Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Paul's Handyman Service

Founded 2006 • With Angi since October 2008

4.6

(45) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11455 Ridgeroad Dr

Cornville, AZ 86325

Description

Cost is determined by job. All work is top quality. I work an honest hour and do not mark up any of the material costs. Large jobs are negotiated per-contract basis. If you have any questions about my work or what I can do for you please call me or visit my website.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
sandra K.
5.0
07/02/2014
the service was prompt, courteous. work was neat, well-marked and areas clean when work was completed. i would not hesitate to call again or to recommend to friends and neighbors.
Description of Work
replaced breaker box, trouble-shooted wiring
Category
electrician
Richard M.
5.0
05/15/2013
I think they did a good job of troubleshooting the problem. They also pointed out that during construction of my house the appropriate type of connections were not used. I am very satisfied with these people and thought their pricing was reasonable.
Description of Work
I used Paul's Handyman Service to re-wire a bathroom light that was not turning on.
Category
electrician
bill B.
3.0
07/30/2012
He called back and said that he moved out of the area
Description of Work
None
Category
handyman service, replacement windows
Lana L.
5.0
07/06/2012
Their quality of work was very good. The gentlemen has a very good eye for color. He is extremely good, but he doesn't get back to you quickly.
Description of Work
I used Paul's Handyman Service to paint the interior of my house.
Category
interior painters
Susan M.
1.0
11/28/2011
Left message and would not return my call:(
Description of Work
Left message and would not return my call:(
Category
drywall, handyman service
Brian L.
5.0
08/18/2011
He was very honest and was always here when he said he was going to be. He was very dependent.
Description of Work
We used Paul's Handyman Service probably 2 months ago and he did some drywall work.
Category
drywall
KATHIE D.
5.0
05/03/2011
The service went really well. He was very professional and very kind.
Description of Work
They fixed a water heater.
Category
water heater repair
johanna R.
1.0
02/16/2011
I never received any response from Paul's Handyman service. I left multiple messages with my contact information, and it was frustrating that I never heard anything back. I would not recommend this company to others.
Description of Work
I tried to contact this company for two separate jobs. One pertained to plumbing, and the other was for tile work.
Category
ceramic tile, plumbing
Brian K.
5.0
12/21/2010
Experience went well, would recommend any day.
Description of Work
replace wall outlets, replaced plumbing fixtures and plumbing repairs, fixed a couple doors and other handyman services
Category
electrician, handyman service, plumbing, doors
virgil S.
2.0
09/27/2010
He has put me off for 10 days now. My projects have been stalled because he has not gotten back to me. This is very frustrating and inconsiderate.
Description of Work
He came out to look at work I wanted completed.
Category
gutter repair, interior painters, doors
judy F.
1.0
07/14/2010
He returned none of my attempts to reach him, and I had to hire someone else.
Description of Work
I tried repeatedly to reach Paul. I left numerous messages on his voicemail and his email. I received NO response to any of them. I eventually hired another person to do my work. I was very pleased with his prior job for me. However, by not returning my messages, he has to be off my list of possible contractors
Category
handyman service, house painters
William D.
1.0
06/15/2010
No follow through. At this point I would never hire him.
Description of Work
He showed up on time for the appointment for an estimate. Said he would get back t us in a couple days then never called or returned my call. His phone will not take messages and says he has a full mailbox. Complete waste of time. and unprofesional.
Category
handyman service
Patrick W.
1.0
06/10/2010
straight to voicemail, which is full.
Description of Work
I can not contact Paul at any numbers he has listed. I have used him before(see review) and been very happy, but when you cant contact him, it makes it hard to hire him.
Category
handyman service, remodeling
Michael M.
2.0
04/19/2010
He told us the day of the estimate that if we liked his work we could tip him. We also had to front him money for materials and labor. We thought it a little odd that he wanted money for labor up front, but we gave him $120 as he requested. We felt good about him finishing this job, so we gave him a small tip that day as he had "hinted" at. (A previous handyman left us in the lurch and took $100 with him when hired to do this job). The day he was to arrive to do this job, he called and said he was running late, an emergency had come up with another client. So, he was late, but he did come and finished the dining room floor area. He assured us that he would come back and finish the rest of the job. After two weeks I began calling him and leaving messages (3 of them), to no avail. I emailed also, no answer. So this is when I began the complaint process with the BBB and Angie's List. I found that he is not a BBB member, and he's not an Angie's list member either, as advertised on his business card. I was told by Angie's list that businesses are not members, only customers. So the main problem with Paul's Handyman Service is false advertising on his website, (he sounds wonderful), and his business card and he's totally unreliable.
Description of Work
He required $120 before he started the job for lumber and labor. He shored up our dining room floor with a hydraulic jack and lumber. The floor is a good deal improved, but that was only half of the job. The center of the house sags and Mr. Knaack was to return in two weeks to complete the job. He hasn't come back and won't return any calls or e-mails.
Category
handyman service
Josh D.
2.0
03/30/2010
Paul came out to do the estimate. He had good ideas and was professional. We had a few other people come out and we chose Paul from the bunch. However, after spending the next two weeks leaving repeated messages for him, we were unable to get him to return our calls and were forced to go with another provider for the services.
Description of Work
We had Paul out to do an estimate on some painting and trim work at the house.
Category
interior painters
KATHIE D.
5.0
03/04/2010
Bless his heart, he talked me through how to fill the tank up because he could tell by what he was saying that there wasn't any water in it. I have never met him before so this really meant a lot to me. I thought this was so kind and honest of him, because he could have charged me to come out and do it. He is the first man I have met that wasn't out to get the dime, and instead took the time. I am having him come out to do other work as well.
Description of Work
I thought I needed a new hot water tank.
Category
water heater repair
Jeff B.
5.0
01/08/2010
Called Paul in the a.m. and he was here in a jiffy. He fixed the plumbing and insulated areas in need. He is honest as the day is long and a fantastic worker! He is very affordable and trustworthy and I wouldn't hesitate to call him for anything! We love Paul!
Description of Work
Last night we had a pipe bust due to cold weather.
Category
handyman service, plumbing
Greg G.
5.0
01/03/2010
I also had a hard time getting in touch with Paul but it was well worth the wait. I left messages on Monday and Wednesday and he didn't call me back until Saturday morning. He explained that he had been out of town and came over and gave me an estimate within two hours. He started and finished the job the very same day. He estimated the job at 4 hours but because of some complications it took twice that long. Even though he had to put in the extra time he only charged me his 4 hour estimate. I found him completely trustworthy and he will be the very first person I call on any of my future projects.
Description of Work
Installing a fireplace.
Category
handyman service
Marisa V.
1.0
12/08/2009
I could not get this guy to call me back.
Description of Work
I am having a major electrical outage in my house and needed to get someone scheduled to come out. I left 2 messages with this guy and got no response back. I was shocked that he had an A rating.
Category
electrician, handyman service
judy F.
5.0
11/30/2009
Paul arrived promptly, asked pertinent questions, and went right to work. He checked with me to make sure he knew just exactly what I wanted. He wasted no time, was neat and clean, and the work was of high quality. I have more work to be done after the holidays and will absolutely call him back.
Description of Work
I had a number of small jobs to be done including hanging a several curtain rods and blinds.
Category
handyman service
Wanda J G.
5.0
11/23/2009
Paul took the time to explain to me what he would like to do. He listened to my problem and responded with a solution. He did not try to "tack" on extra work that was not need. I will definitely use him again in the future.
Description of Work
Replace light switch in bathroom. Fixed dryer vent and cleaned lint out of vent area.
Category
handyman service
Kim B.
5.0
11/23/2009
We needed the faucet fixed on a Friday and Paul came, gave us a bid and agreed to do the work there on the spot. He bid on the soffit repair work and completed the work on time and on budget. His prices are outstanding. He is so honest and even finished the job more quickly than his estimate, giving us an even better price when all was completed. I recommend Paul very highly!
Description of Work
Replaced a kitchen faucet, fixed a leak. Replaced soffits on detached garage, matched paint and painted the new soffits. Also replaced soffit on rear of home near back deck.
Category
handyman service
Tom B.
5.0
11/06/2009
Excellent at what he does. Project completed on time, and under budget. Having contracted new floor installation (Tile, carpet, hardwood) to begin on 11/12, my wife decided to remodel our Master bath in the process. This left me just a few days to find someone on short notice to fix my problem. I consulted Angies List to find a plumber to disconnect and secure the water supply and drain to the tub. What I got was an all around professional "Handyman" that I will keep busy with many projects I have planned over the next year. From start to finish Paul was courtious, respectful, and polite in his manner putting my wife at ease from the first meeting when giving the bid for the job. His follow up was impecable, being on the job when he said he would be and over all being a pleasure to work with. After seeing how knowledible Paul was with all aspects of construction I asked him to finish hanging the drywall for me, to make the room ready to paint. I must say that Paul pay's attention to detail pointing out little things he would do, fix or change if this were his home project and how I could do it myself and save money. I learned alot with the few hours he was in our home and thanks to Angie's list I have a new handyman to help me with the tasks that are beyond my skill level. I have already set up a second project for Paul to return and complete as a result of his excellent manner, professionalism, and work ethic. If you have Handyman work you need done, call this guy, you won't be sorry you did! If you want a personal recommendation from me call 417/886-0157, ask for Tom, and I will be happy to give you more detail from my positive experience with Paul.
Description of Work
During a bathroom remodel project my wife decided to remove the corner garden tub and I needed a plumber to close off the water lines under the house and to close the drain hole beneath the tub itself. After checking Angie's list for a highly recommended plumber and calling Paul I quickly decided to pay him to finish hanging new drywall behind the old tub exposure. Paul bid the job for 5-8 hours and actually completed it in a very efficient 5 hours. His expertise in all areas of construction are very evident and his professional work ethic is the reason I have other projects planned for him within the next few weeks.
Category
drywall, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, wallpaper removal, wells, wrought iron, drain cleaning
Jeff B.
5.0
11/05/2009
Paul arrived on time, explained what he was going to do, and then completed the job in under 2 hours. Very nice and professional. We would definitely use him again and recommend him to anyone.
Description of Work
Just bought a house with a walk-out basement so the roof on the back of the house is 25+ feet above the ground. Needed gutters cleaned out in a bad way.
Category
gutter cleaning, handyman service
Tiffanie M.
5.0
10/23/2009
Excellent!! Paul's wife who handles calls answered promptly and was very courteous and professional. Paul returned my call within the hour and set up a time that afternoon to come and look at our "leak." We had been told by our home inspector that our bathtub was leaking into the wall cavity and into the crawlspace. Upon inspection by Paul- no moisture was found! (and I had just taken a long shower about 30 minutes prior!) He was very professional and showed us the area and that it was dry and recommended we change our disclosures in our paperwork for our home sale. Best of all, the estimate was free and he did not charge us for work that did not need to be done!
Description of Work
Inspection of suspicious area (leak in bathroom) and no work was needed.
Category
plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    TLC Window Cleaning & Pressure Washing

    TLC is The Local Connection for all types of professional commercial and residential window cleaning, solar panel and pressure washing needs. Fully Insured and A+ rated with the BBB and HomeAdvisor, we know that your satisfaction is the key to building long term relationships and success. From prominent Sedona Timeshare Resorts, to the smallest vacation rental cottages, no job is too big or too small, TLC Window Cleaning and Pressure Washing does it all. Contact us at 928-300-0799 for a free estimate.  

    Angi Certified

    Aire Serv of North Central Arizona

    Mr. Rooter of Yavapai and Coconino and Aire Serv of North Central Arizona are sister companies working together to give our customers great customer services.The sooner you get in touch with Aire Serv, the sooner we can help you with your heater and AC repairs, installation, or maintenance services. We also offer indoor air quality services, carbon monoxide and smoke detector installation, thermostat installation, air purification services, and installation of humidifiers and dehumidifiers. Financing available  

    Angi Certified

    Red Desert Flooring

    Red desert flooring is a company that has been established in the Verde Valley for over 30 years with hundreds of jobs behind us will make your floor look like our house beautiful!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    Total electric including switches, breakers, meter & masts, electric, all lighting, power repair, leveling & shoring up floors. Installation of gas & electric appliances, ceiling fans, tile, laminate, wood flooring, carpet, windows, fencing, cabinetry, surround sound, tv & cable hookups & data lines. Spas. Bathrooms. Kitchens. Drywall. Paint. Debris removal. Limb trimming. Basic electric.

    Services Not Offered

    Asphalt. Roofing repairs or installation. Major sewer repairs. Tree climbing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Paul's Handyman Service

    How is Paul's Handyman Service overall rated?

    Paul's Handyman Service is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Paul's Handyman Service open?

    Paul's Handyman Service is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does Paul's Handyman Service provide

    Paul's Handyman Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Paul's Handyman Service offer free estimates?

    Yes, Paul's Handyman Service offers free project estimates.

    Does Paul's Handyman Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Paul's Handyman Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Paul's Handyman Service offer a senior discount?

    No, Paul's Handyman Service does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Paul's Handyman Service offer emergency services?

    Yes, Paul's Handyman Service offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Paul's Handyman Service?

    No, Paul's Handyman Service does not offer warranties.

    What services does Paul's Handyman Service offer?

    Paul's Handyman Service offers the following services: Total electric including switches, breakers, meter & masts, electric, all lighting, power repair, leveling & shoring up floors. Installation of gas & electric appliances, ceiling fans, tile, laminate, wood flooring, carpet, windows, fencing, cabinetry, surround sound, tv & cable hookups & data lines. Spas. Bathrooms. Kitchens. Drywall. Paint. Debris removal. Limb trimming. Basic electric.

    Are there any services Paul's Handyman Service does not offer?

    Asphalt. Roofing repairs or installation. Major sewer repairs. Tree climbing.