Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Drexel Hill Rare Coin

Founded 2009 • With Angi since March 2013

4.8

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1016 Warrior Rd.

DREXEL HILL, PA 19026

Description

Drexel Hill Rare Coin is a full service Coin Shop where you can buy or sell individual coins to entire collections, we cover all areas such as U.S. and World coins, tokens and medals as well as paper money , stamp collections and collectibles....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/17/2016


Ray C.

Tony was awesome. I came in with a great number of coins including about 20 gold coins. He patiently took time to evaluate the lot appraising the gold and silver coins and advising as to which were keepers and which he would recommend selling. I've dealt with Tony previously at the Whitman Coin Show in Philly and found him to be straight forward, knowledgeable and above all very honest. As an amateur coin collector he offered insight on what to look for when i myself am purchasing coins. I will definitely be going back to buy, sell and discuss coins with him.

Description of Work
Estate coins which needed to be evaluated and appraised.

Category antiques

5.0

04/03/2016


John P.

Tony the owner of this coin shop did not hesitate to evaluate and price out a coin collection that my wife had inherited. I had organized the coins by decade and by denomination and put in Ziploc bags. I was not sure if he would be inclined to appraise this for me because this certainly was not a rare collection. Tony spent the best part of an hour examining the coins and gave me an offer that I was very satisfied with, I told him at that point that I would be back the following week to get an appraisal on rest of the collection and the outcome was the same. I went to Tony's shop in Drexel hill when I live in Bucks county because he was listed on Angies list and I am absolutely certain that it was the right choice.

Description of Work
he supplied me with an understanding and appraised a coin collection that my wife had inherited

Category antiques

5.0

08/05/2015


mary stephanie B.

Category antiques

5.0

10/07/2013


Karen P.

I had never done this before and was nervous about getting a fair price. Anthony made the transaction smooth and painless, and I felt I was treated fairly. I'll be back!!

Description of Work
Anthony looked over some old coins and partial sets I wanted to sell and gave me a price.

Category antiques

5.0

09/30/2013


Raymond P.

When I was in high school in the early 60's I was what you might call a casual coin collector. A friend and I would go to the bank every Saturday and get a bag of coins. We would then look through them for any dates and mint marks we needed for our collection. When my aunts and uncles found out about my interest they let me go though their and quot;loose changeand quot; jars some of which had been accumulating since the 30's. This is where I found some true treasures. The collection had been accumulating dust since 1965. On a lark I decided to find out what it was worth. Looked for the top ranked coin dealer in the area on Angie's list. Drexel Hill Rare Coin was at the top. Tony (the owner) looked at every coin, categorized it by type, quality and rarity. He took the time to explain how each coin was categorized. He then told me what he would pay me for them and what he would be able to sell them for. I thought the spread was very reasonable. The process took over two and a half hours. Because of the way Tony went through the he process and was willing to take the time to explain each step of the process, I felt I could trust him. I walked out of his store with over $1,500 in my pocket. This is the second time I have used Angie's list and both experiences have been outstanding.

Description of Work
Reviewed the value of my coin collection and then purchased it.

Category antiques

3.0

09/03/2013


Andrew G.

My wife and I had a bunch of coins that we had accumulated over many years, and we had also been given a number of coins over the years by our parents. We decided to go to this Coin Expert to see if we had anything of value and if so what and how much that value was. PLEASE NOTE THAT THE DATE WE VISITED IS AN APPROXIMATE. We brought in probably over 150 -200 different coins including some silver dollars, 50 cent pieces, dimes, nickels and old wheat pennies and un-,circulated sets of coins from different years. And some supposed collector sets of these types of coins as well. Some foreign coin sets were also included. And he also gave us some additional monies for some $2 Dollar bills with a Red Treasury Stamp on them as well as some Silver Certificates.- For all of these coins and sets we were given a price estimate of their worth of approximately $1,100.00. Which we ultimately accepted and received from him. While the person seemed honest in the sense that he clearly identified coins by their age which had higher silver content, after we left his place of business, my wife and I found ourselves wondering if we really got the true value of the coins which we and quot;tradedand quot; to him The main issue which we faced and which many people in today's times face is the question of perceived value of coins and many precious metals in terms of their and quot;rarityand quot; or their age versus the Metallic weight content of these items. And after our visit to him, within the next few weeks, we saw postings on line and print ads discussing coins and their value. And we got to thinking maybe we got ripped off. Buyers Remorse or maybe Sellers Remorse? So I guess in the long run, while we were in fact paid for what we left the dealer with, I honestly don't know if we got the highest or really good, or even true value for our coins that we could have gotten elsewhere. I think part of the concern that I have now in hindsight is that we did not get other estimates from other coin dealers and appraisers, before accepting his estimate as to perceived value. And the other issue is that he was a and quot;dealerand quot; as well as a supposed collector. And I suspect if one can find a true collector (only), that they may be inclined to give more value for the age or the antique nature or rarity of a material rather than to its weight content. For people who are going to get rid of old coins or metal collectibles, I would strongly urge you to do your homework and try and get some sense as to the value of them before hand. And get more than one estimate. The issue which people face today as I said above is the debate between the value of gold and silver based upon their price per pound versus a perceived value based on the age or rarity of something because its age or classification as an antique. ' And I would consider using his services again, but I would probably get more appraisals from others before accepting a final offer to give him coins, or silver or gold objects. In fairness to him, he did say if he thought a gold or silver object had potential value, he could refer us to someone who handled antiques.

Description of Work
View rare coins and gave us an estimate as to their value and offered to purchase many of the coins from us, along with some paper money.

Category antiques

Service Provider Response

As you can see by our other reviews from very knowledgeable and satisfied customers....at Drexel Hill Rare Coin we always make sure your buying or selling experience is as comfortable as possible. It is our policy to give explanations of how we arrive at our Buy and Sell prices to our customers using the most up to date resources available. We are very passionate about our craft and enjoy engaging in conversation explaining the different aspects of coins and paper money and their history to our customers during the buying process. Please remember we are a business so in order to stay in business we have to try to make a profit... often times as little as 3 to 5 percent. Certain items like common date low grade silver dollars, 50 cent pieces, dimes, nickels and old wheat pennies common proof and mint sets, $2 Dollar bills with a Red Treasury Stamp on them as well as some Silver Certificates are very low profit items that most collectors already have and therefore tend to take a long time to resell , we routinely buy lots of these items and know the market value . These inexpensive items are the types of things that mail order and internet mass marketers love to try and sell to unsuspecting " usually older" customers for excessive markups usually in fancy plastic cases claiming they are "rare". This in my opinion is unethical and makes for a potentially confusing situation when a potential buyer or seller of coins sees an ad in the Sunday T.V. paper or online for lets say 3 worn out buffalo nickels for $9.99 claiming they are "seldom seen" and "rare" lol , ... well I can sell you the same 3 coins for .15 cents each for a total of .45 cents for the same 3 coins they want $9.99 for . The only difference is I don't have the fancy holder and I won't be sending you coins "on approval" to try to hook you in. So the main issue buyers and sellers of coins face today in this world of mass marketing and information is how to sift through the large amount of information out there. Remember... just because someone asks a certain price for something doesn't mean it's worth that, it's only worth what the last KNOWLEDGEABLE person who knows how to use the available information was willing to pay. I can' t tell you haw many times people come in and say "I saw them selling coins like mine on t.v. for four times book value " and then someone else comes in and says "wow your selling these coins for a quarter of what they were charging on t.v. last night". I guess theres a two tier market in coins.... The small coin shop market where coins are bought and sold for close margins and modest markups giving the buyer and seller a good value.....and then the COMMERCIAL market where only the SELLER benefits from overpriced common merchandise purported to be "rare" I guess my advice to all potential buyers and sellers of coins would be to find a dealer you can talk to as if you were talking to a friend or neighbor , if he is open to give information about his craft he is likely to be honest and fair in his dealings, remember it takes many years to become a "coin expert" a couple of weeks or months casually glancing at the internet or print ads does not make an expert. As I am not afraid to discuss your coins while evaluating them for purchase you should not be afraid to ask questions while selling or buying coins as you will feel better about your experience later on allowing you to evaluate your experience with more accuracy and fairness. Drexel Hill Rare Coin ...Life Member American Numismatic Association
5.0

08/11/2013


Linda S.

What a relief to have discovered this little gem in Drexel Hill. I was hesitant since I had never needed to have coins evaluated and felt uneasy with the and quot;boxand quot; stores offering and quot;Cash for....etc.and quot; But the minute I walked in the door, all the flutters went away and I instantly knew I was in the right place. Tony treated me with respect and provided an education along the way. He did not take the coins, go into the back and then come forward with an estimate. He took his time going coin by coin explaining exactly what I had, why or why not it was of value and finally telling me which coins he would offer the same value as the bank. When I left, I felt a little smarter and didn't feel like I had been taken advantage of. I will definitely go back with confidence that I will receive the same treatment again. Thanks Tony, I appreciated the time you took with me that day.

Description of Work
Evaluated silver coins.

Category antiques

5.0

07/30/2013


Denise D.

I had called and made an appointment to have the coins I had been collecting all my life finally appraised. When I called, Tony answered the telephone and also advised he would be the person doing the appraisal. My husband and I took in a lot of old coins and silver bars. I knew the majority of the coins were just plain old and not in good condition. Tony took the time to look at all of them. He went through each denomination, separating the clad coins from the true silver ones. He told me which ones he would purchase and which ones were only worth their face value. As I previously stated, we had checked some of the coins out already on eBay and in books. We feel Tony definitely gave us a more than fair amount for all we had. Up until now we refused to go to the and quot;buy gold and silverand quot; places that spring up (and disappear) overnight. We wanted to find someone we could trust and had expert knowledge. My husband and I were so happy to find someone right in our area who had exactly what we were looking for. We would not hesitate going back to Tony and we also highly recommend him to anyone who would like to cash in their old coins and know you are going to get a fair deal.

Description of Work
Tony looked at each and every coin my husband and I had brought in to him. We had looked some up on eBay and also some in a book we have purchased. His appraisal was very fair and then some.

Category antiques

5.0

05/18/2013


Mick D.

I was referred by a friend. The entire transaction went smoothly. Anthony is honest and considerate. His daughter and my best friend's daughter have know each other for over 20 years. He is known locally as the person to go to for this type of business.He examined all of my items and gave me a more than fair price for each. I had many large items which were basically useless to him, however he was willing to dispose of them for me and gave me a few dollars for them to boot. I would not hesitate to refer him to anyone and I certainly will see him with any other items I may find.

Description of Work
The company ought gold and silver from me.

Category antiques

5.0

03/16/2013


gail H.

We were thrilled with our results

Description of Work
We had a box of old coins from my parents' home. We had no idea what they would be worth so we bought a book and started to investigate. A gentleman we totally trusted suggested Drexel Hill Rare Coins to us. Anthony Laverghetta, the owner, was spot on with the book. He took the time to look at each coin and explained to us what the values were and why some coins (1964 Kennedy half dollars) were more valuable than others. We were VERY pleased with our results. While I know Mr Laverghetta will make a profit from his purchase we made many, many times more than if we just took them to the bank.

Category antiques

    Antiques
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Drexel Hill Rare Coin is a full service coin shop that offers many services from buying and selling all types of old coins, paper money, gold and silver to providing either written or verbal appraisals for individuals or estates. We routinely help collectors and investors assemble portfolios of rare coins and bullion for investment puposes. We maintain an inventory of quality key date coins for the collector as well as certified coins for the investor.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Drexel Hill Rare Coin

    How is Drexel Hill Rare Coin overall rated?

    Drexel Hill Rare Coin is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Drexel Hill Rare Coin open?

    Drexel Hill Rare Coin is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Drexel Hill Rare Coin provide

    Drexel Hill Rare Coin accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does Drexel Hill Rare Coin offer free estimates?

    No, Drexel Hill Rare Coin does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Drexel Hill Rare Coin offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Drexel Hill Rare Coin does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Drexel Hill Rare Coin offer a senior discount?

    No, Drexel Hill Rare Coin does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Drexel Hill Rare Coin?

    No, Drexel Hill Rare Coin does not offer warranties.

    What services does Drexel Hill Rare Coin offer?

    Drexel Hill Rare Coin offers the following services: Drexel Hill Rare Coin is a full service coin shop that offers many services from buying and selling all types of old coins, paper money, gold and silver to providing either written or verbal appraisals for individuals or estates. We routinely help collectors and investors assemble portfolios of rare coins and bullion for investment puposes. We maintain an inventory of quality key date coins for the collector as well as certified coins for the investor.

    Are there any services Drexel Hill Rare Coin does not offer?

    Ask for details.