Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Keystone Floor Works

Founded 1986 • With Angi since July 2006

4.7

(57) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1022 Pine St.

Philadelphia, PA 19107

Description

Experts in all areas of wood, cork, and bamboo flooring offering written guarantees and references. We are fully licensed, insured, and owner operated. Celebrating our 28th year, we are known for our excellent customer service, reputation for excellent work, and perfect reliability. We also have a second showroom location at 7727 Germantown ave. Philadelphia 19118...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/05/2019


Linda B.

It went very well. Dan and Lee were on time. They installed the floor well.

Description of Work
I needed a floor replaced.

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], thank you for the kind review and comments, we are glad you like your new floor. It was a pleasure to work with you and we wish you many years of durability and happiness with your floor. Thanks. Dan
4.0

09/03/2018


Pamela S.

Good. Professional. Certain areas shrunk and have not been corrected. I was told to wait.

Description of Work
Entire home floors replaced due to black mold

Category hardwood floor

5.0

07/05/2018


Phil F.

They did great. Dan and his crew arrived on time, moved furniture, sanded and buffed all the floors in our apartment (two bedrooms/baths, LR, kitchen and DR. There were no problems, work finished quickly and efficiently. Price was right, too. Very nice work from obvious professionals. Would absolutely use again and recommend to others.

Description of Work
Sand and polish wood floors

Category floor cleaning

Service Provider Response

Hello Mr. [Member Name Removed], thanks for the very kind review. It was our pleasure to work for you and we wish you many years of enjoyment with your floors and new condo. Should you ever need help again we will be right there to provide the best solution without the mess and fuss. Thanks again, Dan
3.0

10/10/2017


Ben S.

Keystone Floor Works is a professional company that stands by their work, but you need to make sure they do the work correctly. I had to have them come out to the house to re-do the stairs sanding and brush up on the living room. I liked that they stand by their work, but I had a headache of a time getting them to perform the job correctly. They gouged the my wood steps when sanding incorrectly and had to threaten mediation and non-payment to get them to see the light and perform the work correctly. I would hire them to do a flat wooden floor, but anything above that, I would go with another firm.

Description of Work
I had my stairs and living room sanded, stained and coated

Category hardwood floor

5.0

10/01/2017


Dean K.

We bought a very old house and wanted the floors refinished before we moved in, along with a lot of other work. Dan is always right on time and it very informative (entertaining too). For the floors he helped us understand options. For example, while the 2nd and 3rd floor had a total refinish, the first floor only required buffing out and a few coats of poly. It all turned out very well. There were a few spots in one room where the finish didn't dry quite right and Dan came out and fixed those. If I can offer one area of constructive criticism it might be this. It was hard for us to visualize what the finished project would look like. The stairs came up a bit lighter than we liked. If we could have known this, we probably would have paid extra for coloring. However, this is very minor. Point is they do this all the time, the rest of us once/twice a lifetime. For the smaller projects of the vinyl floor and stair runners, that all went well too. Felicia, who works in the store, is fantastic and was very patient as we went back and forth on flooring and carpet. Same with Dan when we visited the center city store. We made a pretty significant 5 figure investment with Keystone and are very happy with the results. When we do our kitchen, that will include a significant new floor job, and we will not hesitate to call on them again. I included some pics of the beautiful oak and pine floors. Sadly no "before" pics, but trust me the difference was amazing.

Description of Work
Refinish floors in entire house. Later installed a small floor and stair runners

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review and constructive suggestions. It was a pleasure working with you on the wood floor, vinyl floor, and carpet projects. We wish you the best in your new big old house, and look forward to helping you again in the future. Thanks! Dan
5.0

09/24/2017


Evan W.

Super friendly, punctual, and accommodating. Carpet was repaired quickly and expertly.

Description of Work
Had a bubble and gap in carpet where a new doorway threshold was installed by another contractor

Category carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Thanks for having us in your home to repair your carpet, and thanks for reviewing our work on Angie's List. I trust that you will have no further problems with your carpet. Thanks again. Dan
5.0

09/14/2017


jeff O.

Dan arrived with his men VERY early in the morning on the day we scheduled From the time they arrived, they all worked hard. He finished the job when he said he would that day. There were no surprises at any time, the job turned out great, and both Dan and Felicia made me feel like I was someone special. I would highly recommend Keystone to anyone needing floor work!

Description of Work
Hired Dan and his crew to put two coats of polyurethane over an almost 10-year-old bamboo floor I "inherited" in my bathroom, living room, dining room, and kitchen. From my first call to Felicia, his office assistant, I was wowed by the friendliness, responsiveness, and professionalism of this business. The first time I met Dan, he arrived at my house, answered all of my questions, gave me some good advice on keeping the floors free of scratches and clean in the future, and provided me with an estimate on the spot! His 30+ years experience plus his answers to my questions gave me confidence that he could do the good and do it well. We scheduled a date late in August to meet my schedule.

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to be of service to you,and for your very kind review. It was our pleasure to work for you and provide the quality and service you expect and deserve. Best wishes as you enjoy your floors and home. Sincerely, Dan
5.0

09/01/2017


Barbara K.

Highly professional, very thorough, conscientious, friendly to work with and a very good price. I will highly recommend them and absolutely use them, again.

Description of Work
Floor Refinishing

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review and the opportunity to restore your floors. It was our pleasure yo work for you and we wish you many years of enjoyment with your new floors! Thanks. Dan
5.0

03/16/2017


Bob W.

Good people, fair price, not the lowest, not the highest but the work was well done. Installers were professional and worked diligently and rapidly. The carpet is a very high quality for a good price. Installers were right on time and careful about their work. Would definitely hire again or recommend to others. If there was one fault, it was that communication was slow.

Description of Work
2nd floor of home recarpeted

Category carpet installation,hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you. We know you will enjoy your new carpeting for years to come. Thanks for your confidence and good rating! Dan
5.0

03/06/2017


Peter H.

Perfectly. Everything was perfect down to every detail. It wasn't a huge job but I was shocked how fast yet how well done they did all the work. They arrived around 9am and were done and out by 1130am. The carpet looks great and feels great.

Description of Work
Carpeted the living room and stairs.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thanks for choosing Keystone Floor Works for your new carpeting. It was our pleasure to install for you. Best wishes with your upcoming new baby! Thanks. Dan
5.0

03/01/2017


Denise G.

I hired him for my nephew. They were polite, it was a very difficult job, the work that Dan the owner, was able to accomplish, was amazing. Most other people would of had to replace boards, and he didn't., and the floors are gorgeous. I think everyone is overpriced, I think the price was fair. In a heartbeat, I would use them again.

Description of Work
They refinished his hardwood floors.

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thanks for connecting us with your nephew. His floors needed quite a bit of work, but we enjoyed the challenge. And your nephew was great to work with! I know he'll enjoy his new home. Thanks! Dan
5.0

12/23/2016


Elizabeth C.

Dan was incredibly responsive from the beginning. When we contacted him, we didn't yet own the new house (but we had a closing date and an approximate date we wanted to move in). Within 24 hours of that initial conversation, Dan personally went to the current owner to get a look/write up an estimate for us and made his work schedule work for us. He actually ended up being ready to do our work a day earlier than planned AND he finished a day ahead of schedule! Keystone Flooring was done a job that another company told us would take two weeks inside two DAYS (working with a five-person crew over two long days). Due to my husband's work schedule, Dan had to meet him at 6AM both days to be let into the new house. Dan actually beat my husband to the job site both days. We are thrilled by how the floors came out and we are over the moon impressed by Dan's (and his whole company's) customer service attitude. We have two additional rooms where we plan on redoing the flooring-- they're linoleum now-- in a few years and our first call will be to Keystone Floor Works! Note: My husband is a civil engineer and he is very particular about the quality of work and sticking to the promised timeline (due to his vast professional experience). He actually said, "I really love this company; I've been very impressed"!

Description of Work
We needed wide plank wood floors to be sanded and refinished in six rooms and two hallways in a new house (that we'd purchased and were about to move into). In our current house, we needed some small projects done, including reflooring an area by a closet. Note: The price below includes the work at both houses.

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

it was a pleasure to work with you as well. You have a beautiful new home and we wish you many years of luck and happiness there! Thanks. Dan
5.0

11/19/2016


Jenifer B.

Excellent communication and craftsmanship, fair pricing, knowledgeable

Description of Work
Matched and replaced water-damaged hardwood boards

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thanks for a great review. It was a pleasure to work with you as well. Best of luck in your new home, and enjoy your floors! Thanks! Dan
5.0

09/26/2016


Natalie L.

The work was done well, as scheduled, and at the quoted price. The service was courteous and professional, minimal dust clean up required, designated furniture was moved safely, pre and post work follow up was prompt. Price was fair relative to other quotes.

Description of Work
Hardwood floors sanded and refinished

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind review. Enjoy the stairs and floors and thank you for recommending us to your friends as well. They were fabulous to work with too! Thanks! Dan
5.0

06/06/2016


Stephen R.

I am an interior designer and am very picky when it comes to my home. We wanted to use interface FLOR carpet tiles and do a custom design. Keystone floor works did an excellent job on a tight schedule. The installer, Stephen, was great, working so hard and fast! The entire basement was done in just a few days, with wonderful transition pieces the Owner was able to find on short notice. We love the results!

Description of Work
Installed Interface FLOR tiles in our finished basement and nursery.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

05/06/2016


Pamela S.

Having moved from Philadelphia to South Florida, I was in need of new floors throughout my entire home, after having severe water and black mold damage. I immediately thought to call Dan at Keystone Floor Works to recommend several floor companies in my area. I couldn't find someone I liked or could trust. I was able to finally convince Dan and his crew to come to South Florida to elevate my situation and needs. I was pleasantly surprised, it cost less to fly Dan and the Keystone crew down to install my new floors than use someone, more expensive, right here in South Florida. Dan helped me choose better quality floors at a significantly lower price. Dan and his crew did a fabulous job installing REAL bamboo, maple and cork floors throughout my entire home. The moulding, trim and attention to detailing were done to perfection! The crew was efficient, clean and super to deal with. I love my new floors and recommend this crew very highly. Thanks Keystone Floor Works!

Description of Work
Removed remaining flooring, prepped concrete floors and installed hardwood and cork flooring throughout my entire home.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] I am glad you are enjoying your new floors and that we could come down there to help you. We had a great time installing and really appreciate your confidence in us and your very kind hospitality. Good luck to you and your family as you enjoy your new floors, refurbished home, and gorgeous weather! Thanks!! Dan
5.0

01/06/2016


Munish B.

went very well. He and his staff were easy to work with, returned calls promptly. He came out to the house and offered options for how to best treat the floors. He recognized they were in pretty good shape to begin with and recommended the cheaper option (buff and re-coat) over trying to sell the expensive option (re-finishing). Would easily work with them again, the pricing was fare and comparable to what I've seen on the web for a similar project of equal square footage.

Description of Work
buff and coat on wood floors throughout the house

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and great review! You were a pleasure to work with as well, and it will be our pleasure to help you with any flooring issue in the future. Good luck with your new home and enjoy your floors! Thanks! Dan
5.0

12/17/2015


Diana G.

Our contractor uses this supplier for materials and pricing was very good and ordering was simple and easy. Friendly representatives on the phone when calling to place order.

Description of Work
Supplied the materials for a project.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

12/15/2015


lester C.

done on time no surprises good service

Description of Work
but new strand bamboo floors in my condo

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

03/24/2015


Rebecca B.

Very prompt, courteous, professional, and efficient. Removed old carpeting and pad and hauled away. Installation of new carpeting went very smoothly.

Description of Work
Install wall-to-wall carpeting in family room.

Category carpet installation,hardwood floor

5.0

03/17/2015


Mara F.

The hardwood floors in our house were pretty beat up, and we needed to evaluate options to spruce them up before putting the house up for sale. Dan came out to do an estimate, and strongly recommended refinishing rather than just buffing. The cost difference wasn't as much as I'd feared, so we went with complete refinishing. On the first day of work, Dan and his crew worked for 12+ hours to get all the sanding and prep work completed. He waited for us to get home to do some stain samples so we could make a final decision on color. On the second day, the crew got all the staining done in time for us to move around the house freely once we got home from work and school. A few weeks later, we had them come back to do an additional section of the hall to better color-match the new sections. This was our first experience with this type of work, and there are two things I wish we'd known (and planned for) ahead of time: 1. We were surprised by how much sawdust got all over everything. Although they closed doors and used plastic sheeting to block off the rooms not being done, we still had a significant amount of cleaning to do afterwards (eg in the half-bath, where the door had been closed when the hall was sanded). The crew did a pretty good job of cleaning up their supplies, but there were several areas where we had to remove tape/tarps and wipe off spilled stain. 2. We didn't realize that the quarter-round trim between baseboards and floor was not going to be restained; there is a bit of a color difference between the old stain and new stain. Overall, we were pleased with how the floors turned out - they look brand-new! I've recommended Keystone to a few friends and would hire them again if we needed to.

Description of Work
Refinished hardwood floors in our kitchen, laundry room, hall, foyer, and stairs

Category hardwood floor,floor cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. It was our pleasure to work with you, and we wish you best of luck in your new home! Thanks, Dan
5.0

02/02/2015


Tamie E.

We are beyond pleased with the way things went from the beginning, to the finished product at the end!! Dan was so knowledgeable, honest, and professional! Even from the beginning we were so pleased, as he came out two times to bring us samples of carpet and gave us his honest opinion on what would work best, as we originally thought we might do hardwood in our master bedroom. Dan and his crew were very punctual and completed the entire project within a surprising 3 & 1/2 hr timeframe. Both carpets look great and the additional nails Dan and his crew put down in our sub floors have really helped with the creeks we previously had. They take great pride in their work and it shows!! We wanted to be sure we picked a company that not only sold a great product, but were reliable and did quality work with the install and Dan and his crew at Keystone Floor Works provided that! We are so happy with the way everything went and turned out and we will absolutely use them again!!

Description of Work
Installed new carpet in master bedroom and one spare bedroom and put more nails in master bedroom and hallway sub floors. Also moved furniture in both bedrooms.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for having us in your home to install new carpeting. We hope you are enjoying your new carpet, and we look forward to helping you in the future with your flooring solutions! Thank you!! Dan
5.0

01/06/2015


Geoffrey B.

We are extremely pleased with the owner, Dan Liez and his assistant who replaced twelve floor boards over an approximate 2' x 6' area in our living room. They we very badly stained from cat urine and could not be refinished. He was exactly on time when he came to give us an estimate of $660.00 to do the job. This is in contrast to another contractor who told us the whole floor would have to be re-sanded and refinished at a cost of thousands of dollars. He was actually early when he came to replace the flooring. was very neat, careful, friendly and professional. It took him and is assistant approximately three hours to complete the job. The new floor boards were so well stained that they match the old ones almost perfectly. Great job! My wife and I would highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Replaced stained wood floor boards over an approximate 2' x 6' area.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

06/23/2014


Jeffrey Y.

Dan was extremely responsive, knowledgable of the issue I was encountering, and professional from start to finish. I will absolutely use Dan again and recommended him to anyone for hard wood floors.

Description of Work
Corrected squeaking in floors throughout my house and filled in area where gaps were present in floors.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for having chosen Keystone Floor Works for your repairs. It was our pleasure to be able to help you and we look forward to working with you again. Thank you! Dan
4.0

06/23/2014


Barbara N.

the entry way and dining room floors came out looking good, to the color I wanted. the workmen were sloppy and left stain on the wall and baseboards which had to be painted over after they'd left. They were fast and did the floors in one day, which was what I needed

Description of Work
the entry way and dining room floors were sanded and re-stained.

Category hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Differential Cleaning

    Differential Cleaning was established over 10 years ago with a clear mission: to provide a professional house cleaning service in a friendly, honest & reliable manner which not only satisfies but delights our customers! We specialize in residential cleaning and have tailored our home cleaning services to meet the individual needs of our customers. Whatever type of property you live in; our dependable and experienced cleaners will give your home the special care and attention it deserves. Contact us now for a free estimate.  

    Offers by Differential Cleaning on Angi
    DGM Cleaning Services LLC

    Let we show you why we have the happiest costumers from Philaldelphia and suburbs area!  

    T&T Cleaning Services

    T&T cleaning desires to provide the upmost professional and top service for all our clients. Though other cleaners focus on just the job, we choose to focus on making the best cleaning experience. We have been in service for five years and our quality for detail increases each day. We are committed to making sure every cleaning, for any home or office, is treated as if it was our own personal space. Insight of the pandemic, we make sure to use proper equipment and supplies that will keep your facility disinfected and COVID-free. T&T cleaning will not only meet expectations but exceed them.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Installation, Repairs, Refinishing, Restoration & Sales Sanding, Buff, Wax, Wood Floors, Carpeting, & Floors.

    Services Not Offered

    Ceramic Tile, Vinyl, Stone Tile

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Keystone Floor Works

    How is Keystone Floor Works overall rated?

    Keystone Floor Works is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Keystone Floor Works open?

    Keystone Floor Works is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does Keystone Floor Works provide

    Keystone Floor Works accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Keystone Floor Works offer free estimates?

    Yes, Keystone Floor Works offers free project estimates.

    Does Keystone Floor Works offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Keystone Floor Works offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Keystone Floor Works offer a senior discount?

    No, Keystone Floor Works does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Keystone Floor Works offer emergency services?

    Yes, Keystone Floor Works offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Keystone Floor Works?

    Yes, Keystone Floor Works offers warranties.

    What services does Keystone Floor Works offer?

    Keystone Floor Works offers the following services: Installation, Repairs, Refinishing, Restoration & Sales Sanding, Buff, Wax, Wood Floors, Carpeting, & Floors.

    Are there any services Keystone Floor Works does not offer?

    Ceramic Tile, Vinyl, Stone Tile