Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J & J DEVELOPMENT INC

Founded 1992 • With Angi since May 2010

5.0

(18) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

142 W Rhapsody Dr 8

San Antonio, TX 78216

Description

We at J & J Development, Inc. understand the importance of the investment in your new home. For over 35 years John Finch has been building homes unique to each individual by extending extraordinary customer service throughout the building process. Our specialty is custom home building. The limited number of homes we construct annually allow John the opportunity to be involved with our homeowners on a regular basis. Many of our trades have worked for us for over 20 years, this has allowed us to develop for great loyalty, communication and understanding of our expectations in the building process with our team. We engage our Clients through every stage of construction. Building a new home is a partnership. Our ultimate goal as your builder is to build each and every home like it was our own and to turn all our clients into future sales people for J & J Development, Inc.....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/24/2019


Kathi J.

Perfection. John Finch of J& J was on site, on budget and completed the bathroom on time! John even gave design tips that proved to be exactly what I wanted and didn’t know how to achieve! His subcontractors were also on time, and diligent with their skills as well as leaving our home immaculate! I can’t say enough about the satisfaction we have with the process and the completed work!

Description of Work
Complete remodel of our Master Bathroom

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

11/19/2019


Patricia M.

We couldn’t recommend J&J highly enough. We purchased a spec house that they built in 2016, and we love everything about it - the layout, the finishes, and the workmanship is all top notch. You can tell that J&J really cares about even the smallest details, and that they only sub contract with people who do quality work. We continue to receive great service whenever needed from both John (owner) and Dagmar (office manager), including help with repairs we needed after a recent hail storm. Best of all, they are really nice folks to deal with. We seriously lucked out by finding this home builder, and we recommend them to everyone we know in the area!

Description of Work
Built a house

Category home builders

5.0

10/26/2019


Diane S.

Very well! The work was of high quality and done in a timely fashion. I was so happy with the work that I hired J&J Development to do a major kitchen remodel, which is beginning shortly. John Finch is a very conscientious contractor, always letting me know what's happening each step of the way. He also expects the highest quality work from his subcontractors and will bring them back until they get the job done right.

Description of Work
I had a bathroom remodeled

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

02/21/2019


Suzanne W.

I've got a medical condition where I needed to renovate our attached garage into a "safe living space" free from some severe allergens (i.e. a "bubble" room). This included removing garage doors, adding insulation, building a barrier in the attic to isolate the garage, adding a bathroom, minisplit AC and a filtered fresh air intake system. To do it right, I needed a contractor that I trusted would listen to my weird needs for the room, materials, restrictions, etc, and see they were done right. John Finch was great. He listened, and was careful, considerate of my needs, and very attentive to the job. We've had previous work on the house from other contractors, and John is by far the best I've ever dealt with. For a main contractor, it's not about one guy being able to do all the work, it's about one guy knowing good work crews who specialize in all the different areas -- and being able to communicate the instructions clearly. John has a great cast of characters, and they were well-briefed on my needs when they showed up. I would absolutely recommend him.

Description of Work
Remodel garage into specialized living space

Category remodeling

5.0

12/06/2018


Javier T.

John Finch of J&J Development built our home in Hill Country Village. It was an extensive project with the tear down of half of an existing home and the remodel of what was left and then we added a whole new home to the existing home. John did a wonderful job. He was present on the job site everyday and if we called with a question or a request he always responded quickly. He did a good job of trouble shooting and collaborating with us as the owners and also with subcontractors when changes needed to be made during construction. Since our home was completed John has been very responsive anytime we have had questions or needed help with something. We would definitely recommend J&J for your construction needs.

Description of Work
John built our home

Category remodeling, home builders

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] and Robin Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure working with you both on this beautiful project. This is certainly one of the highlights of the J & J Development, Inc. portfolio. I know you will have many years of enjoyment with your existing and extended family. Many thanks again John

5.0

11/05/2018


Carrie A.

We couldn't be happier with our master bath remodel! We planned for years to remodel our very old, outdated, and cramped master bath, but we were not sure how to reconfigure it. Our home was built in the mid 1960's when spacious bathrooms were not the norm. J&J was able to work with us to maximize every square inch of space to create the bathroom we'd hoped for. They listened to all of our recommendations and ideas, and provided expert advice. Our new bathroom is so much lighter and brighter! It feels so clean and spa-like. J&J helped us create a timeless and lovely bath. We would definitely hire them for any future remodel projects!

Description of Work
Master bath remodel

Category home builders, home remodeling

5.0

11/05/2018


Carrie A.

We couldn't be happier with our remodel! For years we planned to remodel our very old, outdated, cramped master bath, but weren't sure how to reconfigure it. Our home was built in the mid 1960's when large, spacious bathrooms were not the norm. Instead, we had an awkward layout and a small space to work within. However, J&J was able to make our vision a reality! Our new bath optimizes every inch of space and is so light and open. It feels very clean, comfortable and spa-like. J&J listened to all of our recommendations and ideas for our bath, and offered expert advice. We worked very well together to create a bath that we love. We would certainly hire J&J for any future remodel projects!

Description of Work
Remodel master bath

Category home builders, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear Mrs. [Member Name Removed] We couldn't appreciate more your kind review from you, it means a lot to us when our customers love their new home and or their remodel project end result. We do strive to treat every client with the utmost respect and care. Thank you for including the pictures which really help to exemplify our work.

5.0

03/20/2018


Petra R.

I have been a Realtor for over 20 years and helped countless clients build their new home with many different builders and can honestly say that John Finch with J & J Development ranks at the very top. You can see the quality and craftsmanship in everything!!! No detail has been overlooked!!! Not only will John build you a home that you love, he will build you a masterpiece!!! What impresses me most about John is that he is hands on, he goes to all his build jobs DAILY and oversees every minute detail. Plus he absolutely stands behind his product and his pride in his work is second to none. The entire staff is very professional and easy to work with and the responsiveness is unquestionable!!!

Description of Work
I am a Realtor who has witnessed John Finch of J&J Development build several homes.

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

09/29/2017


Theodore M.

John Finch is a down to earth and very skilled custom home builder. He runs a smaller operation, which allows him to personally manage every project his company undertakes. We were very fortunate to have been referred to him by word of mouth. John was honest and open regarding the requirements for the building process from the very beginning. Although he has built mansions in the Dominion, complicated remodels and custom homes valued in the millions in the most prestigous developments in San Antonio not once did we ever feel like we weren't worth his time and effort. The team at J&J Development truly do care about crafting an amazing home that their clients can enjoy forever. Before ever asking for a dime from us, John took countless hours walking plots of land with us to ensure we found the perfect location to build our home. He also referred us to an extremely skilled designer who was more affordable than any other architect or home designer we had come across. Many of his subcontractors, we found out through casual conversation, have been working with John for over 30 years...which is unheard of in the construction business. The electrician, trim carpenter, foundation contractor and tile specialist all met with us personally multiple times throughout the building process as well to ensure all of our desires were met in the creation of our home. All of them were very personable and took pride in their work, which we gladly now call our home. We would recommend J&J Development to anyone looking for their dream home. The entire experience was fulfilling and we are extremely grateful to John and Dagmar for building the home we want to grow old in.

Description of Work
Custom home

Category home builders

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed] It's been a pleasure working with Shayne and yourself during the planning and construction process of your home. We do understand the stress of home building especially when building your first custom home. We do appreciate your rating on Angies list. A happy customer is always our greatest success story. This is our ultimate goal. Thank you for putting your trust in building your dream home, in J & J Development, Inc. Best Regards, John Finch

5.0

06/15/2017


Frank W.

Without hesitation we highly endorse J&J Development, John Finch, for any remodeling/building projects. Finding a builder that possesses quality building skills and competent tradesmen along with honesty and accountability was once impossible; we have found all these skills with John Finch. Without fail, we finished all projects on-time, on-budget with full satisfaction; quality never waivers. Not only have we personally contracted with Mr. Finch, we have also followed many of his projects and found consistent performance and quality! Hit a home run, and get the job done well the first time with J&J Development. Dr. Frank & Mrs. Dominique Wallace

Description of Work
We had multiple projects with J&J Development, John Finch. Projects ranged from exterior and interior painting, tile repair work, and included a new build for approximately 4121 square feet.

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dr. and Mrs. [Member Name Removed] Thank you for putting your trust in J & J Development, Inc.. It was a pleasure working with you on your new home project and assisting you with your remodel properties. We look forward to the opportunity of working with you on future projects . Best Regards, John Finch

5.0

10/20/2016


Fred R.

We had John Finch, owner of J. and J. Development, supervise our master bathroom remodel. We gutted the room and updated everything. A garden tub was taken out and a full shower with built-in cubbies was installed. Porcelain tile was used in the shower and on the floors. Custom shaker style cabinets replaced those that had come with the house and a new linen closet with a tall cabinet and 3 large drawers replaced a smaller inefficient one. A long marble countertop with single lavatory was installed; a large mirror with a new wood frame was mounted over the countertop. Two medicine cabinets with adjustable shelves replaced previous ones. The toilet was replaced with an upgraded American Standard designer model . The remodel included new brushed nickel knobs and pulls on the cabinets, soft close hinges on all cabinets and drawers, standard and handheld shower heads, 2 grab bars, and new sink and faucet set. A ceiling fan and wall control was installed. Walls were painted and new baseboards were added. In the upstairs Jack-and-Jill guest bath, new Porcelain tile replaced carpet and sheet vinyl and a new water efficient Kohler toilet was installed. New baseboards were put in and painted. The carpet at bath and bedroom juncture was neatly finished off.

Description of Work
We had John Finch, owner of J. and J. Development, supervise our master bathroom remodel. We gutted the room and updated everything. A garden tub was taken out and a full shower with built-in cubbies was installed. Porcelain tile was used in the shower and on the floors. Custom shaker style cabinets replaced those that had come with the house and a new linen closet with a tall cabinet and 3 large drawers replaced a smaller inefficient one. A long marble countertop with single lavatory was installed; a large mirror with a new wood frame was mounted over the countertop. Two medicine cabinets with adjustable shelves replaced previous ones. The toilet was replaced with an upgraded American Standard designer model . The remodel included new brushed nickel knobs and pulls on the cabinets, soft close hinges on all cabinets and drawers, standard and handheld shower heads, 2 grab bars, and new sink and faucet set. A ceiling fan and wall control was installed. Walls were painted and new baseboards were added. In the upstairs Jack-and-Jill guest bath, new Porcelain tile replaced carpet and sheet vinyl and a new water efficient Kohler toilet was installed. New baseboards were put in and painted. The carpet at bath and bedroom juncture was neatly finished off.

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

09/13/2016


Daniel S.

Very well.

Description of Work
Repair exterior column and stucco plus interior of front entry.

Category remodeling, home builders

5.0

03/04/2016


CHARLES D.

The Jim Cox home design took about 2 months to complete and the construction took about 11 months from start to finish. Our home is a single story, under metal roof, with 2750 sq ft of living space; 3 br 3 bath, separate study, dining room, breakfast nook, rock fireplace, with a 3 car garage across 2 quarter acre lots. We selected a very open living area design that centers around our spectacular city view. The design included a very large covered patio as well as an adjacent open deck. We had 3 up-front criteria for this difficult location: 1. capitalize on the view, 2. provide sufficient garage space for my hobbies, and 3. grade the driveway so that our Corvette would not drag. J&J easily met all three. The price of the design was included in our bottom line. Moreover this home includes high energy efficiency foam insulation, insulated garage area, energy efficient windows and doors as well as hi efficiency A/C units. John Finch participated in every step of the process. He was there during design and on the job site every day of the build. He even went to the community review board meeting with us to ensure he had first hand knowledge of the covenants and restrictions. His winning personality and thorough knowledge gave us confidence that we would have a superior home at the end. For example the cliff side location was difficult to build a one story home on, so much so that the foundation is 17 feet tall on one back corner. He kept us informed all the time. He was very responsive to our questions and concerns. emails were answered the same day, calls returned in minutes. Changes were handled through the change-order process...pricing was clear. We knew exactly what was going to happen and what the end result was going to be. One really nice thing is that John is proud of his houses and we never felt like there were short-cuts taken. He remembers virtually every home built over the last 30 years. You cant beat that kind of experience. The bottom line is that we now have a superior quality dream home with a killer view that will last for the ages. If you are considering building a custom home, the integrity, professionalism and work ethic of J&J can't be beat.

Description of Work
Designed and Built a custom 2750 sq ft home on a cliff-side location. The owner of J&J Development, John Finch, is a long time custom home builder in SA. His business model is to build 5-10 homes a year and to provide the best home building experience possible to his clients. This is what attracted us to J&J in the first place. After meeting him, we learned that he employs the same Trades-people year after year. For example, his tile guy and finish carpenter have been doing homes for J&J for over 25 years. Other key trades have been with J&J for many years as well...this was key to our contracting with J&J.

Category home builders

5.0

07/23/2015


Robert M.

Description of Work
John is a great guy and very professional. His costs were too high for us so we went with another builder.

Category remodeling, home builders

5.0

04/30/2014


Richard H.

We were very pleased with the entire building process from initial design through close. Throughout the entire process John Finch was attentive to detail and responsive to any questions or comments we had. We felt that John was upfront and honest in his dealings with us. Regarding the actual construction, we believe J & J Development used high quality subcontractors, resulting in a house that we could be proud of. Our situation was that we had not yet moved to the San Antonio area and had to monitor the entire process from another city. Although that undoubtedly made the situation less convenient for John, he accommodated our schedule and kept us in the loop so there would be no surprises when we visited the construction site. We've all heard horror stories about construction projects, but we can honestly say that our experience with J & J Development could not have gone more smoothly. We recommend J & J Development highly and would not hesitate to use them again in the future.

Description of Work
J&J Development was the general contractor for the building of our custom home.

Category home builders

5.0

04/23/2014


Michael D.

Description of Work
J&J remodeled my home. They were the original builders of our custom home. We love the house but we wanted to make a few updates. J&J was very professional and the work was completed on time, at the price they quoted. I highly recommend J&J if your considering building a new home or want to remodel.

Category remodeling, home builders

5.0

02/24/2012


Judi T.

Mr. Finch's crew arrived on time and was very professional. They repaired and retextured some drywall areas on our walls and ceiling, then repainted beautifully. They refinished the hardwood floor of an antique playhouse, and primed and painted the walls and ceiling. Mr. Finch checked on progress daily and communicated very well with us.

Description of Work
Drywall repair and painting; hardwood floor refinishing.

Category remodeling

5.0

05/25/2011


JERRY R.

GREAT JOB, ONE OF THE OWNERS WAS THERE EVERYDAY ANYONE WORKED ON THE PROJECT. ADAPTED PLANS QUICKLY WHEN CHANGES WERE REQUESTED. EVEN HELPED GET HOA APPROVAL FOR PROJECT. KEPT A VERY CLEAN AREA DURING AND AFTER COMPLETION. RESTORED LANDSCAPING AND SPRINLER, DRIP IRRIGATION AND FLOWER BEDS AT END OF PROJECT. USED HIGH QUALITY MATERIAL AND THE SUBS SHOWED PRIDE IN THIER WORK. NOT CHEAP BUT WORTH EVERY PENNY. I NEVER HAD TO CALL FOR INFO THEY KEPT US INFORMED DAILY.

Description of Work
REMODELED AN EXISTING COVERED 128 SQ FT PATIO INTO A 320 SQFT SUNROOM. INSTALLED AIR CONDITIONING/HEATING IN ADDED ROOM, TILED THE FLOORING AND 7 FT WIDE STAIRS TO NEW ROOM, PAINTED THE COMPLETE HOUSE AND ADDED LEAFLESS GUTTERS TO ADDITION. WIRED ROOM FOR CABLE TV AND INSTALLED FANS, RECESSED LIGHTS AND SIX ELECTICAL OUTLETS. FABRICATED AND INSTALLED WROUGHT IRON RAILINGS ON STAIRS.

Category remodeling, home builders

    Other local Pros in your area

    Legacy Bath & Kitchen

    Legacy Bath and Kitchen is a full-service, turnkey bathroom and kitchen remodeler. We believe that excellent communication is the key to an extraordinary remodel. With a vast array of products, styles, and colors from which to choose, and a dedicated team of design consultants and installers, we aim to make the remodeling process as simple and stress-free as possible. Call or email today for a free in-home design consultation.  

    Offers by Legacy Bath & Kitchen on Angi
    Heights Custom Renovations

    Heights Custom Renovations specializes in satisfying our clients when it comes to their Home Improvements. Everything from Kitchen & Baths to Additions, All Flooring, Drywall, Painting, Electrical, Plumbing, Custom Cabinetry, Granite/Quartz/Stone Countertops, Concrete Work, Fencing, Exterior Living, Iron Work Etc. We offer full 3D Designs and Plans when doing a Kitchen, Bathroom or add on Addition to assure you we can make your dreams become a reality.  

    Offers by Heights Custom Renovations on Angi
    Alamo Ranch Cabinets

    Alamo Ranch Hands is a veteran owned and operated company. We specialize in siding, flooring, kitchen and bathroom remodeling. However, we are a one stop shop for our customers. From fencing to painting, to complete interior and exterior home makeover. We have you covered. Quality and service come first.  

    General Remodeling
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    H-4193
    Trade License Locale
    Residential Building Contractor
    Trade License Authority
    City of San Antonio
    Trade License Expiration
    10/23/2022
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Custom build your home and/or remodel.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J & J DEVELOPMENT INC

    How is J & J DEVELOPMENT INC overall rated?

    J & J DEVELOPMENT INC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are J & J DEVELOPMENT INC open?

    J & J DEVELOPMENT INC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does J & J DEVELOPMENT INC provide

    J & J DEVELOPMENT INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does J & J DEVELOPMENT INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, J & J DEVELOPMENT INC offers free project estimates.

    Does J & J DEVELOPMENT INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, J & J DEVELOPMENT INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by J & J DEVELOPMENT INC?

    Yes, J & J DEVELOPMENT INC offers warranties.

    What services does J & J DEVELOPMENT INC offer?

    J & J DEVELOPMENT INC offers the following services: Custom build your home and/or remodel.