021


Barb T.

Update (2 years later :)) - we had about 5 blinds become discolored due to our old windows, which were also directly south facing, and I contacted Malia for support. In this day and age, it feels like rarely does a warranty actually cover things when you need it, but this was the exception! Within a day, Malia had the new replacements ordered and she even stopped by on a Sunday to pop them back up for us! INCREDIBLE SERVICE!! Thank you, Malia!! We just re-did half of the blinds in our home and Malia was wonderful. We got a few quotes and hers was the best, but we chose her based on her honesty about the different types of blinds we were considering. She was fast with a quote, and our blinds were ready very quickly. Her installer was great too - very professional and fast, it only took a few hours and we are so happy with our blinds! We will definitely use her when we are ready to finish the rest of the house.

Description of Work
Blind replacement

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/23/2021

Service Provider Response

We're here for you after the sale. We only carry products with great warranties so, if you ever have an issue, we work with the manufacturer to repair or replace your product for you. It's rare to have discoloration in any of the lines we sell so the manufacturer had no problem sending out free replacements within a few days. We provide great input on products, love to educate clients about the various functions and never try to upsell. We always give you our honest opinion, even if it means losing the sale. Glad we could get you swapped out with new product for no charge, [Member Name Removed]. Thanks for sharing your warranty experience. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

10/18/2020


Norma R.

Stellar customer service! From the initial phone call, to the consultation appointment, to the measuring of my windows, to the installation of the blinds, and then follow up after the installation, everything was done professionally and courteously. I had questions about what color to choose (and why) and what size of slats (and why); all were discussed and answered with honesty. Every measurement was spot-on. The installer was very efficient and did a thorough job of ensuring the blinds were functional and cleaning up the boxes and other packing materials. I am loving my new blinds; they make quite a difference in the view OUT of my windows AND they look great from the outside also!

Description of Work
Installation of windows blinds

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2020

Service Provider Response

We strive to exceed customers' expectations. We have answers for all of your questions and love playing devil's advocate. We make you think through the options so you're confident with your purchase and there are no surprises. Thanks for the "stellar" review, [Member Name Removed]! Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

09/24/2020


Haley F.

Malia was awesome!! Our blinds are perfect, prices were great, service was amazing. We couldn't be happier!! I would highly recommend Custom Blinds!

Description of Work
Custom Blinds

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2020

Service Provider Response

We have access to five blind manufacturers so finding the perfect style and function is a breeze. We keep you apprised every step of the way and our pricing is hard to beat. Thanks, [Member Name Removed], fot the high recommendation. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

08/18/2020


KATHY S.

Efficient, great quality, professional, excellent price. No hesitation to recommend this company

Description of Work
Window coverings for my entire house

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2020

Service Provider Response

What a fun project. [Member Name Removed] picked out great blinds that we normally don't run on windows (just sliders) and they turned out stunning. They really do look perfect and I was just thrilled with the finished product. Our team of installers are real pros. Thanks, [Member Name Removed], for sharing your experience. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

08/09/2020


Mary C.

Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades and Shutters was a pleasure to work with. Malia was very responsive to all our questions and did a phenomenal job measuring every window and helping select the right blinds for our home. All of her advice was spot on. Installation couldn’t have gone better with Tom. Great value for the price and our blinds look great inside and out!

Description of Work
Blinds for new construction

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2020

Service Provider Response

We love answering questions. The exterior plays into your window treatment selection process. We often hold samples up in the window and ask our clients to go outside to make sure they like the look from the exterior. We can offer great suggestions or help build a quote off your vision as well. Thanks, [Member Name Removed], for the review. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

06/16/2020


dick P.

They came out to measure and were on time and efficient. The shutters arrived within the time frame I was expecting and installation was flawless. Well done!

Description of Work
Installed plantation shutters on large, odd-shaped windows.

Category window treatments

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Specialty shaped windows are best covered in shutters; we can build just about any shape and size. We set realistic expectations for our clients and are big on explaining the function and utility of all products. Our goal is excellent communication and beautiful window treatments. Thanks for the review, [Member Name Removed]. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters
5.0

05/29/2020


Timothy R.

One of the best customer experiences I've ever had. They've been great to work with, hugely responsive, and very knowledgeable. Next time I need blinds I'm going to them. Thanks!

Description of Work
Installation and design of blinds

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/29/2020

Service Provider Response

Our customers are our top priority. We educate, inform and make the process enjoyable. Thanks for the stellar review, Tim. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom, Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

04/10/2020


Francis P.

What a Difference a Blind Makes As we were considering updating our window treatments (wife speak) aka blinds (husband speak) a friend recommended Colorado Custom Blinds. Upon contacting the company, we were greeted by Malia Alstrom the friendly, professional and knowledgeable owner. A speedy and convenient appointment was set up, accurate measurements were taken, a quote was forwarded and the promised delivery and install dates were met, despite the turbulent virus disruptions. At the appointed time the technician showed up and the install went like clockwork. We were amazed at how proficient the technician was. He had all nine various size blinds assembled and installed in just a few hours. I commented to my wife that I would have had maybe one done in that time frame and it would have been upside down. Needless to say we are extremely pleased with their customer service and highly recommend Colorado Custom Blinds to anyone who may be considering new blinds and who want a quality product, professionally installed for a great price.

Description of Work
Purchase and install new blinds

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/09/2020

Images

Review for Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters - 5325 Aubrey Way, Colorado Springs, CO - 38491890

+1 More

Service Provider Response

It's amazing how window treatments can transform a room. Our team of installers is the best in the industry and treat every project as if it were their home. We've been selling and installing since 2004 and stay on top of all the latest trends and fashions. We only sell high-quality products with great warranties and stand behind what we sell. Thanks, [Member Name Removed], for the great review. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

03/28/2020


Andrew B.

Great pricing, I had shopped around prior to committing and I also loved the owner's ability to meet needs met without being sold unnecessary upgrades. Our house looks very clean and bright - thank you!

Description of Work
New Blinds for one - 13 in total

Category window treatments

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/28/2020

Service Provider Response

We don't have the same overhead as the franchises or big box stores like Home Depot & Lowe's so we're able to offer exceptional pricing. We never try and up-sell and always try to understand your needs so we can pair the the perfect lift system and options. Thanks for the review, [Member Name Removed]. Glad we could help make your home look clean and bright. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

03/21/2020


Katie T.

Malia and her team were fantastic to work with! I’ve never ordered blinds before and I really just needed someone to tell me what to get. She was able to come over the same day I called to do all my window measurements and give advice on style and colors. The blinds came in earlier than expected and they were able to be installed two weeks later. Her prices were competitive and the actual installation for my entire house took less than 3 hours. The entire process could not have been any easier and we’re so happy we went with a local, family owned business!

Description of Work
Custom blinds

Category window treatments

Cost $2,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2020

Images

Review for Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters - 5325 Aubrey Way, Colorado Springs, CO - 38455522

Service Provider Response

We enjoy educating clients on all of the options and features available in window treatments. Some of our custom treatments deliver within 10 days and we schedule your installation once the freight carrier gives us a tracking number. It's great when we can exceed a client's expectations. Thanks for the review, [Member Name Removed], and for supporting a locally owned, independent business! I hope to see you and your dogs at the park some day soon. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

02/12/2020


James M.

Perfectly. Service is always prompt and performed correctly.

Description of Work
Originally specifying, ordering and installing whole-house full-custom window shades. Later, support on minor issues such as broken chain connectors and dead batteries.

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/11/2020

Service Provider Response

We're here for you for support after the sale should you ever have an issue. We sell only the top lines with great warranty support so help is just a phone call away. Always good to see you [Member Name Removed] and thanks for the review. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

01/28/2020


Penny S.

The process was seamless from start to finish. I was able to work with Malia to find the perfect window treatments. She knew exactly the right questions to ask me to determine how to guide me. Based on my answers she actually guided me towards a less expensive option than what I had originally inquired about as she felt they would meet my needs. She was spot on and we couldn't be happier with the style, functionality, and quality. I would definitely recommend working with Malia as she is a true professional and will treat you right!

Description of Work
I ordered custom window treatments.

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2020

Service Provider Response

We never up-sell our clients. We always present options at different price points and let you decide. We know the right questions to ask to make the process "seamless." We treat clients like we want to be treated, so you know you'll be taken care of. Thanks, [Member Name Removed], it was fun working with you! Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

12/30/2019


Sandy D.

Because of health issues, I cannot be around VOC's. Malia from Colorado Custom Blinds took the time to research what products she could offer me that were both health friendly and economical. You just don't find customer service this good these days. The best part is that I LOVE the blinds and would definitely do business with them in the future.

Description of Work
Purchased two custom blinds

Category window treatments

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/26/2019

Service Provider Response

We can handle most requests. We have two lines that have products with no VOCs. We're thrilled we could accommodate your needs, [Member Name Removed], and within budget as well. Thanks for the review. Maila, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

12/28/2019


Susan H.

Malia’s customer service is outstanding both for new installs and most importantly for any follow-up and warranty support. We had one of our shades break just before the 5 year warranty was up and she ensured we had a replacement blind for the window quickly and at no cost to us. That level of customer service is not available at the big box stores or even the large blind providers.

Description of Work
Custom blinds for whole house with outstanding warranty support

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2019

Service Provider Response

We take care of our customers and don't charge trip fees for warranty support. When you order with us, rest assured if something should go wrong, you're just a phone call away from a repair or a replacement. Thanks, [Member Name Removed], for sharing your experience. Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

12/28/2019


Lisa M.

This company came into our home, helped us pick the color of blinds (upon our request) very prompt with everything from the beginning to the end. We would highly recommend Colorado Custom Blinds!! And...less expensive than competitors that we had come in for estimates! Win win experience for us.

Description of Work
Blinds throughout our entire home

Category window treatments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2019

Service Provider Response

We outfit hundreds of homes each year with window treatments so we're great with color. We can help narrow down your choices to a manageable few to simplify the process. Our pricing is great because we're not a franchise and don't have a storefront. We've been proudly serving the Pikes Peak region since 2004. Thanks for the review! Malia, owner, Colorado Custom Blinds, Shades & Shutters.
5.0

11/13/2019


Steve H.

Everything went great. Malia answered all our questions on first phone call and setup an appointment the same week. She brought samples and explained all the options. And she was very helpful with decorating ideas that we did not think about. Top quality products at fair prices. Installation was flawless.

Description of Work
New custom blinds

Category window treatments