Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Automatic Climate Heating & Air Conditioning

4.8

(821) Verified Reviews

Founded 1983 • With Angi since July 2006

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
2701029209
Trade License Locale
Commonwealth of Virginia
Trade License Authority
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
Trade License Expiration
02/28/2021
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Company Contact

5420 DISTRIBUTOR DR

Richmond, VA 23225

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

We want to play our role in preventing the spread of the Coronavirus. For regularly scheduled visits we will be providing some modifications to our services. We will not enter the living spaces of homes without necessity. If we must, Technicians will provide a light cleaning to disinfect accessible return air ducts and blower units in addition the required services. We will remove profits on virus killing air scrubber installation.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Automatic Climate has serviced Richmond, Virginia and the surrounding areas since 1983. Honesty, integrity, pride in workmanship and customer satisfaction are the hallmark principles that drive our company. Alan Purser, Sr. is a classic American success story. He started with a dream, a strong work ethic and a pickup truck. Coupled with a comprehensive skill set, he has grown his company into one of Richmond's finest full service heating and air conditioning businesses. Alan's wife Olive manages the office and son Alan Jr., heads the Sales Department. As a family owned corporation, there is more than just the company reputation involved in every transaction. All NATE certified service personnel are continually trained to keep current in new products and changing technologies. Automatic Climate is also an independent YORK dealer. As with all service companies, "word of mouth" advertising is the mainstay of our growth and keeps us rooted in the community. Together with our customers, we have created a unique team. We would be proud to have you join us. Additional email - service@automaticclimate.com....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(821) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

726

4

49

3

22

2

9

1

15

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (685)dryer vent cleaning (144)air duct cleaning (118)home energy audit (29)appliance repair (15)plumbers (10)electrician (10)insulation (2)drain cleaning (1)
Showing 1-10 of 821 reviews
2.0

12/21/2020

Replaced heating and cooling system

Description of Work
The work done was professional but one of their servicemen refused to wear a mask in my home. I repeatedly had to ask and he seemed annoyed by the request. We had all windows open and provided fans to keep the house cool and comfortable. After the 3rd request, he wore the mask. But he wore it only over his mouth and not his nose! This was during a documented surge in the pandemic.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/1970

5.0

07/10/2020

They are excellent and are very professional. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We have been using them for 8 years. They installed an AC and heat pump. They have done maintenance as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2020

5.0

06/29/2020

The tech showed up on time, went right to work, answered my questions while he was servicing my unit. He was on time, very polite and friendly.

Description of Work
Yearly service of heat pump system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

Cost $99

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2020

1.0

05/27/2020

Automatic Climate replaced the HVAC system in my home. I have a twin heat pump system. One system leaks, it needs to be refilled with refrigerant twice a year. Automatic climate tried to repair the system once then refused to attempt a second time because "we didn't make anything on that job to begin with". I drafted a suit and they showed up. I spoke with Alan Purser and agreed to drop the suit i...

Description of Work
Replace HVAC System / botched attempt to repair said system

Category appliance repair,heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2020

5.0

04/07/2020

Technician came out a few days before the job to assess what was needed. Two days later two technicians came and removed the old system and installed in the new one. Job took about 7 hours. They were neat, efficient and very professional. We have had out annual maintenance agreement with them for the last 5 years. I would definitely recommend them!

Description of Work
Replaced heat/AC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $7,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/03/2020

5.0

12/09/2019

Wonderful, great pricing, quick response

Description of Work
Heat Pump would not turn off

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2019

5.0

09/12/2019

Excellent! Job was completed on time and in a timely manner and the details of the job were explained with detail and I was totally satisfied.

Description of Work
furnace needed replacing

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2019

5.0

08/05/2019

Michael and Chris did a comprehensive inspection and estimate. It was complicated because they had to increase the airflow and they had to figure out a way to add supply vent. The possible solutions were thoroughly explained beforehand. It took longer than they expected for the install because they tried to minimize the aesthetic impact when installing a new vent. They also had to find a way to ge...

Description of Work
Install of replacement central air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2019

5.0

08/05/2019

They arrived on time, and completed the replacement in an efficient and professional manner.

Description of Work
Replace Central A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2020

5.0

07/23/2019

Comprehensive inspection and estimate before work; all thoroughly explained beforehand. Crew of 6 all exceedingly courteous, professional, knowledgeable and efficient. Very neat, complete clean-up including removal of old systems. Works like a charm; vast improvement over old systems. Would definitely use again.

Description of Work
Replacement two central AC systems

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/12/2019

Services Offered

Heating and air conditioning, heat pumps, central air, gas furnaces, agreements, clean and check, thermostats, humidifiers, hvac repair & duct cleaning, electrical, plumbing, whole home generators.

Services Not Offered

Oil Furnaces or Boilers

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available, PayPal
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes