Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mold Masters Inc

Founded 2000 • With Angi since July 2009

Providing our clients with the best mold and water damage solutions for 15 years! READ OUR REVIEWS! Visit our website at www.moldmastersinc.com for more info on us! We are a long-time local FAMILY-OWNED certified mold and water damage company offering common sense solutions to mold and water damage problems. Special discounts and pricing for Angie's List members - We will match any competitor's lowest price to earn your business! We are an IICRC Certified Firm, EPA Lead Safe Certified Firm, and AAA Rated with the Better Business Bureau. We are California State Licensed, Bonded and Fully Insured Contractors. Lic #894664

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(82) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 82 reviews
SG C.
5.0
02/05/2019
I am a year late with this review. Mold Masters did a good job. They were thorough in their analysis of the problem and attentive in the follow through for both the remediation and rebuild work. I asked a lot of questions for which they were very patient.
Description of Work
Provided mold abatement and reconstruction services
Category
mold removal
L W.
1.0
11/07/2018
Mold Masters took several air samples. They provided us with a detailed report that indicated very high levels of mold in one particular space, although there was no visual evidence that said mold existed. Mold Masters, naturally, was happy to remediate the mold for a substantial fee. We immediately called a mold remediation specialist to address the issue. This licensed contractor, who has dozens of years of experience in the field and performs mold remediation for insurance companies, took one look at the test results and the supposedly affected area and told us that a re-test was needed before he would begin. He indicated that, in his opinion, there was no way that mold existed in such a high concentration in the suspect area (a closet). He also questioned how the results could be so high in one area, but that the wall directly next to it was clear. So, we hired another company to re-test the area. Results came back 100% clear, just as the mold remediation specialist predicted. It appears that Mold Masters provided us with faulty or doctored test results; this action could have cost us thousands of dollars.
Description of Work
Mold Testing
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Although we appreciate this users review, we feel a modicum of clarity is on order here. To avoid misinformation, we feel it important to clarify the mold inspection process including expectations vs. limitations. A mold inspection and any tests performed are considered a "point in time" event. Air Testing is essentially a "snapshot" of what is happening at the exact time the tests are taken, As such, mold sampling is not considered an exact science. To that end, the results of future or subsequent testing may reveal vastly different results due to the fact of any number of uncontrolled variables including ever changing environmental conditions i.e. temperature, humidity, activities in the area, etc. Although our literature specifically states this fact, many clients have assumed the results of one inspection is a final determination of mold presence or air quality, which can be far from the case. We encourage clients to have realistic expectations of the outcome of mold testing as just one tool in determining the full spectrum of an indoor mold problem, keeping in mind that multiple outcomes are possible.
Dawn P.
5.0
04/04/2018
They were very helpful and explained everything since I had never had to go through this before. Don't know how their prices compared to others but they were highly recommended by the Apartment Association of LA.
Description of Work
Mold Remediation
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive feedback. We appreciate your business.
German R.
5.0
12/19/2017
So far we are satisfied with their services and we plan to continue to use their services.
Description of Work
My family owns several apartment units and we have utilized services of Mold Masters for about five years. Recently one of our tenants alerted us to an ongoing mold issue and a strange odor under their unit. We care about the health of our tenant very much, so We contacted Mold Masters to perform a mold investigation. I spoke to their senior manager Austin Reid and they immediately sent out a very knowledgeable mold inspector to take samples and do a full investigation. Although we had dealt with this company before, they still explained the steps and process of the inspection to us patiently and put our tenant at ease. They discovered a rather aggressive sewer pipe leak that was affecting the crawl space and creating mold in the unit. They took air samples, sent them to the lab and gave us a thorough report with their findings and recommendations. The report was not alarmist, but rather informative. The technicians were very nice and professional, which is something that is very rare with any contractors these days. They even went so far as to recommend one of their plumbers to help fix the issue under the unit, which we greatly appreciated. We then hired them to also remove the mold problem and they dried out the structure with fans and dehumidifiers. They worked with us to help get our tenant relocated during this hectic process, and were able to finish the job when they said they would. Overall, everything went well and communication was great.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and your feedback
John B.
2.0
11/17/2017
Mold remediation of the small entrance way closet was marginally satisfactory. It took two men two days to complete the task. They left an extremely noisy HVAC air cleaner in the closet for three days following remediation. One worker wore a HAZMAT suit while in the closet, removing drywall. His assistant wore neither a mask, nor gloves, nor other protective clothing. At no point did either worker make any attempt at trying to communicate the process of what was happening to either me or my wife. Neither worker had personal identification or business cards. They simply appeared at my front door at the appointed time, answering to the names previously given to me by phone. They arrived in a white, unmarked utility van. A completely unprofessional representation by Mold Masters. As for the cutouts from the ceilings, I found their work to be illogical. They removed three sections from our bedroom ceiling, and one from the adjacent wall. In the living room, they removed three sections from the ceiling. Of the seven cutout areas, only two were from areas that were clearly showing water marks, and, in my opinion, likely mold intrusion. The other five cutouts were from, apparently, random selected sections of ceiling. This, too, caused me to question their professional judgement and competence. One worker held the ladder in place, and the other one used a hand saw to cut through the popcorn ceiling and remove insulation. They bagged the portions of removed ceiling, drywall, and insulation. At the end of that activity, they sent the bagged material out for inspection at their lab. The results were that the bedroom was likely noncontaminated by Mold, but that the living room had contamination.
Description of Work
Needed mold remediation of a small entrance way closet; also, exploratory cutouts from living room and bedroom ceilings from areas where water marks showed water damage from a previously leaking ceiling, to determine any mold intrusion into either ceilings or adjacent drywall.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

We thank this client for his candid feedback and we are truly sorry he was dissatisfied with our services. As a result, we have provided this client with a full refund. . We make every attempt to ensure 100% satisfaction on every project. In light of this, we encourage other members to see our dozens of many other glowing reviews when making a hiring decision.
Louise K.
4.0
03/13/2017
Several days over schedule, which inconvenienced the move-in. Am not certain whether this service was actually needed or not so make certain that you truly need mold remediation before you embark on this.
Description of Work
Mold remediation in a house that was a new build but had not been occupied for two years.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and review. We are sorry your experience was not 100% satisfactory due to the project taking longer than anticipated. Due to the heavy rainy season we have been unusually busy and that has unfortunately led to several job delays in the last few months. We are working on increasing staff to meet the demand during the rainy season.
Manolo V.
5.0
10/31/2016
Mold treatment was done with satisfactory result.
Description of Work
Mold treatment
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and positive feedback
Bruce M.
5.0
04/09/2016
We began the renovation of a home that was built in 1968 and identified several mold problems. One was due to a leaking roof and the other was caused by leaky plumbing under the kitchen sink. We asked Mold Masters to inspect the problem and give us a fixed price bid for remediation. We accepted their proposal and they had a team on site within four days. The project required sealing off the areas to be treated, removal of damaged wallboard, treatment for mold, and several days to dry the affected areas. In the end the mold was gone and we could proceed with our renovations. Oscar and his team started promptly and completed on time. It was a professional job well done.
Description of Work
Mold remediation for a home under renovation.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive feedback and your business. The Mold Masters Team
Katherine C.
5.0
01/20/2016
Oscar was efficient, helpful and professional. They did one initial clean out and when it tested haz still, they returned and cleaned more and check aggressively to see if it was hiding. Continued until they completely removed it.
Description of Work
They remediated mold in my bathroom and came back.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

We are glad we were able to help this member solve a difficult and evasive mold problem. Thank you for your business. The Mold Masters Team
Renee W.
5.0
10/27/2015
Great company to work with! I highly recommend them if you have a mold problem. I found a spot of mold when I removed the baseboards to have a new floor installed in one of my bathrooms. Joe came to the house to do the initial inspection. I liked Joe very much. He was knowledgeable, answered all our questions and was so nice and so courteous. We decided to do testing in the walls and it showed we had black mold. We scheduled the remediation with Austin (also wonderful to work with) and they scheduled us very quickly. Oscar and Michael came to do the remediation and they were also great to work with. Very nice, able to keep up calm, and they went right to work! They also explained what they needed to do as they went along and checked the walls on the other side which, thankfully, had no mold. Everyone in this company is so nice, so helpful and they do great work!! R. Willis Canoga Park
Description of Work
Mold remediation inside bathroom walls
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of our company. We are glad we were able to meet your needs and solve your problem and we are glad you are happy with our services. The Mold Masters Team
Jason Y.
5.0
10/23/2015
They were really responsive to email and phone calls and got me an estimate pretty quickly. They showed up on time, sealed the kitchen and removed the mold in a pretty short amount of time.
Description of Work
Removed mold in the kitchen
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. Each review helps us to know what we are doing right and what we need to work on to become even better. The Mold Masters Team
Alexanda P.
5.0
09/28/2015
Angel was punctual and efficient.
Description of Work
Mold Masters investigated areas for mold and took air samples.
Category
mold removal
cheryl P.
5.0
08/04/2015
Mold inspector joe Zeni came out to take samples of our ceiling. He was on time, polite, professional and very knowledgeable. We are in the beginning stages but we are very happy so far.
Description of Work
Mold inspector joe Zeni came out to take samples of our ceiling. He was on time, polite, professional and very knowledgeable. We are in the beginning stages but we are very happy so far.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

We thank this member for her review and we will continue to provide excellent service to all of our clients.
Lawrence C.
5.0
07/16/2015
Angel was great. From initial quote to finishing the job on time for the price promised.
Description of Work
Mold remediation on bathroom.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your glowing review of our services. Our goal is 100% customer satisfaction each time.
Christina C.
5.0
06/03/2015
Mold Masters was very easy to work with from the start. Austin was responsive and answered all of my questions quickly. He was able to fit me into a tight schedule right before the holiday weekend and everything was done as expected. On the day of the service, they arrived on time and ready to go. Angel worked quickly and efficiently and explained all the work and what I could expect for the next few days. All of our mold was removed and now my home is safe. I highly recommend these guys ? they know what they?re doing!
Description of Work
Mold Abatement
Category
mold removal
Phil M.
5.0
04/25/2015
Mr. A. Reid initially needed to determine the extend of the water and mold damage, so a company employee came to my house and looked at the damage and testing was done to determine the type of mold spores existed and a report was issued that detailed what the testing had established needed to be done to remediate the mold problem. That Mold Masters report was e-mailed to me and the Geek Squad Insurance Company. Based on the Mold Masters findings the Insurance and I were able to come to agreement on what it would take to rectify the problem. The report issued by Mold Masters was up to "mold remediation" industry standards so the the Insurance Company did not dispute anything in the Mold Masters Report. Based on that report, my wife and I were get rid of the mold, have a separate construction company rebuild the part of the house that was removed because the floor and walls had to be removed.by mold masters to resolve the mold and water damage. The company sent employees to my home that were very polite and they always left my home clean at the end of every workday. Their supervisor would tell me at the beginning of the day of the work that they were gong to do and he would check with me at the end of every day so as to make sure that I was happy with the days work. It took approximately a week and a half to complete the work that the mold remediation required. Mold Masters never delayed in dealing with my problem. Once work started, they were here everyday and did a full days work. Mold Masters also recommended the company that did the work to deal with the mold problem as it pertained to industry standards for central air and heating systems. I was very happy with that work as well.
Description of Work
Mold remediation. A washing machine that had been serviced by the Geek Squad leaked and caused major water damage. The insurance company of the Geek Squad paid Mold Masters to do mold remediation. I had no knowledge of how to deal with the water damage and mold. Mr.A. Reid, the Mold Masters representative, advised me on how he could assist me in dealing with my water damage problem. He gave excellent advice and initially had his company evaluate the damage and gave an estimate what was immediately accepted by the insurance company. Mold Masters dealt with my problem immediately, professionally and with my and my wife's concern being their utmost concern. I would use them again in a heartbeat. Anyone using Mold Masters will get great service..
Category
mold removal
Denise M.
5.0
02/04/2015
It went great. The inspector was very good and came the very next day and took samples. The work crew was very prompt and finished the work quickly.
Description of Work
Roof leaked into closet. The company removed closet and did mold remediation.
Category
mold removal
Randy R.
5.0
11/06/2014
I have a tenant who has been having health issues and suspected that there might be mold somewhere in her unit. As a landlord, this scared me because I have heard many horror stories of lawsuits over mold. I was advised by the Apartment Association of Greater Los Angeles to use Mold Masters because they had always had good reviews on their work. I called Austin (the owner) and he sent Khalif over the next day to examine the unit and take some samples. He took two air samples (indoor and out) and two swab samples. I felt certain that I was in for a huge expense demolishing the floors, etc. At my request, Austin sent me a proposal for the work that would need to be performed if there were mold. I prepared myself for the worst. When the lab results came back, it turned out that the air in the unit was cleaner and had less mold than the air outside. The swab samples also came back negative. From the look of the basement ceiling, anyone would have suspected it was unhealthy. I shared the test results with the tenant, and she agreed that the mold was obviously not a problem. It's such a relief to have science to clear up these fears. I thanked Austin for his proposal that I was no longer in need of, and he was very gracious and happy for me. Now my life can move on.
Description of Work
Mold inspection, testing of air samples and swabs of suspected areas. Proposal for remediation in case mold was found.
Category
mold removal
Travis Y.
5.0
09/27/2014
Mold Masters responded quickly, took care of the job efficiently, and were very professional.
Description of Work
Abated mold caused by a bathroom leak.
Category
mold removal
Jeff L.
5.0
09/08/2014
They showed up on time and gave us our report back the next week. They followed back with us too.
Description of Work
I've used Mold Masters Inc for mold testing. They did six tests for the mold.
Category
mold removal
Mei Y.
5.0
08/25/2014
The technician identified the problem and submitted a written report.
Description of Work
Inspecting the craw space to identify the source of smell.
Category
mold removal
Tara P.
5.0
08/19/2014
Joe was very professional and helpful. He definitely knew his stuff. We will hire him again.
Description of Work
Took air samples
Category
mold removal
Scott F.
5.0
07/01/2014
We had an idiot tenant who drove our HVAC over the brink, backed up the condenser line and flooded the garage and adjoining walls in the laundry room and family room. I had to coordinate from 400 miles away initially, and they were right on time to get me an assessment on a Friday afternoon. We moved forward on Monday a.m. and they were on-site early. The work was done quickly and professionally. My wife and I both agreed that one of their technicians, Carlos, was one of the most professional contractors we'd ever dealt with. Incredibly polite and helpful, went out of his way to explain exactly what they were doing and actually took care of my hardwood floors and home in general the way I WISH our j****** tenant would have. At the last minute, we spoke with our insurance company and they told us to put everything on hold until they could get someone out there to assess the damage and determine coverage. I was under the gun on timing because we had new tenants looking to move in, so I was about ready to walk away from the claim just to get the work done, but Carlos was patient, did his setup work and kept things intact until the insurance guy showed up. That cooperation helped to get us an accepted claim and with the remediation work, the HVAC removal and reinstall, and the garage and interior reconstruction work, ended up saving us around $10K. Post remediation testing sailed through with flying colors and we were able to keep our scheduled move in date with the new tenants. I would definitely recommend Austin, Carlos and their team without hesitation.
Description of Work
Mold remediation after an HVAC back up.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the glowing review of your experience with Mold Masters. We are glad to have solved your problems and we appreciate the business. Your review will help other potential clients make very informed hiring decisions Sincerely The Mold Masters Team
David W.
5.0
03/27/2014
Mold Masters was contacted immediately and services were performed one day later. Joe Zeni, their representative was extremely professional and responsive to our needs to get the mold removed quickly so our remodeling could continue. The technician located additional mold once the paneling was removed and suggested a solution and price for $350 additional. Remodeling continued the following Monday.
Description of Work
Mold was discovered in the Living Room and Dining Room while new flooring was being installed.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Our management team and staff thank you for the positive review on your experience with Mold Masters. We welcome the opportunity to try to satisfy our clients to the best of our ability and are grateful when our members share their experience with others. Sincerely The Mold Masters Team
Lesa B.
5.0
03/26/2014
He took air samples outside, from the bedroom and from the wall cavity. The test results were emailed to me and were very detailed but easy to understand. The room was fine, however the wall cavity count was high. I called and asked what needed to be done. He explained that since there was no evidence of water damage or current moisture, plus the fact that the air in the room was good no action was required. He suggested that the odor may be a result of moisture in the slab and recommended that I have it tested and possibly sealed. I greatly appreciated their help with this. Everyone I spoke with were wonderful.
Description of Work
Checked for the presence of mold in a bedroom that smelled musty.
Category
water damage restoration, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your feedback and positive review of our company. Each review helps us to know what we are doing correctly and what we need to to to improve our service. In addition, it helps other Angie's List members make informed hiring decisions, which benefits all. Sincerely, The Mold Masters Team

Phone

Address

2513 Colorado Blvd # B

Los Angeles, CA 90041

Other Information

Services offered

Indoor Air Testing, Water & Smoke Damage Reconstruction, Mold Remediation,

Services not offered

Air Duct Cleaning Asbestos Removal

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Mold Masters Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Mold Masters Inc is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Mold Masters Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Ask Mold Masters Inc for details on free project estimates.

Yes, Mold Masters Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Mold Masters Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Mold Masters Inc offers emergency services.

Yes, Mold Masters Inc offers warranties.

Mold Masters Inc offers the following services: Indoor Air Testing, Water & Smoke Damage Reconstruction, Mold Remediation,

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Air-Tech Air Conditioning & Heating Inc

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Air-Tech Air Conditioning & Heating Inc

If you're looking for comfort you can count on, you've found the right place! Whether you need service-and need it fast-or you're looking to replace or invest in new equipment for your home, Air-Tech Air Conditioning & Heating can help. Ask around... our name is well known and respected in because we care about impressing you so much that you'll want to call us next time and every time. Award-winning Air Conditioning & Heating Company including the Angie's List Super Service Award. Free estimates on replacement systems, new installations and duct cleaning/air purification. Servicing all major brands, makes and models for central and ductless/mini-split systems. Financing is available. Air-Tech is a participating HERO contractor.  

We The People Construction

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

We The People Construction

Building trust with quality work and craftsmanship! In We The People Construction we are proud of the quality of our work and the good relationships we build with our customers. We work hard to provide you with value in every meeting, every job and every interaction with our family. Our goal is to make your home improvement dreams come true while you enjoy the process and feel safe knowing that experts are taking care of your home. Do you have a dream project?? We have the tools! Check out some of our happy customers, sneak peak into our projects and don’t forget to call for your appointment! IG: @wtpconstruction YouTube: We The People Construction Yelp: We The People Construction Google us: We The People Construction  

Home improvement company specializing in: - stucco, drywall, exterior and interior repairs - plumbing and electrical fixes (sinks, faucets, drains, light switches, outlets, etc.) - irrigation automation (yard sprinklers, drip irrigation, vegetable planters) - bathroom remodel - tiles, shower enclosures, tubs - flooring and carpet installation We also work on home automation, including: - home security and automation (Smart Life, Smart Home, Wyze, Ring, doorbells and cameras - installation, programming, maintenance) - LAN, WAN installation and setup