Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Monroeville Pet Hospital

Founded 2001 • With Angi since December 2003

4.9

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

232 Center Rd

Monroeville, PA 15146

Description

We are the Verona Pet Clinic LLC dba Monroeville Pet Hospital. We are also know as the Monroeville Veterinary Hospital. We offer services for dogs, cats and small mamals. We offer award winning services and we are American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) Certified....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/28/2016


Wendy E.

I had brought my 15 year old Chihuahua in for checkup prior to are decision of letting him pass. They were very professional and caring for our needs as well as our pet. They walked us through the process and gave us all the time we needed with him as he sleep as well as being released. We chose to have him cremated. They went above and beyond. I can not say anything negative about their practice. We had never had to go through this process and we knew we had made the right decision. We were very pleased with the package we recieved with a wooden box, a name plate and a clay molded foot prints. Just a really great practice.

Description of Work
We release our beloved pet, to go to the rainbow in the sky to see again another day.

Category veterinarian

5.0

04/29/2015


jennie Y.

They were able to keep my Golden retriever alive for 10 yr with diabetes and German Shepard for 19 yrs., Silver Shepard for 18 yrs. My Flat Coat for 15 yrs. When our last pup was being euthanized they interrupted my husband and asked for payment before the end which insulted my husband. I just feel they need to be a little more considerate. They are very very very good at what they do otherwise. Excellent Veterinarians.

Description of Work
They have taken care of all 4 of my dogs.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

We apologize if someone had asked you for payment in the middle of your grieving. I assure you we don't do that. Perhaps there were some other circumstances surrounding the incident that neither of us are aware of. The death of a pet is not easy, we have had to suffer the loss of three of our beloved Chihuahuas and two cats. We are happy that you were able to have had as much joy from your pets as you did.
5.0

03/03/2015


Terri W.

Mommy and kittens are doing great. I highly recommend Dr. Oster.

Description of Work
She did an emergency C-Section on my female cat. She was able to save 3 of the kittens. Dr. Jana Oster.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

All of us at the Monroeville Pet Hospital trust and hope that all is well with your loved ones.
5.0

02/19/2015


Christine C.

Dr. Oster started caring for my two cats when they were only a few weeks old. Now 16 years later, I would never consider going anywhere else. She has seen them (and me) at their best and also their worst ? healthy checkups, teeth extractions, food allergies, arthritis, and now mega-colon. Her care for my cats at every stage of their lives has been exceptional. I appreciate Dr. Oster?s direct approach to medical diagnosis and her willingness to explore treatment options that meet situational needs. In a recent event Dr. Oster provided above and beyond care and support while my cat was at an emergency clinic as a surgery patient (a specialty surgery that Dr. Oster does not perform). She spoke directly with the surgeons to ensure they had the most accurate history, called me frequently to keep me informed, and most importantly provided me with detailed information and acted in an advisory role when decisions were required. She treated the care of my cat as if she were her own and called several times (even after business hours) to make sure the recovery process was going well. She provided me with sound medical advice and much needed emotional stability during this latest health crisis and continues to manage the aftercare. Dr. Oster is supported by a friendly and knowledgeable staff. From the receptionist to the technicians, it is my experience that every person associated with this veterinary practice is well trained and cares deeply about the animals they are entrusted with as well as their owners. The office common area and exam rooms are always clean. Appointment availability and responsiveness has never been an issue, and in cases of urgent need they always find a way to get my cats in the day I call. I can not comment on price - I would never consider going anywhere else!

Description of Work
For 16 years Dr. Oster has been my pet's veterinarian. She's done general healthy check ups, surgery and everything in for my 2 cats.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive response and your kind words. We wish you the best of heath to you and yours!
5.0

12/18/2014


Jennifer G.

Description of Work
My dog has allergies and we had been going to another vet. Despite their suggestions, my dog just got worse. I decided to get a second opinion from Dr. Oster, and I'm glad that I did. Her "bedside" manner is not the best - she's blunt - but it was clear from everything she did and said that she was knowledgeable and acting in the best interest of my dog. Every question I had, she answered, and we worked together to come up with a treatment plan for my dog. It's too early to know if this plan will work, but she already has other ideas that she shared for if this doesn't work. The prices for their services are very high. In my opinion this was the only negative. But if they actually know what they're doing, then I'm willing to deal with the price. The staff is very friendly and they gave my dog a toy to play with (well, she destroyed it actually because that's what she does) while we waited. We waited about 15 minutes past our appointment time, but once we were seen, Dr. Oster took her time with us and I never felt like she was rushing us out the door. I have a follow-up appointment in 2 weeks.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for understanding that although Dr. Oster appears blunt it has more to do with her precisely communicating what special needs your pet needs. As almost all of our clients know, Dr. Oster is from Czechoslovakia and still carries her accent. Sometimes it appears that Dr. Oster is blunt when in reality she is trying to annunciate her words accurately so that there is no misunderstanding. After all we are talking about the life of a loved one. Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review.
5.0

06/27/2014


Canise W.

I was very pleased. They are kind of pricey. They are kind of higher than the average person but they have good reviews in their care so I put that over the price. They are patient. I can tell that they have genuine love for animals and they have compassion. The staff is very, very friendly.

Description of Work
Monroeville Pet Hospital did a full exam on our dog. Everything is fine.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. We do apologize if our price is a bit higher then some other practices in the area. However, we pay our employees a higher wage then probably any other hospital in or out of the area, along with all of their health insurance, a matching simple IRA plan, paid gym, Sam's Club membership among other perks: we love and trust our employees, they are our family. In addition we have the most up to date equipment that you'll find anywhere. We do not have to wait on our lab results. Most and certainly the critical ones, are done in house in 5 to 10 minutes; and that's important to the health of your pet. Again thank you!
5.0

06/10/2014


frances H.

Recently my eight year old golden retriever needed to have a tooth extracted. I was concerned about my current vet doing the procedure. I was ready to change vets and this was the time. my first visit set my mind at ease. the staff was wonderful and very prompt. the first exam was very detailed and all my questions and concerns was answered. Dr Oster was wonderful . the extraction was done and all is well. she followed up on Max and I was so pleased with Monroeville Pet Hospital. Max is very content there

Description of Work
Extracted tooth and removed two small cysts in mouth. also routine exam

Category veterinarian

5.0

11/30/2013


Katie S.

From Michelle, who answered the phone, gave me directions when I was lost and checked me in, to the techs in the back office and Dr Oster, everyone was so nice and caring. They were very kind to my kitty who was lost outside for more than two months. They gave me an appointment the same day I called and were very prompt to see us once we arrived. The tech was gentle and caring with my cat. Dr Oster was so kind! She provided excellent care and gave me options for treatment along with her suggestions. Their charges were very reasonable for the excellent treatment provided. I can never thank them enough. I will only go to Monroeville Pet Hospital for all my pet's care!!

Description of Work
Complete check of my cat who had been lost outside for mor than two months.

Category veterinarian

5.0

03/19/2013


Pamela S.

Totally awesome service. They treated my kitten like a king. They were very welcoming and made every effort to make it as pleasant as possible for Puck. They left a little toy mouse for him to which he hasn't left a lone since we have gotten home! As for me, they took time to explain everything and let me ask any questions I had about taking care of my kitten. They gave me a welcome kit which included even more information :)

Description of Work
I took my new kitten, Puck, in for a check up and a few shots.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. We do appreciate it and trust and hope all is well with you and yours.
5.0

05/24/2012


Bob P.

I will continue to use them again in the future. It is the only place that I will use.

Description of Work
I was there for routine vet services for my pets at my last appointment. They had their shots and a yearly checkup.

Category veterinarian

5.0

02/16/2012


Leonard R.

They are a little more expensive than other people. We would go to them no matter what they charged. The name of the vet is Jana Oster. She is from the Czech Republic. Their punctuality is perfect.

Description of Work
We took our 2 cats to Monroeville Pet Hospital a couple of weeks ago. We have another appointment today.

Category veterinarian

5.0

06/01/2011


catherine A.

She has my veterinarian for 15 years. She is wonderful. The staff is wonderful. She is caring.

Description of Work
Monroeville Pet Hospital is the veterinarian I visit. I last visited them May 2011. I took my dog for nails clipped.

Category veterinarian,pet grooming

5.0

04/28/2011


SHARON and MICHAEL K.

We see Dr. Jana Oster there who owns the practice. We are very pleased with her. She is very understanding. She cares the animals very much. We will continue to use her services again in the future too.

Description of Work
We took our pet to Monroeville Pet Hospital about 2 months ago.

Category veterinarian

5.0

03/31/2011


Bob P.

I have been taking my dogs to them for the past six years. Dr. Oster and her staff have been exceptionally professional, kind, and thoughtful. They really care about the animals. If a pet has any problems or procedures done they follow up either later that day or the next day to see if there are any problems or concerns. In an emergency they have squeezed us in to look at our dogs and referred us to the best people to help our dogs if they were unable to perform the procedure. If you have any questions about a problem your pet is having they will gladly answer your question and make suggestions on the proper course of action. What I also like is that they tell you straight up what is wrong, no BS. I highly recommend Monroeville Pet Hospital whether your looking for a vet or looking to change vets. They are a great group of people.

Description of Work
Took my pup in for his annual checkup. The gave him his update shots, checked for heartworm, and gave him his general overall examination. They found a tooth that he had broken. I check him all the time and even I didn't notice it. Good catch. We got his exam, heartworm meds, joint supplements, shots, and tests for the price above. Not bad.

Category veterinarian

5.0

03/21/2011


Leonard R.

Dr. Jana Oster has cared for our two cats since she acquired the Verona Pet Hospital practice in 2001. Our experience has always been highly satisfactory. Jana exhibits a wonderful mix of professionalism, compassion, and good humor. What most distinguishes her is the amount of time she is willing to take explaining any issue affecting the pet and the alternative courses of action available. We recommend her enthusiastically.

Description of Work
Exam/recheck previous problem Two full-body x-rays Blood glucose test Cosequin dietary supplement

Category veterinarian

5.0

01/27/2011


Carol K.

Vets were very good and pricing is about middle of the road for a vet with this much experience.

Description of Work
Took a foster dog to this office for a diagnosis of a skin problem and also to have two dogs tested for parasites. The tech's were very good as was the vet. I have been using this office for several months now having switched from a much more expensive vet. While I liked that vet office I could no longer afford the costs and got a good report on Monroeville Pet Hospital. So far I have been happy with them.

Category veterinarian

2.0

10/11/2009


Kate B.

My Mom just started going to this vet a few months ago. Last week she took her dog in for a routine teeth cleaning. When she arrived, they gave her an estimated bill of almost $600 for the service! She was very upset and did not have the work done. In fact, she asked for her records, which included x-rays, and was told they couldn't give them to her because it was against state law. It has been a terrible experience for her.

Description of Work
Teeth cleaning for a dog.

Category veterinarian

Service Provider Response

Pehaps you're unaware about all that is involved with a "routine" dental cleaning. Unlike a dental cleaning for a human, an animal needs to be anesthetized. That in itself involves a considerable amount of monitoring by one of our certified technicians. In addition, however, your pet also needs an IV catheter and fluids during the anesthesia, a dental x-ray (because a dog can't tell you if [and where] it's teeth ache), various injections and diagnostics that prepare your pet for anesthesia and insure that your pet is fit enough to be anesthetized, and of course there is the tools and materials involved in the actual cleaning itself (and our record is impeccable). When you think about it $600.00 for your pet's good health and probably a cleaning that you may not have to repeat for many years to come is not a bad deal. In fact when you think about it, you spend more to have a tune up and your breaks fixed on your car (and don't expect to have your car lick your face when you bring it home) Now, as regards your pet's x-rays: Pennsylvania law, in fact, requires all veterinary practices to maintain their patients' records. We cannot, therefore, give you Porter's x-rays, and we don't have the facilities (neither does Kinko's) to make copies of x-rays. However, I'm sure we did give you a copy of your pet's written records. If we didn't please call, and we'll get them to you ASAP. Yours truly, Roger Hospital Manager
5.0

06/09/2009


Susan G.

Excellent care. Very thorough exam and detailed explainations regarding exam and after care.

Description of Work
Annual check up on my dog and follow up exam after an emergency treatment for swollowing a bone which git stuck. I have used them for my dogs and cats in the past

Category veterinarian

5.0

09/21/2007


JENNIFER H.

I really like the care my dog receives here. They are always friendly and truly care about the well being of my dog. The staff is friendly and even sent reminder notice when it is time to have his next visit.

Description of Work
My cocker spaniel had to go have an annual exam that included weighing, checking his teeth and giving him his shots.

Category veterinarian

5.0

09/20/2007


Susan G.

They are fantastic at diagnosing and getting right to the problems. The vets are very sharp and have been just wonderful to work with. They are not real cheap but you get what you pay for with them.

Description of Work
I take my two dogs and three cats there for their well checks. I go twice a year and pay for each separately.

Category veterinarian

4.0

12/04/2003

OVERALL WE ARE SATISFIED WITH THEIR PERFORMANCE. THEY SEEM TO GENUINELY CARE FOR THE ANIMAL AND DO NOT CONSTANTLY UPSELL OTHER POTENTIALLY UNNECESSARY SERVICES. I WOULD RECOMMEND THEM.

Description of Work
THIS WAS A NORMAL CHECKUP ON OUR DOG. THEY EXAMINED HIS SKIN, TEETH, AND STOOL SAMPLE. THEY PRESCRIBED HIM SOME MEDICINE FOR A SKIN CONDITION. THIS IS OUR NORMAL VET.

Category veterinarian

    Other local Pros in your area

    SANDY HILL KENNELS

    Call today for boarding and grooming services.  

    Veterinarians
    Animal Grooming
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Veterinary, animal hospital, surgery, dental, laser tharepy, medicine & diagnostics.

    Services Not Offered

    Grooming, except as medically required; boarding; emergency services

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Monroeville Pet Hospital

    How is Monroeville Pet Hospital overall rated?

    Monroeville Pet Hospital is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Monroeville Pet Hospital open?

    Monroeville Pet Hospital is open:

    Sunday: Closed
    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Monroeville Pet Hospital provide

    Monroeville Pet Hospital accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa

    Does Monroeville Pet Hospital offer free estimates?

    No, Monroeville Pet Hospital does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Monroeville Pet Hospital offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Monroeville Pet Hospital offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Monroeville Pet Hospital offer a senior discount?

    No, Monroeville Pet Hospital does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Monroeville Pet Hospital?

    No, Monroeville Pet Hospital does not offer warranties.

    What services does Monroeville Pet Hospital offer?

    Monroeville Pet Hospital offers the following services: Veterinary, animal hospital, surgery, dental, laser tharepy, medicine & diagnostics.

    Are there any services Monroeville Pet Hospital does not offer?

    Grooming, except as medically required; boarding; emergency services