Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Dempster Plumbing

Founded 2006 • With Angi since April 2007

We are a small, family-owned business that values honest and reliable work. We make every effort to provide on-time and on-budget service, which is why we succeed with our mostly referral based business. Our company is made up of local natives who know the area and, more importantly, know how to get the job done. Let us help you with your projects ranging from simple installations to complete remodels.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.6

(63) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 63 reviews
Bob B.
5.0
11/17/2020
Great. Job was finished before the initial appointment time for low price too.
Description of Work
Replace kitchen faucet
Category
ceramic tile, plumbing
Laura B.
5.0
11/20/2017
Great! I was pleased with the work.
Description of Work
Replaced sewer line, added new plumbing and drain for new laundry
Category
plumbing
Scott A.
5.0
06/16/2016
Couldn't hire a better crew. We hired them for a sewer replacement and plumbing for our new addition and the work is flawless. Will recommend to friends and family.
Description of Work
Replaced sewer line. Plumbed new addition.
Category
plumbing, remodeling, drain pipe, home remodeling
Kathy D.
3.0
02/02/2016
I have been on the fence about doing a review of Dempster Plumbing, but a recent issue with the handheld shower (not Dempster's fault; Moen's issue) has pushed me off the fence. I had several bids and conversations with plumbing companies, and based on my interaction with Corey from Dempster's Plumbing, I elected to try them. Once that decision was made there were many conversations with both Corey and Moen about the correct shower valve, and finally one was on it's way. We elected to do Part 1 first as Part 2 would be a bit more complicated. Corey arrived on time and took care of replacing the faucet, disposal, and re-circulation system expediently. So far so good, and I love the faucet and re-circulating pump. Corey was going to come the following day, Saturday, to start Part 2, but I said Monday was fine. He told me he was getting married on the 8th (think that is correct) so he'd not be here then. We set another date, but that date came and went, and neither Corey nor anyone else from the company contacted me. I called the company to learn that Cory had quit, and there seemed to be other employee issues as well as the company's owner was out of town on a family emergency, and the individuals I had been working with were also no longer available. Eventually a new date was set and a team of four or five guys showed up. I was quite surprised as this should have been just a one or two-man job. Come to find out when work was well under way that my project was being used as a teaching lab for the install of new PEX lines to copper lines. I spent my life as a teacher; I understand the importance of training. That wasn't my issue. It was the lack of courtesy of asking if I minded before hand not an, "Oh, by the way, do you mind..." What should have taken no more than a third to half day ended up taking a full day. By the end of the day, I had a working shower, and I really just wanted them all gone; however, I did point out that the shower arm was very short, and I'd be running into the wall, which I do. As a result, I mostly use the handheld shower instead of the overhead shower. The supervisor said he had another, longer shower arm he'd install, but that never happened, and I will eventually get around to buying a longer shower arm. Now comes the tipping point. Moen's shower slide is poorly designed. I've been through several of them, and recently, it failed again. Moen has been wonderful about replacing the part, and the new one arrived a couple of days ago. I have to remove the bar from the wall to replace the slide, and once I did that, I discovered that someone made an error in measuring for the installation of the handheld bar. Instead of one drill hole, there are two. No "measure twice, cut/drill once" here. Would have been nice had the error been acknowledged so it could be filled when a couple of other holes were addressed...begrudgingly. Overall, the job was more or less satisfactory in that everything functions; the process of getting there left much to be desired. Prior to having my work done, I even recommended Dempster to a couple of other residents for whole house re-pipes. One had a good experience; the other not so, and I'm embarrassed now that I recommended Dempster before having my work completed. I can only hope that Dempster has sorted out its personnel issues and holds to its commitments.
Description of Work
Part 1: Replaced kitchen faucet and disposal and re-circulation system on hot water tank and under most distant sink; Part 2: replace shower valve, install shower arm and head and move handheld unit to the right and re-install. All parts except shower head and arm were supplied by the resident (me).
Category
plumbing
Robert N.
5.0
09/02/2015
The installation of all 3 valves went smoothly
Description of Work
Installed 3 new valves
Category
plumbing
MELINDA N.
3.0
08/31/2015
My experience with dempster Started off well but ended rather poorly. The plumber who gave me my initial estimate and oversaw the work was Cory. He was personable and explained things well. The crew was at my house from July 13 through the 15th, And they were generally polite and tidied up after themselves. The water heater installation was not part of the original job; it happened to die on me the night of July 13 , And since the plumbers were here anyway, it was a relatively easy add on. When they left on the 15th, I was pretty satisfied with the job. Then a few days later I noticed the faint smell of gas in the garage. At first I thought it was my imagination, because I watched the plumbers spray all the new gas lines with that bubble leak detection solution, and it showed no leaks. but then I kept catching the scent so I gave them a call on July 20. Cory came out right away, confirmed that he could also smell the gas, but when he sprayed The solution to find a leak, he couldn't find one. So he resealed /tightened the gas lines going into the water heater, and we thought that might do the trick. Well, the faint gas smell kept coming and going. It was bothering me so much that I got my own leak detection solution from the hardware store, and put it all over the lines, but I couldn't find a leak source despite catching whiffs of gas. so I called again on Friday July 24. Cory came out again, and I asked him if The water heater itself might be leaking gas (until then, we had only been spraying the lines leading up to the water heater, and no further.) . Cory said that the water heater should be completely tight, and ruled that out.Since the water heater was brand-new and obviously under warranty, Cory said he would Call the manufacturer , And if all else failed he would swap it out.it was it was mid Friday afternoon by then, and we agreed that he would contact me back about it on The following Monday. On Monday, I finally actually found the source of the leak. I sprayed the panel of the water heater (which The plumbers hadn't inspected at all), and bubbles foamed up at the little tube that feeds gas to the pilot. So I calledDempster right away to get hold of Cory, And was abruptly informed that he had quit that day. Not only that, but apparently Cory hadn't told contacted the manufacturer or informed anyone else at Dempster about my outstanding gas leak issue. So I tried to explain the situation to the person I was talking to (William). And he got extremely short with me. Honestly, it felt like he was mad that Cory had left so abruptly (which I can understand), and he was taking it out on me (Which is rather unprofessional). He did agree to come out to take care of the leaking line, But he only showed up with a wrench and sealing compound. He didn't bring his own leak test solution, Which I found baffling (because he was coming out specifically for a gas leak) and kind of annoying (because he asked to use mine and I was just about out). At this point, I haven't smelled any more gas in the garage so I think that my water heater situation is OK now. However , after that experience, I really hope The rest of their work holds up so I won't have to ask Dempster back about another warranty situation.
Description of Work
Installed New gas line to kitchen, new water lines for new laundry sink, Upgraded washing machine drain pipe, Installed water heater.
Category
plumbing, remodeling, water heater repair, home remodeling, gas leak repair

Service Provider Response

The actual leak was a manufacturer defect, We can't understand why a person would say we wouldn't honor our warranty? Dempster Plumbing honors all its work whether the customer is happy or unhappy. We have installed thousands of gas lines and on a very rare occasion the gas tubing on the water heater was having a very small leak it seems the customer believes that we did that part of the work but we didn't and we did come out several times in attempt to find the leak and eventually solved it.
CAROL L.
1.0
08/04/2015
left me asking for a refund. this is the second tmie this has happened to me on an Angies list coupon.
Description of Work
they said they no longer honor this coupon
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

We no longer partner with Angieslist jobs or coupons
Tammy C.
3.0
07/14/2015
When I called them the second time, I realized the part for the toilet leak was something ridiculously cheap, and they charged me $137.00 for the work and then after the guy left the first time, I noticed that he didn't turn the water heater back on, and also a few months later, I noticed one of the faucets that he installed was leaking, but I think the warranty that they gave was already passed 30 days. I actually didn't realized that the faucets have failed until after I called them back the second time and after I paid them a ridiculously high price, and then I just realized that they're a little expensive and the work is not all that great.
Description of Work
I used them twice, the first time was November 3, 2014, I felt like their price was a little bit expensive. I had them installed various things around the house like, garbage disposal, waterline for the refrigerator and just connects the faucets for the washing machine in the laundry room, and then I called them back again in March to fix the toilet leak.
Category
plumbing, water heater repair, home remodeling, drain cleaning
Kurt G.
4.0
07/02/2015
Overall it went well. Team was on time and mostly cleaned up after themselves. We had two minor callbacks due to the same joint leak (where new copper was joined to a small run of existing copper). One other issue was they helped us clear all the sediment out of the faucets upon completion (as a repipe loosens up a ton of sediment), but they had left two supply lines under the sinks only finger tight and they started to leak -- but I guess after every major plumbing projects you should be on the lookout for leaks for a few weeks after.
Description of Work
Repipe house from 50y.o. galvanized to copper.
Category
plumbing
VLADIMIR V.
5.0
07/01/2015
It was low cost of inspection and I was satisfied with review of the house water system and decided not to change piping.
Description of Work
Provider inspected the water lines to learn why is water flow in the house is low.
Category
plumbing
Sandeep J.
3.0
07/01/2015
Toilet Tune-Up is a great title for a useless coupon. This is a deal generation thing. Of course, one could ask, what do you expect to get for $39. They didn't do any sort of tune-up and the coupon doesn't really state what one should expect.
Description of Work
Nothing. Just lifted the toilet seat and flushed it, and done. Gave advice.
Category
plumbing
lydia W.
5.0
06/24/2015
Corey came a couple of days before work was started and explained to me the whole process. All the the workers were super nice and professional. their work ethics were awesome. I had to stay there and they worked around me and I didn't feel in the way. Corey made great suggestions about different types of facets and toilets especially since i have limited mobility the guys were great, the work was finished ahead of time. This was a lot of money to invest in a job and I truly made the right choice choosing Dempster plumping
Description of Work
repipe whole house,replace facets through whole house, replace 3 toilets
Category
plumbing
Juan Francisco B.
5.0
06/17/2015
It went great, problem was spotted and diagnosed right away and I was walked through the fix in detail, along with good tips on what to look out for going forward and the best way to deal with it. Very honest and up front specially about when it was worth to call a plumber and when it wasn't necessary. Same for the condition of some older faucets and the options regarding installing a water softener for our condo. Great experience overall, particularly regarding good communication and awareness of what was covered with the AL visit and what would be extra, as well as time and cost needed for different options. Very happy.
Description of Work
Had a bad floater in the downstairs toilet, provider replaced the floater and adjusted the flush handle so it would stop getting stuck. Checked on some bathroom faucets and advised on options for water softener system.
Category
plumbing
Frances M.
5.0
05/29/2015
Went great. Done fast and we are very happy
Description of Work
Clean out main sewer
Category
plumbing
SAELON R.
5.0
05/19/2015
This was a very atypical sort of job for a plumber and the other plumbers I called either declined the job or quoted ridiculously high estimates ($4200 in one case). Dempster Plumbing gave a reasonable estimate for the amount of work required, and did the job to my perfect satisfaction. They made a real effort to ensure that I was happy with the work and I really appreciate that! I expect to use them for ALL of my plumbing needs in the future.
Description of Work
I've been putting together a darkroom in a corner of my basement but couldn't handle the plumbing alone. It required tapping into the hot and cold water pipes to a bathroom up above, then running new lines along the ceiling of the basement and down the wall at the sink. Once at the sink I needed three different faucets installed, all different types, plus a cold water filter. They also tapped into my main drain line and attached the sink drain. Two guys spent most of the day working and their boss worked along with them for a couple of hours.
Category
plumbing
Danna S.
5.0
05/09/2015
Val did an amazing job. He made sure everything was done right and to our liking. The only issue was that the project took longer than expected.
Description of Work
Using our existing layout, Dempster plumbing remodeled two small bathrooms.
Category
plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
Reg R.
5.0
03/17/2015
I had crawled under, found the problem and was preparing to put a temporary patch on what I though was a small hole when it became evident it was a 5 ft long rust-through line in the drain pipe. They came out, verified the problem, made a quote and agreed to replace a 20 ft section of pipe the next day. They came out and replaced the pipe in about an hour. Called back a year later when the new/old pipe joint developed a leak. They fixed that promptly, at no charge, about an hour after we called them.
Description of Work
Replaced portion of house drain plumbing after it developed a leak along a weld seam. Came out on short notice after drain had deposited large pool of drain water under the house. I was willing to pay extra to have priority service and fix it now.
Category
plumbing, drain pipe
MARY L.
5.0
01/09/2015
pLUMDempster Plumbing was very punctual. The person they sent out was extremely knowledgeable. In order to flush the toilet they had to snake through the roof. The boss came out to help. They then snaked a camera clear to the street. Just a major mess. Old, cracked and broken pipe, with roots abound. Also the pipe from the kitchen was extremely corroded. It was on its last legs. The washing machine needed a new hook up because the last solution I paid for (5 years ago) was not very efficient and created other problems, such as noise when the rinse cycle was on. Very funky. Quite frankly, everything to do with pipes needed replacement. As said early, they were extremely fast and reliable. I thought their financial arrangement was fair, considering all the work that had to be done. They were very professional solving this problem and the end result has given me peace of mind. I am very glad Angie's List recommended Dempster's Plumbing. Originally I did call Angie's List for recommendations and they provided three. So Thank You Dempster Plumbing. It was a pleasure doing business with you.
Description of Work
Provided new piping to the sewer from the washer, bathroom, kitchen all the way out to the street. Living in an old house, I was way past due for new pipes. The backup from the washing machine was spilling into the tub and the toilet wouldn't flush. It was a major problem. They used a snake to flush out the toilet. However just a temporary fix. The camera they used showed excessive damage to the sewer pipe that went out to the street. In fact it was split, VERY old, and not set for the proper angles. The provider fixed all these details plus provided the necessary permits for such work. And they worked FAST!
Category
plumbing
SHAM T.
5.0
01/09/2015
The repair person was very knowledgeable,courteus and professional
Description of Work
Fixed gas line,and presure test.
Category
plumbing, gas leak repair
Peter W.
5.0
12/24/2014
The work went very well, and I am very happy with the results and with how Dempster went about their work. First, they were very fast. They had my house entirely re-piped in a day. Granted, the house is small, but it was still something they thought would take two days. The holes they had to cut in the walls took a little longer to patch, but that was because of the scheduling for the city inspection. The patching of the walls were done beautifully, by the way; except for the variation in color from the paint, I can barely tell where they made the hole to get behind the bathroom sink. They were also very neat and concerned about leaving things clean. They put down tarps not just in the working area but also along the paths they had to walk to get to their supplies. Finally, the inspection went very smoothly: the inspector made a couple of minor suggestions, but no changes were required, and he signed off on the work. I'd also like to comment on their demeanor. They were very professional and very friendly. I enjoyed having them work on the house, which is something I'd not expect to say about plumbers. Usually, they are the heralds of watery doom. These guys are definitely my go-to plumbers from now on.
Description of Work
Dempster came through to do a re-pipe on my 80+ year old house. The original galvanized steel pipes were still present and were badly corroded. Dempster replaced all the old pipes with copper and replaced my kitchen faucets.
Category
plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
Greg C.
5.0
12/01/2014
Hot water system seems to work well. Radiant heating worked ok at first, but has since crapped out. However, it doesn't appear to be related to the water heater install. Dempster plumbing was very clear that they don't do radiant heating, but did their best to find a suitable water heater rated for the dual purpose that the old one was serving.
Description of Work
Replaced difficult to install water heater. Removed old one from house sub basement with too small of access. Hooked up to radiant heating system.
Category
plumbing, water heater repair
sigrid J.
5.0
09/06/2014
Bill explained everything in detail while giving the estimate. He was the only plumber not scared off by the age of the house and the old plumbing. His crew had no issues working under this old home and dealing with plaster walls. They patched everything up so that you could not tell they had worked there. Other plumbers had said we would be responsible for cleaning up after they had cut open the walls. The crew was friendly, polite and seemed to enjoy working together. The inspector from the city told us we had good quality work done and also commented on how nice the workers were. How often do you hear that? Overall an excellent experience. Almost want something else to break in the house so that we can hire them again!
Description of Work
Copper re-pipe from street to house and to all fixtures. Added a new shut off at the house and capped several water lines out in the yard.
Category
plumbing
steve C.
5.0
08/25/2014
Bill came out, assessed the situation, went away to get the right part, came back and installed it on the gas line. Then he was able to connect the gas flex pipe I had purchased to the correct adapter he installed, and installed it correctly to the gas cook top I was trying to install. Result was that I can cook again. Yay.
Description of Work
I had some weird combination of adapters on my kitchen gas line.
Category
plumbing, gas leak repair
Paula N.
5.0
07/08/2014
They give good service. They were prompt and knew what they are doing. They got back to me very quickly. They did a good job overall. It was just a few days ago but nothing has gone wrong since then.
Description of Work
I just recently used Dempster Plumbing.
Category
plumbing
luke E.
5.0
06/17/2014
Dempster Plumbing is the best plumber I've ever used. I've used them for three remodels now (two different houses) and have been extremely happy each time. Bill Dempster is a straight shooter who works with you on your plan, gives a great price, then sticks to it. The final cost is always either the original estimate or less, they start work on time, and often finish early. The guys are punctual, respectful, and extremely hard working. Having used the company for several remodels, when I had the occasional drain problem, etc. (unrelated to his work), he would often fix the issue at his cost, just to maintain a great working relationship. I've recently moved out of the San Jose area, but he was my absolute go-to for any plumbing related issue while there. Now I'm trying to find another similar company in my new location...
Description of Work
Complete tear down and remodel of existing bathroom. In the past, used for complete repiping and tile work.
Category
ceramic tile, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, drain cleaning

Other local Pros in your area

Fifteen Dollar Rooter Sewer & Drain Service

$15 sewer and drain service has been providing The highest quality drain cleaning services and plumbing services in the Bay area for the last 36 years! We believe in flat rate over the phone pricerange Lists the phone price listings to offer all our customers all are customers a value for their drain cleaning services our technicians are long term employees with over 20 years in the plumbing industry We offerTop quality services in drain cleaning plumbing services water heater replacements tank list replacements tankless water heater replacements Leak locating services trenchless pipe bursting sewer camera inspections sewer line replacements RPP certifications and also hot jet hydro jetting Our number one daily call is from customer's who tell us " My plumber told me to give you a call, Because my drain is backed up and you guys are the only ones Who can get the drain open". .. So don't waste precious time with the clogged drain give us a call and we will be out there within 2 hours Of your call!  

Angi Certified

Bailey Plumbing Inc

Our local and family owned and operated plumbing company at Bailey Plumbing Inc. offers expert plumbing services to homes in Morgan Hill and surrounding areas. Specializing in tankless water heater services, we can do it all, from drain cleaning and sewer services to gas line solutions and leak detection. We help our neighbors fast, even offering same-day appointments and after-hours service, as we are available by phone 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Our team stands behind our work with industry-leading warranties and guarantees. When you need plumbing solutions in Morgan Hill, look no further than our expert plumbers at Bailey Plumbing Inc.  

Angi Certified

Plumbtree Plumbing and Rooter, Inc.

*Emergency Services Available. Plumbtree Plumbing & Rooter offers reliable plumbing services at the most competitive prices. With our stellar plumbing services, we will get your plumbing system back to working at its best in no time. Whether you are experiencing a complicated plumbing issue, broken water heater, cracked plumbing fixture, or leaking faucet, our experienced technicians will work quickly to fix your problem and eliminate your frustrations! We serve San Jose, Milpitas, Santa Clara, Campbell, Saratoga, Mountain View, Los Altos, Los Gatos, Sunnyvale, Fremont, Newark, Union City, Redwood City, Atherton, Menlo Park, and Morgan Hill. We specialize in complete plumbing services, including drain cleaning, clogged toilet repair, sewer replacement, cleanout installation, water leak repair, water system repipe, water service replacement, leaky toilet, household gas testing, household gas system leak detection, gas line repair, gas system repipe, gas leaks, water heater maintenance, water heater repair, water heater replacement, tankless water heater installation, tankless water heater maintenance, and tankless water heater repair.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

1639 Pomona Ave

San Jose, CA 95110

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Pex repiping

Payment options

Check
PayPal
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Dempster Plumbing is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Dempster Plumbing is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Dempster Plumbing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

No, Dempster Plumbing does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Dempster Plumbing offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Dempster Plumbing does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Dempster Plumbing offers emergency services.

No, Dempster Plumbing does not offer warranties.

Dempster Plumbing offers the following services: Repiping, bathroom remodeling, water heaters, gas lines, remodels, waterlines, commercial work, repairs, sewer line replacement, and consultation.Sewer repairs, replacement,drain cleaning and video inspection services, trench free, copper repiping, pex, all phases of plumbing