Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Northern Virginia Tile Co

Founded 1985 • With Angi since October 2009

5.0

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

Telegraph Road

Alexandria, VA 22310

Description

Award winning. Please visit www.nvtileco.com for a complete list of services and a company description. A direct link can be found here on Angie's list. Bathroom and Kitchen Remodeling services. Household repairs of all types. Plumbing. Hadicap services. (grab bars/curbless showers/saftey equipment installation). A fantastic list of references available upon request! Consulting and DIY assistance. Established 1985.c...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/11/2017


Jerry K.

Duke Robertson's attention to detail and craftsmanship was outstanding. He was so meticulous in all his cuts. You can tell he is very proud of his work. He also has a great personality and very easy to deal with.

Description of Work
We had the master bath tub removed and a shower installed and the walls and floor tiled. We also had the hall bath tub replaced and walls and floor tiled.

Category ceramic tile, plumbing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for the kind words! It was great to meet and work for you. Duke
5.0

05/08/2017


Sylvia L.

Went great. He did a superb job on everything. He is very busy so getting each thing scheduled was sometimes challenging, but overall he was here when he said he would be here and did a great job.

Description of Work
Did several different jobs. We were having our pool remodeled and needed the deck removed while the work was done. Did it in a timely and professional manner. Also had our shower in the downstairs bathroom redone and the shower door replaced. Then we asked if he could make our gates selflocking and selfclosing, which he did.

Category ceramic tile, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

05/08/2017


Sylvia L.

Excellent. He had many good suggestions for me.

Description of Work
Shower remodel

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank You [Member Name Removed], You are too kind! I am looking forward to working with you in the future on you next project. Dale
5.0

09/06/2016


brad R.

In 2012, I hired a cheap contractor to remodel two small full bathrooms, and quickly learned my lesson on why you check for current license, bond, insurance, and knowledge of basic construction methods. I should have fired the guy after one day, but felt I could live with some imperfections for the too good to be true low price. Oops! The shower pan in the master bath failed, leaking through the living room ceiling, and in 2016 I have had to re build the entire shower as well as replace the floor. I am lucky to have found Northern Virginia Tile Co. to do the work. What a difference a professional, skilled, and knowledgable craftsman can make. Duke Robertson did the work on my project from start to finish, and did a fantastic job. One of the many things that was so impressive about his work was the care and attention to detail throughout every inch of what he touched. Everything was level, plumb, rock solid, laser straight grout lines, zero lippage or other tiling shenanigans, and when the job was finished it was showroom finished, not 'substantially complete and I'll be back in a week or two to patch up that hole and touch up that paint and fix that little ol' leak. That bathroom was DONE. Painted, sparkling, towel rack on the wall done. Kudos to Duke for being a true craftsman, working with care and integrity, and being a heckuva nice guy to have working in your home for a couple of weeks. Estimate was accurate and price was exceedingly fair, no surprises. Worst case scenarios that might have impacted the final cost but couldn't be known until the walls came down were discussed in detail and in advance. Northern Virginia Tile Co's schedule was busy but well worth the wait. I had 6 other companies come out and estimate the job, and had wild variations in cost, approach, and professionalism. NV Tile Co-- and Duke in particular-- was a clear winner from the beginning. I checked references, asked a million questions, tried to learn as much as I could about each aspect of the project, and probably tried Duke's patience a little with my inflated sense of skepticism after my bad experience with the previous contractor, but he kindly answered every question, was never put off, and in the end knew what the heck he was doing. I will most definitely have Duke and NV Tile Co re-do the other full bathroom that my previous contractor messed up-- but that's for next year. Highest recommendation for these guys!

Description of Work
Master bathroom shower and tile floor replacement.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, home remodeling

5.0

09/24/2013


ALEX K.

Dale was very professional. He works by himself mostly. He worked 6 days a week about 8 hours a day for 3 weeks on our 3x7 foot bathroom. He gutted it entirely and replaced the toilet, sink, pipes, new bathtub and extensive tiling. He allowed us to use our own materials for most of the project. Every day he cleaned the house thoroughly before he left and it looked like he had never been there. We trusted him enough to give him a house key so he could come and go if we were not home. He has very good attention to detail and the finished bathroom looks great. We would use him in the future for bathroom remodeling.

Description of Work
Remodeled our bathroom entirely.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

5.0

03/15/2013


Dennis N.

They were great. I would highly recommend them. They did a great job. The price was very good. I was most impressed with their quality of work. They were on time.

Description of Work
Northern Virginia Tile Company replaced a little bit of wallboard and re-grouted the tiles in the bathroom because water had gone behind them and they had become loose.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

02/09/2013


Jim P.

We had a broken tile in our shower, the shower also needed a bit of TLC. I called NV tile and for the smaller jobs it seems that the vendor refers customers to his father. Harmon came the same day, gave us an estimate and did the work the next day. Very reasonably priced.

Description of Work
Simple tile, grout and caulking repair

Category ceramic tile

5.0

11/27/2012


RANDY G.

Working with Dale was stress free. Dale communicated with us regarding his start and end times so that was never a problem. Dale has a keen eye and makes helpful style recommendations as well as other recommendations that can save you money. I highly recommend Dale for any home improvement projects you may have. He is dependable, reliable and trustworthy. His workmanship is outstanding. You cannot go wrong by selecting Dale.

Description of Work
We had two bathrooms completely remodeled by Dale. Dale installed porcelain tile on the floors, installed new vanities, plumbing fixtures, lighting, electrical outlets, and exhaust fans for both bathrooms. One bathroom had a shower stall. Dale built the mud pan and and tiled the floor. We had the show walls tiled from floor to ceiling. Dale built two niches, one small one for soap and a larger one for shampoo. Both niches look great and are in alignment with the surrounding tiles. He also installed the shower door. For the other bathroom, he installed a new bathtub and shower head. The walls around the bathtub were tiled from the top of the tub to the celing. Dale installed a corian custom shower caddy in the wall which looks great. Both bathrooms have been in use now for four months and we have had absolutely no problems with any of the work he did. I absolutely love my new bathrooms and our friends and family members love the look of the new bathrooms.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

5.0

11/27/2012


JOHN H.

I was very pleased with the service and will be calling them again.

Description of Work
Plumber from Angie's List stated that the only way to fix my faucet from leaking in the bathtub would be to replace it. This meant going in through the titles. I called Northern Virginia Tile Company and the owner informed me that plumbers like to go through the tile and that it might cost a lot more money and end out needing a complete re-tile. Since the work had not been done yet by the plumber, the tile company sent someone over to look at the tub and give a free estimate. The person agreed with the plumber and only six tiles were removed by the plumber. Northern Virginia Tile Company replaced the six tiles and did a very professional job at an extremely reasonable price.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

10/01/2012


Kathleen K.

Duke Robertson was referred to me by a good friend that is very particular. I knew that I would be pleased with Duke's work just from that friend's recommendation I was not disappointed. It was a pleasure working with Duke. He is a professional and a perfectionist. I described the job to him over the phone and he came by over the weekend to see the room so he could give me an estimate. I showed him the tiles that I had chosen for the job. Duke called me back during the week to give me the estimate, a start date and suggested porcelain tile for the floor of the bathroom. He suggested that I go to Mosaic Tile in Chantilly,VA to select the floor tile. The people at Mosaic Tile were wonderful to work with. Duke showed up on the appointed day on time. I had 3 colors of neutral subway tile and he suggested a pattern that worked very well. I used a fiberglass shower pan with a small lip at the front of the pan. Duke cut a small notch, the size of your pinky finger, in the tile to go over the lip of the pan on both sides. The circle for the toilet flange was perfectly round. I was very impressed with his detail and workmanship. Duke worked one full day to tile the shower stall and two shorter days to tile the floor and then grout all. I highly recommend Duke Robertson for any tile job you have if you want a professional and beautiful result. His work is worth every penny!!!

Description of Work
Duke Robertson tiled a shower stall and floor in a new bathroom.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

5.0

07/10/2012


Christopher S.

They were very thorough and professional,, we just didn’t end up not going through with the project.

Description of Work
They provided an estimate on floor tile in a family room.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

03/01/2012


Ellen B.

see above

Description of Work
The owner's dad, Harmon, came, did an estimate to regrout our shower, which had grown odd deposits in the grout. We made an appointment for him to fix it. He came on time, replaced the grout, made a recommendation about resealing it. Very pleasant to deal with.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

12/01/2011


Christopher S.

They were real responsive, they gave us a good break down of what the project would be with a lot of detail. We are still in the process of deciding what to do. The quote was detailed, thorough and made sense.

Description of Work
Northern Virginia Tile Company gave me an estimate.

Category home remodeling

5.0

11/01/2011


gail K.

very responsive to my phone call - not my email. Worked with my tenant's schedule, provided me an estimate and a convenient way to pay (I am a distant landlord) and my tenant was very happy with his punctuality, professionalism and his work.

Description of Work
removing old caulking and recaulking two bathtubs.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

06/19/2011


Laura H.

Excellent.

Description of Work
We had installed the subfloor and cement board ourselves in our bathroom. But we wanted a professional to lay the tile. After finding the company on Angie's List and reviewing their web site, we decided to call Tom Martini. He returned our call the same day and came by that weekend to look at the job. He gave us a good price and he laid the tile that same day. He came back on Sunday and did the grout work. It looks absolutely beautiful. Tom is a real professional and is a very nice guy and we would use him again in a minute.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

04/22/2011


Lisa B.

We were very happy with the services performed by NV Tile. Dale pursues perfection with enthusiasm and is happy to explain all the details to inquisitive do it yourself types. We would hire NV Tile again and again.

Description of Work
NV Tile installed a new shower basin consisting of a concrete pad with a schluter drain and kerdi waterproof membrane, replaced the tub platform structure and plumbed the new tub.

Category plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

01/15/2011


Laura G.

Overall the project went very well and Dale Robertson is a consummate professional. There was a bit of delay in getting the project started, simply because Dale's services are in demand. He provided his initial inspection and estimate in early May, but the project could not get started until early October. Although Dale had time in his schedule to get the kitchen/powder room portion of the project done in June, he would have had to delay the bathroom project until the end of the summer. So I waited until he was available to do the entire project in a single timeframe. Thus I have given NoVa Tile a "B" in punctuality as far as the length of time that passed between receiving the estimate and finishing the project. From the beginning, Dale was great in providing information, as well as advice on tile types and sizes. He was very communicative via e-mail and responded promptly to all my questions. Upon starting the project, he was extremely quick in getting the old flooring removed, and he was thorough in every aspect of the job, including cleaning up every evening. He showed up when he said he would, and he consulted with me on every step of the project, so that I never felt that I wasn't getting what I wanted. The quality of the tile work is superb. The kitchen and powder room look great, and the bathroom looks even better. I have received many compliments from family and neighbors about the results. I would not hesitate to recommend Northern Virginia Tile Co. to anyone who is considering tile work (and check the website for a list of other projects that they handle). Although someone may have to wait several weeks before Dale can start their project, the caliber of his work is worth the wait.

Description of Work
I engaged Dale Robertson of Northern Virginia Tile Co. to perform the following services: replace existing vinyl floor in kitchen and adjoining powder room with porcelain tile; replace existing vinyl floor in full bathroom with ceramic tile and border; replace existing wall tile in bathroom shower/tub surround with subway tile; remove existing vanity/sink and install new vanity/sink and faucet; and, install new faucet and shower head for shower/tub. He also installed a new dishwasher in the kitchen.

Category ceramic tile, plumbing

5.0

03/17/2010


Charles R.

Fair bid. Work quality was fantastic. Communication was exactly as needed - he highlighted potential issues in advance so we could stay aligned throughout. I requested a late change in tile pattern in the shower and he accommodated without complaint.

Description of Work
Removal of existing tile / linoleum / plumbing fixtures. Install porcelain in shower, tub deck / apron, floors. Install new plumbing trim. Add electrical outlets and upgrade electrical trim.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

02/08/2010


Christopher & Terry D.

Project went exceptionally well. While not inexpensive (though cost noted included materials), it reflects the high quality of the job done. Mr. Robertson provided an estimate promptly, and was very responsive to accommodating our schedule. He is extremely meticulous, and the results are beautiful; he is a true professional. Very pleasant experience overall and we couldn't be happier with the outcome.

Description of Work
Duke Robertson of Northern Virginia Tile installed porcelain floor tile in two basement rooms.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, basement remodeling

5.0

10/15/2009


RANDY G.

The bathroom looks excellent. He is probably the best contractor I have ever worked with. He is meticulous in his work and is timely. He cleans up after himself and is very professional. Tile is his specialty and I would give him my highest recommendation. I would definitely use him again.

Description of Work
He remodeled our entire master bathroom. We already bought some of the materials.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mr Electric of Reston

    We are a locally owned and operated company, and as a result, we understand the needs of our customers. Whether it's hanging a ceiling fan, installing a custom-designed landscape lighting system, or rewiring a commercial structure, you can call Mr. Electric. We have the power to make things better! Additional Phone Number - 571-233-0854  

    Offers by Mr Electric of Reston on Angi
    Absolute Electric LLC

    I am passionate about and take pride in my craft. Our philosophy is to treat your home or place of business as if it were our own. If you are not satisfied with our service, please contact me or our Service Manager, Rob, because our goal is your satisfaction. We want you as a customer for life, not just to make a quick buck. Call us today at 571.525.2823, as we look forward to discussing your electrical needs. Regards, Shauwn Collins, Owner  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Staples Electric LLC

    Your home is important, and your safety is important to us! We provide electrical system safety inspections. We can also upgrade the electrical safety devices in your home or increase your electric panel and service size so you can add new electrical devices to your home. Our professionals commonly install, repair and provide electrical system changes, maintenance for fuse boxes, smoke detectors and lighting receptacles, home automation wiring and design. Are you remodeling? Staples Electric is the first to call for home improvements when you want to install new lighting, ceiling fans, change your light switches, improve data and networking signals, install a hot tub, or upgrade your electric panel to handle today's new electric components and accessories. Staples Electric will care for your home as though it is our own. Work areas will be carefully draped with plastic and your project will be completed with neat, high-quality results that will make you proud. We are one of the few electricians in the area that includes a rough patch to any holes made to drywall. As one of Northern Virginia’s favorite electricians, you can count on Staples Electric to provide the best installation and repair services at an affordable price. For small projects, we can provide an estimate by phone or email. We provide free, no-obligation on-site estimates for larger projects. Service calls (repairs) are charged by time on site, one-hour minimum, no travel charges. Angie’s List Members receive a 10% discount for service calls (repairs), please ask for details when scheduling. Billing is COD and credit card. Staples Electric is a family-run business with 4-6 employees. . We are licensed and insured for your protection.  

    Offers by Staples Electric LLC on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Bathroom and kitchen remodeling, ceramic tile installation & repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Northern virginia tile company is a remodeling and installation company only, no retail showroom.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Northern Virginia Tile Co

    How is Northern Virginia Tile Co overall rated?

    Northern Virginia Tile Co is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Northern Virginia Tile Co provide

    Northern Virginia Tile Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Northern Virginia Tile Co offer free estimates?

    No, Northern Virginia Tile Co does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Northern Virginia Tile Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Northern Virginia Tile Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Northern Virginia Tile Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Northern Virginia Tile Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Northern Virginia Tile Co?

    Yes, Northern Virginia Tile Co offers warranties.

    What services does Northern Virginia Tile Co offer?

    Northern Virginia Tile Co offers the following services: Bathroom and kitchen remodeling, ceramic tile installation & repairs.

    Are there any services Northern Virginia Tile Co does not offer?

    Northern virginia tile company is a remodeling and installation company only, no retail showroom.