Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Northwood Veterinary Clinic

Founded 1972 • With Angi since December 2008

4.8

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13949 Peyton Dr

Dallas, TX 75240

Description

General Small Animal Medicine & Surgery....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/28/2016


Shaswati M.

Description of Work
.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review!
5.0

07/18/2016


Howard H.

We have been using NAH for almost 20 years and wouldn't go to anyone else. They have provided outstanding care for our 4 retrievers at a very fair price. It's usually not too difficult to get an appointment and if they are really busy on a Saturday, they can work us in if it's urgent.

Description of Work
Pet care and boarding services

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thanks very much. Love serving your family. - Northwood
5.0

08/05/2015


Sheena T.

Description of Work
The team at Northwood are awesome. The doctors are very caring and knowledgeable. The staff is very responsive. I highly recommend their services.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thanks much for visiting us back in August. - Northwood
5.0

07/13/2015


Lana B.

.

Description of Work
.

Category veterinarian,kennels

Service Provider Response

Thanks for letting us work for you!
4.0

03/25/2015


Harold W.

I just went for the first time and it was good. I thought I would use them again.

Description of Work
I used Northwood Veterinary Clinic for veterinary service. I have two cats and they did a checkup and gave one of them a shot.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thanks very much for giving us a try! We look forward to seeing you again. -Northwood Vet
2.0

09/06/2014


Robert B.

Northwoods has been a great disappointment after seeing good reviews on Angie's list. I gave them two visits but there will not be a third. Did you ever wonder what care the pets really get when you leave? What I have seen after two visits to this clinic convinces me there is very little caring going on just the ka ching of the register and a relatively uncaring, unhelpful staff. . Upon arriving home from the surgery we noticed that hair on the dogs rights shoulder was matted and seemed to be held down by gum or glue of some type. We brush the dog everyday so we know it was not there previously and we could not soften or brush it out. I called the vet the next day(Saturday) talked to a clerk who had no clue and then a technician who surmised that some surgical glue might have been on the gloves and accidentally wiped on the dog. Her solution was to cut it out (shave the area) or apply nail polish remover. Since the affected area was so near the face and very lick able the nail polish solution seemed impractical if not outright dangerous. The point is she seemed to think this was normal, acceptable and could care less. Never offered to have us bring the dog in for a look or have a doctor call us. In fact no post surgical follow up call from the doctor ever occurred which in my years as a pet owner is unheard of. On my first visit I liked the vet but had my doubts about the staff, after the second visit and the lack of care and cleanliness exhibited I would never return. However common, this was still surgery on a puppy and one expects a standard of care where they aren't willy nilly gluing parts together. Most importantly the words apology or sorry don't seem to exist in this practice.

Description of Work
visit 1 shots and provided flea and heartworm treatment visit 2 neutered, remove baby teeth

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

We regret you do not feel you received the service you expected on your recent visit. Perhaps we missed an opportunity to address some of your concerns during my call the afternoon of surgery once your pup had a chance to get home and settle in. I'll be happy to go over anything you wish and any further concerns. Your experience has been discussed at 2 team meetings to see how we can best serve our clients. - Dr. Chase
5.0

06/03/2014


Travis H.

Provider was very efficient in seeing my dog and the entire staff was very professional and did a great job. I will use them again.

Description of Work
Annual checkup for dog.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for seeing us. We look forward to your next visit!
5.0

02/12/2014


Carrie P.

The vet spent extra time with me discussing Baxter and his condition when we got him. The vet also showed me exactly how to apply the medicine and what to expect. This is our 3rd or 4th visit between our 2 dogs. I trust the staff and know they care about my dogs.

Description of Work
My rescue dog had an ear infection.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your comments and the chance to help! Passing along your support for the staff.
5.0

03/11/2013


Marti A.

It went very well. My dog loved Dr. Chase so much that she would often lean forward and kiss him on his nose after he gave her her monthly shot. She knew that he was making her feel better. Seven years earlier when she had suddenly lost weight and become listless, Dr Chase was able to diagnose her in a very short time with Addison's (a relatively uncommon disease in dogs). After recommending that I take her to the Animal Diagnostic Clinic for a second opinion where the diagnosis was confirmed, we were able to get her started quickly on Percortin. If she had not been diagnosed so quickly, the outcome could have been much different. She went on to live to the age of 12 3/4 when I had to have her put down due to bone cancer. Even at that sad time, I felt better because she was at a place that she loved, with people who loved her just as much as I did . . . and whom she loved, too. I've taken my dogs to Northwood Veterinary Clinic since we moved to Dallas, almost 26 years ago and have always been very pleased with the care that they were given. All of the doctors and staff there are so wonderful and caring . . . and my dogs loved going there. They looked at it as a way of visiting their friends! I'm looking forward to getting another dog and taking her or him there, as well.

Description of Work
This visit was for a monthly Percortin shot that my dog received for Addison's Disease. (Actually, this was not her last visit, but the last one was when she had to be euthanized due to bone cancer. I didn't feel it was appropriate to discuss that visit in this recommendation, even though everything went smoothly at that time with everyone being very caring and sweet . . . to both my dog and me.)

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your nice words. Your girl was very sweet.
5.0

03/11/2013


Joe & Bob N.

Northwood Veterinary Hospital were great. We had a foster dog for a few months and we took her there for a skin rash. They were nice and I would use them once we get our permanent dog. The staff is nice. The price is good. There was not a big problem getting in and we didn't have to wait a long time to see them.

Description of Work
We took our dog to Northwood Veterinary Hospital.

Category veterinarian

4.0

11/27/2012


Jianfeng Y.

My dog, Lola, with the symptom of diarrhea and sometimes vomiting, was sent to them on 11/16. Medicine was provided and it was quick and effective. Lola stopped vomiting and diarrhea as soon as the second day.

Description of Work
The doctor examined my dog and provided thoughts and suggestions in detail.

Category veterinarian

5.0

11/04/2012


Sandra D.

I needed to find a new vet after 15 years and tried Northwood Vet. I called to make an appointment and was very surprised I could come in the next day which was a Saturday. The staff was very pleasant, asked me to fill out some forms, and took me back in an examination room within a few minutes. Dr. Bounds discussed the cat's symptoms and took blood. He explained some symptoms of elder cats. I was concerned because my cat is deaf and yowled, sometimes for an hour at a time. He said he'd get the blood work back Monday and wouldn't be in the office Monday, but someone would contact me with the results. I used an Angie's List coupon that gave me a discount on the initial exam. When the bill totaled only $81.00 I was surprised. I will definitely return to Northwood with my other 3 cats.

Description of Work
My previous vet had left the practice and I needed to find a new vet. I have a 16 year old cat that is hyperthyroid and needed his blood tested. My cat was examined, blood taken and told results would be in Monday.

Category veterinarian

5.0

08/13/2012


Kristin C.

The experience was great! I felt like Dr. Chase cared for our dog and what was truly best for us and him. He wanted to cover all of the bases concerning our dog's health, eating habits and weight loss. Our last vet just dismissed my concerns (not to mention their rude vet techs and over priced services). What a refreshing change! The prices were very reasonable. We will be seeing Dr. Chase from now on - I highly recommend!

Description of Work
Our dog had a physical and blood work performed.

Category veterinarian

5.0

07/09/2012


Laine S.

They are the best. Dr. Chase and Dr. Bounds are the best. I've been a client of theirs since 1988. They are like a good plumber or electrician so I don't let them go. They take just as good care of the people as they do the pets. They always call if there is anything wrong. They say they will call at an exact time. I don't have to track them down; they track me down. They are very reasonable in all their prices. They don't nickel and dime me. They provide exactly what I need. They don't upsell. They are very conservative in what they do.

Description of Work
I use Northwood Veterinary Hospital for my veterinarian for my two dogs. I was last there for shots and a pedicure.

Category veterinarian

5.0

03/29/2012


Angela K.

It's very satisfying that he absolutely loves animals. It's always been a very easy and pleasant experience there. I am very confident in the doctor.

Description of Work
I had some vaccinations done on my dog.

Category veterinarian

5.0

02/27/2012


Kathy M.

He really cares about the pets. He takes an interest in them.

Description of Work
I took my pet in to receive a shot.

Category veterinarian

5.0

01/12/2012


William W.

I was quite pleased with the overall experience. We had a specific appointment time. We were seen promptly as soon as we filled out some paperwork. The support staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The vet was personable and treated our dog considerately. Our dog took the examination quite well. The vet gave our dog her immunizations with no fuss or muss. We got definite advice about the weight that our dog should carry and diet to achieve that weight (something our old vet didn't provide). The medicine that we purchased was reasonably priced. In fairness, our dog is very even tempered and friendly. I don't know how things would have gone with a stranger-unfriendly dog like our previous one (a doberman).

Description of Work
We had decided that our Vet (a new vet who took over another's practice) was too expensive, so we decided to try this vet who had been recommended to us by friends. We had the dog examined (including evaluating her weight) and provide immunizations that she needed and purchased the Revolution medicine.

Category veterinarian

5.0

12/08/2011


Russell D.

I called for an appointment, arrived at the appointed time and found the waiting area to be very clean, the staff professional and the wait time well withing acceptable limits. I don't think we waited 5 minutes. The vet gave an exam, took blood and processed the stool sample provided. Then she gave a physical exam, gave me an age estimate, answered my questions and gave the pup her shots. I never felt rushed and the pup was happy throughout the exam.

Description of Work
We found an older puppy with absolutely no ID or history. We picked a Vet from Angies list and made an appointment. The Vet gave the pup an exam, necessary shots and assured us that our new find was in excellent heath.

Category veterinarian

5.0

02/28/2011


Brady C.

What we love the most about this clinic is that the doctors really care about what is the best for each dog. Not only their price is reasonable (not that I mind to spend $$$ for our dogs), they never recommend or suggest the extra treatment/services unless your dog really needs it, and always tell you the truth. We started bringing our two Chihuahuas to this clinic since our dog trainer recommended them to us. Every time we visit the clinic, the doctors and all stuffs are very caring, kind, and certain about what they do. Both the dogs had spay surgeries by Dr. Chase and everything went well. We were actually amazed to see our dogs started acting normal and eating on the same day they got the surgery. We had to bring one of our dogs to the emergency hospital for the terrible allergy reaction on some Sunday (this clinic is closed on Sundays), and fortunately, it turned out to be nothing serious. But Dr. Chase gave us a call the next morning right after he heard from the emergency hospital about our visit, just to see how the dog was doing and shared some stories about the dogs that had suffered from similar symptoms with us. Knowing Dr. Chase is always very busy, this phone call was extremely appreciated and made us feel our dogs are really cared and respected. We have also experienced with other doctors at this clinic, Dr. Bounds and Dr. Hollars, and we have been extremely happy and grateful for them as well. I highly recommend this clinic to every pet owner and we will definitely keep using this clinic even though it is not very close from our house.

Description of Work
Annual check-up, vaccinations, emergency treatments.

Category veterinarian

5.0

05/28/2009


ELAINE HOOD C.

They have been a very good vet clinic always so helpful. They really care about the animals and we have found the treatments to be successful. About ten years ago, we took our spaniel in because she was not eating and sick. When the vet got her into surgery, he discovered a large tumor. He was not interested in making money only the welfare of our pet suggesting to let her pass away rather than let her suffer.

Description of Work
We take both our spaniels to this animal clinic for routine care and we also buy all of the dog food from here.

Category veterinarian

5.0

12/04/2008


Deborah S.

They also do boarding and they are very accommodating. They are very compassionate with your pet. I've had to put my cat down there and they are all around great. You get personal attention.

Description of Work
There are three veterinarians there but I've only used 2 of them and I really like them.

Category veterinarian

5.0

11/13/2008


Michael H.

I moved into a new home that had fleas. I bombed for them but it takes some time for that to work. My dog is very allergic to fleas and they were making her miserable. I called and got in immediately. I was very satisfied with the outcome.

Description of Work
I have been going here for years. Even though they aren't the closest to me I can't imagine taking my dog to anyone else. This instance I needed to go get my dog checked for fleas/allergies. They got in quickly (same day I called) and were wonderful. They always treat me with respect. My dog actually likes it there and isn't scared when we go.

Category veterinarian

5.0

06/29/2007


PENNY Y.

My dog wags his tail when we get in there and that is important to me. They make it a very pleasant event They even give dog treats to my dog. I never have to wait to get in and everyone who works there is nice. The vets are always good with my dog and I believe their prices are very reasonable.

Description of Work
I took my dog to Northwood for his wellness checkup. He had a dismemberment shot, rabies shot, and a fecal test.

Category veterinarian

5.0

06/18/2007


DORIS S.

I feel very safe leaving the dog here and it is so convenient to have his check up done at the same time. They do great with the boarding and the dog is comfortable. There is always someone around and they get run time and play. They are two vets there, Dr. Bounds and Dr. Chase, both of whom are caring and professional. I recommend all their services. The price listed is for the boarding and the medical services.

Description of Work
I took my dog, Fletcher, to be boarded for three days. While he was there, they did his annual check up and rabies, distemper and parvo shots.

Category veterinarian,kennels

    Veterinarians
    Animal Boarding Kennels
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Animal Hospital including General Medicine, Surgery, Annual Exams, Vaccinations, Microchip Placement, Boarding, Dental Cleaning, Blood Testing, Radiography, Videoscopic Ear Exams, Flea & Prescription Pet Foods.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Northwood Veterinary Clinic

    How is Northwood Veterinary Clinic overall rated?

    Northwood Veterinary Clinic is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Northwood Veterinary Clinic open?

    Northwood Veterinary Clinic is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Northwood Veterinary Clinic provide

    Northwood Veterinary Clinic accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Northwood Veterinary Clinic offer free estimates?

    Ask Northwood Veterinary Clinic for details on free project estimates.

    Does Northwood Veterinary Clinic offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Northwood Veterinary Clinic does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Northwood Veterinary Clinic offer a senior discount?

    No, Northwood Veterinary Clinic does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Northwood Veterinary Clinic?

    No, Northwood Veterinary Clinic does not offer warranties.

    What services does Northwood Veterinary Clinic offer?

    Northwood Veterinary Clinic offers the following services: Animal Hospital including General Medicine, Surgery, Annual Exams, Vaccinations, Microchip Placement, Boarding, Dental Cleaning, Blood Testing, Radiography, Videoscopic Ear Exams, Flea & Prescription Pet Foods.