Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing

Founded 1937 • With Angi since June 2010

4.6

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6457 Greene St

Philadelphia, PA 19119

Description

We are a local family owned business for over 70 years serving the Philadelphia county area. Alfred Jefferson is the number one contractor for the tri-state area. If you need complete construction services for your home or business, then I am your go-to-guy! Jefferson is owner & operator of Al

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Emmett M.
5.0
09/05/2017
All things went well.
Description of Work
Brick Pointing
Category
masonry
Samuel G.
1.0
04/19/2017
Showed up half hour late for appt. No call. No apology.
Description of Work
Brick pointing and masonary
Category
masonry
Mashea D M.
2.0
08/15/2016
Badly? I kept waiting for his call since he was in the neighborhood.
Description of Work
He made 2 appointments and never showed or called
Category
masonry
Edna P.
1.0
08/02/2016
Mr Jefferson never showed up.
Description of Work
Brick pointing
Category
masonry
Daveda B.
4.0
03/16/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Would have given an a except they were supposed to come back to patch up a spot they missed and never returned.
Category
masonry
Cheryl R.
5.0
11/05/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Pointed front of stone house and porch pillars, replaced Cement steps. Unlike other estimators, he wanted to do less for a lot less money. Assured it would not look like a "patch job". -- and it doesn't. Very pleased.
Category
masonry
Eugene T.
5.0
10/05/2015
unknown
Description of Work
the provider did a very good job,they wear good......
Category
masonry
Charmaine D.
1.0
07/09/2015
unknown
Description of Work
I called and made an appointment for them to come to my home to provide me with a quote on the work that I needed performed. I was told they would be out that evening. They have not come out or call to say that they would not be coming out.
Category
masonry
Cynthia W.
5.0
04/28/2015
Mr Jefferson and his staff was very professional. The job was started and finished in the amount of time he told me it would be. They also cleaned up after themselves. "Job well done!"
Description of Work
Broke up & removed wood frame covered with plywood from front wall and lattice wood from side wall in basement. Reset loose stone in foundation wall & roughcast areas where framing and lattice was removed. He also cemented cracks at base of stone foundation, where stone meets the ground in the backyard.
Category
masonry
Brenda R.
5.0
02/25/2015
unknown
Category
masonry
Inez H.
5.0
01/19/2015
He did an excellent job.
Description of Work
Did my brick work.
Category
masonry
Theresa B.
5.0
08/12/2014
The workers arrived on time. They were extremely professional and laid down a drop cloth on my patio after moving the furniture and plants out of the way. They cleaned up everything and swept after they left. They were very quiet while they worked and we hardly noticed they were there. Mr. Jefferson came by every morning to check on them. After they wre finished I noticed some spots that they missed on the stone portion of the wall. I pointed these out to Mr. Jefferson. He brought the crew back the very next morning. I was very pleased with the work and several people have commented on how nice the wall looks.
Description of Work
Pointed bricks and repaired settlement cracks in stone wall on the side and front on my home.
Category
masonry
Felicia R.
2.0
06/06/2014
unknown
Description of Work
We made an appointment with this vendor because he was so highly rated on Angie's List. However, he cancelled the appointment. He said that he would call to reschedule, but never did. We moved onto other companies that seemed more interested in the work.
Category
masonry
Elaine W.
4.0
04/22/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Pointing to the back of my house. Mr. Jefferson responded punctually, came out to provide an estimate and explained what he could and could not do. He was very polite. When the weather cleared, his worker completed a satisfactory job for a satisfactory price (a bit lower than another estimate I had received). I basically had a good experience with Mr. Jefferson and would probably use him again. | |E. Welles |Philadelphia, PA
Category
masonry
Cheryl T.
3.0
03/19/2014
I did not get a receipt, had to ask for one. I told him I wanted my front steps done but I had to speak to a neighbor. he had set up an appointment for 20 March without clarification from me, I told him I need to speak to my neighbor, we wanted to get another estimate. She felt his prices were too expensive and she did not like his work.
Description of Work
Filled area atop home with cement, filled a few areas on bottom of foundation. Maybe (4). Filled around garage door in back of home . Pointed a few spots in back of home.
Category
masonry
Tammy S.
5.0
08/29/2013
I called Mr. Jefferson on Tuesday for an estimate. The answering service took my name and number and I received a call back from Mr. Jefferson in a couple of hours. He came out to my property the same day and gave me a verbal estimate over the telephone. Since I had several estimates already and I had read reviews on Angie's list I was ready to make a decision right away. Mr. Jefferson's price was reasonable and he had good reviews so I decided that he was the right person for the job. (And I was right!!!) He was ready to start the work the next day however, I wanted to discuss this with my husband before I gave him a definite answer. Mr. Jefferson was fine with this and he told me to contact him when I was ready. So I confirmed everything with my husband and than I called Mr. Jefferson back later that day to schedule my appointment. I was scheduled for the following day as long as it did not rain. And of course it rained the next day however, Mr. Jefferson called to let me know that they wouldn't be there. So my Pointing job was completed on the next day. His workers showed up bright and early the following morning. I was very pleased with the work. The workers were very professional no lound talking or anything. I would definitely recommend Mr. Jefferson to my family and friends.
Description of Work
Brick Pointing
Category
masonry
Gregory A.
5.0
08/12/2013
Mr. Jefferson was very prompt and professional. The price was very fair. I plan to get the work done after I have some other,more pressing work, done first. But, I will surely use his service.
Description of Work
Nothing yet
Category
masonry
John D.
5.0
08/06/2013
Mr. Jefferson, was prompt, attentive to my requests, courteous and professional. His men were respectful and their work turned out beautifully. The price was fair based on other estimates. I won't hesitate to recommend Mr. Jefferson or to use his services again.
Description of Work
Stone pointing
Category
masonry
James & Sonya H.
5.0
07/26/2013
We are not using his services YET, only because he pointed out that the biggest problems we're worried about are to be handled by other types of contractors. We had to prioritize our repairs and his services will be necessary but other problems have to be settled first. But we WILL be hiring him to do the brick pointing, as soon as we can get to it.
Description of Work
Mr. Jefferson came out the same evening we called and gave a very fair and balanced assessment of our problems and what we needed to do to fix them. We were very impressed with his honesty and integrity. No taking advantage here.
Category
masonry
Sandra D.
5.0
11/14/2012
I contacted Mr. Jefferson the last week of October 25, 2012. He came out the same day to check what needed to be done and give me an estimate. Mr. Jefferson said they could do the job the following week and he would call to let me know when they were coming. He contacted me Sunday evening to let me know his crew would be there Monday afternoon. His crew showed up at 12:30pm. It took them about 3 1/2 hours to complete the job. This is a family business and I must confess I had used their services about 30 years ago and was pleased with their service. Mr. Jefferson's father was in charge then. I was quite happy when I saw them listed on Angie's List. I appreciate the fact that Mr. Jefferson was very honest. I didn't need the entire house pointed. He showed me where my problems were and told me what needed to be done. I would highly recommend this company and would not hesitate to use them again.
Description of Work
Service provided was Brick Pointing. Old cement was removed and replaced between bricks.
Category
masonry

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your awesome review!! It's amazing that you remember my father...it was many years ago! He taught me well. Customer satisfaction was always his priority and I carry that with me today! It truly makes me feel good to know that my customers are satisfied with our work!
Octavia R.
5.0
09/18/2012
I believe I called A. Jefferson Contractors on Monday, 8/6/12 for an evaluation and estimate. On Thursday, 8/16/12, I accepted his proposal. A work scheduled was agreed upon for the following Tuesday 8/21/12. The workers were as scheduled, were professional and completed the job on time. The quality of the job seems to "very" good.
Description of Work
Brick pointing in front of residence and stone pointing in rear of residence, also, concrete replacement of one front step, replacement of two front concrete blocks on sidewalk and replacement of two concrete blocks in rear of residence.
Category
masonry

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you were pleased with our services. I am not satisfied until my customers are satisfied! Again, your review is most appreciated!
KARLA C.
5.0
07/11/2012
Overall my experience with Mr. Jefferson was excellent.
Description of Work
I called for an estimate to have my home pointed. Mr. Jefferson came to my home that evening, looked around my property, explained what needed to be done and gave me an estimate. Although, I decided not to get the work done immediately due to financial strains, I did share with him that I would like to schedule for the work to be completed in the spring. Mr. Jefferson followed up with me 2 days after the estmate and we set a month in the spring for the work to be completed.
Category
masonry

Service Provider Response

My job is to ensure that all customers are happy. We will work around your schedule and perform the services needed at your convenience. I am truly glad that you were pleased with our services. Thank you for such a great review!
CYD C.
5.0
08/01/2011
The work is beautiful. Our postman noticed and complimented the work. The painting and pointing has so far withstood our snowy winter and rainy spring. The estimate of work time was accurate...it was a 3-day job. The workers arrived early in the day, worked all day, cleaned up after themselves. They even worked on Saturday..which surprised me. Jefferson came by twice during the job to review his workers progress. Very professional. We are VERY pleased and are sorry we took so long to write this review.
Description of Work
Jefferson "brick pointed" the front, back, and side of our home. They filled in settlement cracks on the exterior stone. They painted our eaves and the unfinished wood on our recently replaced garage header.
Category
masonry, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review Member! I am pleased that you were satisfied with our services. My father initially started the business back in 1937 and the three most important things that I learned from him was to be professional, respectful and ensure customer satisfaction. I strive to make all of my customers happy and this review lets me know that i'm doing my job correctly! Thanks again!
Charles A.
5.0
06/03/2011
Very happy with the work that was done, very neat and really fast completion. Guys were there when they said they would be, very respectful of my lawn and mature plantings as well as placing my mail in the front door for me since the mailman couldn't get to the front door with no steps. Very happy with the job, very reasonably priced, and once again very neat!
Description of Work
The winter was very cruel to my all cement front steps to the point they were deteriorating fast and became a safety hazzard and needed to be replaced. Called several cement contractors in my area and from the ones who called back to leave me a quote Jefferson's company had the best price for the job.
Category
masonry

Service Provider Response

I am so glad that your steps withstood the harsh winter season! It was my pleasure to be of service to your concrete needs. I take pride in making sure my customers are satisfied and with your positive review, I am glad that you were in fact - satisfied! It feels good to know that I am doing my job the way it should be done! Thanks again!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Artistic Masonry Co

    Trust your next masonry project to the professionals. Not only do we offer you an insured and licensed specialist to lay out your project, we also provide you with exclusive warranties on our products and services. Ask your masonry expert during your estimate about what warranties we can offer you. With over 24 years of experience in masonry, Artistic Masonry Company is the premiere authority on all stone and brickwork in Philadelphia and the surrounding areas. No travel charges. No service fees. Award winning. Additional DBA - Artistic Masonry Company.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Tom Natalini Sr & Son Inc

    As a family masonry company, with multiple trucks on the road, a talented team of masons and over 6,000 projects completed, Natalini and Son have established themselves as one of the most trusted masonry and brick companies in the Philadelphia, PA area. Owner operated with 38 years of knowledge and know how to get the job done right. We are a team of 5 employees and use no subs. We are not a cookie cutter company so cost is determined by the job. We do not have travel charges. Please contact directly through email.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Disciple Masonry

    Disciple Masonry specializes in masonry repairs and new masonry installations. Our customers are everything to us. We take the time to understand you and what you want, and make it our mission to help you get it. Not sure if we can help? Give us a call now to find out!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    PA HIC Registration # PA119697
    Trade License Locale
    State of Pennsylvania
    Trade License Authority
    Pennsylvania Attorney General
    Trade License Expiration
    10/01/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    General contracting - brick tuck pointing, sidewalks, steps, driveways, brick, stone, concrete, patios, chimneys, renovations & restorations, kitchen & bathroom remodeling, painting, basement & garage wall rough casting.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing

    How is Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing overall rated?

    Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing open?

    Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing provide

    Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing offers free project estimates.

    Does Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing?

    No, Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing does not offer warranties.

    What services does Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing offer?

    Al Jefferson Brick & Stone Pointing offers the following services: General contracting - brick tuck pointing, sidewalks, steps, driveways, brick, stone, concrete, patios, chimneys, renovations & restorations, kitchen & bathroom remodeling, painting, basement & garage wall rough casting.