Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

The Pond Doctor

4.7

(52) Verified Reviews

Founded 2006 • With Angi since April 2012

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
2705102787
Trade License Locale
Virginia
Trade License Authority
Virginia: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
01/31/2022
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

7047 Skyland Dr

Warrenton, VA 20187

http://theponddoctor.com

Description

The Pond Doctor is a Master Certified Aquascape Contractor specializing in pond and waterfall design and maintenance. We attend yearly training seminars at Aquascape in Chicago and are educated on all aspects of the Water Garden Industry. We are proud to be associated with the best pond builders in the Industry....

Verified Reviews

4.7

(52) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

42

4

5

3

1

2

0

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.2

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (44)fountains (9)excavating (4)
Showing 1-10 of 52 reviews
1.0

05/21/2020


Craig B.

After weeks of back and forth and scheduling issues. They assessed the issued and quoted me a price of $4000 (four thousand dollars) which is completely ridiculous. the pond is not even three feet wide and cos me less than $2500 to install. I contacted Backyard ponds and they addressed the issue for $400 (four hundred dollars) Either the "professionals" and The Pond Doctor are crooks or are completely incompetent and are unable to do their job. Ether way I would advise anyone who is considering them to keep looking

Description of Work
Fix a leak in my existing pond.

Category excavators

Cost $4,000

Work Completed On 03/11/2020

Images

Review for The Pond Doctor - 7047 Skyland Dr, Warrenton, VA - 38584672
5.0

06/27/2018


MICHAEL S.

Great work! Well worth it. Pind looked great. They even hauled out a snapping turtle and set him loose in the woods so our fish could survive!

Description of Work
Pond drained, cleaned and refilled

Category landscaping

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2018

5.0

05/20/2018


Graham F.

A GREAT EXPERIENCE!! We went on Angie's List and found The Pond Doctor and read the reviews. We contacted Mark King, the owner, and described the work we would like done and sent him pictures of our garden pond. Mark responded right away and explained the steps needed to clean the pond and outlined what his company would do and he then provided us a cost estimate. We felt comfortable with selecting The Pond Doctor and Mark placed us on his work schedule and a few days later Jeremiah, the foreman, and his crew arrived. Everyone on the crew was polite, professional, and experienced and quickly tackled the large job ahead of them. The end result - our pond looks wonderful. After removing all the muck, the pond and waterfall were power washed, vacuumed, and the pond refilled with clean water. The pond looks as good now as it did 20-years ago and we owe it all to The Pond Doctor!! It's easy to see why The Pond Doctor is "A" rated and received Angie's Super Service Award. We feel fortunate to have found The Pond Doctor and to have had the opportunity to work with Mark and Jeremiah and his crew. We highly recommend The Pond Doctor as your "go to solution" for any garden pond projects and needs.

Description of Work
Our outdoor garden pond sat dormant for several years and had accumulated a large amount of leaves and debris. We needed the pond cleaned out and power washed and made ready for the installation of a new motor for filtering and sending water to a waterfall.

Category landscaping

Cost $850

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2018

5.0

05/16/2018


Sid S.

Mark and his guys were great. It did take a while to get in touch with them initially, but that is because I was calling during a very busy time of year, so if you don't reach them immediately, just keep trying. The guys came on time, did a great job eliminating the leak in my pond and rebuilding a nice looking waterfall. I would definitely hire them again. The B rating on price is only because I am used to hiring someone who used to repair ponds for fun and charged hobbyist prices. Unfortunately, he passed away recently. Mark's prices were right in line with the other professional pond companies, I just had sticker shock because I was not used to hiring a water feature professional.

Description of Work
Repair a leaky pond with waterfall.

Category fountains

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2018

5.0

04/10/2018


Brenda T.

Excellent. We have been customers for more than 10 years and I have no hesitation in recommending The Pond Doctor. Mark and his team really care about their work and customer satisfaction. Mark is very responsive - he answers queries within hours, and brings a calm demeanor to every discussion about the pond, the aquatic plants or the fish. He explores potential root causes of an issue, presents solution options with cost implications and offers a reasoned recommendation. He never goes to the most expensive solution first, but he does give an honest, professional opinion of what he thinks will work best. He also checks back to see how things worked out. I have never been disappointed. His team is knowledgeable, always willing to educate about pond and fish care. We have been very pleased with this service!

Description of Work
Annual cleaning of the pond in spring and fall, and checking any operational issues

Category fountains

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2018

5.0

04/04/2018


Diana L.

The Pond Doctor was the best. Came every time without and lapses in service. Courteous, professional and very skilled. Highly recommend the Pond Doctor to anyone with a pond.

Description of Work
Regular and seasonal pond maintenace

Category fountains

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2018

5.0

03/26/2018


Lisa K.

They do great work. We had another company that gauged us and the pond filters and circulator were always breaking down. Since using Pond Doctor we have no issues. Twice a year maintenance and a beautiful pond that gives us a lot of pleasure.

Description of Work
All different services related to caring for our fish pond.

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/26/2018

5.0

02/23/2018


Tony F.

Have consulted with Mark The Pond Doctor several times over a number of years about issues in my pond network. He has come out in good weather and bad, and has provided valuable insights. He and his crew made short work of some plumbing repairs. I get good vibes for his knowledge, professionalism and integrity.

Description of Work
Pond maintenance

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2018

5.0

02/16/2018


David F.

Excellent, prompt and responsive service.

Description of Work
Water pipe for waterfall burst during cold spell. Also needed pond cleaning.

Category excavators,landscaping,fountains

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2018

5.0

02/01/2018


Bill G.

Everything was done perfectly. Mark responded to my call and quickly got the necessary new pond skimmer. Installation was done very professionally and on a very timely basis. I've been relying on Pond Doctor for several years now and have always had an outstanding experience. I highly recommend them for all pond maintenance needs.

Description of Work
Install new pond skimmer

Category landscaping

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/26/2018

Services Offered

We design, install and maintain outdoor water features. Ponds, waterfalls, and fountains are our speciality. We can create an outdoor paradise in your backyard. Our maintenance services are not limited to pond cleanings, leak detection, pump installs, and maintenance schedules. Give us a call for all your water feature needs.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Pond Doctor

How is The Pond Doctor overall rated?

The Pond Doctor is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

What days are The Pond Doctor open?

The Pond Doctor is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

What payment options does The Pond Doctor provide

The Pond Doctor accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

Does The Pond Doctor offer free estimates?

No, The Pond Doctor does not offer free project estimates.

Does The Pond Doctor offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, The Pond Doctor offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does The Pond Doctor offer emergency services?

Yes, The Pond Doctor offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by The Pond Doctor?

Yes, The Pond Doctor offers warranties.

What services does The Pond Doctor offer?

The Pond Doctor offers the following services: We design, install and maintain outdoor water features. Ponds, waterfalls, and fountains are our speciality. We can create an outdoor paradise in your backyard. Our maintenance services are not limited to pond cleanings, leak detection, pump installs, and maintenance schedules. Give us a call for all your water feature needs.